Customer Reviews for

Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 645 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(411)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 648 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Somethin' about a guy with wings

    I think this book got to me so badly because, like Elena, I've always wanted to fly. There's nothing wrong with a gorgeous guy . . . with wings, even if he can control your mind. The publishing company did this story a disservice by focusing on the 'vampire hunter' part of this story because pop culture is inundated with vampire hunter references that are in no way related to Elena's career choice.

    My pet peeve with most paranormal romance is that the characters 'get together' too quickly. There's too much love at first sight. I like that Singh keeps her characters apart for most of the book. Even though the sexual attraction is there, and, oh baby, is it there, it takes some coming to grips on both parts before they mindlessly fall into bed together and, even then, they both know its lust.

    I don't want to give away the ending, so its up to you to find out if it continues to be lust or finally becomes something more. Trust me. you'll want to read more to find out.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I have read all of Nalini Singh's books and this series is just the best as I've always been intrigued by angels. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Angels' Blood

    Elena Deveraux is a born vampire hunter. She's been hired by the Archangel Raphael to search for another Archangel, who's turn into a killer. Elena doesn't know if she'll make it out alive, because she's got a smart mouth and is making everyone angry from Raphael's head vampire to Raphael himself.

    I have to be honest, I really don't like trying out new series, by authors I don't know. But I'll have to eat my words about this one. I started it with a crappy mood and ended up loving every minute I was reading. In fact, I couldn't but the book down. I have to admit every time I was stopped at a red light I was reading the book. Elena was a great heroine and Raphael was a great hero. If you're into Urban Fantasy this is a book you might try.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book definitely took me by surprise

    This is the first book I have read from this author and I was NOT disappointed. I couldn't put it down and I intermediately had to go out and get the second book.

    Natlini creates a very intriguing world of angels, vampire and hunters. This book has just the right mix of mystery, adventure and a love story to end all love stories.

    If you are into paranormal romances, this is definitely a book you need to add to the must read pile.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The next great thing in Vampires

    This book adds Angels and Archangels into the mix creating a society and hierarchy that stand completely independently of the stories that surround it. This book is anything but typical. It seems like everyone is looking for the next great vampire novel, only to find that the stories and plots become repetitive. This novel is unlike any vampire novel that I have read and the angels create a new and intriguing character structure that compliments the vampire tale and stands alone from it.

    The main character, Elena, is strong, independent, and in general a very likeable character. She is by no means a damsel in distress. She is human with the skills of a vampire hunter, which she was born with. Kicked out of her family because of these abilities, Elena relies on herself, creates her own havens and fights her own battles. Raphael, is an Archangel. He is powerful, strong, beautiful arrogant and at times insanely harsh and cruel. Together they hunt for a rogue Archangel that Raphael alone cannot seem to locate. My one complaint about the characters would be that I would have loved to see more banter between Elena and Raphael. Sometimes within hating each other, two people can begin to admire each other, and be drawn to each other. But that initially chemistry and excitement is lacking in the beginning. They become jealous over each other and protective, but the build to those feelings never truly seem justified. Yes Raphael is Archangel beautiful, but it is obvious that it will take more than that to appeal to Elena. And Elena is strong, and warrior powerful, but there just has to be something else that makes her stand out from all the other warrior women and angels that have and could appeal to Raphael. So when the two are finally drawn together, the reader feels it is not as passionate as it could have been. Mind you, Elena and Raphael are still very intriguing characters, and readers will love and hate Raphael as they are supposed to. What I'm talking about would have simply filled in gaps and made their bond seem that much stronger.

    As for the storyline, the mix of Angels, vampires, humans, and hunters is handled very well. I am easily able to accept the perimeters of this alternate New York City, where Angels hover around a building in the center of the city, adding a dark, gothic and fantastical feeling to the city I know so well. In fact, the Angels are a welcome edition to the New York skyline and fit seamlessly with the society. I see how Angels would be needed to rule and govern, to help maintain and enforce the peace, even if it is cruel at times. The hunt for the rogue angel is dangerous and exciting, and the secrets of Angels slowly become uncovered as Elena hunts her prey.

