Customer Reviews for

Angels and Demons

Average Rating 4.5
( 2758 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1859)

4 Star

(619)

3 Star

(180)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Better than any code!

I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to dec...
I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to decide if I'll ruin it all by watching the movie, but we'll see.

posted by ticareader on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

HATED IT

"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister ...
"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister plot to destroy the Vatican City is the, once thought vanished, Illuminati, a secret society that was thought to have vanished in the 1800's whose goal was to destroy the Roman Catholic Church and the faith of all the believers.

This novel has a very gripping plot and is very hard to put down, but it is extremely predictable. For the most part, it follows the exact same story outline as "The Da Vinci Code." They are both about a secret society trying to reveal the truth behind what the Roman Catholic teaches it's followers, they both occur in a single day, and they both have the same kind of treachery involving very prominent characters.

The end of this novel should have been very strong. Instead, it was very weak and served no real purpose. The gift received is somewhat significant, but otherwise, there was no real purpose for it. A whole entire chapter ha to be read for Vittoria to say: "Have you ever slept with a yoga master," or something to that extent. I think I would have liked the book a little more if it had had a concrete and strong ending.

Every mystery should be exciting, attractive, fast paced, and unpredictable. This book fell very far in all of these categories. This book is not a must read unless you're a Dan Brown fan or a fan of really bad books.

posted by RyanCottrell on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2767 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 139
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    HATED IT

    "Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister plot to destroy the Vatican City is the, once thought vanished, Illuminati, a secret society that was thought to have vanished in the 1800's whose goal was to destroy the Roman Catholic Church and the faith of all the believers.

    This novel has a very gripping plot and is very hard to put down, but it is extremely predictable. For the most part, it follows the exact same story outline as "The Da Vinci Code." They are both about a secret society trying to reveal the truth behind what the Roman Catholic teaches it's followers, they both occur in a single day, and they both have the same kind of treachery involving very prominent characters.

    The end of this novel should have been very strong. Instead, it was very weak and served no real purpose. The gift received is somewhat significant, but otherwise, there was no real purpose for it. A whole entire chapter ha to be read for Vittoria to say: "Have you ever slept with a yoga master," or something to that extent. I think I would have liked the book a little more if it had had a concrete and strong ending.

    Every mystery should be exciting, attractive, fast paced, and unpredictable. This book fell very far in all of these categories. This book is not a must read unless you're a Dan Brown fan or a fan of really bad books.

    17 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    Better than any code!

    I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to decide if I'll ruin it all by watching the movie, but we'll see.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Great Thrilling and Captivating Science-Fiction Book!

    Robert Langdon and Vittoria Vetra combine to create an amazing story-line with many twists, turns, and surprises in Dan Brown¿s Angels and Demons. This book has a fair amount of fabrication, along with a number of true, while unknown facts, all of which combine with first-rate and competent characters to create a never failing, addictive novel.<BR/> In Vatican City, Rome an ancient and thought-to-be-extinct demonic brotherhood emerges to declare science¿s jurisdiction over religion. While the brotherhood of the Illuminati is factual, this conspiracy and attack are completely fictional. Brown¿s interlinking of these two very distinct elements combine into a woven quilt, creating the story of Angels and Demons.<BR/> Robert Langdon is a world-renowned Harvard symbologist called to Switzerland¿s Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire facility (CERN) to scrutinize a corpse branded with an Illuminati ambigram. Langdon¿s brilliance connects with Vittoria Vetra¿s common sense to create a kind of juggernaut against the terror of the brotherhood. This well-rounded team is prone to penetrate the protected Illuminati.<BR/> Angels and Demons is a great book that I would recommend to anyone interested. I am a freshman in High School and had no problem with any of the vocabulary in the story. I was also intrigued instantaneously and addicted by the third or fourth chapter. The other great thing about this book is that it is not so predictable that you can tell exactly what is going to happen. But it does not make you think ¿Where on Earth is this going?¿ and no one likes this. The novel mixes elements well and creates an entertaining story that I would advise to everyone.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good just not great

    Unfortunately, I read Da Vinci Code first, then went back to Angels and Demons. What I noticed was that the style was identical and the characters were similar and the plot was quite parallel. It was almost like reading the same book back to back. Neither book was badly written, it's just that the style showed no variety and read back to back was a let down.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    An Outstanding Novel!!

