BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Animal Farm: Centennial Edition

Average Rating 4
( 2592 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1091)

4 Star

(1042)

3 Star

(326)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with...
Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with it. The characters are all believable and quite a few are even highly likable. My favorite is the horse Boxer who is renowned for his strength, both of body and character. You have to kind of suspend your disbelief when reading Animal Farm because of some of the things that happen, but it is well worth it. The animals decide that the humans get all of the benefit for their hard work and they are tired of it. Led by two pigs, Napoleon and Snowball, they overthrow the humans. I won't give a bunch of spoilers, but the story unfolds in such a way as to show how a dictatorship comes to be and how the animals went from one form of slavery to another. I also think the character Squealer was done extremely well as far a propaganda man(pig). By the end of the tale, you can see and understand everything that has transpired and the moral stands on its own without you needing to be bashed over the head with it. For a great fairy-tale about the dangers of socialism or any other kind of bad government ending with "ism", look no further than Animal Farm, where "All animals are created equal, but some are more equal than others."

posted by Maria_of_amor on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Had to read this for school. If given the choice I would never

Had to read this for school. If given the choice I would never would of read this. It was depressing and boring. Also, I felt that it was meant for adults not teenagers.

posted by ShadowHunter16 on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2593 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 130
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Good

    This book is a good one but complicated! It is VERY confusing if you know nothing about World War 2 and dictators. But it is a good book if you like that kind of stuff!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    recomended

    Animal farm is the story of a group of animals that live on a farm. The farm is run by James, a heartless human that abuses the animals. Old Major, a pig, who is the leader of the animals, gives a speech and tells the other animals that he is getting week and that he is close to death. Dying shortly after, the animals gain the confidence to take over. The animals run James out and start to run the farm by themselves.
    The remaining pigs on the farm become the leaders. The first thing that they do is make 7 commandments that Old Major had mentioned in his speech before he died. The pigs end up abusing the power once they are the leaders and end up breaking all 7 commandments by the end of the story. After each time another animal would find out about them not following the commandments, they would make slight changes so it would look as if they had done nothing wrong. Understand that there are talking animals but this is no cute story. I would recommend this book to any middle school, or high school student who has an interest in animals and stories of betrayal.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    An amazing book for most ages - fantastic read!

    Many authors strive to make their books wanted, read and most importantly, passed on for others to read. Animal Farm has done every one of those, and more! Animal Farm is a clever mix of comedy, adventure, action, tragedy and many other genres. What starts out as a calm regular old farm ends up being taken over, while all of the animals face the challenges of their own, but is it too much to put in the hooves of these farm animals?

    Now, I feel that the two best parts of this book are The Battle of Cowshed, and when Napoleon chases Snowball away. Those two parts really affected the story by a great amount, and are both mentioned many times further in the book. In The Battle of Cowshed, the humans invaded the Animal Farm with intent to retake it. Though the animals did end up chasing the humans back off, the hard-working horse named Boxer had knocked out one of the younger humans, and he had an iron hoof on. Luckily just a little later, the human came to and ran off. The animals do refer back to The Battle of Cowshed many times in the book, some good memories, some not so good memories.

    When Napoleon chases Snowball away from the Animal Farm, it almost sent the plot of the book spiraling in the opposite direction, because at that very moment, the bad guy who wanted everything for himself was standing there before them as leader of the Animal Farm. Yes, I am talking about Napoleon, the ruthless leader who defies all Animal Farm rules. Now that Napoleon is in charge and Snowball is nowhere to be seen, things are supposed to be getting better, right? Because Napoleon has great ideas, and just wants what's best for the farm. Nope, that's not the case for this rascally little animal. He takes over the farm and, well you'll have to read the book to find out.

    I would recommend this book to everyone 10 and up, because it does have one or two gory partswhere the dogs rip out the throats of multiple animals, but overall it is an amazing read which would be perfect for the family to read together. After this essay, I would still say that my favorite parts of this book would definitely be The Battle of Cowshed and the part where Napoleon chases Snowball away. This book is an amazing creation, and I would definitely recommend this read for families of almost all sorts of ages, young or old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    A pretty interesting book, i highly recommend it for novel beginners.

    I really enjoyed reading it. Unlike most novels for kids, this one isn't boring. It's very fun, and highly entertaining. I did it for school and at first I thought it was going to be completely terrible but in the end I was glad it was this book and not another one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Surprisingly Interesting

