Customer Reviews for

Angel Eyes

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    This is a book that my daughter inhaled. While she devours most

    This is a book that my daughter inhaled. While she devours most books, I wasn't sure she'd like this one because of it's strong supernatural tones. Instead, she loved it precisely for those reasons. This book strikes me as a teenage version of This Present Darkness, a book I loved as a teen because it stretched my imagination and thoughts regarding the struggles that are largely unseen.

    The story pulled my daughter in. From the opening pages filled with a tragedy that propels Brielle home to her new gift that allows her to see things others can't. There's also a romance, but one with a twist. It's hard to say too much more without giving the plot away. Let's just say that this book illustrates the concept that our struggle is not against flesh and blood. And my daughter can't wait to read the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    I've been really excited for this one ever since I discovered it

    I've been really excited for this one ever since I discovered it on Goodreads a few months back. And I'm so glad that it lived up to my expectations!

    Reasons to Read:

    1.Shannon's effective way of writing:

    I quickly noticed how precise the language Shannon uses is when I started reading Angel Eyes; not only does it flow so well, but it's as if each and every word has been carefully thought over and selected so as to best convey the meaning and imagery she's picturing. It brings the entire story to life, and completely immerses you in Brielle's frame of mind. And this is something so rare and skillful, that Shannon easily deserves praise for being able to achieve this (and do it so well, I might add).

    2.THERE ARE ADULTS:

    Hurray for parental involvement! This shouldn't be such a novelty in a YA book, but it is. Brielle has a handful of caring, attentive adults in her life who do pay attention to her and try to help her in any way they can- yet still recognize that she's an independent young woman. And I think you can sort of count Canaan and company as adults as well, and it's nice to see a couple teenagers that aren't completely on their own.

    3.Fresh take on angel mythology:

    But how different can it be, right? Angels have been done over and over in YA. And Shannon Dittemore uses part Biblical interpretation and part imagination to conjure up a new type of angel we haven't really seen in YA before. Angels are involved in the story, but they don't really take up center stage- they have their own role to play, which is actually based on other characters.

    4.So much more than a paranormal book:

    Similarily, since the angels in Angel Eyes aren't the focus of the story, it follows that there are other more important elements involved. Angel Eyes isn't just about weird paranormal activity, a battle between angels and fallen angels, or falling in love; it deals with grief, faith, doubt, and free will. And something kind of cool about that idea of free will is that it comes up in a couple different ways; it's a struggle for many of the characters, those who try to reconcile what choices they are able to make and those who have lost their freedom because of others who have taken that right away.

    Angel Eyes is an interesting book because of the perspective Shannon took with writing it; she very clearly poured so much of her own experience into the book, and her own convinctions heavily influences the story. That might be difficult for some people to swallow, but I think it's intriguing to read a book from an author with this very different perspective. Angel Eyes is definitely influenced by religious thoughts but I don't find it preachy whatsoever. It's the story of a girl with struggles surrounding faith and doubt, which is something just about every person will experience in their life. The difference is that not everyone will come to the same conclusion as Brielle- but I don't think that's a bad thing, to have a book written with this in mind.

    Love that blooms a tad too quickly for my taste, but I did appreciate that Jake was so sweet. He may tease, but he's thoughtful and genuine. He treats Brielle as an equal, but recognizes that she has needs and tries to help her with those as well.

    E-galley received from publisher via Net Galley for blog tour. (Original review abridged for posting limitations)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Angel Eyes

    Angel Eyes, I have to say that the title threw me off guard. Not in the way that you think. At first, and before reading it, I thought that it had been about Halflings. That maybe the main character Brielle is a Halfling. I’m going to bring up the fact that this has nothing do with having literal angel eyes. It’s about a halo that gives Brielle (which is short of Gabrielle, which is something that I, being a Gabrielle myself, envy) the ability to see into the realm where angels and demons are visible.

    Cool, I know, it does sound pretty cool. The start of the novel, did give me that total Twilight feel because it starts off with Brielle just returning from the city to her small hometown of Stratus, Oregon after going through a tragedy that has left her grieving and mournful. Not only did I personally find her Dad funny and nice, but the story was definitely great at finding ways to add in details as well as creating the emotions that Brielle would feel whether it was a flashback or if it was when she was with Jake.

