Customer Reviews for

Angels Watching Over Me (Shenandoah Sisters Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Must Read

I really enjoyed this book. Until the end!!!! When is the second book coming out???? Can't wait to read it.

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Series, A Must read

The beginning of an 8 book series, I could not wait to get to the next one. And I was so sorry to finish the last one. They were impossible to put down. The story was gripping from the first page. The people were so real, you could imagine yourself there. Just enough hu...
The beginning of an 8 book series, I could not wait to get to the next one. And I was so sorry to finish the last one. They were impossible to put down. The story was gripping from the first page. The people were so real, you could imagine yourself there. Just enough humor and mystery to keep you interested.

posted by RedComet on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Loved it, but it wasn't finished.

    Great story with no ending. Why did you leave us hanging that way? I was enjoying it so much...and then...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I detest books that cannot  resolve the issues of the main chara

    I detest books that cannot  resolve the issues of the main characters in Book One, leaving the reader in a  "To Be Continued" mode where they MUST BUY  Book  Two in order to wrap up Book  One's issues before moving on ...........................................................................................................................................w

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Must read

    I read all four books and enjoyed each one so much. Wonderfully written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I'm glad this book was a free e-book because I would have felt c

    I'm glad this book was a free e-book because I would have felt cheated had I paid for it. The beginning was fairly good, enough so I wanted to see what happened to the characters, but it was poorly written. For example, it is hard to imagine a 15 year old slave girl in the old south having a conversation using the word guttersnipe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great read

    I wasn't sure if I'd like this book at first. I had no idea it was historical christian fiction at first. I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I was right there with the characters. I just started the second book. I can't wait to read them all. I would recommend this book to anyone, any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Very good

    There was one free book, one cost $3.99, the rest were a total of $65.00. Plus tax, which is lot for me to spend on books. These books average 230 pages each. There are 12 books not eight, there are cousins, sisters and the third set went right out of my head. (Sorry) Each set has four books numbered 1-4 which was confusing, as it really is one series of twelve, not four or eight. Sometimes the negro speech gets very annoying, as does the intense Christianity. But with Bethany House publications, you know this is the norm and expect it. This series is very good. Only a few of these books are stand alone, the series must be purchased to really be able to get the complete story. I think these books could have been into fewer but longer books. They are excellant. For mature readers of thirteen, on up.

    AD

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    This is a must read if you love historical fiction!

    I was pleasantly surprized by this little book, which was a free Friday selection. I got caught up in the characters right away and really cared for them. I especially enjoyed the way Mr. Phillips brings God and His precepts in to each chapter and each character's life. I was so caught up in the story line that I didn't wanted to stop reading. I just had to get the next book in the series to see what would happen to Katie and Mayme. I am currently on the 4th book and happy to see that there are 4 more books under the series title of Carolina Cousins. This has been the best summer read. I highly recommend it. I bet you can't read just one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    What a tremendous bargain! Free and you can get the other 2 boo

    What a tremendous bargain! Free and you can get the other 2 books in the seriers for less than the cost of one book. I read this seriers when it was first published and I still look at these books and wonder
    what happened to the characters in the book. They were so realistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Resourceful Teens

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book for several reasons. The girls learned to accept each other's differences right away and live with their different backgrounds to make their lives the best they could. Two 14 year olds under the worst conditions come together and survive in post war America. Under the worst of conditions, it shows that you can get your lives back...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Beautifully written inspiring story

    Michael Philips has written a beautiful book about two girls seeing beyond color and prejudice and leaning upon each other in troubled times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Wow!!

    Very good. I couldn' t put it down . Every break, evry lunch time i was reading tis book. Eoild love a sequel.!!
    Granny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Spell binding

    One of the best series I have ever read. Could not put it down. Then eagerly anticipated the next one. Great storyline and very well described. You became so caught up in the characters you felt like you were there. Must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Please friend me

    Hey my fake name is jessica, but yiu can call me jessi of jess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Outstanding!

    First book in the series leaves you eager for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    I read this lovely story and couldn't put it down.

    I read this lovely story and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    I enjoyed this book a lot.  It definitely kept my interest thro


    I enjoyed this book a lot.  It definitely kept my interest throughout.













    gI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Worth the read

    A good young adult novel that highlights the value of integrity and frenidship

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Angels Watching Over Me

    This book was so good I bought the other three books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    I couldn't put it down!

    This was a brilliant story that i had to read in one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Love the series!

    Its hard to find good series but this is one to read. Quick read. Enjoyable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15