Customer Reviews for

Angels and Demons

Average Rating 4.5
( 2774 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1869)

4 Star

(623)

3 Star

(181)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Better than any code!

I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to dec...
I reluctantly picked this book up. I had read the DaVinci Code really just to see what the big fuss was, but never finished it. Dan Brown redeemed himself with this one. I could not put it down. I love fast paced books and this one definitely is that...now I have to decide if I'll ruin it all by watching the movie, but we'll see.

posted by ticareader on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

HATED IT

"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister ...
"Angels and Demons", by Dan Brown, follows the story of world renowned Harvard symbologist and biologist/physicist Vittoria Vetra through the Vatican City and the rest of Rome in an attempt to locate and recharge the missing canister of antimatter. Behind the sinister plot to destroy the Vatican City is the, once thought vanished, Illuminati, a secret society that was thought to have vanished in the 1800's whose goal was to destroy the Roman Catholic Church and the faith of all the believers.

This novel has a very gripping plot and is very hard to put down, but it is extremely predictable. For the most part, it follows the exact same story outline as "The Da Vinci Code." They are both about a secret society trying to reveal the truth behind what the Roman Catholic teaches it's followers, they both occur in a single day, and they both have the same kind of treachery involving very prominent characters.

The end of this novel should have been very strong. Instead, it was very weak and served no real purpose. The gift received is somewhat significant, but otherwise, there was no real purpose for it. A whole entire chapter ha to be read for Vittoria to say: "Have you ever slept with a yoga master," or something to that extent. I think I would have liked the book a little more if it had had a concrete and strong ending.

Every mystery should be exciting, attractive, fast paced, and unpredictable. This book fell very far in all of these categories. This book is not a must read unless you're a Dan Brown fan or a fan of really bad books.

posted by RyanCottrell on March 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    A Fast-Paced Read--(Warning--spoiler here) I found this book to

    A Fast-Paced Read--(Warning--spoiler here)

    I found this book to be entertaining and fast-paced, but non-Catholics should be forewarned that the author tends to present some questionable and debatable information on the Catholic church 
    as simple fact. The ending was particularly over the top as the reader is expected to believe that a Catholic Pope would have l no inner conflict with the practice of artificial insemination, which is soundly
    opposed by the Catholic Church. Despite some obvious problems here, this was still a fascinating and fantastic story that kept me entertained from beginning to end. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very good, hard to put down but a bit disappointed in the end

    I still gave this book a 4 even though I was disappointed in the end. I was told this book was better than his other, the Davinci code but I disagree. I just found this story less believable. Just my thoughts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Edge of your seat fun!

    This was such a good book. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. I liked it even better than the Da Vinci Code. This is another book about Robert Langdon as he is on a mission to stop the Vatican from getting blown up from a santanic group called the Illumanati. My only complaint was that it kinda of started out slow, but once you get to around page 150 it gets exciting and doesn't let up. I can't wait for the next book and the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    It was a little far fetched but it was a good read. I would read more about the Robert Langdon character.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Great book

    This book is an interesting read. I recommend this for anyone who likes an action novel that keeps building till the climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Another Good One

    This is intriguing in simikar ways to other Brown books. Worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Gracie

    "Uh...."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    A fantastic read if you can look beyond a moment of incredible a

    A fantastic read if you can look beyond a moment of incredible action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Good an bad

    Good nook, bad I'm done

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    good summer read

    good summer read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    This is a great book! Very difficult to put down.

    Like other Dan Brown books I have read, Angels and Demons never disappoints with one suspenseful moment after another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Awesome

    He got a bit darker in this book which was an interesting shift.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    As good as movie?

    I'm watching the movie as i type, themovie is amazing!! Ive seej it before, just wondering if the book is as good as it?!?!?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Definitely a great read!

    This book will leave you sitting on the edge of your chair! I had a hard time putting it down and have already ordered the next in the series. Be sure to check this one out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great book

    Angels and Demons follows the story of a man named Robert Langdon who one day receives a mysterious fax from a man he had never met before named Maximilian Kohler with a very horrifying picture of a man who has been murdered and had his chest branded with an ambigram(reads the same upside-down) of the word "Illuminati". The Illuminati used to be a secret society bent towards the "path of illumination". Robert langdon in response met up with Kohler only to find out that they got there hands on what is know as anti-matter and has the power to destroy just about anything. Langdon ends up trying to solve this mystery with the daughter of the first victim Mrs. Vittoria vetra. They find out that the anti-matter is hidden somewhere in the holy land of Rome so along with that they find out that the pope has recently died as well and four cardinals have been kidnapped by the Illuminati. So while trying to find the anti-matter before its timer reaches zero they must also try and prevent the Illuminati from murdering the four cardinals and branding the ambigrams of the four main elements of earth, air, water, and fire on them to create the sacred Illuminati Diamond. In my opinion it is an amazing book constantly keeping you guessing about what will happen next. Or just leave u with so much information but just enough where you are missing a few things and want to keep reading to find out what will happen and will they find this or that. I loved the book and i would recommend it to anyone that wants a good read with lots of suspense and mysteries to keep you guessing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Read

    DaVinci's code was better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Langdon does it again!

    While I do feel this book was a little long, it was good. It took some time for the action to kick in, but when it did, it was worth the extra pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Very engaging right up to the end!

    The book is very well written and very engaging. The only part the exceeded the imagination was the ending. Diving out of a helicopter at high altitude and surviving; the rapid end to hundreds of pages of reading was disappointing. Still, leaves much to one's imagination!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Hard to put down

    While the story is not nearly as 'intricate' as The Da Vinci Code, it is just as thrilling. The female sidekick is not as interesting or imaginitive as Sophie Neveu; she mainly exists to ask questions for the reader. Still, it's a great read. Highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Rivals the Da Vinci Code in Thrilling Twists and Intellectual Challenges

    While I found the Da Vinci Code a trifle more credible in the realm of possibility, this Dan Brown story is just as potent as Da Vinci Code, Digital Fortress, or his other novels. Robert Langdon finds himself this time in the heart of the Christian world as he unearths the Vatican's ancient secrets and discovers an ancient brotherhood thought to be inactive. Join the ongoing debate between Science vs. Religion and decide how much one can coexist with the other.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32