Customer Reviews for

Angelfire (Angelfire Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Just simply AWESOME!

Angelfire was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. I fell in love with the characters right away. Ellie is a wonderfully crafted, strong YA female character. It was so refreshing to read about a girl who actually knows how to apply eyeliner (likes it) and i...
Angelfire was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. I fell in love with the characters right away. Ellie is a wonderfully crafted, strong YA female character. It was so refreshing to read about a girl who actually knows how to apply eyeliner (likes it) and is not ashamed to admit she likes to party with her friends and dance with guys. But in the next moment she's dropping monsters and slashing her swords through the air, taking on her role as protector with humility, strength, and grace (no whining). I am impressed with the relationship she has with her best friend, Kate. They portrayed a true friendship and cared for one another, even though Ellie couldn't divulge her secret, she still kept her close and made time for her and her other friends. Will is fast becoming one of my favorite male leads in YA fiction. Not only is he drop dead gorgeous (I Love tats) but he is fierce and protective without being possessive or cocky (not too cocky). He accepts that Ellie still needs to keep a semblance of her life as a teenage girl, while guiding her into becoming the warrior she needs to be. The way he loves her so selflessly, tugs at my heart strings and causes a little ache deep inside my chest. The writing is near flawless. Written in first person, it's paced perfectly and with clarity. The voice of the novel is really what impressed me the most. At no time did I feel that I was reading from a younger or older perspective, it was spot on for a seven-teen-year-old girl. Nor did I question the mythology Ms. Moulton created. I felt as if I was right beside Ellie, experiencing everything first hand, and desperately not wanting it to end. It's been a long time since I found a character that I loved as much as Buffy Summers and I'm ecstatic that I get to read more of Ellie's story! With its heart-stopping action, breath-taking romance, and beautifully descriptive scenes, I give Angelfire 5 flames!From my blog at YA Bound

posted by ParaBooks on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Almost okay.

My main problem I didn't like the characters. I didn't like Ellie. I tried. I swear I did. In fact, had this book just been about Preliator Ellie, I'd probably would have rated it higher. Ellie's problems in her human life are those of a rich girl problems, as Chris, ...
My main problem I didn't like the characters. I didn't like Ellie. I tried. I swear I did. In fact, had this book just been about Preliator Ellie, I'd probably would have rated it higher. Ellie's problems in her human life are those of a rich girl problems, as Chris, one of the characters would say. Ellie has a rocky relationship with her father, which either is poor writing or Ellie's father has been taken over by some reaper (that's my theory not a spoiler). Ellie thinks that no teenager should feel the way she feels. when her parents fight. Granted it's probably true, it just doesn't seem like what a teenager would think, it seems like what the author wants the reader to feel about Ellie. Last, she tries to be humble by saying how she understands other teenagers don't get cars on their birthdays, but since she has to deal with her parents fighting it's almost a trade off. Girl. How can you even compare the two? Also there are kids who do not get cars and still have their parents fighting. Think about that. Ellie doesn't want to put her friends in danger when she knows the reapers will attack her. So you'd think she would try to go home, prepare to fight or something along those lines, except she doesn't she goes to parties, and after parties never even trying to protect her friends while dragging Will with she can. Ellie knows there are reapers out there trying to kill, yet she thinks getting drunk is a good idea. It wasn't the underage drinking that bothered me, I'd be a hypocrite if it was, it was her poor decision making that bothered me.


Going back to her rich girl problems, and this may be a pet peeve that didn't influence my rating of this book, the name dropping is obnoxious. My Audi, my mom's Mercedes, Kate's BMW, my Badgley Mishka dress that I bought for my party and goes along with my Marc Jacobs shoes. Can teenagers really relate to this? I don't know about the US, but if this book ever gets translated and sold in other countries the answer is a big fat no. Now there's Kate, Ellie's friend whose only dialogue during the book is to offer alcohol and ask Ellie if she's dating Will. She had at least three conversations with this same topic. I liked Will, he was moody, but his whole "I'm your soldier," attitude pleased me. All men should be like that. Kidding!


Okay now that I discussed why I didn't like it, let's talk about what I did like. Moulton is very good at creating her own world, and it was this what kept me reading. The description and history of the reapers is very well done, I even wanted to to google the Grigori's (a fallen angel family) after I was done reading. The pacing of the book is very well done too, with unexpected action here and there. I also liked the idea that Will is Ellie's solider, and how she is supposed to be stronger than him. Well that's new in YA! There are hints of a romance between Ellie and Will, but they are very subtle and it is definitely not the focus of the book.