    I’ll get to Jake in a moment, really I will, but firstly I just wanted to mention the multiple chapters that came in the different point of views of different characters in the story. While Brielle’s were ones that were expected (since she is the main character) I was unsure if the constant switching was genius or not. Some of them, that were in the “bad guy’s” POV, had me intensely into the story and had me wanting more and others were so well detailed and enchanting that I wanted it to last just a paragraph longer.

    The relationship between Jake and Brielle was different than the ones usually found it YA. I found it to be cute and the interaction between the two character reminded me of the interactions that were in Across the Universe. I don’t want to say much, but I know that everything between Jake and Brielle have my hopes up that I end up with somebody like him.

    The entire novel itself, only takes place after a series of days, which seems like a short amount of time for people to fall in love, but soulmates are soulmates. I was personally interested in the way that author Shannon Dittermore described Canaan being an ethereal Shield and found the chest where fellow angels would send objects from the Throne Room to Jake and Brielle outstandingly cool. The story not only held multiple intense action scenes, but it also ended with a bang.

    Author Shannon Dittemore has a writing style that is one that I found refreshing and unique, Fans of Twilight, Hush, Hush and Unearthly are sure to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brielle has returned to her home in Stratus, Oregon, but this ho

    Brielle has returned to her home in Stratus, Oregon, but this homecoming is not what anyone expected. Brielle is not happy and the sadness that hovers around her affects those near her. Something horrible happened. Everyone knows. Brielle doesn't want to talk about it, she wants to be invisible, yet she knows she has to move through her life somehow. As she re-enters the school she left a couple of years before, a new boy named Jake also starts. He saw her dancing. He seems to show up everywhere she is. Is he a stalker or worse? Could he simply be a protector?

    In a world where angels and demons battle, humans can be pawns and need protection. As the demons (fallen angels - Damien) and the angels (Shield Angels - Canaan) battle, most people can't see them. But, after receiving a gift from Jake, Brielle can see them. How does this affect her and her ability to move past tragedy and sadness? Will she finally understand what is going on and why Jake is in her life? Will she and Jake work together to help those around them? This first book in a new trilogy by Shannon Dittemore will provide answers to these questions and many more.

    I really enjoyed this book and can't wait for the next in the series. The story pulled me in immediately and I wanted to know what had made Brielle so sad. I wanted her relationship with her father to be strong again, and I wanted to know who Jake was. In my quest for these answers I found so much more. I recommend this book to anyone who loves stories about the battle between good and evil, mysteries, and YA fiction. The book is well written and will pull you into its pages, leaving you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brielle Matthews has returned home after the Murder of her best

    Brielle Matthews has returned home after the Murder of her best friend Ali. She and Ali studied ballet in Portland. After Ali's death, Brielle is consumed with guilt, fear, and loss. She has returned to her hometown to finish school. She ends up meeting the new guy at school Jake, and she feels drawn to him, even though she tries to deny it. They become friends, and then more. Brielle warms at Jake's touch, literally, especially after she injures herself in a fall. Jake touch not only heals her ankle, he helps to heal her heart. Little does she know that there is a lot more to Jake, and his guardian than she ever imagined. With all that has happened, Brielle questions her faith and her belief in God. Jake gives her a gift, and suddenly her eyes are opened to a realm that she wasn't aware of, where both angels and demons exist, and she is able to see things she never dreamed of. Brielle and Jake take part in this age-old battle between good and evil, light and darkness, which not only affects her life, but the lives of others hang in the balance also. She must not only face the truth surrounding Ali's death, but she also has to make a choice about her beliefs.


    I thought this was a very good book and I enjoyed it. I have read books about angels before, but there is something about this book that sets it apart from the others. That something different is the reality in which Shannon Dittemore has portrayed the world of angels and demons, which is both imaginative, intricate, and at the same time seems realistic. The angels that she describes sound like the real deal, and so do the demons. The angelic world that Dittemore has created is unbelievable (and I mean that in a good way), yet believable at at the same time. As far as romance, the relationship between Jake and Brielle develops gradually and is very sweet. There is a lot of action, mystery and suspense, especially towards the ending. The book is Christian fiction, so naturally there are going to be religious overtones. This was not overbearing in a preachy sort of way, but well done in a way that causes you think about your own beliefs......I think most everyone believes in something, we all just have to decide what that something is. If you enjoy books about angels, then this book is one you probably will want to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Can't wait til February!!!!

