Customer Reviews for

The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2782 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1944)

4 Star

(426)

3 Star

(216)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

WHOA

This was a well-written, thrilling book that I find to be great for literally any age. It's writing was brilliant enough to keep you captivated with all the action, and yet still mix a good amount of humor and emotion in it. It was majorly awesome, and I'm already order...
This was a well-written, thrilling book that I find to be great for literally any age. It's writing was brilliant enough to keep you captivated with all the action, and yet still mix a good amount of humor and emotion in it. It was majorly awesome, and I'm already ordering the others in the series.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't get past the writing style

I had heard about this multiple times and heard that it was really good, so when I saw it in a bookstore, I decided to, naturally, buy it to try it out for myself. However, the way the book is written sounds like a fourth-grader wrote it, and I could barely get past the...
I had heard about this multiple times and heard that it was really good, so when I saw it in a bookstore, I decided to, naturally, buy it to try it out for myself. However, the way the book is written sounds like a fourth-grader wrote it, and I could barely get past the first few chapters before giving up on the book in disgust. My best friend - who recommended this book to me - said that the plot's really good, just that the writing isn't the best. I can't get past the writing to actually enjoy the plot, so this one's up to you - are you willing to slog through a poorly written book to enjoy the plot itself? Or would you rather save your money to buy something infinitely better - with both good writing and a strong plot? Normally I can get past slightly mediocre writing - such as in the book "Need" by Carrie Jones - but this takes it to a whole new level of terribleness.

posted by Samiha on February 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing book

    When I first picked up Maximum Ride, I was sort of hesitant; another sci-fi book that, honestly, would probably bore me to death. But boy...was I wrong. After reading the first chapter, I was instantly hooked-who would have known that a story about a winged-teenager would interest me to such depths? Maximum, who is called Max for short, is definitely not your ideal teenager. First off, she was wings. She is the leader of other winged kids-Fang, Angel, Nudge, Izzy and Gasman, and she takes care of them, and she is constantly chased by Erasers. Oh-and another thing- no one knows where they came from. Follow the adventures of Maximum Ride and her fellow winged friends as they search for answers. Answers about their past-where they came from, who they came from and why they are what they are.
    In my opinion it was an amazing book. This book is one of the most suspenseful Ive ever read. I recommend this book for any suspense lover. Even though it is sci-fi it was an amazing book. Maximum Ride is definitely a book to read-whether you're a sci-fier or not!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For any Age!

    Im only a teen and i absolutely loved the series. when i first bought them i wasnt sure if i wanted to read them......well i was wrong. This series is thrilling and has a side romance and family plot. I read them very fast, i was so, so glad i read them. I love the characters, you can just tell all there personalities and how they will react with different situations. This series really suprised me. A wonderful series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting for a James Patterson

    I absolutely love James Patterson books, this one is very different than his other reads, but doesnt make it bad. I found it very interesting. I will probably buy the next book after I finish swimsuit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Good

    Ive been wanting to read this book for a long time, and they were satisfying. The only thing i disliked about them is that the chapters were too short for my taste, and that the beginning was too straight forward and quick, but overall, it was a great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I loved these books. But I did not finish the series. I got quit

    I loved these books. But I did not finish the series. I got quite bored with it by book 5 because they were not getting anywhere and I thought the information was quite repetitive. Great series, but I wish it was done in 3 or 4 books instead

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Hmmmmm

    I loved the book, but i just didnt like how everything went by so fast. It isnt really my type of book, but its a good read. I am into murder mysteries. I am a lemony snicket type of gal. I give it a four and a half. I just love how maximum is talking to the readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I truly enjoyed The Angel Experiment

