Customer Reviews for

The Angel in My Arms (Regency Rogues Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

a fun historical romance

In 1811 the injured Earl Marcus MacInnes is unhappy with his current Young Corinthians assignment in rustic Dorset near his home as he knows the locals detest his family with good cause. He is to investigate smuggling activity, but not by locals; instead there is evide...
In 1811 the injured Earl Marcus MacInnes is unhappy with his current Young Corinthians assignment in rustic Dorset near his home as he knows the locals detest his family with good cause. He is to investigate smuggling activity, but not by locals; instead there is evidence that Napoleonic agents are at work.

Marcus meets Sarah Elizabeth Tisdale, a klutzy daughter of the baron. He thinks her family is in cahoots with the dangerous smugglers so he keeps an eye on her, which even in male garb he finds appealing. Soon his inquiry grows deadlier as he deals with homicides, a kidnapping and stolen emeralds as traitors are involved; but it is his heart that he has lost to Sarah that has him concerned.

The latest Regency Rogues Young Corinthian romantic suspense (see The Devil in Disguise) is a fun historical starring a fabulous lead couple and an engaging support cast. The investigation and romance are engaging mostly due to the improbable over the top of Lewesdon Hill Sarah; who brings compassion, courage and clumsiness as she climbs into one caper after another; Marcus will have his hands full with her if he survives the mission.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just okay

Something i might pick up at a garage sale. Poorly developed romance which was not hot enough. Soft core. Annoying characters. Only reason for 3 stars is the action in the plot towards the end.

posted by DiaLee0401 on June 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a fun historical romance

    In 1811 the injured Earl Marcus MacInnes is unhappy with his current Young Corinthians assignment in rustic Dorset near his home as he knows the locals detest his family with good cause. He is to investigate smuggling activity, but not by locals; instead there is evidence that Napoleonic agents are at work.

    Marcus meets Sarah Elizabeth Tisdale, a klutzy daughter of the baron. He thinks her family is in cahoots with the dangerous smugglers so he keeps an eye on her, which even in male garb he finds appealing. Soon his inquiry grows deadlier as he deals with homicides, a kidnapping and stolen emeralds as traitors are involved; but it is his heart that he has lost to Sarah that has him concerned.

    The latest Regency Rogues Young Corinthian romantic suspense (see The Devil in Disguise) is a fun historical starring a fabulous lead couple and an engaging support cast. The investigation and romance are engaging mostly due to the improbable over the top of Lewesdon Hill Sarah; who brings compassion, courage and clumsiness as she climbs into one caper after another; Marcus will have his hands full with her if he survives the mission.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Charming heroine

    When an injury puts Marcus MacInnes, Earl of Weston, on the sidelines he receives an assignment to return to his estranged home, Lulworth Cove, to investigate a smuggling ring involving Napoleon supporters. Quickly Marcus’ path crosses Sarah Tisdale and it becomes apparent that her brother, Nigel, is involved with the smuggling. When Nigel’s life is in danger Sarah and her family turns to Marcus for help. As he investigates Marcus finds himself reluctantly attracted to the honestly outspoken Sarah. The strength of the story is really Sarah’s character. Her awkwardness makes her stand apart from most heroines.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    This is the first book of Ms. Sloane's I have read. I really en

    This is the first book of Ms. Sloane's I have read. I really enjoyed the characters, the humor, the romance, and the suspense elements.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Good writer Good writer

    Plot well executed realisric charactes amusing turns of phrase very good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Amusing, strong heroine,

    I enjoyed this book. I loved the straight forward honest speaking heroine. She falls for the hero but instead if simpering she accepts it and moves forward. Great bits of humor. I would even like a short story about Sully and cook getting together. Fun, easy read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Great!

    Great start to the series. Intereresting concept of the matchmaking former Rangers, but it worked. Looking forward to the continuation of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Just okay

    Something i might pick up at a garage sale. Poorly developed romance which was not hot enough. Soft core. Annoying characters. Only reason for 3 stars is the action in the plot towards the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Great book

    Humor, romance and some adventure perfect!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Jen Book purchased by Reviewer Review originally pu

    Reviewed by: Jen
    Book purchased by Reviewer
    Review originally purchased at Romancing the Book




    Review:  After having read The Devil in Disguise, I was torn if I wanted to continue on with this series.  I was partially let down with Devil, but I reminded myself that it was Ms Sloane’s debut and things could get better.  So, I picked up The Angel in My Arms and started reading.




    From page one, I was drawn more into this story than I was before, which was a huge relief for me.  We met our hero Marcus in the first book and now he’s on his way home to his country estate to recuperate after being shot in the line of duty.  And of course, since he’s a spy, he’s not just going to laze about.  He’s been given the task to look into a possible smuggling ring.  But it’s not going to be an easy task, since even though he grew up in the area, the locals never forgave his Scottish father from coming in and “stealing” their beloved daughter, so Marcus is bad blood.




    On the other hand, Sarah is from a local gentry family and is well loved in the area.  And from her introduction, the reader knows Sarah knows more than she lets on about the smuggling in the area and I know I was interested to see how these two were going to deal with each other.  Sarah’s a strong female, but totally gets in over her head and Marcus is there waiting to be her knight in shining armor.




    I found The Angel in My Arms to be a much more satisfying read.  Many of the problems that plagued Devil seemed to be corrected in this story.  No more editing mishaps, odd scene cuts, lackluster romance or abrupt endings.  I enjoyed the romance between Marcus and Sarah and the smuggling plot line had me turning the pages, waiting to see what was going to happen next.  And in the end, I finished the book happy with the time spent reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Keeps you on edge!

    A good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Second book in series (LVR)

    Another okay read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2