    I'm not a reader, but I have read enough books to know that Dan Brown has created a masterpiece.Ever since I read this book, I have wanted to read through the entire triology. The book has a gripping plot, while teaching you things about Religion and the Big Bang theory.

    While some people say Dan Brown did a better job in writing The Da Vinci Code I disagree. Dan Brown managed to take historical sites, places, and events and mix it up with action to make a thriller that you can never put down. I felt that Angels and Demons plot was bigger and better than that of The Da Vinci Code's. The book takes you all across Rome to ancient Cathedrals and lairs, in an attempt to save the Catholic Church itself. When you're done with the book, you'll be amazed that all the monumental events happened within a day. The book will manage to keep you off balance, but doesn't frustrate you. With its clever twists in its plot, it's not as predictable as other books might be.

    The amount of knowledge in science and religion in this book would be enough to fill an entire textbook. While some of the information on this book has not been yet proven true, Dan Brown did a good job of knowing his stuff. The book will teach you everything from the birth of Christianity, to the Big Bang theory. The book doesn't bore you, but there are some unnecessary walls of text in the book that get boring. However, you can easily skip these and still understand whats going on.

    All in all, I felt that Dan Brown did a really good job with this book, and had very few flaws. For anyone who is bored in their free time, pick up this book, and let Dan Brown take you on a hunt to save the Catholic Church.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    So, So

    Here is the thing, all of Dan Browns books are the same. You will love the first one you read and forget the rest. But I think Angels and Demons is the best because it is more realistic. However, they all go a little something like this: (1)Langdon is called to the scene of some crime that has some connection with symbology, (2) Langdon spend the next 48 hours dodgeing bullets like his is NEO and running around with some hot chick he has no chance of scoreing with, (3) They uncover the mystery which is that the 'hopeless' Catholic church is grossly abusing modern science in order to bring faith back into peoples lives. (4) Langdon saves the day, losses the girl, and goes back to his lonely life as college professor.....until next summer! when (5) Dan Brown sends him on another journey to stop the Catholic church for destroying the free world. Dan Brown wrote a very interesting tale with Angels and Demons and revised it with The Da Vinci Code. However, my compliments stop there because it doesn't take a genious to notice that Brown doesn't think too highly of the Catholic Church and is trying to make a lot of money by leading people to believe that this religion is full of evil, conspiring, twisted, power-hungry, and violent men. Dan Brown is a one hit wonder.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    I read this book for an outside reading assignment for my Honors

    I read this book for an outside reading assignment for my Honors English Class. I started off thinking
    it wouldn't be a terrible book but once I really started reading it, I realized it is a very well written book
    that has a great story line and some interesting plot twists. I can't wait to read more of the Robert
    Langdon series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I loved this book!  I liked it better than The Davinci Code (whi

    I loved this book!  I liked it better than The Davinci Code (which I also enjoyed)  I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    A Fast-Paced Read--(Warning--spoiler here) I found this book to

    A Fast-Paced Read--(Warning--spoiler here)

    I found this book to be entertaining and fast-paced, but non-Catholics should be forewarned that the author tends to present some questionable and debatable information on the Catholic church 
    as simple fact. The ending was particularly over the top as the reader is expected to believe that a Catholic Pope would have l no inner conflict with the practice of artificial insemination, which is soundly
    opposed by the Catholic Church. Despite some obvious problems here, this was still a fascinating and fantastic story that kept me entertained from beginning to end. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Loved it

    Enlightened me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    With Angels and Demons i really got lost. A weapon of anti-matte

    With Angels and Demons i really got lost. A weapon of anti-matter to wipe out the catholic church... Really? The whole plot was weak with the whole story only happening in one day. the characters are interesting and all but there was to much jumping around and not enough action. Dan Browns writing was better with his other book. This one is actually funny in some aspects... i'm just here to say that matter cannot be created or destroyed. Science fiction meets the church.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    An Epic of Epic Proportions

