Customer Reviews for

The Angels of Morgan Hill

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching, Frightening, Funny, Sad, Sweet

    The characters & story were very real. I got attached to this family and didn't want it to end. I've read several of Donna VanLiere's books and this one is just as touching as the others. I would recommend it to everyone young or old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story

    Realistic setting and feelings of how strong racism was. Strong characters that you either really dislike or really care about. You want to go and take Milo home with you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    one of my very favorite books ever read

    I have read several books this winter and I am an avid reader. This book may perhaps be my very favorite book of all time. The author did such a great job that it did not seem to be fiction. She is outstanding and I plan to read her Christmas Shoe series now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Amazing

    Wow i feel in love when i first read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    A real gem!

    This book was an amazing find and my favorite summer read of 2012. I loved the characters and storyline...not overly saccharine but you wanted the right people to come out ahead for all the right reasons. This is not a very lengthy book but you will find yourself thinking about it long after you finish it. Don't hesitate to get this one! A great read on the plane, at the pool, lake or cabin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Great book! Time and money well spent!

    I have read The Christmas Shoes and the other two books in that series written by Donna VanLiere. I chose The Angels of Morgan Hill because it sounded like a heartwarming story. I wasn't aware that it was written by the same author, until after I purchased it. I could not wait to see if I loved it as much as I loved her other books. I did! The topic of racism has always disturbed me, but this book dealt with the realities of racism, while showcasing the good and kind people who stood together against it. I loved all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Highly Recommend!!!

    There are many writers who are able to write a good story, which can be artful with an articulate voice, or put words masterfully on a page. Yet, Donna VanLiere reaches a new limit of magic with The Angels of Morgan Hill. She writes not from her heart but from her soul! Every book that I have read by Mrs. VanLiere teaches a meaningful lesson on life and opens doors to my own world of living.
    The story begins in Morgan Hills, Tennessee in 1947. It's an all-white community in which nine year old Jane Gable's abusive alcoholic father is buried. She then sees her first African American boy named Milo. Mrs. VanLiere threads a tale of small town life, tragedy, hate, love, and change that quilts the human heart into a beautiful story. One of the most touching scenes in the story is between Addy and Fran. Addy tells Fran of a conversation that she had with her mother at the age of twelve while picking cotton. I said, mama, I'm tired.' And she hollered out. "Of course you's tired. We's all tired." But you ain't got no choice. You didn't pick this race.you was chosen for it, and there ain't nobody said it was gonna be easy. They'll be times when you'll be hot and tired and nearly dead, and nobody will offer you a cup of cold water.but some will, and they'll offer just enough to keep you's runnin'. They won't be a lot of peoples along the way, but they' ll be some and Yo Mama will always be one of them.'" How true Mrs. VanLiere, we each carry that cup of water and the choice of what we do with it. In Romans 12: 4-8 it states, "For as in one body we have many members. And not all the members have the same function so we, who are many, are one body in Christ, and individually we are members one of another." Paul's concept of how we should live and work together is clearly exemplified in this story as Fran adopts Milo and just when Fran is tired, struggling, and lost, a small host of characters from Morgan Hill appear to offer that needed cup of water. Milo must make a choice: if he should live with his own kind or live with a white family. The choice that Henry made long ago to leave or stay at Morgan Hill and that special spot on Widow's Mountain where lives are changed and life is reexamined. The choice of each town member of Morgan Hill as the school year began with a colored child. Then the change in Aunt Dora ties and creates the binding of the quilt of Morgan Hill the outer binding that Mrs. VanLiere frames the story with.
    I must admit, I finished this book in less than two days and with many boxes of tissues. Mrs. VanLiere has an amazing gift much like Paul. God gave him the ability to share effectively the gospel of Christ. Mrs. VanLiere is not an apostle or even an evangelist but God has blessed her with opportunity to write stories of the heart and of the soul. Stories that contain themes of human choice are ever so present. No matter what you look like, your faith or where you come from we each have a tiny part in this world of life. Maybe that is why her books are so compelling, natural and loving. I cannot state in words how highly I recommend this book but I do know that lives can be blessed and touched with a simple book and when an author shares a little bit of their passion and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Read The Angels of Morgan Hill

    This book is really touching. The action makes you shiver and makes you put another price on life, on the meaning of being a mom, a person, a soul...Read it and you'll step into another world, a world that can impress you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    Not a Favorite

    Very predictable story - glad it was a short audio book. Not one of my favorites, but nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Such a nice read!

    This book was wonderful to read. Good story line, strong characters, and a lesson to be learned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Touching Story

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book; my first for this author. The story was well told and held my attention to the end. It is not terribly long, so it was a great, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Identifying the Angels Around You

    I picked up this book because of the word Angels in the title, knowing nothing about the author or her other works. After the opening paragraph, however, I was hooked.

    Set in Tennessee during the 1950s, Jane Gable (the 9-year old narrator) tells the story of the day her daddy was buried and how she and her younger brother saw their first black family. Through humorous anecdotes of life in the South, we learn of the contempt of some for the 'colored' sharecroppers and how far these folks would go to get rid of them. When Milo (the young black child) loses his family in a fire, it is Jane's pregnant mother who takes him in as she tries to keep a deathbed promise to Milo's mother. Through trials and tribulation, Jane's mother stands firm in her resolve but it is Jane herself that pushes the town to action when she refuses to attend school because Milo isn't allowed into an all-white school. What happens after that is purely heartwrenching and heartwarming at the same time.

    A captivating read that will have some reaching for the tissue box. This work deserves four and a half stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2