Customer Reviews for

Angelfire (Angelfire Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Just simply AWESOME!

Angelfire was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. I fell in love with the characters right away. Ellie is a wonderfully crafted, strong YA female character. It was so refreshing to read about a girl who actually knows how to apply eyeliner (likes it) and i...
Angelfire was one of those books that I just couldn't put down. I fell in love with the characters right away. Ellie is a wonderfully crafted, strong YA female character. It was so refreshing to read about a girl who actually knows how to apply eyeliner (likes it) and is not ashamed to admit she likes to party with her friends and dance with guys. But in the next moment she's dropping monsters and slashing her swords through the air, taking on her role as protector with humility, strength, and grace (no whining). I am impressed with the relationship she has with her best friend, Kate. They portrayed a true friendship and cared for one another, even though Ellie couldn't divulge her secret, she still kept her close and made time for her and her other friends. Will is fast becoming one of my favorite male leads in YA fiction. Not only is he drop dead gorgeous (I Love tats) but he is fierce and protective without being possessive or cocky (not too cocky). He accepts that Ellie still needs to keep a semblance of her life as a teenage girl, while guiding her into becoming the warrior she needs to be. The way he loves her so selflessly, tugs at my heart strings and causes a little ache deep inside my chest. The writing is near flawless. Written in first person, it's paced perfectly and with clarity. The voice of the novel is really what impressed me the most. At no time did I feel that I was reading from a younger or older perspective, it was spot on for a seven-teen-year-old girl. Nor did I question the mythology Ms. Moulton created. I felt as if I was right beside Ellie, experiencing everything first hand, and desperately not wanting it to end. It's been a long time since I found a character that I loved as much as Buffy Summers and I'm ecstatic that I get to read more of Ellie's story! With its heart-stopping action, breath-taking romance, and beautifully descriptive scenes, I give Angelfire 5 flames!From my blog at YA Bound

posted by ParaBooks on December 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Almost okay.

My main problem I didn't like the characters. I didn't like Ellie. I tried. I swear I did. In fact, had this book just been about Preliator Ellie, I'd probably would have rated it higher. Ellie's problems in her human life are those of a rich girl problems, as Chris, ...
My main problem I didn't like the characters. I didn't like Ellie. I tried. I swear I did. In fact, had this book just been about Preliator Ellie, I'd probably would have rated it higher. Ellie's problems in her human life are those of a rich girl problems, as Chris, one of the characters would say. Ellie has a rocky relationship with her father, which either is poor writing or Ellie's father has been taken over by some reaper (that's my theory not a spoiler). Ellie thinks that no teenager should feel the way she feels. when her parents fight. Granted it's probably true, it just doesn't seem like what a teenager would think, it seems like what the author wants the reader to feel about Ellie. Last, she tries to be humble by saying how she understands other teenagers don't get cars on their birthdays, but since she has to deal with her parents fighting it's almost a trade off. Girl. How can you even compare the two? Also there are kids who do not get cars and still have their parents fighting. Think about that. Ellie doesn't want to put her friends in danger when she knows the reapers will attack her. So you'd think she would try to go home, prepare to fight or something along those lines, except she doesn't she goes to parties, and after parties never even trying to protect her friends while dragging Will with she can. Ellie knows there are reapers out there trying to kill, yet she thinks getting drunk is a good idea. It wasn't the underage drinking that bothered me, I'd be a hypocrite if it was, it was her poor decision making that bothered me.


Going back to her rich girl problems, and this may be a pet peeve that didn't influence my rating of this book, the name dropping is obnoxious. My Audi, my mom's Mercedes, Kate's BMW, my Badgley Mishka dress that I bought for my party and goes along with my Marc Jacobs shoes. Can teenagers really relate to this? I don't know about the US, but if this book ever gets translated and sold in other countries the answer is a big fat no. Now there's Kate, Ellie's friend whose only dialogue during the book is to offer alcohol and ask Ellie if she's dating Will. She had at least three conversations with this same topic. I liked Will, he was moody, but his whole "I'm your soldier," attitude pleased me. All men should be like that. Kidding!


Okay now that I discussed why I didn't like it, let's talk about what I did like. Moulton is very good at creating her own world, and it was this what kept me reading. The description and history of the reapers is very well done, I even wanted to to google the Grigori's (a fallen angel family) after I was done reading. The pacing of the book is very well done too, with unexpected action here and there. I also liked the idea that Will is Ellie's solider, and how she is supposed to be stronger than him. Well that's new in YA! There are hints of a romance between Ellie and Will, but they are very subtle and it is definitely not the focus of the book.


Will I read the next one in the series? My heart will not bleed if I don't.

posted by shmy on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Pretty good

    ANGELFIRE, by Courtney Allison Moulton, is full of action, romance, and suspense. Moulton conceived a world where human's greatest nightmares lie in wait right outside their vision.

