BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Angel's Rest

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    This book took me by surprise! I love the way the author wrapp

    This book took me by surprise! I love the way the author wrapped up the end and was very delighted that the narrator finally understood Lacy's stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Good Book, quick read, nice story.

    I don't read a tremendous amount because I find few books that keep me interested enough to keep reading. This book got and kept my attention all the way through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!!

    I could not put this book down. It had me hooked from the beginning. The auther relayed the emotions of each character perfectly. You could feel their happiness, worry, and frustrations. I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT

    The entire story kept my mind changing on the story of his father's death but the end toke me by suprprise and it ended very well. I love the story and how it plays with the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Captivating

    I purchased this book at an airport gift shop and began reading it on the flight and kept going back to it every chance I could. I found it to be a very touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Easy Read

    I bought this book for my sisters birthday and read one chapter and was hooked. I read it before giving it to her. Thank you for the great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific historical mystery and character study

    In 1967 eleven-years old Charlie York loves living in aptly named Sunnyside, Virginia near Angel's Rest in the Allegheny Mountains. However, the sunshine turns torrential in a nanosecond when his mom Hadley apparently kills his father John. Though she insists her spouse John accidentally shot himself while cleaning his shotgun, she is arrested for the homicide, her preadolescent son moves in with an elderly black man Lacy Albert Coe, who ¿worked¿ for his dad at the TV and radio repair shop instead of her white in-laws who live nearby.-------------------- Lacy, known as the ¿Storyteller¿, tells his young white charge lyrical tales of the good and the bad in people even as Charlie fears he lied in court when he affirmed his mom¿s tale under oath though he feels he saw something else. However, law enforcement has found a tie between Hadley¿s former high school boyfriend crazy Korean Veteran Hollis Thrasher and John that is a strong motive for murder and witnesses claim the former was near the latter¿s home. At the same time the white folks are fuming and humiliated that Hadley left her white son with a black man they take out their rage on the octogenarian Storyteller and any other black who is available.--------------------------- ANGEL¿S REST is a terrific historical mystery and character study that grips the reader as narrator Charlie tells his tale of lost childhood when his mom supposedly killed his dad near where the angels took respites while building the mountain range. The cast is fully developed so that the racial tension of 1967 is vivid with hate crimes being acceptable by pious folks. The mystery of John¿s death is cleverly tied together with another mystery that reveals plenty about the relationships between the key players. Charles Davis provides a strong tale of growing up overnight as Charlie finds allies in the intrepid, caring and loving Storyteller at a time he needs nurturing.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1