    Animal Farm was definitely an interesting book. It captured my attention and made me think of the ways life could be in a completely different perspective. Although the book may seem odd in that it is in the perspective of animals, it makes thinking about the issues that the book presents to the reader much easier to understand. In the novel the characters capture your attention and let you yearn to learn more. At the beginning of the novel the situation that the animals were forced to live under was terrible. The old boar, Old Major, in the beginning of the novel left the other animals with a thought and a dream of an animal run farm. To the animals it seemed like a utopia. It was the place where there was no worry or trouble and they would feel good about the work they did and the food they received. They dreamt of a world where all animals were equal. In the novel there are two pigs, Snowball and Napoleon. These two pigs are the main characters of the story. They wanted a revolution in which they were no longer malnourished and maltreated. They came up with a plan to overtake the farm and live in the way they had dreamt. Once they accomplished their goal, they devised 7 commandments they were told by Old Major to live by. These 7 commandments were whatever goes upon two legs is an enemy; whatever goes upon four legs, or has wings, is a friend; No animal shall wear clothes; No animal shall sleep in a bed; No animal shall drink alcohol; No animal shall kill any other animal; All animals are equal. Over a small amount of time the two main characters were beginning to feud like never before. These two pigs would lead to the demise of the utopia the animals had dreamt of. Napoleon was feared by all the animals. The other animals on the farm were forced to live in fear and work because of greedy, power hungry leaders. The animals were foolishly led into a world of vigorous work and little food. The animals allowed themselves to be convinced that the wrong doing of their leaders was simply there memory failing them. The utopian society they dreamed of was at risk. The leaders are lying, greedy animals that will soon lead themselves to the demise of their own beliefs and dreams. This book leaves you with thoughts about how people in other countries lived or are living by the government. Many people live without hope or freedom and this book shows others what that life is like. I recommend that people read this book. It grasped my attention and I am very happy that it did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Goodness gracious...

    I may not have a long, descriptive review like many others before me, but i can say that this is a really god book. Very interesting and unlike many books I have ever read. For portraying communism in such a way, Mr. Orwell is a genius.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Awesome!

    This book was an awesome symbolization on the USSR during World War II. Definitely a "must read." Before you read this book, I suggest doing research on Lenin, Stalin, and Trotsky. (Basically just read up about the USSR) This book was written represent the fall of Communism in Russia. I loved this book!! - Shea, a freshman (9th grade)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Do not read!

    Don't waste your time on this book. it was the stupidest most pointless books that ever was thought of. Go ahead and read it if you want to fall asleep easly otherwise just don't read it.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2002

    ahhhhhhhhh

    awful!!! I feel bad for all the students who have this in their required reading list!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Animal Farm, I believe was good story all-around. George Orwell

    Animal Farm, I believe was good story all-around. George Orwell does a great job in his effort to show and criticize the Soviet Union and Communism. It characterized the Russian Revolution and how the communist regime took over the country and used propaganda and lies to deceive its people. However, when events took place in the story, they dragged on and and be so descriptive that they seemed like the novel was meant for a younger age group. Other than this drawback, reading this novel is a must. This characterized version of the Soviet Union makes it easier for us to realize how communism doesn’t work, through the use of using farm animals taking over the farm and running it as their own. The communist regime is further satirized as the story goes on and the difference between those in power and those in the working class grows, showing the main problem with communism. With this example Orwell completes his goal in bringing out the flaws in the communism, and showing them to the public in a way that is much easier to understand, without all of the complicating politics. So before anyone graduates high school, they should read Orwell’s novel so they can truly see what the issue with communism really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, is has a lot of historical meaning i

    I really enjoyed this book, is has a lot of historical meaning in it showed by symbolism through the animals/characters. The book is based off of the Russian's idea of communism/ socialism. This is a good book if you want to learn about the idea of communism in a fun more interesting way then researching the straight facts. This is a must read if your a history buff or just looking for a good book.
    -William Medlock

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic tale of how the system works when everyone is "eq

    Fantastic tale of how the system works when everyone is "equal". This classic is a true eye opener and the fastest book I have ever read, in my life. Less than 24 hours and I am done, because it is impossible to put this one down.

    There are many people who do not appreciate the society that they live in. Sure it is easier to blame Tsarists' Russia or some dictatorship to be changed into another system, but as they always say, be careful what you wish for. In this wonderful portrayal of the George Orwell example, we can see that the system is the problem and the greed doesn't disappear, when the "equal for all" society is installed. Actually it becomes easier for a few to instill the "honorable notion of equality" while ripping the benefits and preaching that it is for the better good.

    What do we see here, without giving too much away, but to make sure that we touch up on what is the point behind this example, of social justice and equality. Pigs will take control and even fight one another to ensure that the main hog is at the top of the food chain and I do mean food chain. They will surround themselves by guard dogs and preach to the sheep, poultry and others who will listen, blindly follow them, to gain control and make sure that their opinion is not challenged, that their rule is not questioned. Of course you have bunch of work horses and asses who will work without questioning the system, since the system of "everyone being equal" cannot possibly be wrong. "I must work harder" and "comrade Napoleon is always right". Oh yes, in all "equal society", you end up with work horses and pigs. You can surely see where the "equality" becomes a bit of a blur, but lets continue. We see an example of ever changing rules, modified policies, overworked and unpaid, or in this case, underfed, lower class of "comrades in equality". The final point of this that it is hard to distinguish at the end between greed of men and greed of pigs, because greed exists in all "equal" society, but the problem is, only a few are able to rip the benefits of everyone else's hard labor and not to mention by force, not by choice.

