Customer Reviews for

Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging By:Louise Rennison

Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging is the diary of 14 year old Georgia Nicolson and her adventures throughout a full year. You are introduced to her younger sister Libby, wild cat Angus, best friend Jes, first boyfriend the professional snogger, and her one true l...
Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging is the diary of 14 year old Georgia Nicolson and her adventures throughout a full year. You are introduced to her younger sister Libby, wild cat Angus, best friend Jes, first boyfriend the professional snogger, and her one true love Robbie. Before school starts Georgia begins experimenting with makeup and decides that her eyebrows are the problem. She shaves her eyebrows off. These are the kind of problems deals with all year. Life is hard enough without eyebrows but after they grow back the boy problems start.
When I started reading this book I noticed that I would be flipping page after page and not even thinking about it. Before I knew it the book was over. I made the mistake of starting the book during 3rd period English which would have been fine but I couldn't put it down until lunch. I guess I will never know what happened during History and French on that day. Not only was Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging easy to read it was extemely enjoyable. I would be reading during class or during rehersal and literally laugh out loud. Angus was one of those character that made me laugh. Can you imagine a wild cat that is bigger than a poodle and who loves to frighten the neighbor's dog?
The writing style of Louise Rennison is witty and conversational. When I was reading this book I would actually be reading it in my head in a british accent. I think everyone can relate to Georgia. This book isn't a fairy tale made up of unbelieveable plots and happily ever after. Georgia is real, she often says how much she hates her life and I don't know a teenager who doesn't think that every other week. When reading this book I would think to myself I know how that feels. I truely believe that most teenage girls can find a new favorite book in Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging.

posted by 611292 on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

did not live up to the hype

I had heard from so many people that this book was absolutely hilariously, but I did not find it to be that funny.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 435 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging By:Louise Rennison

    Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging is the diary of 14 year old Georgia Nicolson and her adventures throughout a full year. You are introduced to her younger sister Libby, wild cat Angus, best friend Jes, first boyfriend the professional snogger, and her one true love Robbie. Before school starts Georgia begins experimenting with makeup and decides that her eyebrows are the problem. She shaves her eyebrows off. These are the kind of problems deals with all year. Life is hard enough without eyebrows but after they grow back the boy problems start. <BR/> When I started reading this book I noticed that I would be flipping page after page and not even thinking about it. Before I knew it the book was over. I made the mistake of starting the book during 3rd period English which would have been fine but I couldn't put it down until lunch. I guess I will never know what happened during History and French on that day. Not only was Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging easy to read it was extemely enjoyable. I would be reading during class or during rehersal and literally laugh out loud. Angus was one of those character that made me laugh. Can you imagine a wild cat that is bigger than a poodle and who loves to frighten the neighbor's dog?<BR/> The writing style of Louise Rennison is witty and conversational. When I was reading this book I would actually be reading it in my head in a british accent. I think everyone can relate to Georgia. This book isn't a fairy tale made up of unbelieveable plots and happily ever after. Georgia is real, she often says how much she hates her life and I don't know a teenager who doesn't think that every other week. When reading this book I would think to myself I know how that feels. I truely believe that most teenage girls can find a new favorite book in Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    Hilarious

    I never believe when somone says that a book is a laugh out loud book, but this one really was. I had to make sure I read it only in certain places because I was laughing out loud. I'm in my early 20's and I can't put it down. I remember all those awkward situations. this book is one of the funniest things I have ever read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fabbity Fab Fab Novel That Keeps The Giggles Coming

    Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging, Louise Rennison's laugh out loud novel, follows the ups and downs of a British teen's experience growing up through her every day journal entries. Like most of us, Georgia has a goal. And that goal is to meet the man of her dreams and live to be fabbity fab fab. Too bad nothing can be fabulous in Georgia's life.

    To start off, she is missing her eyebrows thanks to a shaving accident. And that only accentuates her much too large nose. And she cannot manage to have a large nose because she has to impress her crush The Sex God and steal him away from his wet girlfriend. And to top things off she has to live with a cat the size of a Labrador, the Olds (A.K.A her parents) and her little sister who is far from the average kindergartener. Georgia's life is not hard. It's pure entertainment.

