Customer Reviews for

The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2777 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1939)

4 Star

(426)

3 Star

(215)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

WHOA

This was a well-written, thrilling book that I find to be great for literally any age. It's writing was brilliant enough to keep you captivated with all the action, and yet still mix a good amount of humor and emotion in it. It was majorly awesome, and I'm already order...
This was a well-written, thrilling book that I find to be great for literally any age. It's writing was brilliant enough to keep you captivated with all the action, and yet still mix a good amount of humor and emotion in it. It was majorly awesome, and I'm already ordering the others in the series.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the writing style

I had heard about this multiple times and heard that it was really good, so when I saw it in a bookstore, I decided to, naturally, buy it to try it out for myself. However, the way the book is written sounds like a fourth-grader wrote it, and I could barely get past the...
I had heard about this multiple times and heard that it was really good, so when I saw it in a bookstore, I decided to, naturally, buy it to try it out for myself. However, the way the book is written sounds like a fourth-grader wrote it, and I could barely get past the first few chapters before giving up on the book in disgust. My best friend - who recommended this book to me - said that the plot's really good, just that the writing isn't the best. I can't get past the writing to actually enjoy the plot, so this one's up to you - are you willing to slog through a poorly written book to enjoy the plot itself? Or would you rather save your money to buy something infinitely better - with both good writing and a strong plot? Normally I can get past slightly mediocre writing - such as in the book "Need" by Carrie Jones - but this takes it to a whole new level of terribleness.

posted by Samiha on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2798 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 140
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WHOA

    This was a well-written, thrilling book that I find to be great for literally any age. It's writing was brilliant enough to keep you captivated with all the action, and yet still mix a good amount of humor and emotion in it. It was majorly awesome, and I'm already ordering the others in the series.

    61 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    WATCH OUT TWILIGHT!!!

    This is an unbelievable book! It is a must read for everyone. The story makes you feel as though you are part of the adventure. I read almost the whole thing in one sitting! Maximum ride ties in fantasy, horror, comedy and everyday life into one big page turning mystery. You'll be rooting for Max the whole time. Watch out Edward you haven't met Max!!!

    42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    this book is filled with a lot of action. It is an excellent read- enjoyed it.

    39 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't get past the writing style

    I had heard about this multiple times and heard that it was really good, so when I saw it in a bookstore, I decided to, naturally, buy it to try it out for myself. However, the way the book is written sounds like a fourth-grader wrote it, and I could barely get past the first few chapters before giving up on the book in disgust. My best friend - who recommended this book to me - said that the plot's really good, just that the writing isn't the best. I can't get past the writing to actually enjoy the plot, so this one's up to you - are you willing to slog through a poorly written book to enjoy the plot itself? Or would you rather save your money to buy something infinitely better - with both good writing and a strong plot? Normally I can get past slightly mediocre writing - such as in the book "Need" by Carrie Jones - but this takes it to a whole new level of terribleness.

    38 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the most unforgetable book ever!!

    "Maximum Ride the Angel Experiment" by James Patterson is a very intriguing book. It is a Science Fiction book written especially for teenage kids. The characters in this book are very different from the normal every day humans. Maximum Ride, better known as Max, is the oldest at age fourteen. She is the leader of the six members of her family, or as they refer to themselves, The Flock. Other members are Fang, who is 4 months younger than Max. He is a very mysterious boy. Iggy is the sarcastic member of the flock and is slightly younger than Max and Fang. He is blind due to the experiments done on his eyes when he was young. The Gasman, better known as Gazzy, is eight years old and has farting problems. Iggy and Gazzy are best friends, and are making bombs out of virtually anything they can get their hands on. Angel is the youngest of the flock. She is The Gasman's' six year old blood sister.

    These kids are very unique and powerful. Max spends the first 10 years of her life locked in a tiny cage at a place called "The School". There she suffers through test after horrid test from the scientists who created her, by adding bird DNA to her own human DNA. While there, she meets five other winged kids, and with the help of a sympathetic scientist, the six of them manage to escape. This fantastic freedom becomes the happiest time in their lives, bonding Max, Fang, Iggy, the Gasman, Nudge and Angel into a family, the only family any of them has ever known.

    "Maximum Ride the Angel Experiment", was a very exciting and entertaining book to read. This book had a new adventure every time I turned the page. I don't think that children should be experimented on in a lab or locked up in dog crates. That is just wrong. Even though they were not treated well in the lab, at least they have received powers from all of these experiments that can actually help people out in the world.

    I thought that Maximum Ride was way more in depth, captivating, and descriptive than any other book I have read. Once I started reading this book, I felt sorry for these kids, having to be experimented on everyday, not being able to have any control over what was done to them. That is just so sad to even think about.

    James Patterson is an amazing storyteller, by grabbing the readers attention on page one and keeping it through out the entire book. His vivid descriptions put the reader right up in the sky flying next to Max and the gang, feeling the wind flow though their feathers and the emotions tear through their hearts.

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    Maximum Ride The Angel Experiment

    Everything was going great until well . never. That is the life of Max Ride. Her and her "flock" have to suffer through seconds, minutes, hours, days and sometimes even weeks because of humiliation and isolation.
    This "flock" is made up of unusual characters, Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gazzy, and Angel. They live in a secret hideaway somewhere in America. They have special powers that were given to them by evil scientists. What a pleasure. NOT. To cut it short they live alone as teenagers, have wings, and basically fight for their lives at least once a month.
    Right now I bet you are probably wondering why they have to fight for their lives. Erasers are hairy evil creatures that want to kill the "flock" or at least bring them back to the whitecoats. Whitecoats are the people who create mutants, such as the flock. The whitecoats would torture the flock forever if they were back at the lab. The flock avoids the lab at all costs for their happiness and safety.
    James Patterson is a very famous author. My dad knew him when he was a teenager. James is hoping to create a movie of his Maximum Ride series.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes reading, fighting, sass, romance, happiness, excitement or well, you get it, it's a great book.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    BEAST

    BEAST!!!