    I am partial to books that focus on angels and the like, so I was very excited to read this one. Ellie started off being a normal teenage girl wanting to hang out with friends and party. But Ellie is anything but normal. Moulton started the action right in the beginning with the introduction of Will and soon after, a reaper.

    The reapers and other creatures that lived right beyond our world were terrifying. The visualization of the reapers and their characterizations really flautned Moulton's creative mind. I enjoyed the fight and training scenes betwen Ellie and Will. While reading I felt I was there it the fight with them. And Ellie's swords with angelfire were definitely impressive and added a little extra oomph to the fighting.

    As much as I liked the book, I found myself getting bored with Ellie. It is understandable that in the beginning it would be a total shocker to discover that you are a reincarnated reaper-killing machine, but I think her resistance to the idea took way too long to get over. I would think her dead-beat dad and party-hardy friends couldn't compete with being a badass fighter. But in a way, my frustrations with her connected me more to the story so that I would (hopefully) see her accept her fate.

    I am not one for spoilers, but I have some questions that will hopefully be answered in the next book. Overall, this was a great start to the series and I anxiously await number two!

    Side note, how awesome is the cover? I love getting a look at her sword!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    not what you would expect

    this book was not what i expected it to be. the entire story is confusing. it is lacking romance, edginess and depth. you wont hear any story like it amd i am not saying that in a good sense. dont bother wasting your time on this book. the charactars themselves needed to ne more developed. do not read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    It's so hard to give an impression of book without giving away major spoilers along the way. Because sometimes those key points are what make or break a story for a person.

    I liked a lot about this book. I liked Ellie. She's a kick ass heroine who doesn't take crap from anybody. I liked her social life. She's not the popular girl in school, but she's not the misfit either. She has a close nit circle of friends that she's comfortable with. Then steps in Will. He's mysterious and way beyond cute. Plus, Ellie feels a deep deep seeded connection to him that she can't explain. I liked that because it was different than the instant attraction that seems so rampant in ya literature these days. I liked how they work together. After 600 years of reincarnations, you can tell they are a team that really would do anything to protect each other.

    I also liked the action during this book. The reapers really wreck havoc in both the real world and their own dimension which leaves Ellie in some sticky situations she has to explain. I loved her swords and her ability to call on Angelfire. It really gave them book the punch in the action department.

    Which brings me to what I didn't like. I really disliked that the reapers stole innocent/good victims for devil's army against God. It seemed like a glaring contradiction to everything I know and believe in. I think there was a better way for the reapers to have accomplished their mission and still have Ellie be the Preliator (thanks Ashley!). I also disliked who Ellie is revealed to really be at the end. It didn't fit in my head with who and what I thought Ellie was.

    I'm sure I will continue this series because I really like the basic idea. I just happen to disagree with some of the reasoning behind it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A mixed bag...

    I had mixed feelings about this one. There were parts where I really got into the story and couldn't wait to see what happened next, then there were other parts that didn't ring true for me. Overall, it was an okay story and I enjoyed it, I just didn't love it.

    Ellie is not exactly your typical teenage girl, as her family is rich enough to buy her a new car for her birthday, her parents constantly fight, and she suffers from horrible nightmares every night. Horribly vivid nightmares, with terrifying monsters trying to kill her. Turns out that the nightmares are memories of previous battles, as Ellie is the reincarnation of a mighty warrior, put on Earth to protect humanity from the evil reapers.

    While I understand that this is the first book in a new series, I felt that it took a little too long to set things up. Ellie seemed a little slow on the uptake, as she doesn't really remember her previous lives and she takes too long to accept her new reality. I'd like to think that if I suddenly saw monsters and was able to successfully fight them, I'd believe Will. Of course, I'd probably be paralyzed with fear and the monsters would eat me, but please humor me and leave me my delusions....

    All in all, this isn't a bad start and I'm curious to read the next book to see what happens to Ellie and Will. And with Ellie's dad, as there's something not quite right with him. There were parts of the story where Ellie reminded me a little of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, in that Ellie is trying to keep the rest of her life normal while fighting evil on the side. Wonder how long that's going to last?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    BookHounds

    This is the first book in a new trilogy about angels and demons and there was a ton of set up for the next two books. I loved the snarky tone of the characters and found Ellie to be a likable lead. Ellie is having horrible nightmares and when those nightmares turn out to be real life, she finds herself to be a warrior in a fight between good and evil. Will comes into Ellie's life and professes to know everything about her, but doesn't really tell her much. He makes her jump through hoops and forces her to really work to get a little tidbit of information. It is only when her life is in mortal danger that he does some mind trick and lets her in on the secret. If he is her protector, I think she might be better off taking chances on her own, but maybe this is exactly what Will wants.

