Customer Reviews for

The Angel's Command (Castaways of the Flying Dutchman Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    Loved it!!!

    I read this book and loved it! This book has everything! Adventure, comedy, friendship, and cliff hangers that makes you keep wondering "what's going to happen?". This book is for everyone and it is a "can't put it down". After you finish this book you must continue with the next one. I highly recommend this book for people who love adventure books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    one of the best

    When I read this book, I felt that this was the book for me. What I like about the book is that there are multiple perspectives to this book. that way I'll be excited to read the next part of the book. Some times the perspectives mesh together. That's alright with me. Makes an encounter happen. Then it'll be even more exciting. What drove me to buy the book was because I read a lot of Brian Jacques's books. He does the same with all of them. I'm not saying thats bad though. My favorite part in the book is when the privateer gets a new ship to ride. Although thats a bad thing, I like it when captain Red jack Teal loads up with grape shot. My least favorite part is when Adamo comes in with Arnela and Karay on his back. It made me not want to look for a little while but then, I read on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    This book is a must read

    I have read all of Brian Jacques books and I really enjoyed this book. I recommend you read the others first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    an amazing book!

    this story in my opinion is amazing everything is described in a way with such detail and you can relate to the characters. i totally recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Awsome

    This book was great and I love the series. I can't wait foe the next one to come out. They are full of adventure and action. Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Fansicating!

    I think that this book is the work of a genius! I mean, having a book where a boy can comunicate with his dong! Awesome! And it is sad but yet adventurous and just outstanding! I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Best book I've ever read

    This book is phenomanal. It has more action than the first book, but you have to read the first book for this one to make any since. This book has the most action and adventure packed into one book that I have ever seen! This book is crazy good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Brian needs to write more of these!!!!!

    I liked this book far better than the first one. They spent more time fighting pirates and less time solving riddles. I just couldn't get over the high seas chase, and the adventure into the mountains. This book should be read by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    the angel's command is awesome

    this book is compelling, innovative, and just plain great. It shows true human relationship and how 1 simple thing can change everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Fantastic!

    I enjoyed Castaways, but this book was twice as good! More of everything that was good about the first book - more pirate adventures, more excitement and friendship and adventure, with a whole host of more interesting and likeable characters to boot. The best book by Brian Jaques I have read. The only small disappointment was a lack of the traditional Jaques riddle-solving, but the adventure sweeps you up so much you don't really notice... I really hope he continues this series. I love joining Ben and Ned on their adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Castaway Sequel Sails Home!!

    The Angel's Command is the perfect sequel to Castaway's of the Flying Dutchman! It starts off on a pirate ship, with Ben and Ned aboard. Ben is considered the captain's lucky boy until a member of the crew hears about Ben's previous captain - Captain Vanderdecken of the Flying Dutchman! The crew decides to mutiny and Ben is sent off the ship - with the pirates' treasure. He meets a young girl who travels with him and another young man. They decide to help an old comte find his long lost grandson. That is the beginning of the adventure. Ben and Ned travel far and learn lots. The story is full of adventure and a very slight touch of romance. If you are looking for a long, exciting, adventurous novel - this is it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    only FIVE stars????

    Sorry to say but it blew castaways out of the water,and that is one of my favorite books! If you haven't read this book I really hope you do 'cause it's worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    WOW!!!!!!!

    I thought Castaways of the Flying Dutchman was good, then I read its sequel! This book has the perfect mix of adventure and friendship, just like all of Brian Jacques' books! All Redwall fans must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    An Outstanding Book

    This is by far my favorite book I have ever read. It is a gripping book that will have u reading for hours at a time. The first hafe is great! Lots of action and adventure, navel battles and ship chases. The second half isn't as great but still has u reading as long as u can. Evel bandits, a cursed witch, and a blood-thirsty dog. The whole story is greatly writen. A must read book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Best book he's ever written!!

    Brian Jacques' 'The Angel's Command', is exiting, fast moving, and keeps all readers ready for crazy turns of events. If you're not a sea-faring person, you may want to keep a dictionary close at hand. This particular book is much more exciting than 'Castaways of the Flying Dutchman', but no less descriptive. Brian Jacques once again manages to transport the reader so they feel what Ben and Ned are feeling. This book is a little confusing because it's more like two books put into one, but is still guarenteed to keep lover's of 'Castaways of the Flying Dutchman' entertained for days (unless you read it faster than that, which I doubt). This book includes buccaneers, privateers, gypsies, noblemen, a goatherd, an artist, a priest, and a hilarious cook who manages to make readers laugh every time she comes up. Find this book in a book-store or library, and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    AMAZING READ

    I must say, this is the best novel that Brian Jacques has written (Martin the Warrior was close, but Rose shouldn't have died). I've read them all! Amazing, compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    Amazing!

    This was not as good as Castaways of The Flying Dutchman, but it was still amazing! Neb and Den (Ben and Ned) are still two herioc characters. Followed by the Diablo Del Mar and the Devon Belle, plus Vanderdeckan's ship, this book provides lots of entertainment. In the second part, Ben and Ned have to rescue a comte's nephew from the Razan. If you enjoy adventure, you need to buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Must Have!!!

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read. If you are looking for the perfect book for your collection, then this is it. This novel combines myth, mystery, adventure, excitement, and humor all into one book. The best part of the book is the humorous conversations between Ben and his faithfull labrador Neb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Yess! He wrote another one!!!!!!

    This book is magnificent! With his scope finally moving towards humans, Brian Jacques has done it again. Ben and Ned are truly believable characters although they are in a fictional situation. The other people in the book are a great addition. The ending is somewhat disappointing, but since we can, (hopefully), expect more, that can be brushed aside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    i can't wait!

    theis looks like it will be super!!!!!! i can't wait!!!! the suspense is killing me!!! ahhhhhh!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2