    Loved this book. It was interesting and a great debut for a first time author. I wanted to read it because I haven't read a Christian YA book in a long while. I absolutely enjoyed the author's subtle and then completely teachable moments. Great job, Shannon Dittemore.... Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Angel Eyes is the first book in a Christian supernatural trilogy

    Angel Eyes is the first book in a Christian supernatural trilogy. Brielle (nickname for Gabrielle) returns home after the tragic death of her friend. Things are much the same in her small town, but she has changed. She has the ability to see into a different realm--the realm of angels and demons.

    Pros: I like how Brielle isn't a victim. She doesn't depend on others to fix things, and isn't weak. I also like how the story is clearly a Christian story of good and evil, and doesn't try to hide it.

    Cons: This story is so different from what I am used to reading. I love reading books told from the first person point of view because it allows me to feel the character's feelings, and experience the events at a personal level. BUT, and that's a big but, first person PRESENT TENSE was extremely awkward for me. In a way, it felt like I was reading a script. Just when I started getting somewhat used to it, it changed to past tense. Tense changes may not bother others, but I found it very distracting.

    Overall: I chose to read this book for many reasons. Because it was Christian fiction (one of my favorite genres) it had a great title and cover, and the description sounded unique and gripping. So overall, it fit the bill. I'm just not a huge fan of fantasy or (as I've learned with this book) a present tense narrative. I feel those who enjoy reading supernatural YA fiction would thoroughly enjoy it though.

    Cover: Love it
    Title: Love it
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    Pages: 311
    Pace: slow beginning
    First Line(s): The knot in my throat is constant. An aching thing. Shallow breaths whisper around it, sting my chapped lips, and leave white smoke monsters in the air.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just how far would you go for the ones that you love? Would you

    Just how far would you go for the ones that you love? Would you be willing to lay down your life for theirs? How about if you just met? How long would it take and just what is the value of a life?

    Brielle Matthews is about to find out when she returns home after the death of her best friend, Ali and the ongoing investigation into her death in which Brielle feels personally responsible for. She feels this is a death she could have prevented. She had seen the signs, the fear, the long-moments in between visits and phone calls and of course the bruises all over her body. Not to mention the fact that her new boyfriend, Marco seemed to like to keep her all for himself lately. Now it's too late but how can Brielle expect to find a way to move forward in her life when fear and despair are keeping her captive.

    Jake is the new kid in school this year and Brielle finds every single girl in school wants to meet him. Fortunately she has him in two of her classes and he seems to have a special interest in Brielle. Maybe it's that smoldering look in his eyes or perhaps it the incredible heat that comes off him whenever they are near one another especially in the middle of winter and somehow she is drawn to him in a way she can't explain. She soon finds herself confiding in him with her issues and spends her free time getting to know him. It turns out he is an only child and is being raised by his guardian, Canaan after a tragic childhood himself. It seems that Jake and Brielle are destined to be together and soon he will tell her just why he has come into her life.

    In the darkness, evil waits in the town of Stratus, Oregon. An evil that wants nothing more than to control and rule, but since humans are hard to find with special gifts, Damien searches for a way to satisfy his hunger. When he learns that Jake has the gift of healing, he soon plots for a way to kidnap him and lure him away from God and into what he has been planning. Only his guardian angel stands guard to protect him at all costs and soon the battle lines will be drawn and both human and angels will be called to war.

    In the debut novel, Angel Eyes, by Shannon Dittmore, the reader is immersed in the story of two different worlds, one seen and one not seen. The world of humans and how angels and demons can work between them. In this story we are given a rare glimpse into the roles angels play in the lives of Brielle and Jake and how the demons will stop at nothing to kill either of them. What purpose Jake and Brielle have in coming together is explained in this wonderful new series that enables them to use a special gift from God to help battle against the enemy. For those of you that love This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness, then I know you will love this new series of books.

