Customer Reviews for

Angels at the Table: A Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy Christmas Story

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Christmas Angels

I'm so glad to have my favorite Christmas angels back!!!! It was nice to have a new angel introduced as well. I am just sorry that i read it so fast!

posted by 886294 on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Angels at the Table

I love Debbie Macomber! This was a cute story and introduces a new angel. I was a bit disappointed that it was so short and just a tad bit too pat, but it was still a fun read.

posted by Mstidybo on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Christmas Angels

    I'm so glad to have my favorite Christmas angels back!!!! It was nice to have a new angel introduced as well. I am just sorry that i read it so fast!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    The angels are back

    The 3 angels are back causing a few minor ruckuses on earth .. Debbie sure knows how to make you laugh this is a fantastic christmas story

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Merry Christmas

    When the holidays overwhelm me I turn to Shirley, Goodness and Mercy and now Will. They remind me what Christmas is about and that prayers do get answered. God, Angels and true fun, it's what to look forward to. A must read for the holiday horrors

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Wonderful

    This book is so amazing! Well done Debbie! I love it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy take apprentice angel Will to Time¿

    Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy take apprentice angel Will to Time’s Square New York City for the New Year’s celebration.  While there Will sees two lonely people standing in the middle of a crowd full of people kissing. Deciding to spread a little Holiday Cheer Will uses his wings to have them bump into each other. For Lucie and Aren it was love at first sight standing in the middle of Times Square they have their first kiss, deciding to meet up a week later at the top of the Empire State Building. Fully intending to go Lucie must soon rush to the hospital instead of meeting Aren. One year later Shirley, Goodness, Mercy, and Will must right the wrong that took place and help these two people find the way to their happily ever after. 




    Debbie Macomber is a wonderful author, the romance she has created her is so beautiful even though the story is complete with an amazing epilogue you still crave more. I have never read an Angels Everywhere novel before, now however I wish I had found them sooner The four angels are so much fun to read about as every time they make an appearance something goes completely hay wire adding a levity to the novel that is absolutely fantastic. I mean how can you go wrong with an invisible angel leading a camel down Broadway? This is only one tiny example of the hilarious antics that the angels find themselves in. Though the novel is highly funny Debbie Macomber manages to keep the humor and the deep emotional bond separate and intertwining at the same time with neither one taking away from the other yet each adding a new dimension to the story. I definitely had fun reading this book, though I feel cheated that I hadn’t known about the series previously, now is definitely the time to remedy that! 


    I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    This is the latest, and best installment, in the Debbie Macomber

    This is the latest, and best installment, in the Debbie Macomber 'angles' series.  It seems like an updated, Christian fun redo of the movie, An Affair To Remember. 




    The angles--Shirley, Goodness, Mercy, and the newest addition, Will are 'prayer ambassadors' from heaven who push the boundaries of their assignments.  This time they cause two lonely people to meet in Times Square on New Years Eve.  They have an instant attraction, but problems arise and the angels 'help' causes problems for the new couple.




    This story has a fun interest because the two people are a chef, opening a new restaurant, and a food critique for the newspaper. Since I enjoy shows on the cooking channel, this book ties in the food interest, romance, and fun with a Christian message.  Good read for this Christmas season!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Relaxing read

    Sweet story. Loved the concept of mischevious angels. Good, quick, light read and a good excuse to get away from holiday stress for a bit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    Fun, witty, and sweet love story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Ahhh, Christmas!

    I may be a romantic, but I love it! This book gives me an alternative to the " nasty stuff" that is out there. I think if we look hard (maybe not so hard) there is a Shirley, Goodness, Mercy and Will in all of our daily activities Jyst prsy and watch things happen! THANKS Debbie!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Angels at the Table

    I love Debbie Macomber! This was a cute story and introduces a new angel. I was a bit disappointed that it was so short and just a tad bit too pat, but it was still a fun read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Wonderfully, entertaining book. I have read some of the other b

    Wonderfully, entertaining book.

    I have read some of the other books about Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy that Debbie Macomber has written. This one is just as enjoyable as the others. The apprentice angel, Will, is a nice addition. It gives a chance for the rules that they are supposed to live, and work, by to be explained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    always looking forward to the angels

    very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Recomend reading for those who like her Christmas Books

    The added angle is a great new addition to her books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    recommend

    Very sweet love story perfect for the holiday season. A feel good book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    I love these stories about Shirley, Goodness and Mercy.  Three p

    I love these stories about Shirley, Goodness and Mercy.  Three prayer ambassadors that always want to come earth and mingle with us humans to help someone in need.  
    This book introduces an apprentice pray ambassador "Will"  a brilliant suggestion from Rose a reader/fan of author Debbie Macomber.

    Lucy and Aaron meet in Times Square New York on New Years Eve an accidentally bump into one another....at midnight and kiss. 
    However the timing is all wrong thanks to a mistake made by Will.  

    The story has it's series of unfortunate turns, what starts out as guidance to help human intentions comes with a bit of heart break, misunderstandings and painful lessons.  Our favorite prayer ambassadors find a way to keep God's plan for Lucy and Aaron on track. Your happily ever after comes after forgiveness.   

    I cannot reveal the romantic ending you'll have to read this book to enjoy it!  There is also a recipe for peppermint  YOU WILL want to make it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    There Back!

    Once again, Nora Roberts brings us a delightful story of the three adorable, and most humerous angels around. Now, there is another angel thrown into the mix of trouble and he is just as curious and willing to help; but always in the wrong way. A must read for all you out there that follow and enjoy the little cherubs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Sweet Christmas Message

    I purchased this e-book last year and just getting around to reading it. Not my typical book; however, thought it would be nice to read around the holiday season.

    Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy are three angels joined by Will-an angel-in-training. Their job is to help humans realize they can do more with God’s help; however, they are not to interfere (however, they tend to get involved). The four angels gather in Times Square for the ball drop at midnight.

    A little silly; however very light read with a message. Lucie (chef) Aren (food critic) prepare for a new romance in the New Year. It is all about God’s timing with the help of some meddling angels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good intentions ¿ Twisted fate When Lucie and Aren are bumped

    Good intentions – Twisted fate


    When Lucie and Aren are bumped together by a well meaning apprentice angel on New Years Eve, the results are rewarding and the sparks fly. But fate had a different plan and things soon begin to go awry when Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy try to repair the havoc started by Will.

    One “good angel intention” after another, though well meant, seems to lead to more complications between Lucie and Aren and the intended future they were to find. When Gabriel steps in and pulls the angels from earth they are heartbroken over the results of their interference.

    When the prayers of Wendy, Lucie’s mother, seemed to have been over looked Gabriel gives the angels another chance. Will there be havoc or harmony in the coming new year? Only Lucie and Aren can make the final decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    OK but not Great

    i'm a big fan of the Angels but did not feel this was up to the standards of the other Macomber Angel stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    highly recommend

    This was a very enjoyable book. I loved the humor and the message. Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6