BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Anne Rice returns with a thought-provoking, fast-paced story and deeply conflicted characters.

Anne Rice has crafted both an entertaining and educational story with Angel Time, the story of Toby O'Dare, a hitman for the government who is visited by Malchiah, an angel. For a decade, Toby has used his talents to take life, and Malchiah asks him to turn his back on...
Anne Rice has crafted both an entertaining and educational story with Angel Time, the story of Toby O'Dare, a hitman for the government who is visited by Malchiah, an angel. For a decade, Toby has used his talents to take life, and Malchiah asks him to turn his back on that life and to give himself to God. Toby is reluctant to follow Malchiah until the angel shows him the evolution of his life from a young, talented musician obsessed with learning to play the lute who cares for his younger siblings into the cold-blooded killer he has become.

Upon submitting to Malchiah's request, Toby is hurdled back in time to medieval England where he is tasked with saving a Jewish couple who have been accused of murdering their daughter after she dared enter a Christian church to view a Christmas pageant. The historical account of the deep conflict between the Christians and the Jews is accurate, and Ms. Rice cites the resources she used in what was obviously painstakingly detailed research. Perhaps the most amazing accomplishment of this entire novel is the objective, non-judging portrayal of both the Christians and the Jews, allowing the reader to determine for himself or herself which opinion is just.

Having been a long-time fan of Ms. Rice's darker fiction involving vampires and witches, I have hesitated in picking up her newer works which are more strongly based in her rediscovered faith. However, her storytelling and interweaving of fact with fiction remains unchanged, and her stories are as engaging and as thought-provoking as ever. Deeply rooted in religious and spiritual fact, Angel Time is not only a fast-paced thriller that travels through medieval time through to the present. Its characters, like all of Ms. Rice's characters, are complex, emotional, and analytical beings. This novel is highly recommended.

posted by Richard_Szponder on November 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Angel Time Expresses Rice's New Mission

Angel Time is a simple story of moral conversion and prophetic call to dedicate one's life to a mission of mercy. Experience teaches that a personal, heart and soul moral conversion is not a quick process and the main character's 180 degree turn around is unrealistic i...
Angel Time is a simple story of moral conversion and prophetic call to dedicate one's life to a mission of mercy. Experience teaches that a personal, heart and soul moral conversion is not a quick process and the main character's 180 degree turn around is unrealistic in my opinion...as is his sudden fall from grace into the pit of crime and murder. Anne Rice has the capability to write with in-depth psychological insight into the human persaon, but this book is too short and does not allow for the complexity her plot, characters,and Christian moral themes that this new series is potentially capable of offering to readers.

posted by skaosf on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anne Rice returns with a thought-provoking, fast-paced story and deeply conflicted characters.

    Anne Rice has crafted both an entertaining and educational story with Angel Time, the story of Toby O'Dare, a hitman for the government who is visited by Malchiah, an angel. For a decade, Toby has used his talents to take life, and Malchiah asks him to turn his back on that life and to give himself to God. Toby is reluctant to follow Malchiah until the angel shows him the evolution of his life from a young, talented musician obsessed with learning to play the lute who cares for his younger siblings into the cold-blooded killer he has become.

    Upon submitting to Malchiah's request, Toby is hurdled back in time to medieval England where he is tasked with saving a Jewish couple who have been accused of murdering their daughter after she dared enter a Christian church to view a Christmas pageant. The historical account of the deep conflict between the Christians and the Jews is accurate, and Ms. Rice cites the resources she used in what was obviously painstakingly detailed research. Perhaps the most amazing accomplishment of this entire novel is the objective, non-judging portrayal of both the Christians and the Jews, allowing the reader to determine for himself or herself which opinion is just.

    Having been a long-time fan of Ms. Rice's darker fiction involving vampires and witches, I have hesitated in picking up her newer works which are more strongly based in her rediscovered faith. However, her storytelling and interweaving of fact with fiction remains unchanged, and her stories are as engaging and as thought-provoking as ever. Deeply rooted in religious and spiritual fact, Angel Time is not only a fast-paced thriller that travels through medieval time through to the present. Its characters, like all of Ms. Rice's characters, are complex, emotional, and analytical beings. This novel is highly recommended.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The first The Songs of the Seraphim saga is an exhilarating redemption thriller

    Excellent contract killer Toby "Lucky the Fox" O'Dare works for the Right Man who insists his chosen victims are the bad guys while their side is funded by the good guys. Toby has come a long way from a family tragedy that changed his life; when his mom murdered his siblings and herself, he quit God because he believed God deserted him. He no longer continued his studies for the priesthood, but remorse is setting in.