Will I read the next one in the series? My heart will not bleed if I don't.

posted by shmy on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Angelfire

    Honestly i was bored..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    :-)

    Best book EVER!!! And trust me i've read a lot of books to know!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    IDK

    Is this good for 11 yr. olds.? Cuz it sounds interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Cheesy, but good idea

    It's a good idea for a story, but it's really, really cheesy. It focuses too much on the life of this rich girl who has special powers and blah blah. It could have been really well done, because it's kind of like a Buffy the vampire slayer thing, just badly written....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    not what you would expect

    this book was not what i expected it to be. the entire story is confusing. it is lacking romance, edginess and depth. you wont hear any story like it amd i am not saying that in a good sense. dont bother wasting your time on this book. the charactars themselves needed to ne more developed. do not read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Killer Debut

    Rather than giving readers another heroine who sits idly by while her dashing hero saves the day, Courtney Allison Moulton breaks the mold and brings to life a fierce warrior who can hold her own against hell and high water. The fantasy world Moulton creates is full of imagination: past lives, celestial hierarchies, ghastly monsters and ancient creatures too horrible to fathom. I hope readers will see more of Ellie's long past and immense power in future novels -- the handful of glimpses are just enough to whet the appetite and leave readers wanting more. Though the writing occasionally lacks polish, Moulton writes with a fresh and funny voice that is full of laugh-out-loud quips to lighten the darkness of Ellie's world. The sharp and snarky banter between Will and Ellie is the highlight of the novel, and will capture readers' hearts from the start. Their relationship jumps off the page, born of a centuries-long bond of blood and battle.

    Though an immortal warrior, Ellie is a realistic and relatable blend of fearlessness and vulnerability: the creatures she faces are truly frightening, but she charges into the fray without a backward glance. ANGELFIRE hurtles forward, plunging straight into battle scenes so utterly visceral that readers can't help but be swallowed up. Yet, this story is equal parts brutal action and sweet romance. Will is an alluring mystery; both battle-hardened and heart-meltingly gentle. Though his cryptic comments can frustrate both Ellie and the reader, when his internal struggle is finally revealed it is impossible not to feel his plight. The tension and longing and impossibility build to a crescendo that will keep readers enthralled, while the tantalizingly delayed gratification packs a steamy punch (in the strictly YA sense). This fun, fast-paced read combines all the necessary ingredients to bring readers running back for more.

    ~Review from thebookishtype[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Earth angel, earth angel, will you be mine?

    GO OUT AND READ Angelfire NOW. I mean it, do it NOW. It is exactly what I've been waiting for since BtVS ended, and I must implore for Courtney Allison Moulton to please, please, PLEASE get the sequel out faster! This is probably the best angel mythology I have read recently (I adore Sharon Shinn's Archangel, and admittedly still have to read Halo), but I think Angelfire totally rocks hardcore! From a kickass heroine to mind-boggling amazing storyline to one shocking conclusion, Angelfire will surely shatter any hesistation from readers who aren't so keen on any more "angel" books and attract those of us who love a good tumble through urban fantasy. Angelfire does a magnificent job with setting the stage as Ellie learns about her true destiny as a Preliator (which like Buffy : vampires, but only against Reapers who eat souls). And need I mention the dazzling romance between Ellie and her Guardian Will? Heart-thumping and heart-breaking! Seriously, if you haven't read any "angel" books, start with this book! If you have read angel books and haven't been too impressed thus far, READ THIS BOOK! If you're looking for the new Buffy, I repeat, Angelfire will satisfy your needs! Also, be sure to check out Courtney Allison Moulton's website because the artwork is stunning! If ever there ought to be a graphic novelization for a book, I would totally love to see Angelfire done so!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    Angelfire was an awesome story and I have no idea why it's taken me so long. This was a very unique take on angels and demons, and it intrigued me. Angelfire is very fast paced, and there is always something going on.
    Ellie, the main character has a great voice, and I was very attached to her. I could relate with what was going on with her, and I really wanted her to succeed.
    Will- oh Will. The guardian, patient, protector, hot, sweet, pushes her to be the best she can be, love through centuries, what more can you say. Swoon. Come on home with me, baby.
    I like how friendship is shown as hard to balance- makes it all real to me. She wanted to keep her friends, but as she has more responsibility from the paranormal world, and she has to keep them away to protect them.
    The mystery kept me turning the pages, who is Will and what about Ellie- what are their secrets, what were they to each other, in
    battle of what makes someone good or evil.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!!!!!

