Customer Reviews for

Angelology: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

a fantastic epic, rich in texture and detail

I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the ...
I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the most surreal and fabulous. I enjoyed the wealth of visual detail: Trussoni's superb descriptions such as of the secret academy in Montparnasse, Paris during the Nazi Occupation. or of a radiant angel corpse preserved deep in a Bulgarian cavern. The plot and pace of this book are very successful too. The pace really picks up and sweeps towards a riveting ending. Love stories and murders seemed almost incidental to the plot; while historical intrigues and family sagas kept me on tenterhooks for more. The Nephilim are a formidable enemy and I found myself really captivated and supporting Gabriella in her quest against them. Hope to hear that there will be a sequel!

posted by JL-FR on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Not good

I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as n...
I thought this book totally fell apart about halfway through the part 2. There is no character development. I've always felt that was a cliche' to say but in this case there's just no other way to explain it. There is no hero in the book. The villians are portrayed as nothing more than spoiled children and vandals. The whole second half of the book just made no sense whatsoever. On top of all that, the authors use of emotion was just confusing. In the space of a 30 second conversation character emotions were described as joyous, irritated, grateful, condescending, etc etc etc. Seriously, it was distracting at the beginning, but by the end, I just wanted all the characters to get killed off. That's how poor a job she did of identifying the heroes and villians. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

posted by FinMac on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a fantastic epic, rich in texture and detail

    I really enjoyed reading this book because it is satisfyingly long, rich and crammed full of characters, stories, historical and fantastic detail. What I call a good read. Trussoni is a sensuous writer who made people, places and eras really come alive for me.even the most surreal and fabulous. I enjoyed the wealth of visual detail: Trussoni's superb descriptions such as of the secret academy in Montparnasse, Paris during the Nazi Occupation. or of a radiant angel corpse preserved deep in a Bulgarian cavern. The plot and pace of this book are very successful too. The pace really picks up and sweeps towards a riveting ending. Love stories and murders seemed almost incidental to the plot; while historical intrigues and family sagas kept me on tenterhooks for more. The Nephilim are a formidable enemy and I found myself really captivated and supporting Gabriella in her quest against them. Hope to hear that there will be a sequel!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's review

    Good and evil have been at odds since the beginning of time. Sister Evangeline has found herself once again, in the middle of a war between heaven and hell. As a child, she followed her father and caught a glimpse of something not altogether human. Stuffing this find down deep inside herself, she decided that it must not have been real.

    At 23 she has a discussion with a man named Verlaine who has sparked her curiosity. Together they dig through old letters to find the truth about fallen angels and an item of immeasurable value.

    There are not any words that can describe how much I loved this book. Amazing. Thrilling. Intriguing. Words just don't measure up. This is one of my favorite books of all time and I can't wait to read more of Danielle's work.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forget everything you know about Angels...

    Angels are the new vampires!! Angelology by Danielle Trussoni just proves my point. Her debut novel, Angelology is a fast paced thriller that takes you from a convent in upstate New York to war torn Europe and finishes off in a snowy New York City. All to wage a war as old as time. Good versus evil.

    Put aside everything you think you know about Angels. Angelology is an absolutely wonderful, fast paced novel that is a mixture of factual history with a whole lot of fictional lore. Written in a way that will have you grabbing your Bible to do a little fact-checking of your own. I would say the concept is similar to The Historian, but with the action packed plot of a Dan Brown novel. I enjoyed Angelology so much that I am going to give it a "Best of" tag.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An angel book for adults!

    One of the best novels I have read in a while. Angelology has a great plot and is different than many other fallen angel or Nephilim novels out there. The ending was truely shocking and leaves you wanting more. I can only hope there is a sequel. You will be left thinking they are among us. If you have read THE Mortal Instruments Series you will enjoy this book because it helps you understand more about the Nephilim.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    This is nothing like what I learned about angels in catholic school....