    First of all, can I say AWESOME opening? Too bad it turned [SPOILER]. Guess you’ll just have to find out yourself. Okay… seriously, the review. Some interesting things about this book. The Angel Experiment is told from several viewpoints, but mostly Max’s. Not strange in itself, but Max’s (point of view) POV is told in first person while the other characters are told in third person. Kind of neat. I rather liked it. The chapters are short-short. We’re talking 2-3 pages, 4 pages MAX per chapter. The thing with the short chapters is they’re almost exactly the way I read. I’m the type of gal who’ll stop in the middle of a scene, which is what the chapters often did. Then when I come back to a work, I have to find where I left off. The chapters are so short, I have no problem making it to the next chapter. I think I might have stopped in the middle of a chapter once. In terms of the writing, I think this work could have been a bit shorter. I know, I know… last week I was talking about lengthening Spiderwork… I just can’t be pleased. Mr. Patterson seemed quite fond of repeating himself. Yes, I know Max has a 13-foot wingspan. Yes, Iggy is blind. Fang is the silent one. Angel is her baby. Nudge, by the way, is black. I thought I’d mention this because I don’t think Mr. Patterson comes out and says it until the second book. Here she’s called tanned… just clarifying an issue. That was one tidbit Mr. Patterson didn’t reiterate 30 times. Anyway, I’m just saying my attention span isn’t so short I’d have difficulty remembering something three pages back. Enough of that. I truly enjoyed The Angel Experiment. I’m already in book 3… so that says a lot. The only reason I’m not reading Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports right now is because I’m afraid the story lines will blend into one another. So why did I like this one, you ask? Plotwise: The story kept me engaged. Even when I hit part 6 (last part) and thought how much I was tired of the cat and mouse games, I still had my nose in the book, wondering what’s next. The entire story was pretty much about when the bad guys (Erasers) would show up and how Max and her flock would escape. Characters: Each one was unique in their behavior, personality, and motivation. Funny thing about the thoughts and speech of the characters… they seemed a bit… not modern. Cause really, how many kids know who Judy Garland is? It’ll be interesting to see what my daughter says about it. I’ll have to ask my oldest if some of these things were over her head. Being not so young, the analogies worked for me. I chalked off their cultural knowledge and references to being isolated from civilization for most of their lives. I know this review is rather sparse, but really there wasn’t much to the book. The Erasers came, the flock fought, the flock fled. Rinse and repeat. Anyway, I leave you with my favorite line from the book (page 150): "You think you need all your stuff, your favorite cup, your best blanket, soap, your parents – and then you realize that all you really need is to be where the Erasers can’t get you." I swear, that line pretty much summed up the entire book. By the way, if you stop with this book, you’ll be lacking the entire story. This definitely ends in a “What’s Next?” Stay tuned for my upcoming reviews of the Maximum Ride series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun easy read that those young MG readers could apprec

    This is a fun easy read that those young MG readers could appreciate as well as adults who just like a good adventure. In some ways the set up in this story reminded me of Dark Angel in where there are kids who "belong" to a lab and then fight their way to freedom and staying that way. After that, the resemblance ends. You then have a unique telling of mutants learning to navigate the world which they know won't accept them.

    The adventure these kids have is quite intense and you can't wait to find out all of the answers to the questions that form as they fight to save one of their own. Fight to save Angel, the littlest from a fate worse than death. Along the way they learn more about the world than they ever thought possible and find some unlikely help along the way. However, even while on the hot trail of learning more about their past and what they were told was true or not, they find that they can't trust anything or anyone outside of the flock.

    Although I liked all the main characters, my biggest complaint about this book is that it is hard to really connect on a deep level to the kids. It makes sense because their whole life is crises management and so little time is left for really knowing who they truly are. However, since this is only one book in a series, I feel that the connection will come and probably sooner than later. You can see things falling in place within this book for that to happen.

    I give this book 3 1/2 stars. I think it is a fast and fun book for the beginning to this series. I recommend it to those that enjoy UF and YA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    An Intriguing Read Maximum Ride the Angel experiment is an ast

    An Intriguing Read
    Maximum Ride the Angel experiment is an astounding book to read. This book has phenomenal ideas and a superb plot. Maximum Ride intrigues you to keep reading until the next book. This can be a very suspenseful book to some people, but to me this book is amazing. If you haven’t read this book or you’re not going to you are definitely missing out.
    Maximum ride is great with their characters like Max and Angel and all the rest of them. Max was protective, very strong, and also brave. Max was the leader of the flock and she was a good one too. The entire flock relied on here for everything. She always wanted to help people and she could do lots of things that not everyone could do. Max was my favorite character.
    Another good idea was how the Eraser, there enemy, was capturing Angel and Max, Fang, and Nudge went on a long and dreadful travel to get her back. This adventure was long and exciting through the entire way. The author thought incredibly hard to come up with all the exciting ideas. This book has great thoughts and can inspire some people.
    One of the best ideas was how Max was shot and had to get taken care of by normal humans. This was the best action of the whole book this part showed Max’s weak side and gave a lot of feeling to the book. James Patterson is a great author for making this book with so much detail and thought.
    James Patterson has made tons of books and this could be one of his best. Maximum Ride has exciting and thrilling moments it’s just extravagant! He probably inspired hundreds of writers from this book. He deserves to have whatever he wants because he is an amazing writer. James Patterson will be famous for a long time because of this book.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Hmm...