    I had some trouble getting into the story. I thought the plot was a little bit slow and I really had to force myself to read it. In the end, I was glad I finished it, but I really wish that it moved a little bit faster for me. This may just be me and I may not have been in the mood for a story like this. It happens. I will read the next one in the series since I did like most of the characters and I really hope that Ellie develops into someone kick ass. Will has possibilities as well to become a truly magnificent lead and I really hope he gets a sense of humor. Parents: There are some instances of alcohol use, mentions of sexual situations, a little bad language, so this one is best suited for teens over 14.

    I received this book at no cost from Around the World ARC Tours in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Heavy battle scenes and hot guy too...

    What I liked: The extensive and creative back story on Angels. Mouton really spent time gathering ideas and rearranging things to come up with a unique perspective as explored in this genre of late. I also liked that the female MC is strong-physically stronger than her main love interest and saves him as often as he saves her.
    What I didn't: As first novels go, Angelfire is a great book, but unfortunately, it also had me skimming a lot due to copious fight scenes. I really like YA/Paranormal Romance and even Angels, but I'm not crazy about the way the fight scenes take over the story and drag out. I also fast forward Lord of the Rings whenever the Orcs arrive-so it's probably just a personal problem**grin**.
    What I wish could change: I'd like Ellie to think things through a bit more. I would hope the ages old reincarnated super beings could avoid some of the more obvious teen pitfalls that she fall right into.
    What had me guessing: I want to know what's up with Ellie's crazy dad. I vote for possession. Anyway, this and quite a few other unanswered questions will need to be addressed when the sequel comes along.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    *2.5* At the moment I have a love/hate relationship with Angelf

    *2.5*

    At the moment I have a love/hate relationship with Angelfire. I feel like it had so much more potential than was actually delivered.
    I understand that it's the first in a trilogy and we do need some world building for what's going to be going on in future books and
    what not, but I feel like the premises of the entire book was lost. Ellie is your typical teenager.  She goes to school, worries about
    her birthday party and stresses out about who will actually show up. That pretty much sums up Ellie before her seventeenth birthday.
    That is until her nightmares start up again.  She's gotten better at hiding them. One day she sees a certain boy lurking in the
    background.  He claims to be her guardian and says that she is the Preliator and that her purpose in life is to hunt and kill the reapers
     that prey on human souls.  One might think this is shocking news yet Ellie takes it in stride.  One day your biggest worry in life is school,
     the next is trying not to get killed. I had so many issues with Angelfire. At the very start I was so excited about it because I hadn't read a
    Angel/Fallen book in so long and it sounded amazing but then it started dragging.  If it wasn't explaining what a certain creature is,
    it was figuring out what something else was.  Yes, there was a lot of action and I did make a few connections with certain characters,
    but I feel like the whole purpose, or at the very least, the subplot of the story was lost.

    **SPOILER**

    I never do this but I feel like it's necessary.  Her memories; I mean seriously! More than half the book I'm like "Hello Will awakened you!!!"
    yet we have no insight to her bloody memories!  We get flashes here and there but that's not enough.  I thought when a certain
    something happens she would somehow get them back. To no avail, she does not. That really had me frustrated!

    **End Spoiler**

    I'm not really sure how I feel about Angelfire. Like I said, the story truly got my attention at the very start and I was excited to read
    something new with a twist. In the end it was somewhat of a letdown. I loved the concept but the delivery of everything could have
    been executed a lot stronger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good

    I found this to be one of those books that keep you guessing, though there were a number of things I didn't like about it. I won't go into much detail so not to spoil anything for others, but being who we find out Ellie is at the end of the book, I just think she should have been portrayed stronger and not having so much trouble in some of the fights. I also found the romance part to be intriguing, but annoying at times. It seems like anytime one of them hit the ground in a fight they scream for each other. I get they are in love, but it just gets kind of annoying. Overall it's a nice read and I look forward to reading the sequel, though I'm hoping for a stronger Ellie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhat interesting, somewhat predictable. Still, I would recom

    Somewhat interesting, somewhat predictable. Still, I would recommend it if you're just looking for a good, well-written paranormal romance and aren't too concerned with originality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    A recommended read!

    This was a different twist to this type of genre, I actually put it down half way through to read another book of the same genre.Then finished Angelfire and did enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ok but not great

    I so wanted to like this book because it included all of the things I like to read about: supernatural-teen love, angels, and teen angst. But I was severely disappointed. For one this book was very predictable. I was able to figure out the big twist/reveal long before the final chapters, the writing style was so-so, and the plot seemed to drag on with only occasional bursts of short action with long dull periods in between. I really wanted to like this book but I found myself struggling just to finish it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2