    Nalini Singh has to be one of the most visual writers I've read. Her colors and descriptions are beautiful, clear and breathtaking. From the details of Angel's wings, to the darkness of the city, to the cruelty of bruised and battered bodies, Singh puts her images into the reader's mind. We see what the characters see, we feel what the feel, smell what they smell, hear what they hear.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    A great beginning to a new series

    When I received an advance copy of this book, I was quite excited because I really enjoy Nalini Singh's Psy/Changeling books. I was not disappointed. This book introduces a new world, and adds a surprising and unique twist to angels and vampires. The angels are most definitely not the on the side of "good," and the vampires are not your typical blood-sucking monsters. Into this world, the author places the female protagonist, Elena, a guild hunter who hunts rogue vampires for their masters, the angels. Raphael, an archangel, hires Elena to hunt a rogue angel. Elena is an engaging and fabulous character who is easy to like. She has courage, strength, wit and curiosity. There is enough mystery surrounding her to keep the reader guessing, and I like the fact that the author did not explain every thought that came into Elena's head and did not give the reader Elena's entire background. The reader has to apply her own imagination. The archangel, Raphael, is not your typical hero. In fact, I would call him an anti-hero. He is a dark and sometimes violent character who is not necessarily easy to like. That said, I liked him anyway because he is very interesting character with a lot of depth and an interesting history. The author manages to humanize a character who is definitely not human.

    The interaction between Elena and Raphael is engaging, fast paced and sexy. Their relationship is dangerous. From the very beginning, their romantic relationship has a dark edge, which I personally like quite a bit, and which I think makes the book much more interesting. Even though the romantic relationship between Elena and Raphael was the one of the primary themes, it was not the only theme. Elena's job as a guild hunter is a major part of the book, and she spends a lot of time hunting down a rogue angel. (Some of the action and murder scenes are pretty graphic, and not for the faint-of-heart.) The book is full of action. Elena's relationships with her friends and guild are also a prominent part of the book, and it was nice to see a real female friendship that doesn't just seem like "filler."

    I really enjoyed this book, and would highly recommend it. Just keep in mind it is not a romance book, but is really an urban fantasy book which contains a romantic storyline.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Awesome Female Lead Character in Elena!! This book about a vamp

    Awesome Female Lead Character in Elena!!

    This book about a vampire hunter and an archangel had the best lead character's I've read about in awhile. Elena is strong, self-confident in her abilites, and yet vulnerable from past tragedy. Raphael is quite the Alpha male but in such a way that's not off-putting or misogynistic. They balance each other perfectly and the only thing I could even question is that Elena falls harder and faster for Raphael than you would think her personality would allow. However with the description of his character and having read the rest of the series you just can't blame her. I HIGHLY recommend this book for anybody looking for something that isn't the same old vampire story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Not your grandmother's angels

    The angels in this book are not your grandmother's angels! I found the origins of vampires in this book to be very interesting. I found myself wrapped up in the drama and caring about the characters. I look forward to reading more from this author. This book was a very positive first experience with her work!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Angels and Vampires being told like never before

    Angels have always intrigued me. That was one of the major motivators for me to pick up this book. Not only that, but i fell in love with this author while reading her Psy-changeling series. The sexual tension between the main characters in this book is intoxicating. I found myself very intersted in the storyline from the beginning because it is very unique and creative, but became hooked when Archangel, Raphael, was introduced. Loving an angel has never been so bad! He is arrogant, intelligent, and sexy. What better combination of traits in a man! Nalini Singh as outdone herself again! This book will have you in the store ready to purchase #2. Not only because it is sexy, but the author has given us a different spin on vampires that I haven't read anywhere else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have, everything and more delivered in this one.

