Customer Reviews for

Angel Eyes

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining read that fans of angels are sure to enjoy.

    With a complex protagonist and a battle against evil, Angel Eyes was beautiful written and a delightful addition to this popular genre. While steeped in faith, this novel didn’t overwhelm and I enjoyed the tale, romance and battle of good verse evil. The tale begins as Brielle Matthews returns home during her senior year of high school. A victim of tragedy and over-whelmed with guilt this ballerina has had her light snuffed out. Suffering from bouts of depression, guilt and gloom she just wants to sink into her own darkness. When Jake shows up at her quiet little Stratus, Oregon school she is immediately intrigued by him but quickly tries to shut those thoughts down. Dittemore slowly reveals the tragedy that has forever changed Brielle as she weaves Jake and Brielle together through fate. The tale that develops was sweet, action-packed and thought provoking. Brielle is complicated and brilliant on so many levels. She is guilt-ridden and broken. I wondered if she could ever be whole. She questions herself, her faith and perhaps even her existence. Watching her transform, take control of her life and accept love again was enjoyable. Jake was sweet, protective and very firm in his beliefs. He gives Brielle a gift that will forever change her. The romance that develops between them is sweet. It isn’t swoon-worthy but has an innocents and acceptance about it that was believable. There are both evil and good characters that added to the tale and helped advance the story. While the tale isn’t completely original, a task that would be hard for anyone in the angel genre, Dittemore did offer some unique twists. Her introduction of the halo was interesting and drew me into the tale. The different classifications of angels and their purpose was fascinating. I enjoyed her descriptions of them and their roles. Her depiction of the demons held my attention. Of course there is a battle between good and evil and souls to be saved. The author placed her own mark on them and kept me entertained. The messages and questions raised about faith delivered throughout the tale were thought provoking. While not bogged down with religious scripture and messages Dittemore does tackle difficult questions like why God spares one life and not another. Presented from multiple POV’s (including the villains) this tale started slow and awkward but became more action packed as it progressed. The ending chapters were climatic and suspenseful. Angel Eyes was an enjoyable, entertaining read that fans of angels are sure to enjoy. Filled with thought provoking questions it lets the reader experience the ramifications of their decisions. I am looking forward to Broken Wings the next book in this trilogy. I want to thank Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Angel Eyes

    Angel Eyes, I have to say that the title threw me off guard. Not in the way that you think. At first, and before reading it, I thought that it had been about Halflings. That maybe the main character Brielle is a Halfling. I’m going to bring up the fact that this has nothing do with having literal angel eyes. It’s about a halo that gives Brielle (which is short of Gabrielle, which is something that I, being a Gabrielle myself, envy) the ability to see into the realm where angels and demons are visible.

    Cool, I know, it does sound pretty cool. The start of the novel, did give me that total Twilight feel because it starts off with Brielle just returning from the city to her small hometown of Stratus, Oregon after going through a tragedy that has left her grieving and mournful. Not only did I personally find her Dad funny and nice, but the story was definitely great at finding ways to add in details as well as creating the emotions that Brielle would feel whether it was a flashback or if it was when she was with Jake.

    I’ll get to Jake in a moment, really I will, but firstly I just wanted to mention the multiple chapters that came in the different point of views of different characters in the story. While Brielle’s were ones that were expected (since she is the main character) I was unsure if the constant switching was genius or not. Some of them, that were in the “bad guy’s” POV, had me intensely into the story and had me wanting more and others were so well detailed and enchanting that I wanted it to last just a paragraph longer.

    The relationship between Jake and Brielle was different than the ones usually found it YA. I found it to be cute and the interaction between the two character reminded me of the interactions that were in Across the Universe. I don’t want to say much, but I know that everything between Jake and Brielle have my hopes up that I end up with somebody like him.

    The entire novel itself, only takes place after a series of days, which seems like a short amount of time for people to fall in love, but soulmates are soulmates. I was personally interested in the way that author Shannon Dittermore described Canaan being an ethereal Shield and found the chest where fellow angels would send objects from the Throne Room to Jake and Brielle outstandingly cool. The story not only held multiple intense action scenes, but it also ended with a bang.

    Author Shannon Dittemore has a writing style that is one that I found refreshing and unique, Fans of Twilight, Hush, Hush and Unearthly are sure to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1