    If you are reading this review, I will hazard a guess you are looking at Maximum Ride as a series to read. You're probably wondering if it will be a good book, if it will have quality writing, or, if it will simply keep your attention for more than a sentence. Alright; to date, I have read the first four out of six books, totally loved some things, and hated others. The storyline is gripping, the action intense and, at almost NO given point, is it at all boring. The books move faster than any I can recall (and I read quite a lot), and the characters are thoroughly loveable. With that, I end my positive criticism. The negative begins with this; I have been very disappointed with Mr. Patterson's plot development. Things speed along at breakneck pace, which keeps your attention, but also results in a lot of confusion and unresolved conflicts. The story's various villains change every book, as does the mission and conflict; the only examples continuity present are the six flock members- Max, Fang, Nudge, Iggy, Gasman, and Angel. Also, I personally find that the titles, summaries, and even plots of the books in this series are corny to the breaking point at more than one time. "Mission: Save the World?" I've read that a billion times. Now a little more positive criticism; these books, as far as I have read, are ENTIRELY appropriate. True, there is romance, but at it's climax, there is only kissing. Language? A minor amount, the majority of which consists of phrases such as "She wished they would rot in h-e-double-toothpicks forever." At it's worst, as far as I personally can remember, the a-word was mentioned a few times in four books. Compared with many other modern-day novels, it is very clean. It is my personal belief, to sum up my review, that Mr. Patterson's Maximum Ride series is a success because it is exciting and because he has character development down to an art. You, dear reader, most likely WILL enjoy this series, if you can cope with the rapid plot changes and the frequent (yet happily excuseable) corniness. I reccomend this as a series to boys or girls (Even though the main character and narrator is female, she is a complete tomboy, and the romance is nearly nonexistent in the first two books, escalating as the series progresses) aged 12 and up (due to the complicated plot and minor language). Enjoy! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Have you ever read about flying humans?

    Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment
    By: James Patterson


    Ever read about flying humans? Well in the book Maximum Ride: Angel Experiment there are six kids who have the ability to fly. The kids are Max, Angel, Iggy, Fang, Nudge, and Gasman. This book is filled with fantasy, adventure, and action. If you like all of these this book is for you.
    In the beginning of Maximum Ride: Angels experiment, the youngest out of the six (Angel) is kidnapped by creepers called "Erasers". You might be thinking that erasers are on the bottom of your pencils, but in Maximum Ride they are wolf-like humans that don't need the moon to change. They are your worst nightmare.
    "Max!" Angel screamed, high- pitched and terrified, and I spun around. The Erasers got Angel. The flock could not save her. The Erasers took her to the "school" (that is a horrible place were the Erasers keep kids in cages and run tests on them).There was a four year old boy named Ari that met the flock at the "school." He was Jeb's son. Jeb is a scientist who watched the flock (Max and the others). He left Ari at the "school" to go with the flock. He took really good care of the six kids, but one day he left. The flock thought he died. They never heard or saw him again. Any -way, Ari transformed into an adult Eraser.
    In the middle of Maximum Ride: the Angel Experiment, the flock went looking for Angel. Max went separate from them. Max was flying above the forest when she saw many guys picking on one girl. She flew down to help her when "Boom" she got shot. It hit her arm. She lied there on the ground feeling so much pain. Later she met Dr. Martinez who eventually, found out about her wings. They took exrays of Max and found this little chip in her. Fang and Nudge love flying with the birds. Well not exactly with them. They live way up high in the forest trees and they feel safe to spread their wings.
    In the end of Maximum Ride: the Angel Experiment, the flock rescues Angel. They go to New York and they live in the underground subway. They meet this guy who has a computer that started to go crazy. It showed pictures and a lot of words. They were trying to find out who their birth parents were when all of that stuff popped up on the computer screen. They found out that Angel has this new kind of power. If you want to know if they find out who there birth parent are and what Angels new power is then you should read Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great book

    Sometimes I had to reread!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for Reluctant Readers

    This book is great for reluctant readers, especially in middle school. The writing is forward and the plot is action-filled and thrilling. I doubt that people will get bored. People of a higher reading level might find the constant getting-cornered-then-escaping a bit tedious, and nothing really happens in the grand scheme of things, but its entertaining enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Book ever!!