    He has just completed his latest kill when guardian angel Malchiah coming out of the shadows offers Toby a chance for redemption. Toby accepts the deal, but finds himself in the thirteenth century in England; masquerading as a Dominican friar. He is immediately caught up in a vendetta against all Jews; as a couple Meir and Fluria is accused of killing their daughter for her converting to Christianity. His assignment is to prevent a religious massacre.

    The first The Songs of the Seraphim saga is an exhilarating redemption thriller starring a fascinating protagonist who goes from one extreme to another. His "past" in "Angel Time" (our recent past and present in "Natural Time") and that of the Jewish couple and their daughter's "Natural Time" add depth though it is somewhat disjointed (as time flows differently between NT and AT) to understanding Toby's life and medieval life for Jews inside a Christian world. Using real persona and events in thirteenth century England, Anne Rice provides a deep save the soul story. Fans will enjoy Toby's attempts to redeem his soul although he understands he can never make up for violating the Commandment Thou Shall Not Kill, but he has begun his soul survivor salvation mission in the past and hopefully with a call to New Orleans.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Angel Time Expresses Rice's New Mission

    Angel Time is a simple story of moral conversion and prophetic call to dedicate one's life to a mission of mercy. Experience teaches that a personal, heart and soul moral conversion is not a quick process and the main character's 180 degree turn around is unrealistic in my opinion...as is his sudden fall from grace into the pit of crime and murder. Anne Rice has the capability to write with in-depth psychological insight into the human persaon, but this book is too short and does not allow for the complexity her plot, characters,and Christian moral themes that this new series is potentially capable of offering to readers.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Wondrous and Inspiring

    This is an inspiring story. I admire Anne Rice's beautiful use of language. She is brilliant at conveying a sense of place. I thrill at her reverence and passion for architecture, art, literature, and history. I enjoy her exploration of the depths of devotion, forgiveness, love, courage, and loyality. She is a friend to those who feel lost, and to those who have lost someone. Wouldn't you love to go back in time the way her character's so often do? I liked this book a lot. I will give copies to friends over the Holidays.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Her books haven't been as exciting to read as they've been in the past.

    I've read all of her her novel including those under her alias "Roquelaure". I must say, the last 3 novels she's written, including this one have been disappointing. They start of really slow and all throughout just "wordy". I usually cannot put her book down once I get started, but this last book, I'm lucky if I can stay awake for more than 20 minutes before I put it down. I think I'll cheat and read the last 30 pages to get to the end of the story.
    I bought this book along with 4 others. Since, I'm a big fan of hers, I started with Angel time.... Well, I've finished the other four, yet I'm still on page 22 with her book... sorry folks, but this is a "yawner".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Great new character in Toby O'Dare---and that's about it

    Anne has created in Toby O'Dare a character so full of emotion, heartache, and passion that I have not seen since Tonio Treschi in "a cry to heaven." I felt for him, prayed for him, and his sadness touched me in a way that had me rooting for something great to come out of his heart wrenching story. Unfortunately, after being romanced by Anne via Toby and his amazing background and falling for this character, the romance went sour due to a very boring, predictable, and one dimensional trek through the past that kept me wondering "how does Toby fit into this." It just did not make sense. In all honesty, there are two stories in this book that have nothing to do with each other. One, the story of Toby O'Dare, and two the story of Fluria and Meir; and figuring out why these two stories are grouped in the same book is still a mystery to me. I appreciate the premise of the book but as far as the specific reasons Toby was taken to this time by the angel Malchiah remains a mystery to me. For the "lost soul" that Toby was, I did not believe this event that he was chosen to "change" (or did he) regarding Fluria and Meir was enough to make him restore his faith. Anne could have done much better with creating a scenario as equally passionate and interesting as Toby himself that would bring him back to his faith. Quite frankly I could have cared less about Fluria, Meir and their kids and their story. I respect Anne for her choosing to "write for the Lord" but in doing so she doesn't have to bore us. I really was hoping that Anne, with this book, was setting the groundwork to do for angels what she did with vampires but frankly she fell way short. The first 123 pages with Toby are classic Anne Rice- sexy, thrilling, powerful, emotional; and then it was gone. When Toby goes back in time his passion, emotion, and all interesting aspects of his character were left in the present and he ended up playing second seat to a very boring and predictable plot line. The last two lines in the book I really found to be a cheap attempt to set up the next book, again nothing in the book had anything to make me think or care that this would happen. My only hope is that the next book in this series will deal completely with Toby and his life and not some cheesy "touched by an angel" long lost episode that this book turned out to be.
    Love you Anne, please don't disappoint anymore.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    I love Anne Rice

    I love Anne Rice. Her books are so descriptive and well thought out but his book was boring. I coouldn't read it. I kept putting it down to read other books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Very disappointing!

