Customer Reviews for

Angle of Investigation: Three Harry Bosch Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed the short stories!

Wish I knew how many pages it was before I ordered it!

posted by 5780128 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I love the Harry Bosch books but this one was a disappointment. It reads like a Sherlock Holmes case, which I don't mind, but the best part of the Bosch stories is that he takes you on the journey of how he solved the crimes. I expected that they wouldn't be too indept...
I love the Harry Bosch books but this one was a disappointment. It reads like a Sherlock Holmes case, which I don't mind, but the best part of the Bosch stories is that he takes you on the journey of how he solved the crimes. I expected that they wouldn't be too indepth but was hoping in exchange I would get some good background info on Harry, making me understand his character more. Really it is just 3 small stories and 30 pages of an upcoming book. I would rather have had another 2 stories and no excerpt since I'm sure I will buy the book anyway.

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Ripoff!

    Typically well written Connely stories, but in condensed "Readers Digest" fashion. Fifty plus pages for three stories, and twenty plus more pages of a part of another Connelly book that they want to entice you to buy. What a ripoff!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Easy reading

    I enjoyed the book, but was very disappointed that the third "story" was nothing more than a teaser of his newly released book. Didn't think I got my money's worth with only about 75 pages of stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Enjoyable - but not as enjoyable as a Connelly novel

    The headline says it all. Upon finishing each of the short stories there was a feeling of disappointment that that is all there is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    Predictable

    Too short. No development.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Enjoyed the book

    Enjoyed the book, read other books of this authors and enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Yes and No

    While anything with Harry Bosch in it is a must for fans, Michael has proven here that he skipped the 'short story' days of his creative writing classes. These are thoughts that couldn't be developed into captivating stories and should have been left as side stories tucked in a novel sized regular case. As other reviewers noted, the addition of chapters from "The Drop" are either a publishers requirement or an indication that these folks don't understand their market. Harry Bosch/Mickey Haller fans have already purchased or will purchase the book without a literary trailer, and certainly one of this size is a joke. It probably risks ticking off existing fans more than it might capture a few new ones. I don't think anyone picked up ''Angle of Investigation" by accident.

    But.....because it is Harry, we will read anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Quick read. Great for waiting at Dr. offices and for appointments

    The stories got right to it. They are quick and and easy read. I enjoyed them tremendously but only wish they were longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Interesting stories

    Nice stories,but I enjoy a longer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I think A good read

    I thought the order of the stories were very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    very entertaining short stories

    recommended for easy reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Ridd fje fark fytr Ride tjr fRl Rixd tje frk tgai.


    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Enjoyable-Keeps Interest

    The short stories ke0pt my interest and enjoyed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Entertaining

    An entertaining 3 short stories for a quick read when your time is limited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    A great sample of Michael Connelly's writing style

    Just enough in each story to entice and make you want more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    don't expect a lot.

    The trio of stories was interesting but rather abbreviated. I didn't get any of the "can't put it down" feeling which I usually enjoy with Connelly's full length stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Highly recommend

    This is the kind of book(s) I need during this crazy time of year. I need short stories or short books that I can finish and lay down for a while rather than wanting to read it for days on end. Otherwise, Holiday preparations may not be finished! Of course I am a Harry Bosch & Michael Connelly fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    nice

    nice book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5