BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gripping book...real page turner.

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Could not put it down. This is one that is easy to get into and makes you want to find out what happened. I'm not very good at writing reviews, but I am great at reading books and at knowing good books. This one keeps your interest, is ...
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Could not put it down. This is one that is easy to get into and makes you want to find out what happened. I'm not very good at writing reviews, but I am great at reading books and at knowing good books. This one keeps your interest, is a bit off-beat, and takes a few turns.

posted by 650578 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

very good book

I hve enjoyed Ellie Hatcher's series, need more !!

posted by ann55 on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Gripping book...real page turner.

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Could not put it down. This is one that is easy to get into and makes you want to find out what happened. I'm not very good at writing reviews, but I am great at reading books and at knowing good books. This one keeps your interest, is a bit off-beat, and takes a few turns.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    Chip off the Old Block

    ANGEL'S TIP by Alafair Burke A first rate police procedural from the daughter of James Lee Burke. In this second Elli Hatcher outing, the newly assigned NYPD homicide detective is first on the scene at the discovery of the mutilated body of a college student. She and partner J.J. Rogan have an abundance of suspects that come into and then out of the picture as more evidence is unearthed that finally leads to a manhunt for a serial killer. Very nicely done and suspenseful to the end. Lets hope we continue to see more of Ms. Hatcher in the months and years ahead. Completely different from, but potentially as enduring as her dad's Dave Robicheaux.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    If you like crime novels this is your book.

    I first started reading Alafair Burke when her book 212 was a free friday book. I was hooked and have since bought books 1&2 in her Ellie Hatcher Series. If you like crime novels this is your book. You experience the case through their eyes and try to figure it out along with them. It is worth the money!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    This is a great lady cop story. I like this style of writing, very easy to read. I also feel the character development is good. Kept me guessing till the end. Karen in Indiana

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    This book was very good

    Really enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Chip off the old block

    She learned well at her father's knee. Great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Excellent reading. She's getting better than her dad.

    Very well written-suspenseful. One of those books you don't want to
    put down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Tip:

    Idk. Do an Irish Jig or whatever you're into.... :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    tip:

    lolol yeah, an irish jig will definitely win him over.
    but if it doesn't work, you could always try doing a tribal mating dance... i mean, he could be into it. xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    loved it

    Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book! I read it without realizing that it was the 2nd book in the Ellie Hatcher series (so I hadn't read the first), but I still couldn't put it down and immediately ordered Dead Connection as well as all of the Samantha Kincaid series. I love this writer and am definately looking forward to more books by her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Another Hatcher Homerun!

    Chelsea Hart is an Indiana University student in New York City on spring break. She and her friends are out at a trendy night club on their last night in town. It's late and her friends are trying to pry her away from the club. Chelsea, however, doesn't want to leave yet so she talks her friends into returning to the hotel without her. It's a deadly decision. Chelsea isn't seen alive again. Ellie Hatcher is one of the first to find Chelsea when she and her brother Jess are out for a morning run. Ellie is back in NYC and back with the homicide department, this time as an official detective IN the department. She calls her new partner J.J. Rogan and tells him to get to the crime scene, they've just snagged a murder investigation. All seems great in NYC when a suspect is arrested and an air-tight case appears to be in order. But in the process of the investigation, Ellie discovers three cold cases her old partner Flann McIlroy had been looking into. Cases he believed were connected...and cases that look eerily similar to the Chelsea Hart case. Alafair Burke is back in prime form! She hit another Ellie Hatcher homerun with ANGEL'S TIP, the follow-up to Hatcher's debut in DEAD CONNECTION. Like Harlan Coben, Burke is a master of 'imitating life.' I love the pop culture allusions that weave throughout the plot. The nightlife, club scene in ANGEL'S TIP is one that is very foreign to me. BUT, Burke had me connecting with Ellie because that wasn't her scene either. I could FEEL her discomfort at wearing clothes that just weren't HER. The introduction of J.J. Rogan was a fantastic addition to the series. J.J. is a fun and rich character - and I'm not talking about his inheritance either. It's refreshing to have two relatively young, intelligent professionals working together - of opposite genders - who have great chemistry that doesn't necessitate jumping in the sack. Both Ellie and J.J. have such a realistic passion about their jobs as police detectives. The way Burke illustrates this passion you would think she was a New York City detective herself. Another point of realism that reminded me of how 'unreal' television can portray police work came when Ellie took off running after a suspect. J.J. was screaming for her to stop. She didn't have a protective vest on she didn't know if the suspect was armed they didn't have back-up - that wasn't correct procedure. Yet, we see that every night on the crime dramas and we expect it. But the 'correct procedure' sure does make a lot of sense. I always feel like I've learned something after reading a book by Alafair Burke. This point also reminded me why I like Ellie so much - she's human. She makes mistakes in the heat of the moment rookie mistakes, if you will. But she's also accountable for her mistakes. She doesn't need some Superman to come save her. There's even a point where the young ADA is with Ellie and she tells him she doesn't need a protector, he can go home. He informs her that he's there for HER to protect HIM! Priceless! All of this excellent character development and realism sets the scaffolding for a fantastic plot. There are twists and turns at every chapter. While at one point in the novel I suspected the culprit, Burke threw in so many twists that I ended up constantly oscillating trying to guess who the real killer was, 'well, it can't be HIM because...' 'hmmm, maybe it's HIM...' 'then again, it could be...'. Thrillers like ANGEL'S TIP are the only roller coaster rides I enjoy. I'd line up again and again to experience Alafair Burke's kind of thrill! Outstanding!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2