    This is a book that you won't be able to put down!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Dark Storm Rising

    This is a book that will make the world occasionally dark and windy. There are creatures afoot that will change your perceptions, and forever change the meaning of the word "angel."

    I read Trussoni's earlier memoir and found it captivating, and had trepidation about this novel because Falling Through Earth was such a wonderful book. I heard the marketers hype it as the next Da Vinci Code. It's not. Its smarter, more thought provoking, more allegorical. There is a race underway for control of the world, and like an intellectual's "24," it's happening fast. Christmas be damned, the dark angels are itching for a fight. They'll burn nuns and kill researchers and stop at nothing to get an instrument that's twice as red-hot as the lost Ark.

    Take it home and light a fire in the fireplace. I loved this ride, and the author is more Umberto Eco than Dan Brown.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I have trouble putting this book down. I truly believe this wou

    I have trouble putting this book down. I truly believe this would make an awesome movie!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Angel Wars

    'Angelology' by Danielle Trussoni (2010). A complete satisfaction in that this novel transcends the kitsch of muddled-headed angel-obsession and instead Trussoni writes a superb intellectual and metaphysical adventure that is very much a modernized novel, but feels as though a (positive) throwback to the likes of Umberto Eco (think: Foucault's Pendulum), John Fowles (think: The Magus), Iain Pears (think: The Dream of Scipio), and Harry Mulisch (think: The Discovery of Heaven). Trussoni has crafted a well-balanced alchemy of spheres that is part Dantesque, part esoterica, and the collision of old world mythology and new world discovery. Sidenote and only for the adept: SOTAR AREPO TENET OPERA ROTAS which was also found in 'Avalovara' by Osman Lins, 1979).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Brilliant!!

    This book was incredible. I own both the hardback and the audio version and they are both amazing. This book took so much work and it shows. But the book is incredibly well written and I found myself swept up in the characters emotions and search and could not wait to turn the page to find out what happened next! This is the best book I have read in over 5 years and I highly suggest that everyone who loves action, history, puzzle solving, and just a plain fantastic book to go out and purchase it..in boh hardback/paperback and audio. Your money will be well spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    A fun, easy read

    I've read other reviews and cannot fathom why some did not enjoy Ms. Trussoni's first efforts. This book was definitely not my usual genre, and I admit that from the start I was skeptical that I'd even like the book at all considering the subject matter.

    I was most pleased to find that after the first fifty pages, I was hooked. This book was with me wherever I went as each spare moment I had went to continue my reading.

    Characters, history, and the way the subject matter was presented made all seem believable.

    My only disappointment was its length, as I wanted this book to go on. I'm looking forward to the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved this book. I finally found a book that could get me excited about reading again. Very nicely written ( I was not thrown off by large words like other reviewers and I did not find it grammatically confusing), great imagery, and very convincing - almost had me believing it was a real part of history.. Fans of Da Vinci Code will love, however it is written much better than Dan Brown can do. Excited for more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Historian" successor.

    I've been mesmerized by this novel, once I started I could hardly put it down. Angelology is not a Biblically-based novel, it's an adventure in an imaginary world. It combines angels and ancient myths and interweaves them into a contemporary setting. I truly loved every minute of this book, although I did find the ending a bit unexpected, but the jarring effect it had didn't take away from the overall loveliness and craft of the work. Trussoni's use of language is just beautiful and I can't wait for it's sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book -disappointing ending

    I loved this book. Quite a different concept on angels living among us trying to enslave rather than save humanity. I loved the characters and how they were all entertwined with eachother. As Gabriella told Evangeline to do the right thing, I felt she did, but the ending really lacked closure. I'm hoping that Danielle has done this purposely to lead into another epic of angels living among us and return the characters of Evangline and Verlaine with the course of how these two fell in love with eachother and discover a new relationship between angels and humans.
    If anyone likes books about angels the would also enjoy Sara Douglass' The Crucible Series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    A Must Read

    Compelling and thrilling.Intricate characterizations. There is much more here that begs for a second read. Prepare to stay up late...but keep the light on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Where Are The Fallen Angels?

