Customer Reviews for

Angels and Demons

Average Rating 4.5
( 2773 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1868)

4 Star

(623)

3 Star

(181)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Better than any code!

I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to dec...
I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to decide if I'll ruin it all by watching the movie, but we'll see.

posted by ticareader on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

HATED IT

"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister ...
"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister plot to destroy the Vatican City is the, once thought vanished, Illuminati, a secret society that was thought to have vanished in the 1800's whose goal was to destroy the Roman Catholic Church and the faith of all the believers.

This novel has a very gripping plot and is very hard to put down, but it is extremely predictable. For the most part, it follows the exact same story outline as "The Da Vinci Code." They are both about a secret society trying to reveal the truth behind what the Roman Catholic teaches it's followers, they both occur in a single day, and they both have the same kind of treachery involving very prominent characters.

The end of this novel should have been very strong. Instead, it was very weak and served no real purpose. The gift received is somewhat significant, but otherwise, there was no real purpose for it. A whole entire chapter ha to be read for Vittoria to say: "Have you ever slept with a yoga master," or something to that extent. I think I would have liked the book a little more if it had had a concrete and strong ending.

Every mystery should be exciting, attractive, fast paced, and unpredictable. This book fell very far in all of these categories. This book is not a must read unless you're a Dan Brown fan or a fan of really bad books.

posted by RyanCottrell on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    A great example...

    of what happens when an author focuses entirely on plot, while completely ignoring character, realism, and substance. Dan Brown's style of writing is like riding a freight train that you can't put down, but at the same time you find yourself laughing out loud at the corny dialog, complete host of cardboard, static characters that say only the most predictable and stereotyped things, and a story which worked so well that he decided to write it twice 'da Vinci Code'. While I can tell that Brown put in a lot of work and research, just as with da Vinci, the work falls far short of what I'd call 'a great book.' You'll finish the novel with a certain fulfillment at a simple story completed and a marvel for some of the puzzles, but there's the unavoidable disappointment that none of it was believable. Then again, maybe it's just me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    One Hundred Fifty Pages too Long

    I was immediately captivated by Angels and Demons, and easily ignored some of the less plausible portions of the story because the overall plot was so good. It was great even...until I reached about page 550. Then, the entire book fell apart and the concluding 150 pages descended into such silliness that I almost could not keep reading it. Avid readers can spot the 'twist' a mile away, but if the ending had been better, I would not have cared that I had everything figured out early on. Dan Brown is a good writer, but as a better writer once said, 'All that matters is the ending.' Another problem is that this is intended as a prequel to The DaVinci Code, and yet, the final climactic scenes in Angels and Demons lead to a huge public display and Langdon's face plastered all over the news. There is no way that Bezu Fache, a year or so later, would not have heard of Robert Langdon. Maybe I'm overthinking it too much, but I think Brown didn't think through it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    A Let Down

    I read The Da Vinci Code just before reading this and, personally, I just didn't think it was anywhere near as good. Don't get me wrong, the the book was good, but it wasn't as entertaining. I finished Da Vinci Code quickly, yet had a difficult time even getting through Angels and Demons. I would still recommend this novel though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    a page turner

    a very entertaining book..if you like the da vinci code, you'll love this book. purely for entertainment..don't expect a thought-provoking, deep storyline..personally, i found this book better than the da vinci code. both books are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Not as good as davinci code

    Plenty of cliffhangers but the novel was based on the cliffhangers not about making sense. Didn't add up the way the davinci code did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Book Would Have Been Better Without Absurd Ending

    'Angels and Demons' is a good book: nothing more, maybe a little less. Although it does have an interesting plot and even more interesting historical details, the book's climax was far too silly and absurd. 'The Da Vinci Code' is a far better book. If you're looking for a light read that should not be taken seriously (by any means), than this book is for you. PS: All of you who think that this book is better than 'The Da Vinci Code' know very well that the ending of this book is absolutely preposterous and terrible. To call the ending a fantasy may work, but to actually believe that such events could happen over such a short amount of time is, well, foolish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Another Bestseller

    This book, like most bestsellers, appeal to the audience specifically for pure entertainment. If you are looking for a profound book with an underlying theme this is not your book. If, however, you are looking for something light and humorous and also adventurous then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    ...This seems really familiar...

    I read this book after reading Dan Brown's other best-selling novel, 'The Da Vinci Code', and I couldn't help but thinking 'Why does this seem so familiar?' the whole time I was reading it. Well, this novel is very similar to 'The Da Vinci Code'. Too similar. The plot and characters were nearly identical to those featured in 'Da Vinci', and I am NOT referring to Robert Langdon. This book was pretty good, but not a favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    A great brain warm-up for 'The DaVinci Code'

    Angels & Demons reads like a season of ¿24.¿ Everything happens in one day. This I find very interesting. I decided to read this book first before I read ¿The DaVinci Code.¿ This book is a good warm-up, for your brain, for ¿The DaVinci Code.¿ It¿s a fast paced mystery all the way. Even though the novel is fiction, I have to question where Mr. Brown got his sources. The information in that book seemed a little too realistic. Now being Catholic, it¿s very hard to read a book about a plot against the Vatican. There were some parts that I read, where I really wanted to cry, but I just had to keep telling myself that this was a work of fiction. I guess that is a sign of being a good fiction writer when your readers start believing the story is anybody fiction. Now, out of a five star rating I would have honestly given this book a four, but I¿m going to give it a three. Why? Because of the last 20-30 pages in the book. It was one of those ending when you think everything is solved, but the person you least suspected turned out to be the actual ¿bad-guy.¿ I honestly thought those last 20-30 pages were a bit ¿soap operay.¿ Being a soap opera watcher since I was four-years old, I¿ve seen the ending of this book done a million times. When I realized where the ending of this book was going, I¿m not going to lie ¿ I was pissed. He could have writing that book better or just dropped that ending all together. That¿s why this book gets 3 stars from me...okay, 3.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Somewhat overhyped, but nevertheless good

