Customer Reviews for

Angels Watching Over Me (Shenandoah Sisters Book #1)

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Must Read

I really enjoyed this book. Until the end!!!! When is the second book coming out???? Can't wait to read it.

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Series, A Must read

The beginning of an 8 book series, I could not wait to get to the next one. And I was so sorry to finish the last one. They were impossible to put down. The story was gripping from the first page. The people were so real, you could imagine yourself there. Just enough hu...
The beginning of an 8 book series, I could not wait to get to the next one. And I was so sorry to finish the last one. They were impossible to put down. The story was gripping from the first page. The people were so real, you could imagine yourself there. Just enough humor and mystery to keep you interested.

posted by RedComet on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Must Read

    I really enjoyed this book. Until the end!!!! When is the second book coming out???? Can't wait to read it.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    excellent historical fiction

    Mayme Jukes and Katie Clairborne both grew up on plantations near the same town in Shenandoah County, North Carolina, but their lives were vastly different. Mayme was born into slavery, while Katie enjoyed a privileged life as the daughter of a wealthy plantation owner. But in the final days of the Civil War, the two teenagers are thrown together when both of their families are murdered by marauding outlaw soldiers. Fleeing from the massacre of her family, Mayme stumbles across Katie's plantation, where she is the only one left alive. Mayme stays to help Katie, and eventually the girls become close friends in spite of their differences. But can these two teenage girls survive on their own, and hide the truth that they are all alone on the plantation? I highly recommend this heartwarming historical novel about two girls from very different backgrounds who, after suffering a common tragedy, come together to help each other out, eventually becoming the best of friends. Although labeled as an adult book, I think this novel would have the most appeal to teenagers, because of the young characters. I look forward to reading the rest of the books in this series and finding out what happens to Mayme and Katie next.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Outstanding

    This book is just superb. I loved every bit of it. It had me on my toes the whole entire time. I couldn't put it down. I kept forgetting that it was fiction. It also suprised me that the author was a white man. He makes it seem like he was there or something. It is just a wonderful book and i love it.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a book I did not want to put down. You can't help but share in the sarrow of these young girls. Their strenght is amazing.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The first in a series of 4books featuring the same characters. I enjoyed all four books. A good read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    A Great Read That You Can't Put Down

    This book surprised me at every turn. It's a great book about how two girls learn to look past the racial barriers of their time, no small feat for the time period they were born into, and survive and thrive in spite of their circumstances. I went out the day I finished it and bought the sequel.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Love all the books n this series

    Grt bk as r all and it captures the era well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    a must read

    I enjoyed the whole series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    Great Book!!!

    This book is great I really got into the story! I got the book from my grandma for a christmas gift and I couldn't put it down! I got done with it in a day! !!! Highly Recommended !!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    Great Book!! Highly Recommended!!

    I loved this book! From the beginning til the end Michael keeps his readers interest..I couldn't put this book down and finished it within a week!! I loved the details and how he made you feel like you were actually there watching all this unfold!! Another great book Michael Phillips! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Excellent Book!

    This was really a good read. I could not put this book down. Two young girls from different worlds endure tragedy. Courage, honesty, hard work ,and love carries the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Interesting Book

    I love that it is based on the Civil War and how two different girls have a certain story to tell. You'll enjoy it! Its free!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Great Heartwarming Story

    This was my first time reading Christian fiction and I was not disapointed. The story was compelling and I came to really like and care for the characters. The ending has left me wanting to go read the other books in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Great story...

    This book was really awsome! I love historical fictions. It was really hard to put it down! I loved the relationship between the two girls, i almost cried at the end when it was over! I would definately recomend this book, especially for younger teenage girls. It's a great story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Don't Miss this One

    What a wonderful story! It's one of those books that I could recommend to my mother, my teenaged grandchildren and even to my husband. Through the eyes and story telling of one character, you come to see and feel the drama and conflict of both girls' story. I will certainly buy the next in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Must read

    I read all four books and enjoyed each one so much. Wonderfully written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great read

    I wasn't sure if I'd like this book at first. I had no idea it was historical christian fiction at first. I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I was right there with the characters. I just started the second book. I can't wait to read them all. I would recommend this book to anyone, any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    This is a must read if you love historical fiction!

    I was pleasantly surprized by this little book, which was a free Friday selection. I got caught up in the characters right away and really cared for them. I especially enjoyed the way Mr. Phillips brings God and His precepts in to each chapter and each character's life. I was so caught up in the story line that I didn't wanted to stop reading. I just had to get the next book in the series to see what would happen to Katie and Mayme. I am currently on the 4th book and happy to see that there are 4 more books under the series title of Carolina Cousins. This has been the best summer read. I highly recommend it. I bet you can't read just one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    What a tremendous bargain! Free and you can get the other 2 boo

    What a tremendous bargain! Free and you can get the other 2 books in the seriers for less than the cost of one book. I read this seriers when it was first published and I still look at these books and wonder
    what happened to the characters in the book. They were so realistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Resourceful Teens

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book for several reasons. The girls learned to accept each other's differences right away and live with their different backgrounds to make their lives the best they could. Two 14 year olds under the worst conditions come together and survive in post war America. Under the worst of conditions, it shows that you can get your lives back...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9