Customer Reviews for

Angelology: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 521 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

a fantastic epic, rich in texture and detail

I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the ...
I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the most surreal and fabulous. I enjoyed the wealth of visual detail: Trussoni's superb descriptions such as of the secret academy in Montparnasse, Paris during the Nazi Occupation. or of a radiant angel corpse preserved deep in a Bulgarian cavern. The plot and pace of this book are very successful too. The pace really picks up and sweeps towards a riveting ending. Love stories and murders seemed almost incidental to the plot; while historical intrigues and family sagas kept me on tenterhooks for more. The Nephilim are a formidable enemy and I found myself really captivated and supporting Gabriella in her quest against them. Hope to hear that there will be a sequel!

posted by JL-FR on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Not good

I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as n...
I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as nothing more than spoiled children and vandals. The whole second half of the book just made no sense whatsoever. On top of all that, the authors use of emotion was just confusing. In the space of a 30 second conversation character emotions were described as joyous, irritated, grateful, condescending, etc etc etc. Seriously, it was distracting at the beginning, but by the end, I just wanted all the characters to get killed off. That's how poor a job she did of identifying the heroes and villians. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by FinMac on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Not good

    I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as nothing more than spoiled children and vandals. The whole second half of the book just made no sense whatsoever. On top of all that, the authors use of emotion was just confusing. In the space of a 30 second conversation character emotions were described as joyous, irritated, grateful, condescending, etc etc etc. Seriously, it was distracting at the beginning, but by the end, I just wanted all the characters to get killed off. That's how poor a job she did of identifying the heroes and villians. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great premise: poor editing

    I believe the author may have been trying to cash in on Dan Brown's success with the religious/mystery genre. Like Brown's work, the premise was intriguing, but the plot line meandering and the characters flat and lifeless. The Biblical references were compelling, but the premise of three plot lines caused confusion, and yes, even some boredom. The novel could have benefitted from some careful editing, as typos and long-winded descriptions were abundant.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Great concept, poor delivery

    This book would have certainly benefitted from a good editor. Inexplicably long with a storyline that often spiraled way off course. I read it to the end hoping for a redeeming conclusion; no such luck. It had the feeling of being written for the sole purpose of selling movie rights, complete with shallow characters and prepped for over-the-top CG. Maybe a good director can pull of the anti-hollywood: make a good movie out of a subpar book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    An excellent idea, but fell flat

    I picked up this book after reading the back cover. It sounded interesting. Through the first several pages, I really was intrigued. But about a third of the way through, the part where you learn about Celestine in Paris, I began to get bored with the book. I would count how many pages I had left to read because I will not put down a book once I start it. The problem is that I did not connect with any of the characters, the story was poorly written, and that the story did not go anywhere. The ending was even more confusing and I saw it coming from a mile away. Sorry, that last statement may seem contradictory, but I am trying not to give anything away for people who have not read it. For those who have, you should understand. To sum up, skip this book. There are plenty of better books out there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    As if, As if, As if......

    I couldn't get through the rampant use of "as if" throughout the book. Was this ever edited? It was a complete distraction to the story line and because it was used so much in describing EVERYTHING, it totally destroyed the flow of the book for me. I had high hopes for this book, as it has some really good reviews, but I just couldn't muddle through it. After a week of trying, I finally put it down. I may or may not revisit it, but I am disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    Not worth the time

    I had high hopes for this book, but it was very slow. The work of Angelologists is never clearly outlined, it claims it is "important", but never defines what these people do. Characters and plot did not flow. Gives details, but never a full picture. Had to struggle to get this book finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Not captivating

    I kept "falling out" of the story and back into real life where I would say to myself, "Wow, that didn't flow very well." Took me forever to get through because there was so much didactic explanation of what's going on by the characters. Nobody talks like that. Then I got to the last page and felt terribly cheated. If there isn't a sequel, I'm appalled that she ended it abruptly with no real conclusion. If there IS a sequel, I'm dismayed that I have to read it to find out how it's supposed to end. It just wasn't terribly well written. Not awful, just not good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    Boring

    I loved the idea of angels and humans in this epic battle, but the author just gets lost in translation. Some parts of the book were painful to get through. I wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A guardian angel would have been helpful...

    What a dismal, dismal, dismal read! Editing mistakes were rampant! I spent more time yelling at the book than reading it and that was only after I had forced myself to pick it back up from across the room where I had thrown it. The characters are dull, lifeless and poorly written. The plot, "demonic" angels pull the invisible strings of the world and are seeking an unknown yet mystically powerful biblical artifact, is catching; think Dan Brown. Unfortunately for Trussoni, she did not fully develop her ideas. The main character is a blank canvas and allows every other character to fill in her family blanks and lead her by the nose. The longest section is told by a semi-comatose nun and gives all the back story in one go. I had heard rumours of a possible movie deal on this book...let's hope if that's true, they make it better than the original work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Ok

    Good story line. I liked the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Not great

    Meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Dull

    Another book that takes the human capacity to think for granted. Characters were dull and unrealistically naive for their age.
    It was interesting is the best I can say about it, but it was not interesting enough to make me like it. The premise of the story had potential, but it disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Anticlimatic....

    Thin. Tons of potential that is never quite realized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Angelology needs help from heaven!

    I originally bought this book thinking that it would be along the similar style of Dan Brown. Boy, was I wrong! I forced myself to finish the book simply because I don't like throwing away money. This book took for ever to read due to the lack of interest. The author was all over the place with the writing, including subjects at different points that had absolutely no relativity to the story whatsoever. Still trying to figure out why there was a page spent on mathematical puzzles??? The book was long and drawn out with way too much unnecessary information. I actually thoght the third and final section was starting to get interesting until it took a pathetic ending. Avoid this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    didn't meet my expectations

    I was really looking forward to this book for some time but I was disappointed. I like the story line origanal and intresting with lots of potenital. In my option it lacked focouse, it started good i was really getting in to it but towards the middle characters where left with too many questions and at the ending was poor no close. I did like the book cover beautiful. I would of liked to see the realtionship between Evangeline and Verlaine develope more. Percival could of made a great bad guy if more of his story was developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    What Happened Here?

    As much as I loved "Falling Through The Earth" there is nothing to rave about in "Angelology". Admittedly, I have not finished this book. I usually devour a book and this one is lying next to my bed gathering dust. The beginning is interesting and well written. I have gotten bogged down in the middle of this book. The section of the book where Ms. Trussoni takes you back for the history of the Angel/Human connection is so tedious that I have completely lost interest in this book. I will try to finish it but I wish I read a review like this and not even bothered wasting my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    disappointing

    It had the potential of an interesting story up to when it becomes too much..the plot becomes predictable, so much that from page 60 or so, you can guess what it is going to happen. Its well written and it is certainly distracting. Characters are not well developed, and the author seems to try too hard. Again it would have been a great story, if it did not become a Dan Brown novel, or a hollywood movie... the story is so unbelievable, the center part where she talks about angels and angelology in Paris.. really too much. I am surprised that the NYTimes Book review recommended this book. This is why I bought it but really disappointing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4