Customer Reviews for

Angelology: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

a fantastic epic, rich in texture and detail

I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the ...
I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the most surreal and fabulous. I enjoyed the wealth of visual detail: Trussoni's superb descriptions such as of the secret academy in Montparnasse, Paris during the Nazi Occupation. or of a radiant angel corpse preserved deep in a Bulgarian cavern. The plot and pace of this book are very successful too. The pace really picks up and sweeps towards a riveting ending. Love stories and murders seemed almost incidental to the plot; while historical intrigues and family sagas kept me on tenterhooks for more. The Nephilim are a formidable enemy and I found myself really captivated and supporting Gabriella in her quest against them. Hope to hear that there will be a sequel!

posted by JL-FR on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not good

I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as n...
I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as nothing more than spoiled children and vandals. The whole second half of the book just made no sense whatsoever. On top of all that, the authors use of emotion was just confusing. In the space of a 30 second conversation character emotions were described as joyous, irritated, grateful, condescending, etc etc etc. Seriously, it was distracting at the beginning, but by the end, I just wanted all the characters to get killed off. That's how poor a job she did of identifying the heroes and villians. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by FinMac on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Page Turner

    This was a page turner for me. Once I got into the story, I could not put it down. All though the theme is a common one, good vs. evil, I found it to be a new twist. I enjoyed the history that was woven through-out the story and learned quite a bit more about angels.

    One thing that was disappointing and is a reflection on the publisher, Viking; there were numerous typos, spell check is not reliable, a person still needs to review the copy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Little too Long

    I liked the theme and found the storyline interesting. It was too dragged out though which ended up making it somewhat boring and hard to get through.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Started out well, but the ending was forced.

    This book was interesting. I found it fast to read regardless of its large size. The link between the nuns and the Rockefellers pulled history into its pages, along with the story from WWII and the first expedition to the cavern. I was drawn in and looked forward to the climax. The cast of characters were diverse and different from the norm. Angelology was explained, it's quite an interesting discipline along with the history the author created made their world come to life.
    As I approached the end I was concerned that there were not enough pages left to give the book a good ending and I'm sorry to say I was right. I realize that this was only number one, but I do not feel the book had an ending that was satisfying to me as a reader. It made the book feel rushed. The next book I imagine will start off right where this one left off, but I felt robbed at the end of this one. The story was detailed, long and then bam it was over. The end also did not mesh with what we had learned about Evangeline, her whole character changed in the blink of an eye and that was hard to swallow. I have high hopes for the next one, but then again I had high hopes for this one.
    If you enjoy interesting stories weaved in and out of historical fact, you may enjoy this book. If you think you may like this, wait for the next one before reading this one, that way you don't have to wonder what the heck? I do want to know what happens to Evangeline and the rest of the Angelologists, but then again by the time the next book comes out I may not even remember why. This series would be better read all together. At least that is what I hope

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    CD/Thriller?: Very long at 17 discs. The narrator did a great

    CD/Thriller?: Very long at 17 discs. The narrator did a great job with the voices, but I would have never finished the novel if I had the book. There was a lot of extra "stuff" that was not needed verses the quickness of the ending. I had a lot of problems with some of the plot logic, physicality logic, and economic logic of some of the character's wealth. I did like the flashbacks and back story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    The basic storyline is what caught my attention. I think there i

    The basic storyline is what caught my attention. I think there is
    potential here - if only the characters were more developed. I would
    like to see a series based on the idea of angels among us and this could
    have been a great lead into such a series (I am tired of the endless
    vampire stuff... and what;s the deal with zombies???). I give this a 3
    star rating instead of lower because I do "get" where the
    author was going and that still leaves me optimistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    An Entertaining Read

    This was by no means Tolkein or Hitchens, however the story was entertaining, the ending solid, and the characters kept me coming back. Im hoping that like Eragon's Christopher Paulini, Danielle will continue to evolve as a novelist, and that I will have the good fortune to enjoy the fruits of her labours.

    -matt love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A bit disappointing

    For all the hundreds of pages this book goes through setting up the story and providing background information, I found the end to be disappointing. The book ends abruptly, felt incomplete, was anticlimactic, and almost came across as the author got tired of writing the story and decided to end it so she could do something else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, Not Great

    Angelology captured my attention immediately. I enjoy any book that provides historical facts as context to the story. Unfortunately I was left a little bit disappointed in the end.

