Customer Reviews for

Animal Dreams: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Books I Have Ever Read

I LOVE Animal Dreams. Beautiful language, imagery, and characters. The ending made me cry, which has only happened with my most favorite novels.

I disagree with other reviewers. I prefer Animal Dreams to the Bean Trees. I began to read the BT after AD, and couldn't ...
I LOVE Animal Dreams. Beautiful language, imagery, and characters. The ending made me cry, which has only happened with my most favorite novels.

I disagree with other reviewers. I prefer Animal Dreams to the Bean Trees. I began to read the BT after AD, and couldn't get into it nearly as much as Animal Dreams. I recommend this book to people often!

posted by katsie89 on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Animal Dreams

Good but not her best

posted by Teri_Laughs on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams

    In Animal Dreams, Codi Noline has parted from her beloved sister, Hallie, who has decided to journey to Nicaragua to lend her assistance to local farmers. An act that Codi comes to believe is heroic, in contrast to her own life and her own journey back to the place of her birth - Grace, Arizona. Struggling with memories she can no longer recall, feeling utterly adrift wherever she may be, Codi sees nothing heroic in herself, nothing worthwhile. And bereft of a sense of belonging, she arrives back home already preparing to leave yet again. Unless she can somehow find meaning, not only in where she resides and the people around her, but in herself. This is now the second novel that I have read from Barbara Kingsolver, and I am enchanted. Kingsolver is a wonderful writer. I am stunned at how well she can imbue seemingly simple characters and places and events with such unnerving, yet compelling complexity. Her prose is smooth, her language so real, yet so inspiring. A beautiful work indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    One of the Best Books I Have Ever Read

    I LOVE Animal Dreams. Beautiful language, imagery, and characters. The ending made me cry, which has only happened with my most favorite novels.

    I disagree with other reviewers. I prefer Animal Dreams to the Bean Trees. I began to read the BT after AD, and couldn't get into it nearly as much as Animal Dreams. I recommend this book to people often!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Jade

    She pushed her back. "St<_>ip me competely."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Gina

    Continued fingering madi then while doing so leaned in and flicked her tongue over madis cli.t continuously

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Hannah

    I gtg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Ttacy

    Hugge her and kissed back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Aphrodite

    I thrust my hips foward so ur hand touchs my puzzy and moan as u touch my br east and puzy kissing u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    A nive A novel about healing.

    Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Helliw

    Helliw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Nursey

    Nursey of snowflakeclan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Amazing

    Love this book, simply amazing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I love this book!

    One of my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely wanted to finish!

    Great storyline, characters and cultural information. I would read Bean Trees first. Connected with my inner feelings and experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    A Truly Remarkable Book!

    I was given this book by a friend at work and she insisted that I read it. Once I started the book I just couldn¿t put it down. I found Codi¿s story to be compelling and as the layers unfolded I couldn¿t help but cry as I realized what this girl must have went through. This book shows the steps Codi goes through to realize that she has been loved all along and it just took opening herself up to figure that out. This was one of the best books I have read in awhile and I highly recommend it and I cant wait to read more books by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    A Fantastic Book!

    I absolutely loved this book and can't wait to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    My first Kingsolver book, it won't be my last!

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this book, since it was a required reading for my course. Well, I could've kissed the professor, this book was GOOD!! I love Kingsolver's style, she not only tells a love story, but writes of family history, friendships, culture, and environmental issues. The main character, Codi, is a woman with no direction or cause who yearns to be like her sister Hallie. As she slowly discovers herself, we learn about her history, the town she thought she never would return to, the people who she thought never cared, the father she never really knew, and the love of her life who almost got away. And sandwiched between all of that is Kingsolver's acknowledgment of certain sociopolitical issues and environmental issues. I read the last of the book on a flight, sitting between two strangers. I had to secretly keep wiping away my tears and stifling my chuckles so those sitting next to me didn't think I was crazy. This was a very touching and moving love story. Highly reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Wonderful

    I absolutely LOVED this Book!!! I always have a wonderfull sense of satisfaction while reading her books. Great read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Kingsolver at her best!

    There are many kinds of love. Codi Noline, who can barely remember her girlhood in tiny Grace, Arizona, allows herself to feel one kind only. She and younger sister Hallie have been inseparable since their mother's death, three decades ago when Hallie was a newborn baby and Codi a three-year-old. But now agricultural specialist Hallie decides to drive herself to Nicaragua, to help the people there with their crops - just as Grace's only physician, 'Doc Homer' Noline, reaches a stage of Alzheimer's at which it's obvious someone must go home and keep an eye on him. So Codi, who finished medical school but discovered during residency that she wasn't cut out to follow in her father's footsteps, leaves her job clerking in a 7-11 and her liaison with a man about whom she has no strong feelings to hold her. She takes a one-year job teaching science at the local high school, and re-connects with her girlhood best friend (who rents Codi a small house next to her own family). Codi never felt at home in Grace before, and she feels totally alien to it now. But staying aloof, maintaining the emotional distance on which she depends for her sense of safety, doesn't work in this place where people she fails to remember insist on recognizing and acknowledging her. Memories she can barely touch pique her curiosity, and so does the slow death of Grace's great treasure, its magnificent orchards. Slowly, the woman who needs no one and doesn't want that to change finds herself connecting with those around her anyway. Family. Community. The environment. The author's usual themes are all here, along with - to my surprise - one of the most touching yet realistic romantic love stories I've ever read. 'Animal Dreams' is Kingsolver at her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    Haunting and Real

    At the core of this novel is the natural world that Barbara Kingsolver loves, and living in it are authentic characters complete with hope and dreams and demons. Codi is an especially full character whose needs and fears are tangible; she is haunted by the catastrophes of life and love. So is the reader, through prose that is richly detailed as Kingsolver smoothly blends flashbacks and dreams into the perceptive, wide-awake voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    GREAT BOOK

    Animal Dreams is a book that I strongly recommend to everyone whether you like to read or not! This book is beautifully written and is constructed in a great way. The main character Codi is a very complex person, but you can learn a lot from her. She addresses things like family, love, and political problems throughout the book. She constantly feels that she is and outsider but soon finds out she¿s not. Everyone can learn a lesson from this book because it is filled with so many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3