Customer Reviews for

Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Wonderful

    Great bookclub read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Great

    Loved the characters and would love to have a book club like this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wide variety of characters bring the story to life!

    This is the story of five women who form a book club, following the women over decades of friendship.

    This story is character-driven, with full, well-fleshed out characters. But that is not to say that the plot plays second-fiddle. This story is equally plot and character driven, and it covers the gamut. Childhood heartbreak, unhappy marriages, domestic abuse, substance abuse, the horrors of war, the pain and joys of parenthood. It has it all.

    My final word: I enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the writing, and some of the stories the characters would tell. It had both serious moments and humorous moments, allowing you to watch the development of the character's lives over decades. I would recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended- A Must Read

    Follow the lives of 5 complicated women. The normal lives they lead are not what they would first appear. Watch them grow and develop into the individuals they become. See a little of yourself in one or more of them. You won't regret reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jess @ Starcrossed

    Every single time I read this book it makes me wish that I had a book club of my own, the type of book club that brings friends in who quickly become like sisters. This book picks you up and drops you off right in the middle of Freesia Court Minniapolis, a nieghborhood where five women are drawn together by their love of reading.
    It begins during a time when our Nation was going through monumental changes, starting in 1968 it takes you through each controversal issue that comes up in the world and takes you through 30 years of book club meeting's and the five women's lives, until 1998.

    This book touches topics on just about every controversal issue I can think of, but it makes you feel as if you are right there holding the hands of each of the women as they face it and over come it all. You are there as they give birth to their children and you watch as their live evolves and their children fly the nest so to speak. It really hits home that just because a person has a smile on their face doesn't mean that every thing is rainbow's and unicorns in their world.

    I like how the book, included the title of the book they chose to read for their meeting, why it was chosen and who chose it, aswell as the date. It felt as if for one brief moment in time I was participating in their book club as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Excellent read

    I can relate to the time periods and to the women in this story. Loved the book. Highly recommend to all 60+ year old women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Hilarious!

    This book is really good and a fun read. The story takes place on a suburban neighborhood street. Friends are made and a book club is formed. The book club becomes a life line for Faith, a lonely mother of twins. Audry is the sex queen, Merit is the abused one, Kari whose husband died and Slip the tiny, spitfire, redhead. You really learn who these women are and you fall in love with them in their own way. You really begin to relate to these women. This book is sooo funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Angry Housewives

    I loved all the characters. When they were in pain...I was in pain along with them. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a touching story of friendship and the obstacles that life throws at you. At the end of the day we all need our friends to keep us sane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    three cheers for friendship

    Although it took me a while to 'get into' this book, I'm so glad I perservered. Anyone who has decades long friendships knows that it doesn't take earth shattering experiences to make a good story. The simplicity of this book made it very enjoyable. Hats off to Lorna Landvik!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Excellent Insight!

    My high school book club read this selection last year...and although we are all younger than 18, we all truly enjoyed it. Wonderfully humorous and insightful, it allowed us to learn about the strength of friendship and the general lives of powerful women. It's fabulous, and I think that the author accurately portrayed an ecletic spectrum of interesting personalities. A light novel, its perfect for the beach or just when you need to dissapear into someone else's daily adventures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Fabulous, Fun Read!

    My best friend and I read this book last spring and we both loved it! In fact, I've since recommended it to every woman I know! This story about friendship, family, growing up and growing old is one of the best novels of its kind out there. The book club format is excellent and, as a bonus, provides for further reading suggestions. As a whole, this novel is hilarious and tender, both amusing and heartbreaking. It is among those books that you won't be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    A great bathtime read !

    I wasnt sure I'd like this book...but I did. It was enjoyable......a circle of friends brought together by books and great food.....over the span of several decades they learn to trust each other and open up ..... learn/share secrets. They pass on the tradition to their children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    Serious but Right On

    A touching look at the plight of middle-aged women. The characters are recognizable--your dear friends -- and you can easily sympathize with what they go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    A New Fan!

    Lorna is a writer who keeps the fictional world turning. I was amazed by her smooth storytelling. All housewives and stay-at-home moms need this in their stocking this Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Great read! Thought provoking!

    Our book club read this for one of our monthly discussions. This book covers a wide range of personalities and also deals with issues that we may face in our own lives: death, spousal abuse, adoption, activist, shattered dreams, etc. This book can make you laugh and in the next chapter you might cry! Great book for book clubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2004

    It was great!!!! Couldn't put it down.

    I enjoyed reading about these women. The author made you care what was going to happen to them. They became friends. The writing was excellent!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    good chick lit

    If you're looking for a nice beach read, this is a good selection. Five women in a book club learn a lot about themselves and each other over several decades. There are some predictable events, but all in all, the book lives up to its promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    Book club selection

    I really enjoyed this book. My book club chose it as a monthly selection and we weren't disappointed. Even if you're not in a book club, join this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Watch out Ya Ya Sisterhood

    I thought I wantd to be a Ya Ya but they didn't read the great books that these Angry Housewives read. It's a fun book to share with a girlfriend. A fun read for book groups!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    WONDERFUL BOOK

    I've read most of her books and this one is her best. It spans 30 years in the lives of 5 women and their families and they form a book club on their street, hence the name. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3