    Molly Geraghty April 30,2009
    Maximum Ride:
    The Angel Experiment

    In the book Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment, a girl named Maximum Ride is 98% human and 2% bird. With just that two percent she has wings and can fly! In her book she is trying to protect the other bird-kids: Fang, Iggy, Nudge, the Gasman, and Angel from these half wolf- half human mutants called Erasers. In the story Angel gets captured by Erasers and is sent to the School. ( A place where scientists conduct experiments) the "flock" also finds out that they all have special powers other than being able to fly. Max later finds out that she has this voice inside her that tells her crazy things. The voice tells her that she is going to save the world.I like this book because it has a lot of action. It is also a lot of fun to read. What I don't like about this book is that the chapters are like one or two pages long. It also seems to have a reoccurring pattern. James Patterson's style uses realistic dialogue for teens like slang. He also uses very sensory images. His chapters and paragraphs are very short which makes it a fast paced book. James Patterson's writing is very clear. His words aren't too complicated.I recommend this book to any middle-schooler because it is interesting and geared towards teens. The plot was great. It was very detailed. Similar novels to this one would be: Daniel X, Alien Hunter by James Patterson and Maximum Ride: The Final Warning. Over all this is a very good, interesting book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THRILLING AND CRAZY!!!!!!!!!

    Maximum Ride books have always wowed me but this to me was by far the best. It is filled with huge twists and turns which really makes you think what if that really happend, or what if that was true? I could not stop reading until at least the middle. This is great if your looking for a good on-edge expierence. Every chapter is filled with great adventure and fights between Max (main character) and her gang of winged humans. To me the best part is the plot. As I said before its about Max trying to find her little sister, Angel who is at a place they refer to as the school. Here at the school they do creepy tests and weird expirements...with humans. But along the way Max takes on huge challenges for a 12 or 13 year old girl! Such as taking on man eating mutant people known as erasers. These snarling beasts are a mix between a man and a wolf. As you can see from above I did call it crazy! So as you can see I would definately reccomend this to anyone looking for a good fantasy, and suspensful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment is a fast-paced book. The 6 children are very different from any that you have ever encountered. They were created in a labratory, know as the "School". This book has short chapters that keeps the reader flipping through the book until the end.<BR/>The language might not be as difficult as other books set in the young adult/science fiction genre but once you get used to it, you realize that the simple language is coming from a 14 year old girl who has never been in school.<BR/>I find this book to be an interesting book and a great start to a series. It leaves you just enough to want to pick up the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    Very good book that keeps you on the edge of your seat..

    Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment was, in my opinion, a very good book.<BR/>Although a little slow in the beginning, it quickly got a hold of my attention and held it till the very last page. It's one of those "page turners" that keeps you from wanting to put it down. I honestly think it was geared for an audience of many different ages. Just as Max was fourteen, I think someone of that age could easily understand it, but it also wouldn't bore young adults or adults. The descriptiveness was very intriguing and gave you a clear picture in your mind of what was going on. There were also many symbols and figures of speech, which kept it interesting. I highly recommend reading Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment as well as the others in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    JUST GET IT ITS AWSOME

    This is an awsome book!!!...So good you are not ganna want to put it down!! You are ganna gasp on the suprising adventures James Patterson has written just for you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Couldve ben better.

    Homestly,this book couldve been better.Like mabye,a little more romance between Max and Fang.Now,dont get me wrong,I love Fang and the flock,it needed a little more romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Maximum Ride was a girl that has to take care of her family tha

    Maximum Ride was a girl that has to take care of her family that includes 6 kids including herself. They escaped a prison like place called the school where the people there in white-coats experiment on the kids that they capture and take there. The kids that they experiment on are called mutants because they have something irregular wrong with them. They finally escaped and when they thought that they are safe the bad people called erasers come and they fight. The Erasers take the youngest of them all named Angel back to the school and they have have to go and rescue her from the bad people. They have to battle more of the bad people along the way. They have to find a way to get to the school without any of the bad people noticing them. They get hurt some really bad on along the way but in the end it was really worth it. This book is amazing and really good. This book is really good for you if you like a book with action in it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22