Customer Reviews for

Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jess @ Starcrossed

    Every single time I read this book it makes me wish that I had a book club of my own, the type of book club that brings friends in who quickly become like sisters. This book picks you up and drops you off right in the middle of Freesia Court Minniapolis, a nieghborhood where five women are drawn together by their love of reading.
    It begins during a time when our Nation was going through monumental changes, starting in 1968 it takes you through each controversal issue that comes up in the world and takes you through 30 years of book club meeting's and the five women's lives, until 1998.

    This book touches topics on just about every controversal issue I can think of, but it makes you feel as if you are right there holding the hands of each of the women as they face it and over come it all. You are there as they give birth to their children and you watch as their live evolves and their children fly the nest so to speak. It really hits home that just because a person has a smile on their face doesn't mean that every thing is rainbow's and unicorns in their world.

    I like how the book, included the title of the book they chose to read for their meeting, why it was chosen and who chose it, aswell as the date. It felt as if for one brief moment in time I was participating in their book club as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    recommended!

    LOVED this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Excellent read

    I can relate to the time periods and to the women in this story. Loved the book. Highly recommend to all 60+ year old women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Loved it so much, I had to read all of her books

    Read all of Lorna's books due to this one. But I would say this one by far is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    love this book

    this was the first book by Lorna Landvik I read and it is for me, the definition of chick lit. Read this book and you will have to let the housework and kiddies wait until you are finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Hilarious!

    This book is really good and a fun read. The story takes place on a suburban neighborhood street. Friends are made and a book club is formed. The book club becomes a life line for Faith, a lonely mother of twins. Audry is the sex queen, Merit is the abused one, Kari whose husband died and Slip the tiny, spitfire, redhead. You really learn who these women are and you fall in love with them in their own way. You really begin to relate to these women. This book is sooo funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Angry Housewives

    I loved all the characters. When they were in pain...I was in pain along with them. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a touching story of friendship and the obstacles that life throws at you. At the end of the day we all need our friends to keep us sane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deliciously good!

    This was such an easy, entertaining, and funny book to read. The characters are all so different yet share so much in common. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Favorite Book

    This is my favorite book because when I finished the book I missed the characters as if I had lost friends. I buy the book for gifts all the time and everyone who receives it has the same reaction. It is a simply relaxing book with great humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I truly enjoyed every moment of this book.

    This was a selection for our book club. I was turned of by the title, but once I started reading I could not wait for the next time I could pick up this book and escape to Freesia Court for a bit.

    Great characters and topics. Loved the way the chapters were introduced as book club selections.

    This book made feel. Call me silly,- I actually admit to laughing outloud at least 5 or 6 times and crying twice over this book.

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a fan of Lorna Landvik

    This is a book about women of different ages, backgrounds and values who have become members of a neighborhood book club. My book club loved it because we are also women of different ages, backgrounds and values. We all work now or have worked in the same school district. Our members are as young as 30 and older than 60. This book gave us the opportunity to discuss women's concerns at the various stages of life and the various elements of keeping or sharing family secrets.
    Another fringe benefit is the accurate yet fictional details about southern Minneapolis around Minnehaha Falls. Several of us have spent happy days in our youth there and enjoy the sights and sounds infused in this book and several of Landvik's other volumes. This is an easy read.
    The writing is quite conversational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    I loved it

    This is truly one of my favorite books. I enjoyed the way the story was told through the book club meetings. We got to know each of the characters as they got to know each other. If you have ever lived in a closeknit neighborhood or street for a few years, you will understand how the friendships develop. I also loved how each of the women was in a different stage of her life when the story began and how the book chronicled their trials and tribulations over 30 years. It made me laugh and cry. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Cliche, Predictable & Trite

    Poorly developed characters are thrown together with a 'book club' tacked on I could not relate to any of the persons in this book, male or female. Sappy names like Merit, Slip and Faith-all on the same street- and a host of stereotypical situations insulted my intelligence as a reader. The flashbacks are even worse than the present. I found myself not caring about the characters, and didn't care for how men were portrayed. Personal interaction seemed superficial. Try the Jane Austen Book Club instead. It was much more successful in tackleing the easy plane ride/beach read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    three cheers for friendship

    Although it took me a while to 'get into' this book, I'm so glad I perservered. Anyone who has decades long friendships knows that it doesn't take earth shattering experiences to make a good story. The simplicity of this book made it very enjoyable. Hats off to Lorna Landvik!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Screenwriter who loved it

    I read this book several years ago, but it remains in my top five. I thought the characters were very well-developed. I cheered for them, laughed with them, and cried at times, through the entire book. It takes awhile to get into it, but you'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Friendship Welcome

    This book was recommended by a friend. It was good, but circumstances too typical for me. I gave it a chance and read the whole thing but kept wondering when the book would end. This was not a book for me. I did enjoy how their friendship held out over time, also liked the idea of a regular book club, and the title was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Great book

    Unlike the last reader, I thoroughly enjoyed this book about the bonds of friendship between women even as the decades fly by. You'll meet characters you can bond with yourself and you'll share in their joys and some sorrows. Much recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Angry Reader Reading Trash

    I really loathed this book. I could guess every plot point coming 'round the bend and I thought the characters were cardboard. I wasn't interested in a single one of them. And the author had an annoying habit of having one of the characters say 'holy...' when something surprised her. And I thought the feminism outlook in the book was dated - especially in the chapters relating to the '90s. Also, I didn't get the point of the book club. Outside of the title the book was rarely mentioned. I get it, I get it, the idea of the book club was for its members to get together and bond and talk about the book in passing, but it was a weak device. So was Faith's surprise at the end of the book - read pasted-on to me and really pathetic. Whatever crises they had lasted about a page and then everything was rosy again. This is not usually my type of book - must have bought it in a weak moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Fantastic!

    The author does a great job of pullling you into all her characters. I hated seeing this book end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Excellent Insight!

    My high school book club read this selection last year...and although we are all younger than 18, we all truly enjoyed it. Wonderfully humorous and insightful, it allowed us to learn about the strength of friendship and the general lives of powerful women. It's fabulous, and I think that the author accurately portrayed an ecletic spectrum of interesting personalities. A light novel, its perfect for the beach or just when you need to dissapear into someone else's daily adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10