Customer Reviews for

Angels and Demons

Average Rating 4.5
( 2776 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1871)

4 Star

(623)

3 Star

(181)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Better than any code!

I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to dec...
I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to decide if I'll ruin it all by watching the movie, but we'll see.

posted by ticareader on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

HATED IT

"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister ...
"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister plot to destroy the Vatican City is the, once thought vanished, Illuminati, a secret society that was thought to have vanished in the 1800's whose goal was to destroy the Roman Catholic Church and the faith of all the believers.

This novel has a very gripping plot and is very hard to put down, but it is extremely predictable. For the most part, it follows the exact same story outline as "The Da Vinci Code." They are both about a secret society trying to reveal the truth behind what the Roman Catholic teaches it's followers, they both occur in a single day, and they both have the same kind of treachery involving very prominent characters.

The end of this novel should have been very strong. Instead, it was very weak and served no real purpose. The gift received is somewhat significant, but otherwise, there was no real purpose for it. A whole entire chapter ha to be read for Vittoria to say: "Have you ever slept with a yoga master," or something to that extent. I think I would have liked the book a little more if it had had a concrete and strong ending.

Every mystery should be exciting, attractive, fast paced, and unpredictable. This book fell very far in all of these categories. This book is not a must read unless you're a Dan Brown fan or a fan of really bad books.

posted by RyanCottrell on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2785 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 140
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    too violent

    Dan Brown can write intelligent, cohesive, snappy,faced-paced prose, but this book was too violent for me. I want to read a fiction book to relax. I don't need to hear detailed, graphic brutal torture and murder details, especially not of innocent priests. (I already read Amensty International reports and hear the non-fiction versions from Egypt to Pakistan) This book chronicles a series of murders of priests, each murder symbolically representing one of the 7 deadly sins , and each one is described thoroughly. I wonder if books could have PG/R/X ratings like movies? It would help me make a better choice for leisure reading. If you are going to read a Dan Brown novel, I think that "Da Vinci Code" was a more engaging novel because of it's complex plot - but remember that it is pure fiction w/o any historical credibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edge of your seat fun!

    This was such a good book. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. I liked it even better than the Da Vinci Code. This is another book about Robert Langdon as he is on a mission to stop the Vatican from getting blown up from a santanic group called the Illumanati. My only complaint was that it kinda of started out slow, but once you get to around page 150 it gets exciting and doesn't let up. I can't wait for the next book and the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    suprise

    much to my suprise this book grabed my attention and i could not put it down.when i first picked it up i thought mabye it would be good if not it would be a good way to put me to sleep. i blew throuh all of my assumptions with in the first few chapters. i really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is great!

    This book is very well written, I couldn't put it down I have to say that I never ever read books but I like the Robert Langdon series and I read this book in one week. I can't wait for the new book to come out.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    Summary:

    "Angels and Demons" is about a man named Robert Langdon; he works as a religion professor for a university specializing in the illuminati. One day he gets a call from an unknown caller telling him about a murder and he has to come and help them. He says no because it is 3 o'clock in the morning and he gets phone calls like this all the time. Finally, the unknown man sends him a fax of a naked man, murdered, head turned all the way around and the word "Illuminati" branded on his chest. This gets his attention so he promises to meet him. He gets on a plane that can reach MOCK 15 and makes it to Switzerland in 20 minutes. He discovers CERN there; A secret science lab that discovers miracles every day. This time they have discovered how to make Matter.and Antimatter out of nothing. The Antimatter is held in a special canister that stops it from touching anything with matter, because if it does then it will explode.with the power greater then a nuclear bomb. Turns out the secret cult called the illuminati discovered it and stole it as well. Without the backup power on the canister, the Antimatter only has 24 hours before detonating. Now Robert and Vittoria (the dead scientist's daughter) have to go to Vatican City, find the Antimatter, and stop the illuminati before it destroys Vatican City. If that isn't bad, enough they also captured four of the potential Popes, hours before the election of the next Pope. The Illuminati told the press that they will kill one potential every hour; one in each church of the Illuminati; the problem is they have been missing for centuries. Robert and Vittoria have to find all the churches before the Illuminati can kill the potentials. These two discover many secrets of the Vatican City, Galileo and the Illuminati. In the end, you find out that Camerlengo is the bad guy, pretending that the illuminati have returned when really he was the one doing all the killing. This book is amazing and actually helped me discover how interested I am in the Christian religion, (not enough to do it, just enough to want to learn more about it).


    The best part of the book: I believe the best part of the book would have to be the ending. In the end you discover that the good guy was really the bad guy and it gives the story a nice twist. Right when you think the story can't go anywhere else it does and you love it.

    Worst part of the book: I didn't like the way they made the Hassign (the illuminati member) talk and act. He didn't seam real enough to me, it felt like he tried to much to make his character and it didn't work out all that well.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone with an open mind. This book taught me so much about the Christian faith and Vatican City. This is not a book for closed-minded Christian's because I know they will read this book the wrong way and get a different message then everyone else. This book was more then amazing and I can't wait to read "The Devinci Code"

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    It was a little far fetched but it was a good read. I would read more about the Robert Langdon character.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    A good book

    This is good book, it's the type of book that you never want to stop reading. Is like the others books that Mr. Brown has write. I expect a little more, but a think Dan Brown always write about the sames topics. Still, I want to read the next book of Robert Langdon's adventures, Salomon's Key.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    GREAT FOR LAUGHS!

    Honestly, this book made me laugh so hard I had to put it down and hold myself as I was shaking with laughter. Really, really laughable story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Good reading, BUT!!

