Customer Reviews for

Angel's Ink (The Asylum Tales #1)

Average Rating 4
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

I truly enjoyed this. The short stories (asylum tales) helped to flesh this out. Read them first.

posted by cjmMS on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Gage Powell is a tattoo artist and potion stirrer keeping the se

Gage Powell is a tattoo artist and potion stirrer keeping the secret that he's a warlock escaped from the Ivory Towers from not only from his staff and friends, but all of Low Town. If he's discovered or uses any magic other than in self-defense he will be quickly broug...
Gage Powell is a tattoo artist and potion stirrer keeping the secret that he's a warlock escaped from the Ivory Towers from not only from his staff and friends, but all of Low Town. If he's discovered or uses any magic other than in self-defense he will be quickly brought before the council and executed.

When Tera, a young girl dying of cancer comes into his shop, Gage gives her incredible angel wing tattoo but with unexpected consequences. Gage encounters one difficulty after another in his quest to set things right. His magical mentor is out to kill him, the local crime lord is determined to recruit him, and the potion ingredient he needs to correct his mistake with Tera's ink is only found in the underworld.

Angel's Ink is a great start to this new urban fantasy series. Jocelyn Drake has created a rich world populated with all kinds of paranormal creatures. The characters are compelling and I can't wait to learn more about them, especially Bronx and Trixie-Gage's coworkers (and love interest in Trixie), as the series continues! There is action, action, and more action! Every time Gage seems to find a solution, more trouble piles on top of him. While a few plot points are resolved at the end of Angel's Ink, there's still plenty to be addressed in upcoming books.

Angel's Ink should definitely make it onto your TBR lists! I know that Book 2, Dead Man's Deal (out May 2013), is already on mine!

posted by MadHatterReads on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Lots of fun

    I truly enjoyed this. The short stories (asylum tales) helped to flesh this out. Read them first.

    45 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Good read- looking forward to next installment

    I normally gravitate to books with a female protagonist or a male/female combo with the option of paranormal kinkiness. This book has a male protagonist, and was still quite good. Similar to Jim Butcher novels. Quite a bit of action, magic, paranormal activity, and a little "will-they-won't-they" suspense.

    43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Great read.

    Really lookung forward to the next one.

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I read this as the Free Friday book and thoroughly enjoyed it. S

    I read this as the Free Friday book and thoroughly enjoyed it. Sure, it is a tiny bit obvious with the renegade good guy and the knock out female (damsel in distress) although she did seem quite feisty, and the good strong friend, but the chemistry came through and the personalities were well fleshed out. Creative uses of various legends and genres, magic, faeries, even vampires and werewolves! I would recommend highly!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    This is a really good book .... although i was not expecting the sex scene at all..... besides that i loved the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Good

    I liked this first book in the series.it seems as though Gage has a very active life with lots of plot twists and turns. I can't evenbegin to imagine what will happennexy. My interest is piqued to know what will happen next, but I'm not in a panic to do so. The book was good, with caring and compassionate characters that were not the norm. Overall, I recommend this book to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Urban Fantasy, Very Readable!

    Short-take: Angel's Ink is an urban fantasy novel packed with enough action to keep even the most jaded reader engaged. Gage, the main character, is a partly-trained warlock and fully-trained tattoo artist and potion-stirrer (what a quirky word...stirrer...). He finds himself embedded in trouble and feuds: I like the fact that he becomes aware of the layers and layers of trouble he is in as he tries to clear away the problems he knows he's created. Gage is a persevering kind of character; he brings hope to the reader. This book is enjoyable on many levels: urban, fantasy, romance, mystery. Author Jocelynn Drake really does provide the impetus to keep turning the pages... Caveat: there is some sexually explicit, adult content...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Liked it

    This was quite different than any other I've read, but it was good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great read, makes you want a tattoo!

    Warlocks and Elves, Oh my. Throw in magic tattoos, witches, warlocks and love, great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great characters

    hooks the reader from the start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    good story

    This story has you rooting for the characters and wondering what will happen next. I plan to read the next book too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Suprisingly Good series

    I did not believe this would be as good as it turned out. I do not have a strong base in sci-fi lit so someone who does would know more about the characters and their normal traits based on what supernatural being they were. But, I was still able to follow along and enjoyed the book a good deal. I will read more by Drake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    good and fun read

    I picked this book up as a Free Nook Book Friday. It is enjoyable. It's easy to like the characters and the every day problems and arguments are, well, human. Ok, not quite. But you'll have to pick up a copy to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Simple, attached fantasy

    It was an easy read with charactors that pulled me in and excited my imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Loved it

    Well written with action and romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Good book

    I got in to this book. It had a good story line that keeps you intrested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Exhausting

    This book was nonstop and actually tired me out quite a bit, but overall it was quite interesting if not too rushed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Get this

    Very readable, want the next one to be out yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved it

    An exciting take on fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Enjoyed reading this book. It took a bit to pull me in but then

    Enjoyed reading this book. It took a bit to pull me in but then I didn't want to put it down. Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7