    I must admit to wanting to read this only for the sake of better immersing myself in 'The DaVinci Code' soon, so perhaps I was not reading the novel in the proper frame of mind to enjoy it thoroughly. Nevertheless, despite some fantastic postulations about antimatter and high melodrama (not meant as a compliment here), Dan Brown for the most part succeeds in telling an entertaining tale. Certainly what is the high watermark of 'Angels and Demons' is the clever use of extant Roman/Vatican artwork and architecture in building the mystery of the Illuminati, which I must give props to Brown for using so well, and, apparently, inventively. Having started reading this novel first in paperback form, then finishing it with this illustrated edition, I must say that by far the illustrations make the reading a far-richer experience. Overall, I have read better mysteries and better thrillers, and while to me this is not the page-turner which so many have seemed to make it out to be, it was by far not the worst book I have ever read. I am looking forward to a more pleasant time reading 'The DaVinci Code,' so hopefully I will find more of that spark there that so many readers seem to have found for themselves...'Angels and Demons,' while good, just didn't have that spark for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Not quite Da Vinci

    I was very excited when I got my hands on this one, but it just didn't cut the mustard for me. Sure, it was thrilling to see Langdon uncovering another mystery but to me, it was a bit too predictable. The characters were a bit over-the-top. It was still an enjoyable read, especially as a prequel to the Da Vinci Code, but it didn't have that 'it' that Da Vinci had. Good, but a little dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Angel's and Demons Fizzles at the end

    Normally, I love the way Dan Brown connects physical reality and plausibilities to the mystic dogma of religion. However, the story fell short in the end, leaving me doubting the entire thread of believability that he attempted throughout the book. Good story, bad ending, simple as that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    a BIT overrated

    Ok the symbology and everything is quite fascinating..but overall i didn't find myself enjoying this very much. I was looking forward to reading the Da Vinci Code..but I don't think I'll be doing that any more!! The ending is not that great..it's too farfetched overall, and after a while you just get sick of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Not a great book

    I know the usual consensus is that this is a wonderful book that you just can't put down. I found it to be too much in the David Baldacci or Robert Lundum genre where the hero goes from one unbelievable situation to another. I also found the ending outside the realm of what is a realistic possibility. This was not a book I will recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Now have questions...

    After reading 'The Da Vinci Code' and with the recent death of Pope John Paul II, I decided to read this book. I was disappointed. Brown's research was consistently faulty on how he described the Catholic conclave, which makes me wonder how faulty he may have been when writing 'The Da Vinci Code.' Going past the research aspect and looking at its entertainment value, I was disapointed in the ending. It was a twist, but not a very good one. The plot slowed down at times and didn't seem well-planned. It is an intelligent book. It is just in need of some good editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    Good conversation piece

    Great book for conversation. I like books that have a bit of thinking involved when you have to read them, but has a plot to go along with it, that pushes you through the book. The only problem I saw was that it was a carbon copy of the Da Vinci Code. I still enjoyed discussing the book with my book group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    A little too much Hype for this boook

    After reading 'The DaVinci Code' and 'Deception Point' I have had my fill of Dan Brown's books. I read 'DaVinci Code' beecause of the controversy and 'Deception Point' while waiting on receiving 'Angels & Demons'. Too much detail and not enough story with the characters. Very interesting ideas, but not enough story to really get into the characters. I had this one figured out a little over half way through it. Also, after reading all of the tedious detail I felt dissapointed in the ending. I like a book that I think about the characters for a while after reading it. I don't know why this book has been so popular, must be the subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Just Another Science Fiction Novel

    I am surprised that hardly anyone remarked on the shouting inaccuracies of this novel. While whole books have been written concerning the Da Vinci Code's errors, I, as a physicist, find it surprising that no one noted on the ones in this similar book. The bottom line of the plot, for example, is based on the assumption that should several grams of antimatter explode, they will destroy masses of matter. That is factually inaccurate. Antimatter destroys an equivalent amount of matter with the release of some energy that, however, will certainly not be enough to create a shockwave. Furthermore, antimatter cannot be stored in a magnetic container because the mangetic impulses are composed of electric MATTER particles that will interact with the antimatter. Brown also states that CERN has created several atoms of antimatter. That is untrue. So far, only single, generic anti-particles have been produced. I give this book a 3/5 not for its physics inaccuracies, however, but for the nearly identical plot that it shares with the Da Vinci Code. Read one, or read the other. Don't read both. Brown becomes very repetitive. Remember, don't take the symbology or the physics he talks about as facts. I don't know about the symbology, but I can tell you the physics of it is nonexistent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    It's Okay

    I enjoyed reading the architectural details of Rome that were included in Brown's book, and I am assuming that the descriptions of the storage facilities in the Vatican were correct. I hope so because I enjoyed reading those also. The ending of the book was a slam dunk in the lost credibility department. It was a surreal fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Repetative

    I personally found this book disappointing; probably because I was so enthusiastic about the author's mega hitseller the Da Vinci Code. Many things were similar to the Da Vinci Code; the murder of a prominent someone initially; the person related to the murdered person gets involved to solve the riddle and is a woman; the assassin; the secret elitistic underground organization aiming to destroy something connected to the Catholic Church; even the story of an orphan being 'saved' by someone that is becoming a guardian is there again. Because I had read the Da Vinci code first I could immediately guess whom was behind the whole mystery. This is not a bad book; it has all the necessary ingredients of mystery; historical facts mixed with a very interesting plot and a clever unfolding but because of the similarities between this title and the Da Vinci Code I recommend not reading them one after the other like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10