Customer Reviews for

Angelology: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

a fantastic epic, rich in texture and detail

I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the ...
I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the most surreal and fabulous. I enjoyed the wealth of visual detail: Trussoni's superb descriptions such as of the secret academy in Montparnasse, Paris during the Nazi Occupation. or of a radiant angel corpse preserved deep in a Bulgarian cavern. The plot and pace of this book are very successful too. The pace really picks up and sweeps towards a riveting ending. Love stories and murders seemed almost incidental to the plot; while historical intrigues and family sagas kept me on tenterhooks for more. The Nephilim are a formidable enemy and I found myself really captivated and supporting Gabriella in her quest against them. Hope to hear that there will be a sequel!

posted by JL-FR on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not good

I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as n...
I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as nothing more than spoiled children and vandals. The whole second half of the book just made no sense whatsoever. On top of all that, the authors use of emotion was just confusing. In the space of a 30 second conversation character emotions were described as joyous, irritated, grateful, condescending, etc etc etc. Seriously, it was distracting at the beginning, but by the end, I just wanted all the characters to get killed off. That's how poor a job she did of identifying the heroes and villians. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by FinMac on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Beginning is Great...But Middle Sags and Ending Drags

    Hard to know how to rate this one - it starts off really well, with well-drawn characters, an interesting plot, and piles of research showing all over. We get the main story, about the nun, Evangeline, and the secrets hidden somewhere in the convent. Then we get the story within a story, about Claudine, the elderly nun, and the formal study of angels. By the time we get to the story within the story within the story, this time about Clematis and the First Expedition to find fallen angels, I started to ask myself, what gives here? Why leave the main characters completely and go off on 2 tangents? When we finally get back to Evangeline and a sudden (and not believeable) love interest, it seemed like a film plot tacked on to a book, as if the first part of the book is a real book, but the last part is a film script - and the 2 parts don't match up that well. Did we need lots of guts and gore at the end - no. Did we need the awkward love scenes - no, we didn't. Did we need to be deceived throughout as to the real identity of Evangeline - nope. There are lots of things that don't add up here, and it's a real shame - for example, we keep hearing about how frail the elderly nuns are, but suddenly they are strong enough to drag and dump large bodies. Like other books marketed to women, like "The Time Traveller's Wife" and "The Fearful Symmetery" this one is a big let down when you realize that it is really science fiction trying to hide itself as romance as a marketing tool. No dice, we are not that easily fooled. I am hoping that somewhere out there, there is an editor who cares enough about the reader's experience to stop the pattern of cheating the reader of a plot that makes sense, an editor capable of returning story telling to an art and not throwing away any sensible plot to sell a book as a script, something that clearly has happened with this book. In summary, I would give the first part of the book 4 stars, the stories within stories 2 stars, and the last third no stars because it was just completely unbelievable, in fact, ridiculously like a bad film script. Next time, I hope that this writer works with an editor and not an agent and an accountant to shape her work, and then her work will be worth reading from start to finish, but not yet.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Horrid

    One of three books that I threw across the room after I finished it. A mindless, pointless, horridly paced book that only exists for the author and publisher to cash in on the movie rights. True, a film is in development, and it will likely be far better than its origins; unfortunately that will drive people to read the source material, in a word: DON'T! Trussoni vacillates between a desire to show off how much research she did by plodding along and being incessantly repetitive, and attempting to creating thrilling action pieces that end up sounding like staging instructions. None of the big reveals are shocking (they all come across as "Well, duh!") and yet Trussoni also manages to have the people and creatures of the book act completely contrary to the characterizations she has created. The only redeeming factors of the books, are the chilling descriptions of the fully divine Angels and their subterranean prison. However, five minutes of tension is not worth the rest of my time it took to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Terrible

    Trussoni explained for 75% of the book and did nothing but bore me for the rest. She resorted to cheap, gory horror at the very end to try and add some action but only resulted in my yawning and wondering why I spent the money on this book. The only possible redeeming features of this book, the Grigori family, had the potential to be crafted into complex villains but only turned into the typical diabolical, white collar crooks...but with wings. Take it from a creative writing student- everything Trussoni did we have been told NOT to do. Don't waste your money here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I had hoped it would get better!

