Customer Reviews for

Angel Burn (Angel Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Fast, action-packed and sexy!

A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a readin...
A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a reading, Willow starts to realize there is something much bigger going on and that Willow may not be who she thought she was. After realizing she is in the wrong place at the wrong time, swoon-worthy, Alex comes to her rescue and takes her away from everything she's ever known. Willow quickly finds out that Alex is an Angel Killer and was sent to kill her. Together they begin to realize that something very wrong is going on between earth and the angels, and Willow may be the key to stopping it.

Let me first start off by saying I absolutely ADORE the switching view points. The chapters constantly flip-flop between Alex's POV and Willow's POV and I LOVED that. Being able to get into both characters mind and see how each one reacts to a situation or feeling was fantastic. It was very well written.

With Angel Burn, there was never a dull moment. There is always someone around the corner hunting them, always some kind of fight, always some intense emotion, and I loved every page. Seeing the growth between Alex and Willow is another thing I loved. He is trained to kill beings like her, and yet he can't. The struggle of what's right, and what they want is constant, and I loved watching both Willow and Alex grow emotionally.

Willow, I loved her character. She is a strong girl, who leaves everything she knows behind, to accompany someone she doesn't even know, to possibly protect her family and herself. She changed everything she knows and believes in for the good of the world, and that takes an extremely strong character. Watching her, watch Alex I loved too. He's a constant battle in her head. Even though she knows she should hate him, she can't. I loved watching the love grow. It was intense and I loved it.

Alex, oh alex. I love him. Muscles, athletic, dark hair, confident, "bluish gray, like a storm at sea" eyes.... how can you not love him?! And his last name is Kylar... Alex Kylar, how gorgeous is that name?! Alex, is a trained AK (Angel Killer, and though he should hate Willow, he can't, he's too attracted to her, to in awe of everything she does and I just love that about him. Alex is definitely one of my top 5 boys.

I loved every aspect of this story, the fighting, the love, the betrayal, and the struggles. Everything just fit together so well, and I am dying to read the next one. I need to know what happens between Alex and Willow and all their up coming adventures! 5 out of 5 stars!

posted by jenababy13 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

slow

i know everyone else seems to love this book but not me! it was just so slow and repeditive for about 250 pages or more. it seemed like they were driving across the country for ever. nicely written just not for me.

posted by 5308216 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, action-packed and sexy!

    A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

    We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a reading, Willow starts to realize there is something much bigger going on and that Willow may not be who she thought she was. After realizing she is in the wrong place at the wrong time, swoon-worthy, Alex comes to her rescue and takes her away from everything she's ever known. Willow quickly finds out that Alex is an Angel Killer and was sent to kill her. Together they begin to realize that something very wrong is going on between earth and the angels, and Willow may be the key to stopping it.

    Let me first start off by saying I absolutely ADORE the switching view points. The chapters constantly flip-flop between Alex's POV and Willow's POV and I LOVED that. Being able to get into both characters mind and see how each one reacts to a situation or feeling was fantastic. It was very well written.

    With Angel Burn, there was never a dull moment. There is always someone around the corner hunting them, always some kind of fight, always some intense emotion, and I loved every page. Seeing the growth between Alex and Willow is another thing I loved. He is trained to kill beings like her, and yet he can't. The struggle of what's right, and what they want is constant, and I loved watching both Willow and Alex grow emotionally.

    Willow, I loved her character. She is a strong girl, who leaves everything she knows behind, to accompany someone she doesn't even know, to possibly protect her family and herself. She changed everything she knows and believes in for the good of the world, and that takes an extremely strong character. Watching her, watch Alex I loved too. He's a constant battle in her head. Even though she knows she should hate him, she can't. I loved watching the love grow. It was intense and I loved it.

    Alex, oh alex. I love him. Muscles, athletic, dark hair, confident, "bluish gray, like a storm at sea" eyes.... how can you not love him?! And his last name is Kylar... Alex Kylar, how gorgeous is that name?! Alex, is a trained AK (Angel Killer, and though he should hate Willow, he can't, he's too attracted to her, to in awe of everything she does and I just love that about him. Alex is definitely one of my top 5 boys.

    I loved every aspect of this story, the fighting, the love, the betrayal, and the struggles. Everything just fit together so well, and I am dying to read the next one. I need to know what happens between Alex and Willow and all their up coming adventures! 5 out of 5 stars!

    37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic & Refreshing!

    Look at that cover. it's so flippin' gorgeous! & HOLY SNAP the story is just as stunning! Angels, road trips, AND a hot boy, what's not to LOVE!?

    This book puts a whole new spin on angel lore, and it was so freakin' fantastic/refreshing, & not to mention a little creepy! In this world angels feed on human energies, making them weak and leaving them with...dun dun DUNN...angel burn. (hence the title! bomb right!?) DUDES you totes have to read this book in order to find out exactly what angel burn is...but it's not good! When I read about it for the first time I literally got the goosies! So disturbingly awesome!

    The story centers around Willow, who seems to be an ordinary teenage girl that likes to fix cars and has the unnatural talent to see the future. Little does she know, she's FAR from ordinary and her "talent" is actually an angel trait. She is the type of heroine I love to read about, strong, determined, loyal and not afraid to kick some ass when need be! Her character grows so much through out the book & as the story develops Willow finds out who & what she really is.

    Cue Alex! Oh God, Alex...Alex Kylar...he is just a sexy angel killin', fast drivin', tatted up stud! GAH! I LOVED him! He's an assassin & that means he is tough, and rugged, and a BAD BOY. Do I even have to continue? *swoons* Oh, oh, oh! & he's totally protective of Willow (which is so hot, right!?) It was absolutely ADORABLE how he fought his feelings towards her! I thought that their relationship formed so naturally & it was just so angsty and wonderful!