    I have to say I enjoyed this book, as I have done with with Dan Brown's other two books I have read, Da Vinci Code and Deception Point. However it will be some time before I take a look at any of his others. The story-line is ok, the pace fast and it is a relatively entertaining read. So what more could one ask of a fiction novel? Well for me a lot. Brown's books seem to fit into a common pattern, or recipe, they are so much the same and predictable. In my opinion the characters are shallow, any engineering reference is sadly a joke and the politics awful. I like fiction with strong characters and at least some resemblance of possibility, not pure fantasy claimed to be possible. Take a look at Clancy when it comes to engineering and politics, as well as a writer I came across recently, Bruce Huntly and his novel Fusion. These writers know the technical stuff and how to portray real and strong characters. Angles and Demons is a good read, but as with Da Vinci, don't look too deep.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    A waste of my time

    Garbage may be a compliment for this nonsense triller. A writter under pressure to produce??? Dan Brown should've stop at DaVinci for a break. This book was a royal mistake. I want my time credited, last book I'll read from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    hard to get into!!!!

    i just could not get into the groove with this book. it dragged on and on and finally Rome was saved in the last moments but, then again, we all knew that it would be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    So bad it is hilarious

    This is the funniest book I read in a while. A badly put together mishmash of conspiracy theories littered with worn out symbols: Einstein; Galileo; secret technology; a dead scientist who ¿ of course ¿ has a beautiful, unattached, daughter; the Masons; and the pyramid on the one-dollar bill. Missing were the Sisters of Darkness, Baphomet, the twelve keys of Philosophy, the homunculus; Fulcanelli and the pyramid/fascia from the State Seal of Colorado. But Dan Brown will surely use them in his next book. Add a laughable hero who is always last to figure out the clue, a symbologist who specializes in cryptic Italian symbols and yet couldn¿t order a bowl of spaghetti to save his life, sprinkle a few miss happened words in ¿pizzeria grade¿ Italian, and you get a book that will keep you ROTFL. It is masterfully written in a style that I shall call ¿cheerleader¿: to fully appreciate the dialogs, read them aloud in your best ¿high school reunion¿ voice. For effect, Dan Brown repeated each comment about a zillion times: ¿It the pyramid, it can¿t be, but it is, no way, way, geeesh¿¿ If a particular clue was really obvious, Brown added extra emphasis: ¿Oh my god, it¿s the obelisk, the obelisk? Nooo, yeees, not the obelisk, you mean THE obelisk? Yes, that obelisk, I can¿t believe it, it¿s the obelisk¿.¿ You get plenty of nonsensical situations: The Italians speak a strangely accented Italian with a grammar to make Dante spin in his grave. The daughter calls out to her father by shouting: ¿the Pope, the Pope¿. The 500-year-old ultra super duper secret Illuminati script (who, despite their name, turn out to be German) looks a lot like Microsoft Gothic Bold 72. The underground CERN develops high-speed planes. The Swiss German Guards have Italian names but speak French (at least it looks like French). They fly helicopters while dressed in their 500-year-old uniforms, complete with scythes (hey Brown: for your reference the Swiss Guards carry halberds, not scythes). The Swiss Guards are quick to call up the CERN, but as soon as our heroes arrive, the guards tell them that they have no business to be in Rome. And on. The book ends on a lengthy whine about science and religion, it reads like a Marvel Comics version of Teilhard De Chardin¿s Omega point: overblown, oversimplified and 75 years too late. One star is plenty, but hey, it is a pentagram, the devil¿s sign, the demon¿s own, the Illuminati¿s secret handshake, blablabla.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    &Omega &omega

    &beta &Beta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2015

    A favorite. As an avid reader of suspense/ thriller novels, I w

    A favorite.

    As an avid reader of suspense/ thriller novels, I was extremely delighted to read this book. I was hooked from page one and could barely put the book down. Compared to other authors of the same genre, Brown is superior. His tales are more believable and gripping than most other authors in the same field (especially Charles Brokaw). I highly recommend this book to ANYONE. Just go ahead and buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Best dan brown book

    This one is my favourite dan brown book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Great book

    This book is an interesting read. I recommend this for anyone who likes an action novel that keeps building till the climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Very interesting

    It is very interesting. Hard to put down. It has 710pages, but is breathtaking journey around Vatican city. It is about Robert Langdon and is a prequel of the New York Times Bestseller The Da Vinci Code. With the help of scientist Vittoria Vetra, they go through a powerful journey around Vatican city to find a peice of antimatter that could explode at any second. It is hidden somewhere beneath Vatican city and the secret but powerful organization--the Illuminati

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Very interesting, and hard to put down.

    I had read this book when it first came out, then saw the movie recently and decided to re read it again. It holds your interest right from the start and never lets go.

    It is worth the money and time you spend on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    I actually watched ┬┐Angels and Demons┬┐ the movie before I picked

    I actually watched “Angels and Demons” the movie before I picked up this book. I liked the movie and was not sure if I was going to be bored or entertained by the book. So far I like it very much. Robert Langdon obviously has an eye for details and he knows what he is talking about. Having Vittoria Vetra, young scientist, for a partner in this hunt for a long-lost Illuminati lair makes this book even more interesting. I like details that Dan Brown uses in this race through Rome, painting a picture after picture of mysterious and beautiful places within this great city. posted by
    Armand Mujic on October 06, 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    Excellent work. A must read.

    The author does a great job in his description of what is happening at all times. Leaves me wanting to read more book written by Dan Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2785 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 140