    I received Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittmore compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and can't wait to read the sequel Broken Wings coming out soon. I love stories that combine spiritual warfare in the unseen world parallel with our own human world and this one does an outstanding job at drawing the reader in. This is both a love story and an action adventure from a Christian perspective. The writing is astounding, poetic and lyrical in how she describes the unseen world from God's eyes. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and now have another new favorite Christian author whose writing speaks to my parched soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Angel Eyes is a beautiful novel. Shannon Dittemore is truly a gi

    Angel Eyes is a beautiful novel. Shannon Dittemore is truly a gifted writer. She’s reminded me that God is exciting. With so many Christian books being boring, Dittemore’s Angel Eyes was like a refreshing, cool drink of water. Dittemore also gave me a beautiful romance with Brielle and Jake. I love the way Jake cherishes Brielle. His love for her came from the heart with caring and tenderness, and Jake always treats Brielle with respected and praised her for being her own individual and independent self in making her choices. But with the cliffhanger ending that Dittemore left me hanging with Jake and Brielle's relationship, I have a feeling Jake's faith is going to be put to the test in the sequel Broken Wings. I also really enjoyed Angel Eyes being told from Brielle, Jake's guardian angel Canaan, and the demon Damien's point of view, and the last chapter starts the sequel off in Jack's. I have always loved when an author does this, it makes the story a more intriguing read for me. And I love Jake's character, exceptionally when Brielle says, he’s HOT! (literally) I'm really going to enjoy Jake's perspective: seeing his feelings and how he thinks in Broken Wings.

    Brielle's seventeen and a ballerina. She’s been away from home for the last two years at an art school in the city. After the murder of Ali, her best friend at the art school, Brielle comes back home to a small town life and her father. But now she lives in coldness, the coldness of guilt and unable to forgive herself for not protecting her friend. She saw the bruises on Ali and she didn't tell anyone. And when Ali's boyfriend escapes from jail, she fears for her own life now, too. Brielle knows what she saw and she’s ready to tell the truth even if it’s too late to save her best friend's life, because it’s not too late for justice. But does Brielle really know the truth? And when she does see the truth, will she have enough love to believe, or will she choose her hate?

    Jake is the new guy who's moved next door to Brielle. He is definitely hot in more ways than one, and how many strong, gorgeous guys are willing to wear a tutu just to spend more time with a girl? I love the way Brielle and Jake meet. There's nothing like a girl beating her chest like a gorilla and howling to impress the new hot guy in town. Works every time. Except Brielle didn't know the new guy was watching her, and when Jake gets caught laughing at her, Brielle gives him a lot of altitude. But Jake is willing to take Brielle's altitude and much more…including her heart.

    Angel Eyes is about evil, hate, forgiveness, but it’s also about the gift of love and the truth of that love setting you free. I recommend Angel Eyes as a beautiful, heart-moving read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, something different, a good read! Did I enjoy this

    Interesting, something different, a good read!

    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book.

    In the beginning, I had to keep telling myself to read it because some parts were kind of slow. The first quarter of the book kept me wondering what was wrong with Brielle, what had happened to her. I had to know. After the first half, the story really picked up and I could not put this book down. Once I reached this point, I read every free chance I had!

    I found this book rather interesting and well written. I have not read many paranormal books about angels and demons, if any at all...In fact, I can't think of any that I have read at this point in time. Anyway, Angel Eyes was something different that I hadn't read before. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read this book.

    I was happy with the ending...it wasn't what I expected which is a good thing. I don't like The ending left open the possibility of a sequel...which is good since this is the first book of a trilogy. (I did not know this when I read the book.) I really hope Jake gets his tutu!!! Angel Eyes also left me with the thought that we do not know what lies ahead of us, only God knows that. It also left with me wondering what "truth" was told to the cops at the end.

    Would I recommend it: I would recommend this book. I think that it is a worthwhile read and something different...not your cookie-cutter YA book.

    Will I read it again: I will not read this book again but I will be anxiously awaiting the next two books in this trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Six stars!

