Customer Reviews for

Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Anne Rice returns with a thought-provoking, fast-paced story and deeply conflicted characters.

Anne Rice has crafted both an entertaining and educational story with Angel Time, the story of Toby O'Dare, a hitman for the government who is visited by Malchiah, an angel. For a decade, Toby has used his talents to take life, and Malchiah asks him to turn his back on...
Anne Rice has crafted both an entertaining and educational story with Angel Time, the story of Toby O'Dare, a hitman for the government who is visited by Malchiah, an angel. For a decade, Toby has used his talents to take life, and Malchiah asks him to turn his back on that life and to give himself to God. Toby is reluctant to follow Malchiah until the angel shows him the evolution of his life from a young, talented musician obsessed with learning to play the lute who cares for his younger siblings into the cold-blooded killer he has become.

Upon submitting to Malchiah's request, Toby is hurdled back in time to medieval England where he is tasked with saving a Jewish couple who have been accused of murdering their daughter after she dared enter a Christian church to view a Christmas pageant. The historical account of the deep conflict between the Christians and the Jews is accurate, and Ms. Rice cites the resources she used in what was obviously painstakingly detailed research. Perhaps the most amazing accomplishment of this entire novel is the objective, non-judging portrayal of both the Christians and the Jews, allowing the reader to determine for himself or herself which opinion is just.

Having been a long-time fan of Ms. Rice's darker fiction involving vampires and witches, I have hesitated in picking up her newer works which are more strongly based in her rediscovered faith. However, her storytelling and interweaving of fact with fiction remains unchanged, and her stories are as engaging and as thought-provoking as ever. Deeply rooted in religious and spiritual fact, Angel Time is not only a fast-paced thriller that travels through medieval time through to the present. Its characters, like all of Ms. Rice's characters, are complex, emotional, and analytical beings. This novel is highly recommended.

posted by Richard_Szponder on November 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Angel Time Expresses Rice's New Mission

Angel Time is a simple story of moral conversion and prophetic call to dedicate one's life to a mission of mercy. Experience teaches that a personal, heart and soul moral conversion is not a quick process and the main character's 180 degree turn around is unrealistic i...
Angel Time is a simple story of moral conversion and prophetic call to dedicate one's life to a mission of mercy. Experience teaches that a personal, heart and soul moral conversion is not a quick process and the main character's 180 degree turn around is unrealistic in my opinion...as is his sudden fall from grace into the pit of crime and murder. Anne Rice has the capability to write with in-depth psychological insight into the human persaon, but this book is too short and does not allow for the complexity her plot, characters,and Christian moral themes that this new series is potentially capable of offering to readers.

posted by skaosf on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The first The Songs of the Seraphim saga is an exhilarating redemption thriller

    Excellent contract killer Toby "Lucky the Fox" O'Dare works for the Right Man who insists his chosen victims are the bad guys while their side is funded by the good guys. Toby has come a long way from a family tragedy that changed his life; when his mom murdered his siblings and herself, he quit God because he believed God deserted him. He no longer continued his studies for the priesthood, but remorse is setting in.

    He has just completed his latest kill when guardian angel Malchiah coming out of the shadows offers Toby a chance for redemption. Toby accepts the deal, but finds himself in the thirteenth century in England; masquerading as a Dominican friar. He is immediately caught up in a vendetta against all Jews; as a couple Meir and Fluria is accused of killing their daughter for her converting to Christianity. His assignment is to prevent a religious massacre.

    The first The Songs of the Seraphim saga is an exhilarating redemption thriller starring a fascinating protagonist who goes from one extreme to another. His "past" in "Angel Time" (our recent past and present in "Natural Time") and that of the Jewish couple and their daughter's "Natural Time" add depth though it is somewhat disjointed (as time flows differently between NT and AT) to understanding Toby's life and medieval life for Jews inside a Christian world. Using real persona and events in thirteenth century England, Anne Rice provides a deep save the soul story. Fans will enjoy Toby's attempts to redeem his soul although he understands he can never make up for violating the Commandment Thou Shall Not Kill, but he has begun his soul survivor salvation mission in the past and hopefully with a call to New Orleans.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Wondrous and Inspiring

