Customer Reviews for

Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    A lovely and realistic story about a group of friends over the c

    A lovely and realistic story about a group of friends over the course of 30 years. I felt, with each  page, I grew with the characters. To be honest, the changing perspectives (mid chapter in many cases) was a bit jarring, but, upon reflection, it was like many people telling the same story. Of course, someone's going to jump in the middle and carry on her (or his) piece of it in the individual perspective.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Fw

    Vloimfxo.!:/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Book Club Hit

    My book club read "Angry Wive". We all enjoyed it immensely! The characters were so real that we identified with them. It was really interesting to follow a friendship over decades. We should be so lucky to be together that long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Friendship Welcome

    This book was recommended by a friend. It was good, but circumstances too typical for me. I gave it a chance and read the whole thing but kept wondering when the book would end. This was not a book for me. I did enjoy how their friendship held out over time, also liked the idea of a regular book club, and the title was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    A very light read

    I was truely expecting a better read. It wasn't until I was almost a third through the book that I started caring for the characters. It seemed as if the truely important or hardest parts of their lives were relagated to the background. The chapter titles with what books they read and why was more of a cute device then actually having any relavance. It was entertaining but without much depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Too Perfect!

    3 stars only because I found some of the writing very good. I enjoyed the book selections that headed each chapter. I found it confusing to keep up with who is who and married to which husband because they all take turns narrating... The bad news is that this book is way too fluffy! I don't think my mother would have related to any of these housewives. I kept thinking....hmmmm, Stepford Wives. Didn't anyone have money problems back then??? If so, that was left out completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    Landvik could do better

    This book was rather trite and predictable in its approach to its four main characters. Some of the situations and discourses ring false but none more so than Landvik¿s approach to marriage and motherhood. Everyone, except for one character¿s alcoholic mama, express a devotion to home and hearth that makes you wonder what¿s in it for Landvik to keep to the party line so closely. Surely, one of these educated, middle-class women found the repressiveness of being a wife and mother living in the suburbs a stultifying burden. One character, after many years of wanting a child, is given a newborn at the age of 40 and nary a word of astonishment at the amount of work, noise or sacrifice that taking care of a baby entails. Astounding! It was this complete Betty Crocker/Martha Stewart blindness that made it difficult to fully engage with the protagonists. Also, the characters were so completely what one would expect that it became boring. Naturally, the tiny spitfire with the body of a boy is a feminist, and the bombshell is the man-crazy exhibitionist. How could it be otherwise? Landvik cops out by these stereotypical roles. Of course, the tiny one¿s a feminist, she¿s just upset that men don¿t lust after her. And the bombshell has to be a borderline nymphomaniac because women who look like that are always dying for It. Right? Obviously Landvik felt a more just portrayal would be too threatening to the status quo. Surprisingly, Landvik has some genuine insights into rage and resentment but these are all too few and clumsily handled. A full-throttled explosion of rage at her abusive, negligent mother who managed to destroy both her childhood and adolescence would have been far more effective from Faith than the tedious, sappy letters throughout the book and then the insipid confession in the end. Honestly, you felt like shaking Faith and saying, ¿Grow a backbone and tell it like it really is. Sometimes mothers don¿t love their children and vice versa. End of story.¿ This book was a little too Hallmark, after-school special for my tastes, and I believe, for the twenty-first century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Cute but predictable

    A nice read, but very predictable. In the beginning I had a hard time telling the characters apart and could not figure out why in each chapter no matter who was hosting the book club why Faith always wrote to her mother even thoug the rest of the chapter was written in first person by another character. Enjoyable, fast read, chick lit. I am going to look into some of their book selections that I am not familair with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Good, but not Great.

    A very good read; the author does really well in overall character development ¿ I had fun with these characters. The story covers three decades of the lives of neighborhood women, their children, and their reading group. I would have enjoyed the book more had the author delved a bit deeper into the book choices each month, as she did in some chapters. I couldn¿t help feeling as though I was re-reading ¿Ya Ya Sisterhood¿ with a reading group thrown in for good measure. As a side note, I enjoyed this book more after discussing it with my reading group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2