    What a great first book!!! Ellie has just been "awakened" to powers that have been hers for centuries, fighting Reapers and saving the world one demon at a time. Add in a intense bond with Will, the mysterious guy who shows up and helps Ellie remember who & what she is and you have a fast-paced, action-packed romantic story. I read this book in 2 days and I CANNOT wait for the next two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Amazing!

    I don't know much about writing great reviews but this book was AMAZING!!!. Action everywhere you turn! and the protectiveness of Will over Ellie makes your heart jump. The book is just amazing and addicting! I finished it in 2 days and can't wait for more books from Courntey ! MUST READ!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Excellent!!

    Even though this book contains 452 pages, I read it under 24 hours. I absolutely loved it! There's so much detail and action. I definitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Debut! A Must Read!!

    Courtney Moulton's debut novel, Angelfire had everything I wanted in a paranormal romance and so much more. It has a wonderful blend of action with detailed fighting scenes and just the right amount of sweet, tender, romantic moments that had me eagerly wanting more. The plot is fast paced and extremely descriptive. Moulton did an amazing job at world building and even though there is a lot to take in, she breaks it up at just the right pace; mixing in detailed dialogue and kick ass fighting scenes!

    I adored the main characters, Ellie and Will.

    Ellie was is your typical teenage girl with typical teenage issues but that didn't in anyway make her seem immature. She is funny and always knew when to crack a joke. She loves her mom but has issues with her dad.

    Will is gorgeous and mysterious, charming and loyal. He is Ellie's Guardian and has sworn to protect her and all cost, even if it cost him his life. There is instant chemistry and at times you can cut the sexual tension with a knife. I loved every minute of it. I felt like I couldn't read the pages fast enough.

    This was a fantastic debut novel. Angelfire had so much originality. The plot is different from anything I've read before with a whole new take on reapers and a different kind of battle between Heaven and Hell; I was captivated from beginning to end! I without a doubt cannot wait to to read book 2, Wings of the Wicked and I strongly encourage everyone put this book at the top of your 2011 TBR list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Booklover-BookChicks Book Review: Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton

    Blood, love, and a lot of fighting. Ellie thought she was a normal girl with normal girl probelems like having to worry if she got ice cream on her new dress or going on a date with a boy, but that all changes when she meets green eyed, brown hair Will. Ellie soon finds out she an ancient warrior that was created to destory the reapers kill humans and send their souls to Hell. If she doesn't kill these dark creatures then they will take her soul forever. Ellie was a nice character to read. At times she seemed annoying because of her human life she tries to keep perserved and at other times she seems amazing when she is battling the reapers at night with Will. Will is a character I enjoyed reading about and learning who he is and where he came from. There are other characters like Nathaniel, who is Will's best friend, Lauren, who is a phycic, and also Cadan, who was my favorite character, but wasn't in the book that much. There were also the reapers like Bastian, Geir, Ivar, and Ragnuk who had amazing power to read about. The writing style was creative and I did enjoy the flashbacks of Ellie's past lifes. I give this book a 4.5/5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    It's so hard to give an impression of book without giving away major spoilers along the way. Because sometimes those key points are what make or break a story for a person.

    I liked a lot about this book. I liked Ellie. She's a kick ass heroine who doesn't take crap from anybody. I liked her social life. She's not the popular girl in school, but she's not the misfit either. She has a close nit circle of friends that she's comfortable with. Then steps in Will. He's mysterious and way beyond cute. Plus, Ellie feels a deep deep seeded connection to him that she can't explain. I liked that because it was different than the instant attraction that seems so rampant in ya literature these days. I liked how they work together. After 600 years of reincarnations, you can tell they are a team that really would do anything to protect each other.

    I also liked the action during this book. The reapers really wreck havoc in both the real world and their own dimension which leaves Ellie in some sticky situations she has to explain. I loved her swords and her ability to call on Angelfire. It really gave them book the punch in the action department.

    Which brings me to what I didn't like. I really disliked that the reapers stole innocent/good victims for devil's army against God. It seemed like a glaring contradiction to everything I know and believe in. I think there was a better way for the reapers to have accomplished their mission and still have Ellie be the Preliator (thanks Ashley!). I also disliked who Ellie is revealed to really be at the end. It didn't fit in my head with who and what I thought Ellie was.

    I'm sure I will continue this series because I really like the basic idea. I just happen to disagree with some of the reasoning behind it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angelfire

    Great Book!
    I can't wait for Wings of the Wicked (Angelfire #2) and Hymn of the Fallen (Angelfire #3).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A mixed bag...

    I had mixed feelings about this one. There were parts where I really got into the story and couldn't wait to see what happened next, then there were other parts that didn't ring true for me. Overall, it was an okay story and I enjoyed it, I just didn't love it.