    Teenage girls will die laughing over Georiga's tell all diary, whether it be she is whining about her miserable love life or the fact that her best friend thinks she looks like an alien. No matter what something is happening to Georgia. Ninety percent of the time it is not pleasant.

    Unlike most teen books, which center on friendship and all the great things about growing up, Louise Rennison writes to make readers laugh. And the miserably embarrassing parts of high school are always the funniest; at least to other people. That's why Rennision decided to write Georgia's life based off her own teen experiences. In fact, most of the bizarre characters and happenings in the novel aren't one hundred percent fictional.

    Though Rennison does a great job depicting teenage woes, actual plot and morals get lost in the humor and randomness. The only thing the reader learns by the end of the book that there was really no story to tell besides the fact that Georgia is hilariously funny.

    That's what makes this novel the perfect relaxed read for girls. There aren't any big or fancy words and the closest thing to thinking required is deciphering some of the British slang terms that come up here and there. And best of all, Rennison was sure to leave out any adult sounding preaching.

    Rennison's writing is true to life, the good parts and the bad ones. She never condones teen girls making out or smoking cigarettes. Rather, she finds the humor in it and gives the reader a glimpse of how silly teenage worries and "struggles" really can be.

    All in all, Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging is a fun read for teen girls over the age of fourteen. Sexual themes are present in the book and its best if younger readers ages 12-14 wait to read this novel.

    --Dani

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Kissing)

    First read when I was a pre-teen. Hilarious!!! Now that I have picked them back up again, it's better then the first time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    did not live up to the hype

    I had heard from so many people that this book was absolutely hilariously, but I did not find it to be that funny.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Cute and funny book for a young teen.

    This is a light, comic read about a young 14-year-old who spends her days goofing off with her friends, complaining about her parents and pining away for an older boy. Pretty much the life of all teenage girls. The British glossary at the back of the book was pretty entertaining.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    It's boy stalking time!

    Do you sneak around spying on boys? Is you family weird and does you sister think she is a cat? If so this book is great for you. As you do crazy things with Georgia Nichols and her group of crazy friends they will do anything to get a boyfriend. Georgia is just an ordinary girl that goes to an all girls academy with her best buds. Georgia Nichols is in love with a new guy that just moved to her hometown and his name is Robbie. When Georgia finds out he is dating her worst enemy wet Lindsay, she has to do something to make him like her. Georgia lives with her mom and dad and her little sister Libby. Libby she is an annoying little girl and she acts like a cat and follows there cat Angus around and does everything he does. Angus there cat always traps mister and misses next door in there house because he is a breed between American and Scottish he is a big cat and everyone is afraid of him. This book is indeed the best book I have read recently. You should definitely read this book if it falls under your category. If you're a girl you probably will not regret reading this book, but if you're a guy you should not even pick this book up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME

    When reading this book i have literally found myself laughing out loud. I definitely recommend this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    Funny

    The novel I read is called Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging, Louise Rennison wrote this book. It is about a girl named Georgia Nicolson, she is a very funny and kind of awkward person. In this book she is growing up, learning about boys and is starting to kiss (snog) boys.
    Georgia has a best friend named Jass, she has a crush on the same boy Georgia does because he asks her to get coffee. They have some best friend problems. Georgia has a 3 year old sister named Libby, a mom and a dad, also she has a cat (Angus) who thinks it's a dog.
    I personally did not really care for this book, some parts were funny and other parts she acted childish. When her best friend had a crush on the boy Georgia liked, Georgia acted like it was the end of the world. She didn't solve the problem like the adult she wanted to be, she solved it by not talking to Jass. It was not the best book in the world. The ending was way better then I expected though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFULLLLLL

    THIS IS ONE OF THE GREATEST BOOKS EVER WRITEN. ITS NOT LIKE MOBY DICK OR ANYTHING, ITS JUST SPECIAL IN ITS OWN WAY. I WOULD RECOMEND READING THIS. IT IS YUMALISIOUS. YUM YUM. BURRRRP.

    -PEACE
    COMMIN FROM THE COOLKID-456

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I finished it in one day.