    Not really worth the time. The characters were weak and never came to life. The plot was exceptionally predictable with little detail. Too bad, because a subject with such potential could have really been thorough and vibrant.

    The author seemed to have spent a day in a thesaurus expanding vocabulary which only produced infinite ways to use the word endeavor and a few other extremely obscure words.

    Maybe the story was written in hopes of being picked up by the mindless masses of Hollywood to create a simple and shallow movie depicting Nuns in a clandestine and militaristic role fighting Nazis and unearthly evil domineering angels?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If You Are A Fan Of Rewarding Endings - Don't Bother

    I thought this book had promise. A lot of it was predictable, but I read/listen for pleasure; so, no problem. The characters had potential, but were not as well developed as they should have been for a book this size. Still - not fatal to a good read. However, I listened to 17 CDs only to run into a brick wall of a disappointing ending. There were so many ways this book could have ended without it being such a let down. This author is off my approved list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Boo.

    This book is a piece of crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    AMAZING

    This is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Boo

    Entirely too many plot spoilers here ruining the book. Just stop already!!!! There is no need to tell everything that happens in the book. Read the other reviews. They got their point across very nicely as to whether the book was good or not and they didnt rehash the entire book in doing so. Learn to write a review!!!! Stop revealing the plot line!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Apocalyptically bad. Find shelter!

    I'm having to stop reading this again. I'm on chapter 13 and I'm bored to tears.

    Sorry, this book just isn't my cup of tea.

    *UPDATE*

    ANGELOLOGY by Danielle Trussoni. This book was apocalyptically bad. From what I understand, Trussoni was extended a writing contract for this novel based on a memoir she wrote. Well, my suggestion is that she never write fiction again. Please. For the love of all that is holy. When I was listening to this audiobook, there were literally five minute intervals where the only thing spoken about was mundane crap that could have been cut out. For example, six minutes to explain the angel lacing up and tying his shoes. There is no importance to this. Not special flying shoes, nor shoes that have an antidote to some deadly poison hidden in them. No. Just plain old leather sandle-shoe thingies. Yeah. Pathetic. I was bored to tears. I would have rather of listened to black metal screaming in my ears for hours on end. Don't waste your time, energy, breath, or computer space. If I haven't convinced you, ANGELOLOGY has one of the lowest ranking books on goodreads. And it has 2,934 ratings. More than half of the ratings are below a 3-star ranking (out of five). Enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Dull!

    I picked this book up on a whim in the store, based upon the clips of critic reviews that raved about how exciting and suspenseful it was. That was a load of bull!

    The plot was confusing and simply BORING. The second half of the book made very little sense, even when suspending all belief. By the end, which was supposed to be this extreme climax, I didn't care at all about any of the characters, I just wanted it to be over!

    Horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    get to the point!

    sorry, i got so bored i could not finish.
    will not buy another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poor God, another book which posits the proposition, he is out to lunch.

    This an absolutely silly story with some of the dimmest characters I have ever had the unfortunate experience to review. The only reason I finished the book was to determine whether or not it could get any worse, and it did.

    While, I personally, am not up to date on various theological arguments, I find it offensive that an allegedly omnipotent and omniscient deity goes on vacation while some genetic crosses ( which like mules, should be sterile) have a go at mankind. The best of the best of these angelology researchers make one cringe with their Laurel and Hardy investigative skills. It will probably be made into a movie, which will skip the theaters and go right to DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    interesting story, poor writing

    This book reminded me of a Dan Brown novel- a very interesting premise, but an author who is not skilled enough to craft a well-written story.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2