Customer Reviews for

Angle of Investigation: Three Harry Bosch Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 411 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed the short stories!

Wish I knew how many pages it was before I ordered it!

posted by 5780128 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I love the Harry Bosch books but this one was a disappointment. It reads like a Sherlock Holmes case, which I don't mind, but the best part of the Bosch stories is that he takes you on the journey of how he solved the crimes. I expected that they wouldn't be too indept...
I love the Harry Bosch books but this one was a disappointment. It reads like a Sherlock Holmes case, which I don't mind, but the best part of the Bosch stories is that he takes you on the journey of how he solved the crimes. I expected that they wouldn't be too indepth but was hoping in exchange I would get some good background info on Harry, making me understand his character more. Really it is just 3 small stories and 30 pages of an upcoming book. I would rather have had another 2 stories and no excerpt since I'm sure I will buy the book anyway.

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Disappointing!

    I love the Harry Bosch books but this one was a disappointment. It reads like a Sherlock Holmes case, which I don't mind, but the best part of the Bosch stories is that he takes you on the journey of how he solved the crimes. I expected that they wouldn't be too indepth but was hoping in exchange I would get some good background info on Harry, making me understand his character more. Really it is just 3 small stories and 30 pages of an upcoming book. I would rather have had another 2 stories and no excerpt since I'm sure I will buy the book anyway.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Disappointing......

    These three stories were short and predictable, and the longest section previewed "The Drop", same as in "Suicide Run". Nothing more than a revenue generator....

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Three short stories,not really!

    These are taken from other books, I already purchased over the years! I so love Michael C. but this was a ripoff!

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Enjoyed the short stories!

    Wish I knew how many pages it was before I ordered it!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Love the guy, but...

    I am a huge Connelly fan and have scarfed down almost all of his books within the last year. This was sort of pointless, though. It's like some suit convinced him to throw something together to make a few extra bucks.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Ripoff!

    Typically well written Connely stories, but in condensed "Readers Digest" fashion. Fifty plus pages for three stories, and twenty plus more pages of a part of another Connelly book that they want to entice you to buy. What a ripoff!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait

    Michael Connelly is a fantastic writer. I can't wait to read more of his work!

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Three VERY SHORT stories...

    The description on this book (along with the large file size) leads you to believe you are getting a full-length novel, albeit consisting of 3 stories. Not so. The stories are only 50 pages in length total, with the remaining 30 pages being an excerpt from a different book.

    The writing style is ok, probably containing the least grammatical and spelling errors of many of the ebooks I've read, but that doesn't make up for not getting what a person is lead to believe they are getting.

    Also, the "whodunit" factor is very low - you could see the ending coming a mile away on all three. Well, maybe 1/4 mile away since they were all so short.

    Worst of all, the second story is a direct plot rip-off from an episode of CSI that aired back when the tv series first started. Did the writer think that people who watch tv don't also read books and so he could get away with using the same storyline himself?

    All in all, very disappointing. I won't be bothering with any more of this author's books.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Waste of money

    Very weak, Michael!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    OKAY

    Michael Connelly is a great writer but I would not purchase another of his
    books of short stores. Each story could be used as a perfect example for the definition of the word "vignette." Much tooooo short.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    A quick and easy read

    A collection of a few short stories. Don't order if it is your first introduction to Harry Bosch. If you are already familiar with him, you may like it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Rip Off

    I'll say the same thing I said about Suicide Run, spend your money someplace else. Shame on Connelly for ripping people off like this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Easy reading

    I enjoyed the book, but was very disappointed that the third "story" was nothing more than a teaser of his newly released book. Didn't think I got my money's worth with only about 75 pages of stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Disappointing -- I was looking for earlier complete books

    Didn't know these were short stories. Thought it was a compilation of earlier books. I did like the preview of the latest book, although I do not enjoy previews. I'd rather read a whole book and decide whether or not it was any good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    A treat for Harry Bosch fans.

    Three good Harry Bosch stories, Any Bosch fan will enjoy them.


    My only problem was by preodering them they were put into Athcived Books when they were available. No one notified us that they would be there.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Limited reading

    Not recommended...good for a quick read only.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Wast of time

    Would not recomend, too short to follow the plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Sort of very good

    Connelly's Bosch character is always well written and interesting. The problem with this book is that it isn't three stories as indicated. It's two stories and a multi-page preview of one of his novels. I'd rate the two stories as four star, it's the substitution of paid advertising in place of a third stories that ruins it for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Recommended for someone interested in short crime novels

    These three short stories that focus on the uncanny reasoning skills and unorthodox methods of detective Harry Bosch give the reader only a glimpse into the world of a homicide cop. For a reader who does not have the time to focus on a book-length investigation by Bosch, these stories could provide enough material to arouse their curiosity. For the reader who knows Bosch from previous Connelly books, these stories do not provide the depth of character development to satisfy them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Enjoyable - but not as enjoyable as a Connelly novel

    The headline says it all. Upon finishing each of the short stories there was a feeling of disappointment that that is all there is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 411 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21