Customer Reviews for

Angel on the Square

Average Rating 5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Hi

    I read Angel on the Square when I was ten and I absolutely loved it! The Romanov family and the history behind them is just so fascinating! This family is my favorite royal family. The story behind them just draws you in. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As incredible the sixth or seventh time as it is the first

    How do you describe the magnetism some books have when you're half-asleep at eleven p.m. looking for something to read? This book appeared on my bedside table one day, probably rescued from 10-year-old sister and 6-year-old brother's perpetual room cleaning, and somehow "I'll read a page or two" turned into the whole book. Go figure.

    It's a book we were supposed to study in our homeschool group one summer, only I moved. Somehow I still ended up with a copy, and with my friends back at my old home telling me it was the best book I'd ever read, I knew I'd have to make time for it eventually. It's one of those blurbless books, though, the ones that rely on the author's name to propel them into readers' hands, and let's face it - I was seven. I didn't care about authors, I cared about stories. So imagine my surprise when I finally picked it up and discovered, miracle of miracles, a story. Not just any story, but a Story.

    As I re-read descriptions of wealthy Katya's life in St. Petersburg, the incredible luxury of the Winter Palace, a parade of mouthwatering clothing and food descriptions to put The Hunger Games to shame, it all came flooding back how crushingly disappointed I had been when the Russian Revolution came, like I'd known it was going to even at seven. It's like when you watch the Titanic, and every time you pray you don't sink - some dreams feel too good to end. With each consecutive re-read, at eight years old, nine, ten, twelve, I'd usually put the book down at right about the start of World War I. Last night, though, I plowed straight through to the end, and to my surprise found that I liked the end better than the beginning, even though it made me cry. Go figure.

    This is one of those rare books where the characters grow up with you - Katya from a sheltered brat to a confused teen to a compassionate woman. While my head didn't particularly thank me for my up-till-one-in-the-morning stunt, I can't say I've found a better book to re-read in a long time. And now that the author does actually mean something to me, I'll have to find the rest of Gloria Whelan's work; though I'm not sure I'll love any setting quite as much as I loved her Russia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Fantastic

    Angle on the square. I highly recomend this fantastic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Really good! I read in school.

    This book was really good. I had to read it in school last year because we were studying that era. I remember the whole class had to read it and a lot of people thought it was going to be lame and all the others ( oncluding me) did not think it was going to be the worst book ever but we were not exactly excited about it. We were ALL suprised! Everyone LOVED it even the people that do not get into books. If anyone is thinking about reading this, I say do not think twice... get it for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Stop Reading

    I chose this book to read in class from about 10 other books. We could only read about 2 chapters a night but i didn't want to stop!!! I could have finished it so much sooner if we didnt have to read it in school. I was really good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    So cool and fun!

    Angel on the Square is a book that is a LOT of fun!!! When I got choices for what book I wanted to read in school, Angel on the Square was one choice out of 4. I was doubtful, but eventually chose it in the end. I DEFINITELY got A LOT more than I expected! I was very absorbed from the beginning, and could never wait to read the next chapter everyday. It is about a rich Russian girl growing up in the early 1900s. I won't spoil the rest!! Katya is my favorite character. I think she is beautiful and a kind girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Great read!

    I love russia so this was a great read. I finished it in a day. I've read it about 3 other times.Very sad at end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    IF YOU ARE READING THIS BUY THE BOOK!

    I have loved this book sooooooooo much! Even though I am a historical fiction fan it is still stupendous even if you aren't into the historical theme. It is about a girl who grows up like a princess, but I won't spoil the suprise! This summer I went to St. Petersburg Russia (and was very fortunate to do so!) and got to see where some of the story took place. This book helps explain the royal families hardships and terrible treatment till their death. Read the book and see for yourself the magic and wonder of its charm! It is sooooooooo hard to put down!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    School review

    As Katya read the paper, all the terrifying thoughts and images of her beloved country falling apart, came to her. ¿Twenty thousand Russian soldiers had been killed. Seventy thousand had been taken prisoner by the Germans¿I thought, this is all happening because on country wanted a piece of another country.¿ (i.e. Gloria Whelan.) Katya was the daughter of the Empress¿s Lady in waiting. The Tsar and the Empress of Russia, and their children, treated Katya and her mother as if they were a part of the family. They all lived in the palace and life was wonderful. All until the fall of 1914, now as Katya¿s cherished homeland, slowly falls apart; Katya, Katya¿s mother, the empress, the Tsar, and their children are prisoners in their own palace. Gloria Whelan wrote this book, Angel on the Square. Gloria Whelan is a poet and short story writer. She has written many children¿s books such as, Night of the full moon, goodbye, Once on this island, and many more. Whelan has received the notable Achievement award from the educational press association of America. Whelan has been writing since before she could! She would tell her Nanny her stories and her Nanny would type them out. It was in elementary school that she started her poetry. She and her husband live in the woods of Northern Michigan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    Great Book!!!

