Customer Reviews for

Angels Watching Over Me (Angels Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I really like reading this book a lot because it's based on having faith in God.

    Leah is a 16 year old girl who spends days in a Indiana hospital. Then she meets her roomate, a young amish girl named Rebekah. Rebekah tells Leah about what she and her family believes in. When she meets Rebekah's siblings, Charity and Ethan, she learns about having faith and believe that God can make miracles. I enjoy so much of this book that I read it again. It shows that although people that are different from others they should have the same faith in God and that angels are watching over you no matter where you'll go. In this book at first Leah didn't seem to be very interested in religion and when she was diagonsed with cancer, she asked herself whether there really is a God and if that's so, why would He let these things happen to her. The author's purpose for this book is the need to trust in Our God and trust that He does make miracles when we pray and also that we have faith in Him. The story fulfills it's purpose very well because in the book it gives us a message that if we have faith in God, anyone of us when we get sick, we can be cured. I really like this book overall because it is focused on faith, with the character having an illness, she is tested whether she truly believes in God or not and also wether if when she is given a miracle, if she will still keep having that faith that she didn't have before.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    MARVELOUS!!

    I just thought it was amazing story about life and how things go sometimes and after i finished reading it, it gave me a different way to look at life! and to always count my blessings!!Thanks LURLENE!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    great

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Love

    Theres 3books on this seres an ive read all three an i gatta admit there was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Duh!

    Ill b honest i havent read this book but i love all her other stories so u btr read ths 2! :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Shocked!

    Leah Lewis-Hall went to the hospital with nothing more than a broken finger. She didn¿t know how she broke it, it just happened. The doctors thought it was weird that her finger broke without injuring it, so they admitted her in the hospital to run more tests. She had a roommate named Rebekah, which was Amish. Rebekah was younger than Leah and was admitted in the hospital with a spider bite. Leah¿s mom hasn¿t arrived yet, but she was flying in from another state as fast as she could. Rebekah¿s family came, and Leah was embarrassed, because Rebekah had a really cute brother that Leah liked. His name was Ethan, but she never really told him that she liked him, because she was afraid that he would never like her back, but he did. The doctors kept running tests on Leah and found nothing unusual, until her knee started to hurt just like her finger! Right then the doctors knew what was wrong with her, but they ran some more tests just to make sure. It was true, she had bone cancer. She was shocked and scared! If she wanted to live, she would have to get her leg and finger amputated, but she doesn¿t want to. Will Leah accept the fact that it has to be done? I really enjoyed this book. I never wanted to put it down! I also like how I can relate to the book, because I had to be admitted in the hospital several times for a Pseudo tumor Cerebri, but Leah¿s case was a little worse. At the beginning of the book, it got a little confusing, because it just jumped right into the problem. Soon after that, it got better and I could follow along with out confusion. This book doesn¿t remind me of any television shows, but like I said, I can relate to it. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes romantic twists or grieving stories. Most of Lurlene McDaniel¿s books are those kind of stories. More information on this book is that there is kind of a series. I plan on reading the rest of the books. I would prefer to read this one first, or you may not get the other books, because they follow on with Leah¿s life. Some of the other sequels are called Lifted up by Angels and Until Angels Close my Eyes. You should really try this book, because you won¿t regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    This is an Amazing Story!!!

    This book was AMAZING!!!! Lurlene McDaniel is a great author! And I loved learning about Amish people and how they viewed life and Christianity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    Leah Lewis-Hall and Ethan Forever

    Leah thought the hospital would be a drag until she met ethan,ethan was just a plain old amish boy until Leah met him it was like her destiny and I find that very touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Great book!

    This is a story that really makes you think about first impressions.It is a great story that describes how two people meet, who come form two very different backgrounds. You will love the feelings you get when you read this book. You will not be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Miracles can happen!

    I feel bad for Leah. I wouldn't want to be in the hospital on Christmas either! Neither would I like to have bone cancer! I think the title is interesting because it's going to make people read it and yet it won't give much away about the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    lurlene mcdaniel is a great author

    My friend introduced me to lurlene i think that she is one of the berst authors in the world her books are sad but inspirational i read some in one day i truly recommend any of her books she is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Inspiring and Siteful

    This is a book that really makes you think. You see that first impressions aren't always right and that miracles do happen. Leah was in sort of a rut, she wasn't having any fun and was left alone at a hospital. She made lots of friends and learned about different religions. Her new friends made her see that you can believe in things even though you can't see them. You just have to wish what you want and believe that things happen for better or for worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!

    this book is amazing!! i loved it! i read this book in school and could not put it down. it is the first book that made me cry. it is a great book if you love teen/romantic novels. go read this book. i give this book 5 stars. I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Intriguing and Entertaining

    This was the first of many Lurlene McDaniel books that I have read. It captures your attention and makes you want to dive in for more. It was so intriguing that it turned Lurlene McDaniel into one of my favorite authors and I aspire to one day have read all of her books. Strongly recommend this book, especially if the Amish culture interests you at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    It was the best!

    I loved this book!! It was so great! It was very soft without being to mushy! I'm a big fan of Lurleen McDaniel but I'm leery of books that make you cry. This one made me cry but in a different way, it was the kind of tears that make you want to keep moving on. Score for Lurleen McDaniel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Inspiring

    This book is so inspiring and romantic. I read it twice over one weekend. Now I love all of Lurlene's books. I am trying to read all of her books now, so far I have read two but starting a third one. I would recomend this book to everyone who enjoy romance and inspiring books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Sweet

    This book is wonderful! I got it from my sister friend Jess! She told me it was sad and wonderful, so I started to read it, and fell in love with the whole story! I almost cried when she was going to get a biopsy and Ethan stayed with her! I think that was really sweet! I can't wait to read more! This story keeps me on my feet! Leah is so cool! I want to read more books by Lurlene McDaniel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    Great Book

    you have to read this book if you havent already. Im almost done with the first one and ready for the 2nd one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2002

    A book for everybody

    I liked this book because it showed that you don't have to be somebody to be in love or have friends.Also I liked this book because it made you not want to put it down. The book kept going into something even worse than before. Like first her mom was on her honeymoon,then she had a broken finger, then her knee started to hurt, then they did a biopsy on Leah, and then she found out she had bone cancer. I meen it just keeps on going.Although the book is sad you learn alot about what is happening in the story.These books are very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2001

    Affective Struggles in Life

    This book was a wonderful tale of how a girl struggles with a disease she can not control. I loved this book because it demonstrated to me the hardships of being a teenager with more worries than one could ever imagine. It also had a wonderful love story to top it off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2