    19 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FAVORITE SERIES IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD. EVER. (this is for the whole series not this specific book)

    this series is my *pause for dramatic effect* NEW FAVORITE. its even better then twilight - I'm not even kidding. saying it's my favorite is a big step for me - LOL - because before i read twilight i had many MANY favorites but twilight quickly jumped to the #1 spot in the "books i've read" reading list i keep up in my head. i had no doubt that it was going to stay there in the #1 spot for a long long long long long time - if not forever. but then came the maximum ride series and as i read it i mentally made it climb the list of books until it bumped twilight right down to numero dos. this book is very interesting, exciting, and unpredictable. i think the part i loved the most is the writing style. even if the situation they were in was the worst they had faced yet, james patterson managed to make me laugh (out loud) at the funny things that the members of the flock said. i was so into the story as i was reading it was unbelievable. i loved how it was written in max point of veiw and how the reader wasn't part of the story but wasn't out of it either. it grabbed my attention from the very first page and didn't let go. it was about adventure and misunderstanding and confusion and mystery and near death fights and high speed chases and flying. and its about them realizing that family is the most important - even when your family consits of 5 mutant bird kids. i recommend the rest of this series ( i havn't read MAX yet but im sure it will be great) and also the host if you like science fiction. if you can't find anything to read then check out my b&n page for more books that i recommend :)

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome book

    this book was so good it kept me reading all day and i finished it in about a day and half. it was action packed and constantly speeding along hairpin turns. the fight scenes were very realistic and the entire story was almost believable. almost meaning if kids could actually be genetically engineered to have wings and multiple other abilities it would be totally believable. this book though lacked the romantic element that Patterson's other novels contain, but this action packed book kept me reading and i can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting start to a series

    If you like XMen then you'll love Maximum ride. I'm hooked on the characters and their stories about finding out who they really are. Well written for all ages and kept me hooked. I didn't want to put it down.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    One of my friends said it was an amazing book so she let me borrow it and....needless to say I fell in love with this book after page 1!
    I'm now reading book 2, Maximum Ride: Schools Out-Forever....

    P.S..........if you look on Wikipedia you can see that there's a book called Fang: A Maximum Ride Book....now if you didn't already now this.... DON'T start jumping and screaming....if you look at the summury, you'll know why i'm NOT exited....lets just say someone EVERYONE cares about in this seriers MIGHT DIE.
    I literiy started to tear up when I read it...i'm still CRYING now as i'm writing this....THIS. PERSON. CAN. NOT. DIE!!!!
    Let's hope this person doesn't die....or i'll cry my eyes out for days, and days, and more days, and well then I guess i'll cry again...!!!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not A Good enough words to describe it AT ALL!!!

    This book is thrilling and excieting you should so buy it and read it you will be on the edge of your seat and reading very quickly so you can know what happens. My suggestion is that you read it the reread it because when I did that I caught a lot more details. This is a book you won't be able to put down! You will LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    awesome to the max

    i read Maximum Ride when a friend recommended and it and im thinking, 'oh no, here we go, another unreal fantasy.' when i finished it, i totally loved it! it was awesome! i CANNOT WAIT FOR THE SECOND ONE! im writing my own kind of Maximum Ride story i loved it so much!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride Series #1)

    Once you read this book you can't wait for the next book to be available. Great read for all ages. I enjoyed it very much.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Maximum Ride

    I Love it.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just for kids..

    I'll be honest, this was terrible. This was the first book I've read of James Patterson. For as many books as he's written, I assumed this was going to be a start to a very long relationship between author and devoted reader.
    This book sucks. It read like some badly thrown together comic. I heard some of his works were adapted for gaming consoles; probably the PS3; that suits this material very well.
    Huge disappointment.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    Max is great

    I really enjoyed this series the first time I read it and I've been dying to find an electronic version and was so happy I did. I love Max and her story. I think she's a great role model for girls because she's brave and strong and doesn't give up. There aren't many female super heroes out there, and I think Max is a great example of one. Her story is so engaging and Patterson does a great job of making the science-y part of "Maximum Ride" sound realistic. Max's story is thrilling with tons of adventure and roller coaster rides. I always recommend this book to anyone who needs a leisurely read and wants to have fun reading. It was recommended to me by a classmate and since then I can't stop telling people about it. Max and her friends are great and really kick butt! Definitely a great book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!

    I love this book!The whole series is aaaawwwwwwssssoooooommmmmeeee.I laugh every time!Gazzy and Iggy are hilarious.I reccomend these books to anyone.Love them.
    I will now destroy de snickers bars.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Don't Go Along for the Ride

    Patterson definitely falls out of grace as far as I'm concerned. This is a jerky tale of six mutant kids that is pure fantasy. It doesn't even make a good sci fi read. Any adult should be ashamed that another adult wrote such violent and disturbed nonsense for children about children. I find it hard to believe that a former good author has fallen to this absurd level.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    I went to the bookstore with about 10 dollars in my hand( leftover of bday money) an wanted to buy a book. I didnt have any thing to read and every book i picked out was either too expensive or it seemed cheap and poorly written. Then my eyes fell on this book and it seemed ok from the outside. I remebered on of my friends had shone it to me saying it was the best book they ever read! So i just decided to buy it. It was history from there! I read the book in one night and have been reading everyone of the books. Im about to start nevermore. It was the best book series i have ever read. It has a tub of adventure, a cup of humour and a pinch of romance! Everything i look for in a book. I am hope this series will become an instant classic and will be enjoyed for years to come.

    Thank you james patterson!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2798 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 140