    The pages in this book just fly! (no pun intended!) There is TONS of action, I felt like I could barely catch my breath between all the craziness! I could not put Angel Burn down, i needed to find out what was going to happen with Alex and Willow! Then there is this whole big climactic intense ending & it totally does NOT turn out how you think it's gunna turn out.so that made me mad but entirely happy at the same time, ya know?!

    The ending left me pretty much speechless annnnnnd I am DYING for the second installment in this series! I NEED more Alex & Willow! I think I might have a new favorite trilogy!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Check it out

    It said this book was for 14 to 17 year olds, well I am 67 and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read the free sample and had to buy the book. Can't wait for the next book to get here.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great love story - with a little twist to it!

    Willow is different. She fixes cars. No guys like her. She can read minds and predict futures by touching someone. She does not know what the power is.
    Alex, the assassin ,is sent after her. He does not know who she is. He knows he has to kill her. He find out what she is. But he loves her.

    This is the classic love story which young teens like to read. I loved this story for a few reasons. I love reading these stories which have things which are impossible happen. Love which is slow and dangerous. This book is everything which I love to read about.

    I also like how Alex is the bad boy type of boyfriend. He is the type of person which you would want to be your boyfriend. :) I loved this story and I cannot wait for the second one to come out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Fantastic

    Beautifully written, fast-paced, extremely well developed characters, a blossoming romance that grew at a likeable and realistic pace, and a plot that kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat. I have nothing bad to say about this book, other than the fact that some of the dialogue got too sweet and made me cringe a couple of times between Alex and Willow. Im not gonna even bother recommending this, i just have to say that if you havnt read this book and are wondering whether you should do so, stop wondering and buy it RIGHT NOW. All your doing is wasting time that you could be using to read. Besides the book is only three dollars (even though it should cost way more considering the quality but im not complaining)! Just buy it, you've got nothing to lose and only a wonderful story to gain. A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Unexpected From Beginning To End

    When I first heard the book was about angels and romance my first thoughts were this is going to be a typical book with a predictable storyline. I WAS 100% WRONG. Angel Burn is not a typical predictable story. Its captivating and leaves you wanting more and more. I found it hard to put the book down. Theres a new surprise in every chapter. If you and a friend were reading this book togather, and you stayed a chapter ahead of them, you would constantly say to them "you will never believe what will happen next." The ending is just as unpredictable as the beginning. Angel Burn is a book that will have many many sequels. After much success I know Angel will be made into a movie. Angel burn is well on its way to being the next twilight. I cant wait for the next book in the series to come out. -Signed: A writer

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Left me wanting more!

    Left me wanting more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great book

    This book is well written and kept me hooked the whole time! But the ending just drug on and on stating all the unimportant facts and it took a long time to finally get to the most important part. But other than that this book deserves five stars. I think it deseves five stars because it has a little bit of romance a lot of action some fantasy, every thing a good book needs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is sooooooooooooooooooooo great! It is the perfect balance of action, fantacy, and romance. I recomend this book for ages 11-30

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    AMAZINg

    I thought this boo k was great iwas guessing what would happen the whole book

    READ IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""!""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????????"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG AMAZING!!!!

    The preview of the first 3 chapters gave me much more of an excerpt than just a sample would have. After reading the first 3 chapters i simple had to read the rest. Deffinately a good idea and I think they should do that with more books. The rest of the book itself was also VERY good and I am waiting with baited breath for the second one to come out. But, like I said, I really like the idea of giving the first 3 chapters of the book instead of just a sample. It gets you hooked much more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Exciting page turner

    I so enjoyed this book fixing to start book 2...this book can be enjoyed by all ages not just the young crowd..it keeps you wantin more page after page...recommend this book to all ages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Angel Burn book preveiw

    Even though i read the preview of the book i loved it......... this book actually kept my interest very easily and when i finished the preview itbleft me wanting more ofbthis book.... so i say two thumbs up on Angel Burn! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Perfect blend of action and romance. A great read for all ages! 

    Perfect blend of action and romance. A great read for all ages! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    AWSOME

    This book was fantastic, switching viewpoints was awsome nd the story plot was cheessy whitch i usally HATE but actaully liked this one the plot was good.and the people in the story was actaully predictable to see what was going to happen with them,and between themLookin for a action-packed story?STOP LOOKING BECAUSE HERE IS YOUR ANSWER!!!!angel burn.....awsome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great!!!!

    This book is a fun & imaginative read. I couldn't put it down. The author did a great job & I can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Had me from page 1...

    I could never say enough good things about this book. You will laugh, cry, and at times want to throw it against a wall. You get that involved with the story. Besides the amazing plot line Alex and Willow are two people you won't soon forget. They are well developed and face realistic struggles such as self acceptance and desiding what's right and wrong. The perfect blend of action and adventure is yet one more reason readers will be coming back for future books in the series. I could go on and on but the bottom line is you should BUY THIS BOOK! And when you do make sure you have enough time to read it all the way though because you won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    This was exactly NOT what I expected and I got the sample. Wow!

    This was exactly NOT what I expected and I got the sample. Wow! It put a whole different spin on Angels. This would make a GREAT movie. Have already read the 2nd book and waiting for the 3rd to come out. Will re-read again without a doubt. Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    It was the best

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Angle burn

    This book is so good i gave it a 5 star this is boss:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12