    Over the summer I had a lot of time to read and one of my favorites from the many I read was Angel on the Square. This book is a historical fiction novel with a great plot that keeps you guessing until the end. The author of Angel On The Square is Gloria Whelan. She writes about where she lives in Oxbow Lake, Michigan. However, sometimes she writes about early times in other countries like, China, India, Russia, and Vietnam. I don¿t think she would be considered an expert on the subject of the Russian Revolution. Even though she has written many different books about different countries she has never traveled to the place to experience the true culture. She only researches the topic or place before she writes. She once said, ¿This gives me a chance to live in other countries and in other times -- at least in my head.¿ Because that this book is a character narrative you cannot really see the author¿s point of view. But, the main character, Katya, expresses a strong opinion about being loyal to the royal family, even if it tears her from her best friend. This is a fiction story of a young girl, Katya and her mother, struggling to survive through the Russian Revolution. Even though it¿s fiction it still gives you the history of what happened during the Russian Revolution. The major hook in this story was to see if Katya, her mother, and the rest of the royal family could make it to safety, and live in peace. Through the story Katya went from a fancy house in St. Petersburg to being locked up with the rest of the royal family in a tiny shack in Siberia. In the creative way that Gloria Whelan presents the information in a very convincing and interesting way. It will keep you guessing about the lives of the characters and the plot. She has written a companion to this book, The Impossible Journey. It¿s about after the Russian Revolution, when the country is still unstable. Katya returned to Russia and marries; she becomes actively involved in politics against the government. She was then exiled to Siberia. The story continues about her children trying to find their mother in Siberia. From what I¿ve heard and read, all of the information made sense and didn¿t conflict; it was just presented in a different way. The main character was rich instead of being a person living on the streets. Katya had different views, experiences, and opinions than others. Before I read that book I knew nothing about the Russian Revolution. Now I have a basic knowlage and timeline of what happened. I would highly recommend this book. With action, mystery, and a hint of romance Angel On The Square would be a must need, for anyone¿s book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2004

    This was a AWESOME book

    This book was very interesting, intriging but sad. It was about Katya, a girl whos mother is a lady in waiting for the empress. Everything is perfect in Katyas life until WAR! PS......The other recommended books that other reviewers recommended are great! I loved almost all of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    SO GOOD!

    Even though I thought Homeless Bird was better, Angel on the Square was fantastic! I love Gloria Whelan she is one of my favourite authors and I think that if you read this book you would agree with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    AMAZING!!!!!

    Angel on the Square is an amazing book! I couldn't put it down. It's full of adventure and suspense. It reminds me of Les Miserables with a Russian setting. It is an amazing book and I reccomend it to all! Unfortunately in the book (if you are sensitive) you will realize that some parts cause tears... but who cares, it's an amazing book READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    Wow! An Unforgetful Book.

    I've read this book atleast five times and I still love it! It makes you feel as if you are in the Russian Palace and everywhere else Katya goes! Once you read it, which you should do ASAP!, you will never forget it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Angel on the Square

    This is an excellent book. Imagination and realistic breathtaking events all put together into one story. This book is an excellent for anyone to read. This book explains the hardship of war and also of being with the royal family in times of war. Well explained, with great detail, this book takes you to the past.Find out what happens in the book by reading Angel on the Square by Gloria Whelan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    A great historical fiction book

    What if knew your life would be great with joy and happiness? In this novel Katya, a thirteen-year-old girl's life changes forever. She lives with her mother and Misha. Misha lives with them because he is an orphan and his mom was very close friends with Katya. They live in Zhukovy mansion in St. Petersburg, Russia. Her mother is soon to be lady-in-waiting for empress Alexander and Tsar Nikolia the second. At the mansion Katya was wawaited on hand and foot. But she didn;t know what to expect. She thuoght the Grand Duchesses would make her their slave or they would all become best friends, or they would dislike Katya and ignore her. On the other hand they thought it might be great living with royalty. Katya was right. It was great at first. They Grand Duchesses were Olga, Tatiana, Marie, and Anastasia that was the closest to Katya's age. They all treated her well and liked her very much. After all the joy and happiness and the great friendships, something hit St. Petersburg like a bag of bricks, WAR. The Tsar declared war with Germany and then they had war. 'Difficult times and even wars may come to the city, but as long as an angel watches over St. Petersburg the city will survive.' I would reccomend this book for the ages 10-13. This book kept me reading until the last page. The events in Katya's adventurous life kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    THE BEST EVER!

    I just love this book! It is my favorite book ever! I JUST LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    One of the Greatest Historical Fiction Book Ever!!!!

    One of the greatest historical fiction books ever. it's about real life proplems (if your royalty going through war!) You really need to read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    Awesome Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is really well written. It kept me hanging till the last page. My only regret is that theres not a second one because it was so good!! If you like the Royal Diarys, then you will like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Dude! This book is so COOOL!!!!!

    IT IS A GREAT BOOK!!!!! IT IS MY FAVORITE BOOK SO FAR.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IT IS ABOUT A YOUNG GIRL WHO LIVES IN RUSSIA, THE END!!!!!!! BYE P.S. READ IT CAUSE I SAID SO!!!!! NOW!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2