    "There were giants in the earth in those days, and also after that, when the sons of God came in unto the daughters of men and they bare children to them, the same became mighty men which were of old, men of renown." These words from The Book of Genesis in the Bible have been read countless times by both sacred and secular readers. Never until now, however, have we seen such a powerful fictional account of just who these "giants" were, their origin and their place in the future of humanity.
    Sister Evangeline entered the Order of Sisters of Perpetual Devotion at St. Rose Convent with a firm faith in the power of prayer, a power that enabled her to escape strange memories, one event in particular which still had the potent, discomfiting ability to send her to the consolation of prayer, a balm which could not, however, eradicate the terror of her memories. As the order's librarian assistant, however, she one day receives a letter from an art researcher, Verlaine, which begins the chain of events that will forever alter her life in a dramatic, almost unbelievable manner.
    Verlaine has been hired by a wealthy party, Percival Gregori, to find correspondence between the head of Sister Evangeline's order and Abigail Rockefeller, a notable woman of means who has been financing the activities of a group called Angelologists. The studies of this group lead them to realize that the "giants" of old and other fallen angels are still alive, some eternally imprisoned on earth and some in various degrees operating to wreak destruction on a global basis. There are Watchers, Nephilim who are the product of humans and fallen angels, and Gibborim who are warrior demonic angels mindlessly carrying out the orders of the former two groups. The Nephilim and Society of Angelologist are deep in the throes of a formidable battle for these documents that will reveal the presence of a hidden divine instrument.
    As Sister Evangeline and Verlaine begin to gradually unlock the keys to the hidden object and creatures of divine origin, the plot progresses at a stately pace, at times offering solid research and a professional, scholarly Ms. Trussoni is a master at deftly plotting the evolution of this battle between good and evil, without reducing it to a simplistic or overly dramatic style and including some other fascinating historical studies and angelology studies
    The Nephilim are everywhere, but the byproduct of such intense study about the fallen angels and their divine-human offspring is that the Angelologists are able to anticipate the next nail-biting scenario at a hair's breadth of time.
    Angelology is a unique fictional foray through the essence of good and evil, a credible story that will leave the reader sorry the story has ended (albeit with such a stunning ending that there is definitely room for a follow-up novel) and contemplating seriously the nature of the sacred and profane around every human life. A guaranteed bestseller not to be missed by any reader who loves a thoughtful, provocative, dramatic and passionate story!!!
    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on March 14, 2010

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2015

    Great concept, really well written

    this is a great story that pulls you on and carries you along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Great read!

    I absolutely loved this book. Just about done with part 2 Angelopolis and i cannot wait for the third one to come out! If you want to find a great book then check this out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    slow at first, then riviting

    Well worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    I loved reading this book. Well written and and very fun read. I

    I loved reading this book. Well written and and very fun read. I've read some of the other reviews and don't have a negative thing to say. I'd love for Trussoni to further the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    Sister Evangeline was just a girl when her father entrusted her

    Sister Evangeline was just a girl when her father entrusted her to the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in upstate New York. Now twenty-three‚ her discovery of a 1943 letter from philanthropist Abigail Rockefeller to the late Mother Superior of Saint Rose Convent plunges Evangeline into a secret history that stretches back a thousand years: an ancient conflict between the Society of Angelologists and the monstrously beautiful descendants of angels and humans‚ the Nephilim.

    From The very beginning the story to the very end you will be held to the end of your seat, a real page turner once I started I could not put it down. This book is going to be big, and it’s going to be popular, and it absolutely deserves to be both of these things. You should buy it, and read it, and let it scare you stupid.

    The plot and pacing have a distinctly cinematic feel. Author Danielle Trussoni’s smart and polished prose, creates a very visual and emotional narrative. True development of characters and environment.

    I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. Hat’s off to Danielle Trussoni!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8