Customer Reviews for

Anger: Wisdom for Cooling the Flames

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    Excellent book to learn how to quit the anger habit

    First of all, this is not so much a Buddhist book as a Psychology book. Yes, it incorporates the Buddhist meditations (which are really EASY to do if you can breathe and pay attention to your breath then you can do it!), and it teaches some basic Buddhist concepts like compassion. But it's really not all that 'Buddhist' In any case, practicing Buddhist meditation does not interfere in any way with your being a Christian or Catholic or Jew. The Dalai Lama has said that he encourages people to stay with their own faith, not convert to Buddhism. Just use Buddhist techniques which work, like watching your breath. This book is a very easy to read, anyone can understand Hanh's simple instructions on how to deal with anger. The old school way of dealing with anger was to express it by punching a pillow or something. Buddha said 2500 ago that this is not the right way to deal with anger, and now modern Psychology has caught up to him and agrees that this is not the best way to deal with anger. Rather, it is best you learn to pay attention to your anger, but not express it. Use the breathing meditation, communicate lovingly with those your anger causes suffering, and work with your loved ones on learning to not express your anger. Mostly, meditate by watching your breath and almost like magic, the anger will begin to subside. Evidence suggests that this can and does work, as anger is a habit that you can break, and one way of breaking it is to just refuse to act on it. Hanh says, it is like a seed that you have to learn not to water. The more you refuse to 'water' it, but rather just observe it and pay attention to it with 'mindfulness', the more it will dissipate. I have had anger issues for years, and although I have only just read the book, so it has not yet had time to 'work', I already feel that I am making progress with just a few meditations, just in making the effort to not express my anger every time it pops up. I am very hopeful that this is working.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    This book changed my life

    This book helped me to let go of my anger and to understand that those who have hurt me were most likely suffering themselves. Thay teaches us how to take care of ourselves when we are angry and how to communicate when we are not at our best. I learned that compassion is the antidote to anger. Written in simple easy to understand prose, Thay's teachings are easy to understand. This book may be just what you need. It has truly changed my life...for the better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    This is a not to miss book

    This book, if you are open to changing your angry ways, is a gift you give yourself. When I read this book it was hitting every nerve. I was schocked, ecstatic as well as emotional. I knew right away this was the book for me and I was right. Breathe, think and live peacefully. Yeah!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Filled With Useful Information

    Mindfulness practice is a path in which every step is a step of compassionate engagement with every aspect of your experience, whether walking, talking with a friend or working with the suffering and anguish that exists in our minds. Anger is one of the most destructive of the emotions, yet it carries a great deal of life energy that can transform into passion and compassion when surrounded with mindfulness. Thich Nhat Hanh teaches us how to smile at every encounter with reality.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain or the past in general, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is available here on BN.com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The power of mindfulness

    Thich Nhat Hanh is one of the great teachers on mindfulness, and particularly on the compassionate aspect of mindfulness, which has such a powerful healing effect when directed towards painful emotions, including anger. Well worth exploring the many writings and CDs from this master.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!!!

    I have enjoyed many books by Thich Nhat Hanh, and this is no exception. His insight into every-day situations is amazing, and he gives you the tools to deal with these situations calmly, quietly. This not only helps you get through your stressful day better, but your calm attitude defuses those around you. It's truly a domino effect!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    I recommend this book for those with explicit anger issues...

    Sometime ago I read 'Anger: Wisdom for Cooling the Flames' (227 pp) by Thich Nhat Hanh. The author being buddist, treated me to a book that I read in a matter of hours. One of the major points that I extracted from the book was that all of those within a family unit are all part of 'one'. If we hurt part of the 'one', all of the 'one' has been hurt. And before the author got to the chapter on writing a 'heart' letter, I had written my wife an apologetic letter for problems we have incurred over the past year and a half. This book was exactly what I needed at that point in time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    This is a wonderful book

    It is a wonderful book. It helped me to understand anger and showed me the way to forgive my brother. I had been angry with my brother and was on fire for about two weeks. This book needs to be read mindfully. To be effectively understand, try to concentrate on breathing often while reading it. Reading first 20-30 pages and trying as it says can make you forgive the one you love and love him/her as before or evern more. I really appreciate author for wirting such a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Fang

    She flashed to rebeca. Jack run!!! She flashed again to fang. She easily slitherd around him and darted to snow result two.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    84th Hunger games

    Rocks result 1-3

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I 'll be your master

    Can you choose the book?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    To Slave

    Passion fifth res im les

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Lunar to ashley

    Hands her fifty ones

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Stupid people

    Doing s*x on a book about meditation and mindfulness

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    James picks......

    39 clues res 2

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Rosie

    Any guy wanna f.uq later?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Mia to levi

    Hey i show my fangs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Greg

    Doesnt move

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Insightful and amazing.

    This book is changing my life. It all seems to make sense. His writing is simplistic and understandable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2