    Angels and Demons is without a doubt in my mind Brown's masterpiece. The book novel is rich with action, suspense, and imagery that is guaranteed to have you hooked. This is one of the very few books that I simply could not put down. I literally read this book from cover to cover in the span of four nights (i'm a slow reader). Every day, I would begin reading at around 9pm, however, due to the book's highly suspenseful nature, I would not be able to put it down until at least 1 in the morning. The story line is very unique. Though fictional, the story feels chillingly real. I believe this book had an even stronger effect on me because I am personally a Catholic. Though this book is labeled as fiction,it accurately depicts many historical and factual details such as the politics within the Vatican, and many monumental sights in Rome. Furthermore, If one is looking for a story full of thought provoking and suspenseful moments, look no further. However, I HIGHLY recommend picking up the illustrated version, it helps a lot when the story makes factual references.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    WOW

    This book review is about Angels and Demons by Dan Brown. The author’s purpose in the book is to symbolize the science versus religion debate. I would suggest Angels and Demons for anyone who craves an action packed thriller that is also educational. Angels and Demons introduces the reader to the character Robert Langdon, a symbologist who teaches at Harvard and is featured in another famous book called The Da Vinci Code. The setting of this book takes place in Rome, the location of the Vatican. Robert Langdon is summoned to a Swiss research facility to analyze a mysterious symbol that has been seared into the chest of a murdered physicist. At this point he discovers evidence of an ancient secret society called the Illuminati, the most powerful underground organization to appose the Catholic church, its most hated enemy. Langdon’s worst fears are realized on the eve of the Vatican’s holy conclave, when Langdon learns that the Illuminati had hidden a time bomb somewhere in the Vatican City. With time slipping by, Langdon heads to Rome and joins forces with another character named Vittoria Vetra, an Italian Bio Entanglement Physicist. Together they follow a 400 year old trail of ancient symbols across Rome to locate the hidden Illuminati lair which eventually contains the only hope to find the bomb.I really liked the way Dan Brown delivers a history lesson while still keeping me entertained, as a reader whom enjoys action packed thrillers. I also enjoyed the way that Dan Brown described various historical places with such vivid and unparallel detail “Kohler was sickened by the opulence of the Hallway of the Belvedere. The gold leaf in the ceiling alone probably could have funded a year’s worth of cancer research. “ I have probably read numerous amounts of books and none of them compare to the amount of detail this story provides. I would recommend this book to those who want a action filled story with the ability to follow the main character throughout a series of books as evidenced by The Da Vinci Code.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    A Good Treasure Hunt

    A fun little adventure yarn. While there were no real surprises, it was fun to follow the characters on their treasure hunt. Lovers of Italian art and architecture will enjoy the descriptions of Italian art. A quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very good, hard to put down but a bit disappointed in the end

    I still gave this book a 4 even though I was disappointed in the end. I was told this book was better than his other, the Davinci code but I disagree. I just found this story less believable. Just my thoughts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my cup of coffee...

    I purchased this book on sale while stuck at an airport. A good friend of mine highly recommended the author and assured me it would be an enjoyable read. I will admit it was a quick read and very easy to get through (no dictionary required). Unfortunately, it was quick due to no evident character development, the plot was basic at best, and it read like a first draft. Point 1 is self explanatory; the characters were the same people at the end as they were at the beginning of the book. No morals were learned and no greater truth discovered. Point 2, the plot ran a simple text book outline with each "act" running an equal amount of time, which became very predicable as the pages ran on, resulting in the falling action and rising action feeling the same and passing by mostly unnoticed. Without a build, the book as a whole fell flat. Point 3 is based entirely on my opinion of complexity. The concept of the book was thrown in and explained, almost entirely, at the start of the book. No shock, no surprise, and very little left to figure out which a rewrite could've easily fixed. As a whole, the experience was disappointing. I did, however, have a very lengthy and fulfilling debate on the book with the friend who suggested it to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    still on the fence about this one

    I felt like I knew what was coming in each chapter. I was kind of disappointed that it all took place in one day. I was expecting the murder of the cardinals to be more dramatic although the one that was burned alive seemed the most interesting. The only time I was really excited about the read was the last 2-3 chapters. I didn't expect that at all. Now that I've read the book I'm gonna rent the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    B&N did not deliver

    I tried twice to order this book. And both time B&N canceled the order for no reason. Come on B&N if you are not going to sell the book take it off you site.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    More schlock

    More unbelievable plot-lines and one-dimensional, comic-book characters without the creativity of the intriguiging puzzle in "The Da Vinci Code."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    blows the twilight saga outta the water

    amazing book by dan brown!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2767 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 139