    There are really three parts to this novel and the first two seem to be setting up the third. The history and detail that was put into the first two-thirds of this book were great and a fantastic read, however, it was the third part of the novel and the ending that kept this from being an instant classic.

    The finale felt rushed and forced. I haven't read any of the author's other works so I can't say for sure, but it almost seemed like she didn't know how to end the novel. It's abrupt and leaves lots of questions which is great for the first book in a trilogy, but I couldn't find any information on a follow-up novel so I have to rate it as is.

    If you are looking for a fast, easy read with a solid but not great plot line this novel is definitely worth the price, but don't expect greatness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It didn't live up to what it could have been

    The idea that fallen angels bred with humans and begat a race that would control the world is great. The beings in question are reminiscent of Anne Rice's Taltos', taller, more elegant than humans, but close enough to live among us without raising alarm. The historical angle and the idea of a religious topic that wasn't a religious book work well. But, about halfway through things start to fall apart. The plot begins to contradict itself in places, which is annoying and it totally undermines the reader's attempt to suspend disbelief. And, she seems to be in competition with The Da Vinci Code over who can have the longest day. More things happen in that one 24-hour period than have happened to me in a year, and I don't sleep much.

    I do recommend the book for its good points. I just wish that the author had taken the time to tie things together better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Original yet ever so pretentious

    This novel has the classic good vs evil storyline, though this time I think I would've like to see evil win. I mean, come one ... they're evil angels and have big wings and are hundreds of years old. Like vampires.

    One of the big downfalls was the set-up. Sooo much background that probably took up 2/3 of the book.

    Full review:
    http://bananasandplaid.wordpress.com/2010/05/02/book-club-angelology-by-danielle-trussoni/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Dead Ending.....

    If there is not a sequel the ending of this book ruins the rest of the book. Great subject but weak character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining and Informative

    This is a fun and unusual story set both in the current day and in history. It explores some little known mythology regarding angels. Even though the concept of angels is popular in our culture, most of us have little knowledge of even the angel history as laid out in the Bible. People who consider themselves literal believers in the Scriptures really should explore this in some detail. The idea that angels have been mating with humans from the beginning of time (and producing children) is an interesting [and Biblical] one.

    This story is about a secret society that believes in this lore and seeks to destroy these beings, believing them a threat to mankind. The book is fun and thought-provoking, but the ending is a bit abrupt and unexpected.

    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel "To Be Chosen"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Had potential but ran out of gas.

    Good suspense in the middle, disappointing ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    Soft start to a potentially good series

    I judged this book by its cover and was only slightly disappointed. I liked the plot and enjoyed reading the book. I wish they would have taken the opportunity to develop the main characters a little better. The heroine was slightly flat and the love story lackluster. However, I enjoyed reading the background story. Perhaps, the author could have spent more time in the present and slowly revealed the history throughout the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Too soon

    This is a pretty good book, but make no mistake about it being fictional. It is entertaining, but peaks way too soon leaving you at the end with a ho hum feeling. With out a doubt this is just the beginning of the story. If you like the Da Vinci Code or Angels and Demons, you might like this book. Just know it goes further into the impossible to believe side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Hummmmmm Not Sure!

    When I originally read the description I was drawn in immediately. Once I began the ebook, I was a little disappointed. The author loves using large words as if trying to show how great a writer, but I found it distracting. I found several typos and in one place a character was referred to, but was actually suppose to be someone else. The ending was a big disappointment, as it seemed to be rushed to complete and left you hanging. I guess there are plans for a sequel. If so I hope that there is more meat to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    disappointing

    Trussoni has an interesting conceit (angels live among us) and a good plot, but the book suffers from poor editing. With a little more effort, it might have become truly compelling. The physical descriptions are quite nicely done (and will make good movie scenes) but the characters' motivations aren't well developed. Finally, must every novel end with no resolution...so we can look forward to the sequel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    HATED THE ENDING!

    The book was based on an interesting concept. I was totally taken in by the concept. But it did get a little boring now and then. Then it got to the ending. Yuck. It seems as if there could be a sequel but at this point I'm not sure I would try to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Ummm.......

    This particular book was ok. I am an avid reader so am a little particular in what I am going to read. I thought this book had a lot of promise in the beginning, but the plot and characters got stale about halfway through. The "history" of the angels was very interesting but wasn't enough to hold my attention. I just felt that I had to finish the book to finish it, not because I was enthralled by the characters and story. If you want an easy read that doesn't require you to think at all this might be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6