    This was my first Anne Rice read and I was very disappointed. I am very familiar with the main locations in the book and was really looking forward to a great story surrounding both "missions". The first part of the book was intriguing, but once the mystery ended, I struggled to get through the book. This will probably also be my last Rice book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Angel Time-a must read

    This story is so believable-angels and time travel. I loved it! Anne Rice has devoted her writing to God and in this writing lets us know that redemption is for everyone. I wanted it to go on and on; I can only hope that the second in the series will be as good as the first. Kudos to Ms. Rice for being inspired to pen "Anel Time".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Almost quit reading it.

    I have to admit that this was the first book I have read from Anne Rice. If this kind of writing style is they way her other books are written then I am glad this is the first book I have read from her.
    To move the story along and fill in details she has one character "lecture" another character about all the important things the reader should know. Some of the "lectures" seemed to drag on and on.
    The story is unbelievable in many regards.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I read this entire book in three days!!!

    Anne Rice has done it again! it seems she can spin a great story out of just about any topic and angel time does not miss. do not be fooled by the title as some are.....this is not a religious story and does not preach. I have read every book she has put out and this was actually my fastest read. I honestly could not put it down. the only time i was disappointed was when it was over. now i have too wait for the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Is it just me...

    Or was this just kind of a so-so book? Interesting concept and initially interesting main character, but please -- I saw the ending coming about the time Toby landed in 13th century England. WAY too predictable and the characters were totally one-dimensional. Not to mention the language was clunky and melodramatic. And while I understand the main character was hugely conflicted and scarred, if I want "Twighlight" type angst, then that's what I'll read. (OK, probably not...)

    Anyhow, as a big AR fan from the vampire era, I felt like this was unworthy of her talents. Kudos to her for following her own beliefs, but at least try to make the next story more engaging.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Currently waiting on the next Anne Rice Novel.

    Maybe not as riveting as previous works, but I felt this story was a great beginning to a series of novels to come.... hopefully!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Anne Rice Novel

    I've always been fascinated with Anne's older novels about the supernatural (vampires, witches, etc.) but I never found myself wanting to read her newer books about Christ, but I gave Angel Time a try and I'm very pleased with her ability to write a book about angels and not make it overly religious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to Finish

    The concept is pretty good and there are some great segments where she lets us know about the characters history, but overall it is really hard to keep going.
    I generally read about 1000 pages a week and I am struggling to finish this 237.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In the heightened style of the Jesus trilogy, Anne takes it up a notch and delivers several new heroes. A maturing from the Jesus trilogy to where she seems to be going is not unlike the rivoting Vampiare books in suspense fully, delivers quality!

    Be on your toes, Anne holds no bars with her quantum leaping imagination~ She stays pure to the foundations we have grown to love about her. Anne is a messenger of the light side now. I am proud of her.
    Have no boundaries, and you will continue to enjoy Annie's masterful tales being woven in your sitting room each night.
    Cheers to you, Anne!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Aunt anne, love your nease

    Aunt anne, please dont be hurt abiut what all the poeple say bad things about youe book... i love your book! Yours truly, alia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Reconciliation.

    This book is a nice way of showing how people can be reconciled and find hope again in the midst of pain and devistation. The use of the narative thread of hope in the gift of music was a constant source of hope and comfort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! Must Read and Don't Stop!

    I have never read an Anne Rice book until this one. I'm not into Vampires but browsing at B&N i happened on this one and it said "buy me". I'm so glad I did. I'm hooked. I can't wait to catch up with Toby O'Dare in the next one. I'm not putting this one on my Nook. Must have the hardback colloection to keep! Once you begin reading about this asassin for hire you get caught in the turmoil going on within him. You feel his struggles and his emotions from the very beginning. Once the angel makes contact with him you must keep reading. It's one of those books that make you feel if you don't hurry up and pick it up again Toby will be trapped in limbo until you start reading again (like the Neverending Story). Read read read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Boring

    Glad this was short, not too sweet. Disappointing for a usually very engrossing writer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12