Customer Reviews for

The Angel of Darkness

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The best book I've ever read

Caleb Carr has written yet another brilliant piece. 'The Angel of Darkness' had me ignoring every other part of my life until the last page had been read. His very descriptive and accurate portrayal of New York in the late 1800s made me feel like I was there. The use o...
Caleb Carr has written yet another brilliant piece. 'The Angel of Darkness' had me ignoring every other part of my life until the last page had been read. His very descriptive and accurate portrayal of New York in the late 1800s made me feel like I was there. The use of real life characters and very in-depth fictional characters made me wish I could meet the characters that have shared so much of their lives with me. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys suspense and great writing.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sophomore Slump

Finding out who did it early on made this follow up to The Alienist a less gripping tale. Too much focus on finding out why she did it and fitting it into the context of the time period. While I had a hard time putting The Alienist down, I had a hard time picking The A...
Finding out who did it early on made this follow up to The Alienist a less gripping tale. Too much focus on finding out why she did it and fitting it into the context of the time period. While I had a hard time putting The Alienist down, I had a hard time picking The Angel of Darkness up.

posted by tpucin on June 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2000

    The best book I've ever read

    Caleb Carr has written yet another brilliant piece. 'The Angel of Darkness' had me ignoring every other part of my life until the last page had been read. His very descriptive and accurate portrayal of New York in the late 1800s made me feel like I was there. The use of real life characters and very in-depth fictional characters made me wish I could meet the characters that have shared so much of their lives with me. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys suspense and great writing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    Excellent Read

    This is the sequel to Carr's popular novel 'The Alienist', and it's even better. The characters are well developed, and the story moves quickly and keeps you guessing until the end. I had to force myself to put it down at night and get to sleep. It's a lengthy novel, but it reads easily and quickly. I recommend reading 'The Alienist' first so you become familiar with the characters, but you certainly could read this novel by itself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Love Caleb Carr

    You know after reading this novel and then checking out some of the reviews a lot of people didn't really like this one, or found fault in it compared to his other work The Alienist. However, I loved the fact that Stevie became the story teller. I enjoyed this from cover to cover and just wish that there were more of this series to read. Caleb Carr has already become one of my favorite authors, and being so close myself to Ballston Spa I might just have to go check it out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Read!

    This is a great book for all who love hisorical fiction. I really enjoy how the author uses real events and people as the backdrop of this crime story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Ghost bio

    Name./|\.////rank: Alpha///gender:male//fur: gray/// history///was born to a wolf who died giving birth the fater was abusive so he ran away .joined scar pack. But then wanted to leave. So he wandered and he started th pack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Flower

    Dear Cris, <P> Hello. I hope you can forgive me for all that I have done to you. I wonder if you hate me... I want you to be happy. I hope you are happy with your new GF. She is probly better then me enyways. You are one of few people that I trust. Okay Cris? You make me smile Cris. I wish I could make you happy. That would be great if I could. But again. I hope you live a good life. If you for some reson need me. Just ask. <P> Love, <br> Flower.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    such a great read!

    such a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I read The Alienist" by Caleb Carr and loved it. The Angel of Darkness was even better if that's possible! The same characters are in this book ... the difference is that this one is told from Stevie Taggert's point of view and The Alienist was told from John Moore's point of view. I loved the characters and the way they interracted with each other. It was fun going along with them to try to pick up clues and the author made me feel as if I were right there with them. It has everything - murder, kidnapping, intrigue, corruption and it's all set to the backdrop of the 19th century - a period I love reading about. I didn't want the book to end. I read slowly so I could savor every word. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Very Worth It

    Really liked it. It was kinda long but I wanted to know what happens. It was really interesting how one piece of information led to a search for the next. Best of Carr's books that I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    delicious!

    This man had me so entrenched in his story it was where I wanted more and more. I love historical reading about turn of the century NYC. As soon as I completed this book I was thirsty for more and so I purchased The Alienist. That was 2006. I'm still thirsty. I will now pick up the other 3, but I don't know what to expect. Will they be as gripping?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    A Suspenseful and Great Read

    This book is long but is nothing if you are used to thick books. The twists and turns are suprising at first but as you get deeper into it you begin to expect them. As Dr.Kreizler and the gang learn more about the case, you begin to think that you know what will happen, but then...BOOM, you are hit with a surprise. It's a great and enjoyable book, it blends history, suspense, and fiction: perfect for a historical fiction novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    A Work of Art

    Carr's sequel to the Alienist is absolutely amazing. The characters that we fell in love with before return and give us another great tale in a genre that not many authors can nail the way Carr does. I managed to read this book in 13 hours, not once did I want to put it down. Truly amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    I only wish this could have been summer reading!!

    Carr's development of the characters in the sequel far surpasses The Alienist. Theodore Roosevelt couldn't have been more "bully" with his new position as Assitant Secretary of the Navy. It almost foreshadows his role in sending a portion of the fleet to invade the Manilia port during the Spanish-American War, which was heavily mentioned in the novel already. Though the criminal is not as interesting with her crime scenes, being that they are hidden, she does have almost a supernatural feel with the descriptions of her flashing eyes. I was almost more afraid of her than Beechman in the Alienist, because she was so cunning. I highly enjoyed Carr using Sarah Howard, pro-equality over pro-women, to mock Mrs. Elizabeth Cady Stanton's stance on women's rights. The entire novel was marvelously written and well planned to make Carr's point perfectly clear that women don't deserve special treatment, but they should be seen simply as equals, at least that is what I felt as I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    better then The Alienist

    I really enjoyed the Alienist but this book was much better.Carr is a great writter and i look forward to reading his other books. I can only hope that the same characters will be in attendence for that one. Read the Alienist first then this one so that the secrets of the first won't be given away when reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    Fantastic

    With the character development being expanded from 'The Alienist', I am only praying the Carr will go even further with this lively cast of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Never Lost Intrest

    Carr's novel may conatin some 'different' subject matter, but that only adds to the intrest. Not only do certain murderous characters test the limits with their unheard-of crimes, the deep psychological probing that takes place in this novel, similar to those of its precursor, really pulled me in. The well-developed characters are immediatly interesting. Carr definitly struck gold with this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    INCREDIBLE WRITING

    Caleb Carr amazes me with his talent for writing heart stopping, real stories. I love the way the this book (and the Alienist) describes and analyzes what makes people do the things they do. Fascinating!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3