    Review by Jill Williamson

    After a tragedy shatters her life, Brielle comes home to the tiny town of Stratus, Oregon. And even though her father and all her old friends are there, nothing is the same. An icy cold fear grips her at all times. She connects with a new student named Jake. With his dark skin, he looks as out of place as Brielle feels. But he is warm—unhumanly so. Somehow, they are continually thrown together, become friends, and a gift from an angel unleashes hidden powers in Jake and Brielle that draw them into a realm where angles and demons wage war.

    If I could, I would give this book six stars. I was that taken with it. I’m totally serious. This is a powerful, entertaining story that stays true to scripture where angels and demons are concerned. I loved how the author did this. It’s like Peretti’s This Present Darkness meets a Melody Carlson novel or something. So very cool. And I loved the way she wrote how angels can see human fear. Whenever I’m afraid in my life, I will forever remember the image the angels see.

    Brielle’s story was strong and compelling. There was an ongoing mystery, a gentle romance that didn’t overwhelm the story, and I’ve since learned that this is the first book in a trilogy, though the story stands alone on its own too. This book rocks! Very, super-duper highly recommended for teen and adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is such an excellent book! Full of action, biblical facts,

    This is such an excellent book! Full of action, biblical facts, its no wonder I was intrigued right away.

    What I loved most about this book is how greatly is is intertwined with real biblical facts. Most of the time when I read books, some times biblical aspects are not what I excepted but this book, YES! There is enough in the story to capture the reader but not too much to push them away.

    The action of the book is very well written.I loved watching Brielle come into her destiny. Chosen for something greater, Brielle pushes aside all what she ever know and took a leap of faith. Brielle is my type of gal. She's smart and fun with a loud mind. I loved reading her though cause I was thinking the same thing! LOL

    The characters of the book were wonderfully written. I enjoyed watching each new door open and collapse with great new possibilities. The world building and how they got there powers really caught my eye. I'm excited to see what happens in the next installment.

    Angel Eyes is a powerful debut with amazing heroic characters. Nonstop action with loads of secrets, destiny has more in store for you than what you think. Excellent and witty, Angel Eyes is impressive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    This book had me intrigued from the start. If you know me, you s

    This book had me intrigued from the start. If you know me, you should know I love Angel books. They are in fact my favourite "paranormal being". This book was no different. The cover is gorgeous - simple, yet effective!

    Brielle is a dancer, returned home from boarding school in the city after tragedy strikes. Jake is the new kid, with an angel for a guardian. The plot line wasn't overly original, but the twist's involved in the story gave it a new life and made it completely enjoyable.

    My feelings for Brielle's character were off/on. I couldn't figure out whether I liked her, but in the end I decided that I did. Jake was a fantastic character. I didn't find him to be exactly swoon-worthy, their romance is more quiet than passionate, but I still found it lovely none-the-less.

    The only problem I have with this book is the massive religious undertones. Yes, I know it is a book about angels. I have read plenty of books about angels with almost no religious undertones, but this one had it. In some places, it felt right, in other's it didn't.

    I recommend this book to lovers of anything paranormal! I will be definitely be reading the sequel once it arrives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    So, under the guidance of both my editor and literary agent, I r

    So, under the guidance of both my editor and literary agent, I rarely do book reviews anymore. But sometimes...sometimes I'm hit with the I-must-tell-everyone-about-this-book-or-I-will-die syndrome. There's absolutely no cure for this except to post a review. Doctor's orders.

    ANGEL EYES was one of those books for me. Though angels have been done before, I assure you, they haven't been done like this. I adored the main character, Brielle, and her growth throughout her journey. I loved her beau in this book, Jake, and how their relationship is both gentle, sexy, and slow-growing (no cliched insta-love here). But mostly, I loved the pacing of this story. So many YA's try to rush you so that you can hardly catch your breath. And sometimes, the result is a distancing from the main characters. It's like having a gourmet meal placed in front of you, and stuffing your face without actually tasting much. But ANGEL EYES...ANGEL EYES is like a cup of your favorite tea when you need it most. You take sip after sip, savoring the temperature and flavors. And then, after your cup is nearly empty, you get that sudden burst of honey against your tongue.

