Customer Reviews for

The Angel of Darkness

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Carr does it agian (and well)

    I enjoyed 'Angel Of Darkness' as much, if not more, than 'The Alienist'. I have always enjoyed historical fiction and this novel grabbed me from the get-go. I read the professional reviews and noted that some say that Carr writes too much in trying to tell the story, but I think that's what makes his stories unique. It's NOT Caleb Carr telling the story. It's John Moore (in 'The Alienist) and Stevie Taggart (in 'Angel'). Both stories are uniquely different, with Moore being a reporter, and Stevie being a former hoodlum. We see 1890's New York City differently in both stories

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Good sequel to a great novel

    Mr. Carr's first book, THE ALIENIST, gripped me as it did most other readers. This sequel came close to doing the same but there were some jarring moments that took the pleasure out of it. For instance, I loved the choice of Stevie Taggert as the narrator for this installment because he was an interesting character in THE ALIENIST. The problem was that this semi-literate young man's writing style was just as professional as the narrator of the first book, the journalist John Moore. (For example, 'The sunlight came in softly through big rectangular windows, reflected off ceilings and moldings what were also bright white, and also off the polished red marble floor. The wood paneling on the walls, by way of contrast, was dark and together with the arched doorways gave the place a kind of stately feel.' Not exactly Henry James, but pretty accomplished given his background.) Also there are so many unnecessary cameo appearances by historical figures--Mrs. Cady Stanton, Clarence Darrow, Cornelius Vanderbilt II, Teddy Roosevelt (AGAIN!), Charles Delmonico, Albert Pinkham Ryder--the willing suspension of disbelief begins to strain. I guess Thomas Edison, Stanford White and Oscar Hammerstein were too busy to appear. Okay, enough with the negatives; I still recommend this novel. There is far too good a story here to be damaged by my previous criticisms. Libby Hatch is every inch a frightening villain as John Beecham had been in THE ALIENIST. Plenty of great twists and turns, and the scenes with the Hudson Dusters gang are first rate. If you get by some of what I've mentioned, you're in for a wonderfully suspenseful story!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    Good book but not the best I have ever read

    The Angel of Darkness is a good book, especially the start and the second half. Inbetween there are some less interesting pages. I also think that this is a bit weaker than the Alienist especially because it seeems that the author intented to write exactly the same book which was only partly a good idea. I think.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Darker than dark

    Caleb Carr has written about a topic that has long been uncomfortable for us to explore, namely, the desperation, pathological self-involvement, and fundamental misery that might lead a mother to kill her own and other children. Since I have not read 'The Alienist' yet, I cannot compare the quality of the two works, but I felt as if I got to know Stevie the narrator, as he told the story of the murderous Libby Hatch and the motley cohort of folks who attempted to apprehend her, each for his or her own reasons. The characters were set against a grim background of turn-of-the-century New York City, with its political contentions and its dismal underside. While the inclusion of notorious characters like Teddy Roosevelt and Clarence Darrow might have overreached somewhat, I think the author spun an interesting and challenging story that can be enjoyed on several levels. The story of a lone, diabolical and/or disturbed Libby Hatch gives way to deeper questions, like society's role in socializing women to conform to a comfortable stereotype that does not, in reality, exist. Moreover, the conflict between punishment for the murderess vis-a-vis understanding the dynamics of her personality that played a role in her heinous behaviors is a palpable sub-theme that Carr cleverly inserts into his narrative. At times, I wished the author would have developed some of the characters more fully, like El Nino and Kat, but, in general, I felt that, in the case of all of Carr's major players, I knew people very much like them in real life. In fact, he created prototypes of people we all know (with the hopeful exception of Libby), in addition to shedding much light on not only a forbidden issue, but on the relatively primitive understanding we had of human behavior only a century ago. I enjoyed the novel a great deal and will read 'The Alienist' soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2013

    Excellent - a page turner

    Caleb Carr's "alienist" group is back again, with this tale told by a different member of the corps. This is an exciting look at early profilers, and how they go about finding a missing little girl and apprehending the troubled, complex person behind the crime. The characters are very well developed, with insights into their personas that almost make the reader feel like an member of the team. Very well researched and definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Libby Hatch!

    The most vile woman in fiction! I so wanted her dead that I had to skip to the end to find outwhat happened to her. I definitely liked The Alienist better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Angel of Darkness" is Caleb Carr's wonderful sequel t

    "Angel of Darkness" is Caleb Carr's wonderful sequel to late nineteenth historical crime drama set in NYC, "The Alienist". Carr brings back all of his primary characters, but moves the narrative perspective to the eyes and voice of the young Stevie Taggart, Did I enjoy the book? I stayed up until ridiculously early into the morning, in back-to-back evenings, and basically ignored my 3 kids and dog so that I could burn through the final 350 pages.

    "Angel of Darkness" is part CSI, part "Law & Order", with maybe a pinch of Thomas Harris thrown in for good measure. The story revolves around a woman sought for and ultimately accused of murdering her own children. Numerous subplots are seamlessly woven into and around the core mystery, crime procedural, and courtroom drama, that ultimately unravels to a satisfying suite of conclusions.

    I wouldn't characterize the book as full of 'action', per se. There's a lot of chasing, talking, analyzing, gathering new information, and analyzing some more. Carr dedicates a lot of ink to the exploration of the female psyche, through the eyes of many of his characters, but particularly Dr. Kreizler and Sara Howard. Each shed light on the burgeoning intellectual pursuits of feminism and modern psychology near the turn of the century.

    Carr does a fantastic job of building the reader's experiences in the key locations of turn-of-the-century NYC and upstate NY. He displays a mastery of bubbling up the tension of the plot while teasing out key clues, all while incorporating a few enjoyable surprise visits from key personalities from this timeframe.

    "Angel of Darkness" is enjoyable and satisfying, and is an extremely fast read even at it's 750 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Very Good Read

    This follow up to The Alienist was very good--met expectations. Maybe a little too "insightful" at times, but the action, foreshadowing and suspense were great. Predictable at times, but not in a bad way, or in any way that detracts from the plot or mystery at large. Similar enough to The Alienist to satisfy expectations, but different enough so as not to be a "re-run." Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Definite Page Turner

    I loved this book. In the Alienist I loved Stevie Taggert. I am so glad that he was the narrator of this book. However Mr. Carr has a bad habit of running out of steam, and giving in to Hollywood endings. Mr. Carr spun a great tale and I would recommend it to anyone. I would love it if he wrote more books using the other characters as narrators. I would love to get into the heads of the Isaacson brothers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!

    The book starts off a little slow, however as soon as the investigation into the past of Libby Hatch starts, you cannot put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2