    Ellie is not exactly your typical teenage girl, as her family is rich enough to buy her a new car for her birthday, her parents constantly fight, and she suffers from horrible nightmares every night. Horribly vivid nightmares, with terrifying monsters trying to kill her. Turns out that the nightmares are memories of previous battles, as Ellie is the reincarnation of a mighty warrior, put on Earth to protect humanity from the evil reapers.

    While I understand that this is the first book in a new series, I felt that it took a little too long to set things up. Ellie seemed a little slow on the uptake, as she doesn't really remember her previous lives and she takes too long to accept her new reality. I'd like to think that if I suddenly saw monsters and was able to successfully fight them, I'd believe Will. Of course, I'd probably be paralyzed with fear and the monsters would eat me, but please humor me and leave me my delusions....

    All in all, this isn't a bad start and I'm curious to read the next book to see what happens to Ellie and Will. And with Ellie's dad, as there's something not quite right with him. There were parts of the story where Ellie reminded me a little of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, in that Ellie is trying to keep the rest of her life normal while fighting evil on the side. Wonder how long that's going to last?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    BookHounds

    This is the first book in a new trilogy about angels and demons and there was a ton of set up for the next two books. I loved the snarky tone of the characters and found Ellie to be a likable lead. Ellie is having horrible nightmares and when those nightmares turn out to be real life, she finds herself to be a warrior in a fight between good and evil. Will comes into Ellie's life and professes to know everything about her, but doesn't really tell her much. He makes her jump through hoops and forces her to really work to get a little tidbit of information. It is only when her life is in mortal danger that he does some mind trick and lets her in on the secret. If he is her protector, I think she might be better off taking chances on her own, but maybe this is exactly what Will wants.

    I had some trouble getting into the story. I thought the plot was a little bit slow and I really had to force myself to read it. In the end, I was glad I finished it, but I really wish that it moved a little bit faster for me. This may just be me and I may not have been in the mood for a story like this. It happens. I will read the next one in the series since I did like most of the characters and I really hope that Ellie develops into someone kick ass. Will has possibilities as well to become a truly magnificent lead and I really hope he gets a sense of humor. Parents: There are some instances of alcohol use, mentions of sexual situations, a little bad language, so this one is best suited for teens over 14.

    I received this book at no cost from Around the World ARC Tours in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Heavy battle scenes and hot guy too...

    What I liked: The extensive and creative back story on Angels. Mouton really spent time gathering ideas and rearranging things to come up with a unique perspective as explored in this genre of late. I also liked that the female MC is strong-physically stronger than her main love interest and saves him as often as he saves her.
    What I didn't: As first novels go, Angelfire is a great book, but unfortunately, it also had me skimming a lot due to copious fight scenes. I really like YA/Paranormal Romance and even Angels, but I'm not crazy about the way the fight scenes take over the story and drag out. I also fast forward Lord of the Rings whenever the Orcs arrive-so it's probably just a personal problem**grin**.
    What I wish could change: I'd like Ellie to think things through a bit more. I would hope the ages old reincarnated super beings could avoid some of the more obvious teen pitfalls that she fall right into.
    What had me guessing: I want to know what's up with Ellie's crazy dad. I vote for possession. Anyway, this and quite a few other unanswered questions will need to be addressed when the sequel comes along.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Recommend

    You need to read the whole series there's a lot of butt kick and some romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    Angelfire has an amazing amount of action in its pages. It also

    Angelfire has an amazing amount of action in its pages. It also has a lot of mystery. Reading about reincarnation and the lost memories of past lives, I found Ellie’s recurring nightmares and flashbacks intriguing and captivating. Even the instinct and power which Will could reawaken within her was amazing. And the dark world of the Grim and the reapers that inhabited it enthralled me.

    The characters, however, didn’t really capture me. Ellie was great, and don’t get me wrong, I loved how she could kick butt. But I couldn’t connect with her, not like other characters I’ve read. As for Will, honestly, I’m not really sure what to think of him. I like the mystery about his past and how quiet he is about it just seemed to draw me in deeper. Yet something about him really turns me off. It’s like he’s strong in personality, but has completely no will of his own, which I hate. I feel he’s too attached to his duty to the Archangels.

    Also, the ending, in my opinion, moved a little too fast, especially when the Archangel, Michael, appears. Just so much information is just dropped right into the reader’s lap at that point that it was very hard for me to take it all in. I even went over the conversation twice, just to make sure I read it right.

    In conclusion, this is a good novel overall and while I can’t wait to continue the series, I hope the next book is a little clearer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13