    This book was a fast read, but so horridly enjoyable I should have taken snap shots of my face while reading it!

    HILARIOUS.
    So random and realistic, it was fab fab fabbity fab with a side of totally marvy, and double, no, TRIPLELY cool with knobs. ^-^

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    very entertaining!

    I loved this book it gave me quite a few good laughs... The ones that follow it are also very funny

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Loved This Book!!!

    I just finished this book. It was laugh out loud funny. When I picked it up what I didn't realize was that it's author was British. The fact that she uses words that I had never even heard before made this even funnier. She even put a glossary in the back for us "American-type chums" so even though she was practically speaking a different language I could understand everything she said. It was SO good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Milk May Come Out of Your Nose....

    When I say, "Milk may come out of your nose"...I truly mean it.This book is so funny it is known to 'cause redness of face, loss of breathing,and in the most severe cases... falling out of your chair,rolling whilst clutching your side and laughing!! There were times where I,honest-to-goodness, could not breathe from laughing so hard, causing me to fall out of my chair.
    There were times where I just couldn't believe some of the things Georgia and her friends would do, but half the time I was to busy laughing to even care!
    Louise Rennison is amazing at creating humorous, and I'll be it awkward, situations that you can't help but wonder if Louise actaully has a first hand account. Whether you be fourteen or eighty if you love to laugh, and enjoy loving life then this is the book for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    i luved it

    It's like reading about someone¿s thoughts every ten minutes of their life I think it was cool because it was like reading someone¿s mind I think seeing her struggle and triumph I laughed so hard reading this book because it was really RANDOM and verrrrrrrrry realistic because it includes those weird questions that you sometimes think of some time like why is my friends head so round? Or why is the sky blue why can¿t it be purple? Another reason that I completely loved this book was because it was full of humor and drama. I felt like I could relate to Georgia Nicholson (the main character) when she does all of her stupid things and expestilly the things that se says The main plot of the story is that Georgia is just trying to fit in with the school that¿s she¿s in she¿s trying to make herself feel beautiful pretty and stuff for all the wrong reasons like to get a boy friend and things like that other things that she has a slight problem with is that she goes to an all-girl school which is a problem all in it¿s self but everything changes when she meets ¿¿¿.. Well she doesn¿t know his name yet The people that I think should read this book are people that are in for a great comical experience people that love other books by Louise rennison also people that should read this book are girls that are having trouble getting through certain things but any way overall this book was great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Worst book I've ever read

    It's like reading a printout of someone's thoughts every ten minutes of their life. But not funny thoughts (cause reading someone's mind could be awfully funny), but rather, complaint after complaint after negative complaint about how awful one's life is. I had to read this book for a class and struggled through every page. Try it if you wish, I know there are many others who enjoyed it... but as for me, I don't enjoy being around negative people in real life, and certainly wouldn't like reading a manuscript of their every thought. :-(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Is it really that good?

    I'm sorry if I am wrong, but PERSONALLY think that this book is a little bit sick. I thinkthat if this book is a video, it would be rated R/X

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    I'm sorry, is this supposed to be funny?

    Honestly I can't say I liked this book, but I can't say I hated it. I think Georgia goes a little overboard someimtes to the point where its cringe worthy. I have a feeling that I may be a little too old for this book because I dodn't really find it funny at all, I found it stupid. I had a problem all through out the book with how Georgia treats her friends and her parents. Actually I'm surprised she even has friends with the way she acts. Also, Libby bugs me. I have cousins that are her age and aren't at all like that, actually the majority of kids I've known at her age aren't like that. Her character to me is completely unrealistic. This book was like a bad romantic comedy. What was supposed to be funny was either way immature or just plain stupid. Honestly what do authors take us for? I've never met any one who lives Georgia's life, so I'm glad, because I think she's pathetic. I really hope this isn't your idea of how a girl's life really works, because then I'd have to say its a million miles off.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    So Stupid.

    The book itself was funny, but non- of the HAHAHAHAHAHA! And it's soooo steaoptypeal. Can't there some action desides snogging?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Absolutely aweful

    Worst plot, characters, and writing. I hated it so much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 435 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22