Customer Reviews for

Animal Dreams: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Books I Have Ever Read

I LOVE Animal Dreams. Beautiful language, imagery, and characters. The ending made me cry, which has only happened with my most favorite novels.

I disagree with other reviewers. I prefer Animal Dreams to the Bean Trees. I began to read the BT after AD, and couldn't ...
I LOVE Animal Dreams. Beautiful language, imagery, and characters. The ending made me cry, which has only happened with my most favorite novels.

I disagree with other reviewers. I prefer Animal Dreams to the Bean Trees. I began to read the BT after AD, and couldn't get into it nearly as much as Animal Dreams. I recommend this book to people often!

posted by katsie89 on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Animal Dreams

Good but not her best

posted by Teri_Laughs on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    An okay book

    It was okay...not as good as some of her others. She takes too many sidetracks and is too often on a tangent and you sit there and say to yourself "now where does this fit in the scene?" Then by the end she crams it all in like she got so tired in the other parts and tosses two years on a page, like its very rushed at the end. The main character is seriously damaged but then pulls her entire horrible life into perfect harmony in a blink of an eye. It just doesn't make it for me because of the quick draw magraw ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Animal Dreams

    Good but not her best

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    It's an alright book

    I love the story of Codi's life and about everything that has happened to her since moving back to Grace. It's a great love story where the character goes back to her first love. There are parts where it does get really boring but then it gets to the point where i could not put it down. The fact that Codi doesnt have a good relationship with her father but stills go back to help him in his time of need really means alot to me. I like how Codi has grown through the book from forgetting to water he plants to teaching a hishschool class is really important.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Good, but not great. I liked the way Codi was able to turn her l

    Good, but not great. I liked the way Codi was able to turn her life around, especially in her approach to teaching high school kids. The environmental aspects of water pollution were simplistic, and not based on the way this kind of problem would have been solved in real life. The ending of the book was rushed and somewhat contrived. A good airplane book (or not, depending on how you view the ending).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Liv

    Walks to tracy and kisses he

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Didn't need the political messages.

    I would have liked this more without the political messages. However, Kingsolver does a good job of illustrating a different way of perceiving thought/dreams/animal viewpoints with storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2000

    Generally-complex plot hampered by simplistic political message.

    Animal Dreams is a well-written and entertaining novel. I found it difficult, however, not to be distracted by the author's Manichaean political message: the Nicaraguan communists of whom she writes were uniformly benevolent, and the U.S. and its contra allies were consistently underhanded, even murderous. Reality was a little more nuanced than that, as the Sandinistas' failure to win any open national election since the collapse of the USSR demonstrates. In short, this is a generally good book, but Kingsolver detracts from the novel through (unfortunately frequent) detours into her rather cartoonish political philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1