    This is an inspiring story. I admire Anne Rice's beautiful use of language. She is brilliant at conveying a sense of place. I thrill at her reverence and passion for architecture, art, literature, and history. I enjoy her exploration of the depths of devotion, forgiveness, love, courage, and loyality. She is a friend to those who feel lost, and to those who have lost someone. Wouldn't you love to go back in time the way her character's so often do? I liked this book a lot. I will give copies to friends over the Holidays.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Angel Time-a must read

    This story is so believable-angels and time travel. I loved it! Anne Rice has devoted her writing to God and in this writing lets us know that redemption is for everyone. I wanted it to go on and on; I can only hope that the second in the series will be as good as the first. Kudos to Ms. Rice for being inspired to pen "Anel Time".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Currently waiting on the next Anne Rice Novel.

    Maybe not as riveting as previous works, but I felt this story was a great beginning to a series of novels to come.... hopefully!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Anne Rice Novel

    I've always been fascinated with Anne's older novels about the supernatural (vampires, witches, etc.) but I never found myself wanting to read her newer books about Christ, but I gave Angel Time a try and I'm very pleased with her ability to write a book about angels and not make it overly religious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Aunt anne, love your nease

    Aunt anne, please dont be hurt abiut what all the poeple say bad things about youe book... i love your book! Yours truly, alia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! Must Read and Don't Stop!

    I have never read an Anne Rice book until this one. I'm not into Vampires but browsing at B&N i happened on this one and it said "buy me". I'm so glad I did. I'm hooked. I can't wait to catch up with Toby O'Dare in the next one. I'm not putting this one on my Nook. Must have the hardback colloection to keep! Once you begin reading about this asassin for hire you get caught in the turmoil going on within him. You feel his struggles and his emotions from the very beginning. Once the angel makes contact with him you must keep reading. It's one of those books that make you feel if you don't hurry up and pick it up again Toby will be trapped in limbo until you start reading again (like the Neverending Story). Read read read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of her best!!!!!

    I had my doubts before reading this book. I had NO idea what it would be about. I heard Anne give an interview and kind of spoil the plot for me. So when I started reading it, I was God smacked (no pun intended). This has to be one of the best books she has written since "The Witching Hour".

    This book slowly draws you in; once you are in you don't want to come out. This is Anne at her best! Anne has reloaded and fires both barrels at the reader.

    It isn't IN YOUR FACE when it comes to the religious aspect of the the story. It is soft and gentle; a very moving story.

    So you Anne Rice fans, get yourselves ready for a great book. Hold on to your hats and enjoy the ride!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Very nice

    I found this book to be beath taking and a page turner. This is no like Rice's other subjects - however just as appealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    really enjoyable waiting for #3

    1&2 lets go 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Beautiful

    This is my favorite book from Anne Rice so far! This is the first of her christian writings that I've read. The way this was written was also way more fluid and unpredictable than the vampire books that I read from her. This was such a beautiful display of heartache and redemption, and the spirtual warfare that is going on now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am finally aware of Anne Rice talent!!

    It only took me 11 years to start reading Anne Rice but I can say that I am very pleased with her recent work. I will have to start from her past known books of Vampires and still will read her more spiritual new books! She makes this book seem so easy and exhilarating. I fell in love with Lucky. He may look like a bad guy but in this story there is no bad guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Angel Time

    I was attracted to this book because of the title. I LOVE angels! It is important to remember that this is a novel. It is not an explanation about angels. This book was very captivating. I was reading it at night and found myself wanting to read more instead of turning out the light to sleep! It was a fast, good read. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I am sooo glad Anne Rice is back!!

    No matter what genre or topic she writes about, she is spot-on. Really enjoy this book - can't wait for sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    Excellent

    Absoulutely a must read! I finished this book in two days. I just couldn't put it down. Cover to cover filled with action, drama, suspense. You just can't wait to see what happens next. I love the mystery of each character. I don't know what connection the main character Toby has with the 12th century characters but I'm hoping that Ms. Rice reveals that in her next book. I can't wait to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    GREAT BOOK

    Anne Rice is a temendous writer ever since her transition to following our Lord. This book leaves you wanting more and waiting for the next one. She is brillant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3