    That's this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I received a copy of ANGEL EYES by Shannon Dittemore, from Thoma

    I received a copy of ANGEL EYES by Shannon Dittemore, from Thomas Nelson via BookSneeze. It is her first novel, about a young woman named Brielle, which is short for Gabrielle. She has always loved to dance, and happened to be discovered by a talent scout. Using a scholarship, she left her country town for a boarding school in the city – and found deep tragedy. I won’t ruin the surprise for you by telling you what the tragedy is, but I was disappointed in how long the secret was dragged out. It felt like a writer’s ploy to keep the reader reading, rather than important to the story. Knowing the tragedy right away might have enhanced my enjoyment of the overall book, but instead, I was a little irritated by how long it took before Brielle revealed it.

    Back to the story, Brielle returns home. Her father is her only living parent, and does his best to make her feel better. He felt a little too lenient for me. Maybe I just have overprotective parents, but it seemed like he gave her a little too much space, acting more like a neighbor than a dad.

    Brielle meets the new boy at school, Jake. He’s hot and warm, something she needs because she feels so cold. His guardian turns out to be an angel. He gives Jake his halo, which allows Jake to heal people. When Jake gives it to Brielle, she gets to See. I really enjoyed the angel aspects of the story. They reminded me of the television show, Supernatural. Then, there is a fallen angel, mysteries from her life in the city, and inner struggles.

    Overall, I enjoyed this young adult novel. Shannon Dittemore’s storytelling voice is hard to resist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Goodreads Synopsis: Once you’ve seen, you can’t un

    Goodreads Synopsis:


    Once you’ve seen, you can’t unsee. Everything changes when you’ve looked at the world through . . .

    ANGEL EYES

    Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

    Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

    Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

    A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.


    Review:


    Angel Eyes deals with life, loss, tragedy, love, and truth.
    I was given the wonderful opportunity to read an advanced reader’s copy of Angel Eyes. This is definitely a book I would recommend to everyone. Action, romance, wit, humor, angels, and demons. This is a novel that has it all, there is something for everyone in this book. I read Angel Eyes in just a few hours, which is quite hard for me sometimes. It takes a lot for me to just sit down and read a book in one sitting. Angel Eyes will be released on May 29, 2012!! So go and support my friend and pre-order your copy now or when it’s released get out to your local bookstore and grab yourself a copy. Angel Eyes is Shannon Dittemore’s debut novel and the first in the Angel Eyes Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    YAY A first ever book genre for me – YA Christian Okay, s

    YAY A first ever book genre for me – YA Christian

    Okay, so for the review, well I will lead off with the fact that if you are looking for a fast pace read, this isn’t going to be it. The beginning of the book is a little slow moving and a little confusing, but both of those characteristics are not a bad thing in the case of this book. The book starts following Brielle home, I won’t give too much away, but this would be the slow portion of the book. We learn in small bits and pieces about what lead her home and her journey to finding peace with it. I particularly liked this portion of the book because Shannon Dittemore did such an excellent job of buildup and mystery that I was not really expecting. I also find this portion of the book critical in the understanding of the tenor and inner workings of Brielle.

    Which leads me to an interesting point about Dittemore’s writing. So, with most YA reads, things are explained and laid out in black and white, it may not happen right away but at some point everything is put on the table. But Dittemore didn’t do that; there was a lot of opened ending sections, leaving room for interpretation and drawing your own conclusion. I believe this was party to draw in the religious aspect of the book, but I didn’t always go there, so it kept it religious while leaving it for you to decide.

    So, how did I feel about my first Christian read? Well, for the most part, as I said before, for the most of the beginning and middle of the book a lot of points were left open for interpretation. Now, for the most part I did see it drawing to the Christian theology, but it wasn’t too heavy. Near the end of the book it did get a little heavier and for those points, well, it just wasn’t for me.

    Drawbacks: written in alternating perspectives, heavy religious undertones at the end

    End conclusion, I really enjoyed Angel Eyes for so many reasons that I didn’t realize until I finished. I like books that even if I take notes while I’m reading I still have to take a moment when I’m done and reflect. That shows that the author really made you think…and…I don’t get that too often anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2