    Just finished reading an advanced copy of ANGELS BLOOD, by Nalini Singh. From the very first page it grabs hold with its refreshing new twist on Angels ruling Vampires. A very interesting action packed storyline that will keep you reading long into the night. A romamtic page turner that sizzles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Now I can say right off the mark that there was nothing I didn't

    Now I can say right off the mark that there was nothing I didn't like about the Guild Hunter series. It was interesting from start to finish. I have to say tend to get all fangirly for a bad boy alpha and Raphael has all of this in spades. Not to mention I love a heroine who can take care of herself and kick some serious a$$, and if Elena can't do that then I don't know who can. I am writing this after reading the entire series to date. I love the whole series, but Elena and Raphael hold a special place in my heart. Their books are my fav in the series so far, though I am really looking forward to reading about Illium, Aodhan and of course Jason.

    Nalini just has a way with her writing that sweeps you away and puts your right beside the characters. You can see what is going on as clear as if it were really happening. I love how she presented Raphael at the beginning of the book. You could tell he was a very commanding Archangel. He is used to getting his way, and people doing what he has told them to do. It makes it all the better when Elena throws him off balance. She really does make him more human. It was interesting to watch him go from being the angel to being something more. I loved seeing the transition from one to another. It didn't happen instantly, and even with him changing he still keeps the parts that make me love him so much. I was swooning over his possessiveness with Elena, made it feel more real that she was more to him than some casual fling.

    Elena is a torture hunter. She had some serious bad crap happen to her during her childhood that would break many people. Though what happened was bad I did like that Nalini kept adding those moments where the past would collide with the present. It added more flavour to Elena, that she was not just some super guild hunter doing her everyday thing. I felt sympathy for her and was obsessed with finding out what had happened to her to cause such emotional and mental anguish. If your looking for tortured characters this series is your taste of angel dust. Very addictive, with its own special blend.

    Dmitri, now here is a man that if sex on a stick existed he would be it. I loved the havoc he created, even when he was punished for it. The man could make any woman crawl to him. He just oozes sex, of course his scent would make him even more of a treat. But deep down there is more to him than what he shows on the surface.

    Nalini's characters have a common bond and yet they are all very different. I do see similarities but I think that is a glue that holds them all together. I was impressed with the loyalty of the Seven to Raphael. Though they were loyal to him, they would protect him from even himself. Even if it cost them their lives. Here is true loyalty. They all seem to have their own code of honor, and are dangerous when crossed. They make a dark seductive crew of alpha males that will have women swooning at their feet. But to me, they are a Family.

    As I said I really enjoyed reading this series and I am more than looking forward to reading the next book. Now if I could just push the next 3 months into moving faster, I would. Nalini is such an amazing writer, she has a way about story telling that entraps the reader and has them begging for more. She is a true asset to her profession and I hope for many more books written by her. In other words (and as corny as this sounds) Nalini Singh described in one word. Pro!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Dark, Solid Urban Fantasy Romance with Lots of Plot

    If you like plot with your romance (but make no mistake, it's a romance), more lust and sexual tension than actual love scenes, and don't mind dark and graphic violence, this one should knock your socks off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Awesome

    So good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Painful

    Don't waste your money. Poorly written, poor character development and plotlines. Very shallow book. I usually force myself to finish a book. Got halfway through and just couldn't go any further. Object on basic principles or lack thereof of Angels being represented as something amoral, evil and uncaring. I'd rate it a negative if I could go lower than a one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Loved this story!!

    Nalini has really excelled herself with this series. I have read all of her psy-changeling series and this series is a totally different setting and tone. I can't wait for the book 6 of this series. Congrats to Nalini for a job well done. I just loved iy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    I stumbled onto this book as I was searching for something else.

    I stumbled onto this book as I was searching for something else. Darn glad I did. What an excellent story. The storyline was so different from all the rest that it's refreshing. Will definitely reading the second book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Love the world she has created. MUST READ!!

    Love the world she has created. MUST READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    There are so many teen angel, vampire type books out there it was nice to read an adult story. If you like paranormal love stories this one has it all. There are several books in this series and I am looking forward to reading the next one. The author keeps the story interesting and keeps the pace going throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Dont waste ur time with sample

    Its 10 pages, the chapter list, praise of her other books and a title page. Such a waste. Books are too expensive to not get a sample with something to read and decide if its worth buying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Love

    Love this serie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 648 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33