    My favorite quote is the 7, constantly modifying commandments, turning into one: "ALL ANIMALS ARE EQUAL, BUT SOME ANIMALS ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS". The point of this book, reminds me of the old Russian saying, since the end result was, is and always will be the same in the social justice system or better known as socialism. The saying is "Doesn't matter which way you turn, you butt is behind you". For those who do not understand the point of this Russian saying, the easier way to say this "Be careful what you wish for", since the change doesn't necessarily mean it will benefit or be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    The only thing I knew going into George Orwell┬┐s Animal Farm was

    The only thing I knew going into George Orwell’s Animal Farm was that it was a short read. I assumed it would be a difficult one, but to be honest it wasn’t that difficult. The plot is straightforward, but with enough nuances to be interesting. The characters were believable even if they were animals. The situation itself was one as old as civilization, not a new thought to be sure. The why is it, I ask myself, that it resonated with me so much? I’m a book lover and an avid reader, but never can I remember a story making me think as much as this one did.
    I think the answer lays not in what is written, but how it is written. There is a certain edge to the tale that is very hard to place, but it is so sharp that it cuts you very close to home. Orwell gives you the underdogs to root for-the overworked and mistreated animals-and a cause that appeals to all of us. After all, who wouldn’t want to live in a utopian society?
    As the story progress, the flaws of humanity, and more specifically, self-governing communities, become painfully apparent. You want to cry out against the lies and corruption as you watch dreams crumble into dust. It’s not real of course, just a work of fiction, but Orwell’s message is clear all the same. He does a very good job of roping you into it as well.  
    Being on the outside and looking in, you get a very good sense of what’s going on. You can put all the puzzle pieces together, but it seems as though the characters can’t. They are animals, they’re not very smart as Orwell even states. The few that can figure it out are either the driving force behind the plight, or simply won’t share their wisdom. You find yourself hoping that some of the smarter ones will pick up on it, but as things get worse and worse you realize that it’s just not going to happen.
    I read this story was based on the events of Stalinist Russia, so I did some research. The parallels are terrifyingly accurate. If you exchanged some words here and there, you would have an account of the rule of Stalin, rather than a satiric fable for adults. But the rule of Stalin is over. These terrible events are passed tense, never to happen again. Or are they?
    That brings Orwell to his second point, one more subtly stated than the others. As he shows the progression through the regimes over the farm, you begin to see a pattern. Not the pattern you want to see either, the pattern that you have been most aware of through every history class you’ve ever taken. The pattern that, in time, history is bound to repeat itself. He dangles the tantalizing bait of almost breaking free of this perpetual cycle, before bringing down the crushing weight that it simply isn’t so. So with his point made, he leaves you with the ending you both expected and hoped not to see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    First off, let me point out that I know nothing of the Russian R

    First off, let me point out that I know nothing of the Russian Revolution, of which this book is an allegory. I'm sure I wouldn've learnt about it in high school, but that was a long time ago and I've long since forgotten. Therefore, I started reading the Preface, but since it was pretty meaningless to me (and such things tend to bore me to tears), I skipped to Chapter 1.




    This book blew... my... mind! I'm struggling to come up with things to say about it that wouldn't give too much away for the few people who haven't read it yet. It really doesn't take any understanding of the historical events to understand what this book is about.




    It's extremely easy to read and quite short. It truly ropes you into the lives, hopes and dreams of the characters in a way that few other books have.




    It conjured up thoughts in my mind of people like Saddam Hussein and Robert Mugabe, both freedom fighters and struggle heroes of their own time. It shows that a socialist state will never work because of the simple human flaw: Power corrupts. It shows that the vast majority don't actually want freedom, don't know how to be free, and quite possibly don't understand what freedom actually is. People need to be led, and that those leaders will always take advantage of that.




    I'm glad that people (and really, there were around four or five people that simultaneous suggested I read this book... and then I started seeing it everywhere on Goodreads) finally convinced me to read this book. I'm only sorry it took me 32 years to finally do so, when so many had actually had it as a set-work in school.




    I would've given it more stars, were it not for the boring and unnecessary preface - which according to Wikipedia was only added later anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Oh my gosh

    Anoimal farm sucks totally hate it

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Hated it

    The book was absolutely horrible.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Love thisbook! Best ever... jedi mind trick "you will buy it." "I will buy it"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful book!

    ¿It¿s a bird! It¿s a plane! No, it¿s an animal rebellion!¿ Animal Farm is an incredibly interesting book that focuses on highly intelligent, easily persuadable farm animals taking charge and seeking freedom and higher animal rights. By hearing the final words of a dying pig and former animal leader of the farm, the farm animals decide to rebel against the human who runs the farm and physically kick the farmer out of his own farm! And thus, the animals declare war against the humans, and the revolution has begun. Can the farm animals succeed with their quest to overthrow the humans of the world and take their place as leaders of the world? Or will the rebels be destroyed from the inside?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Overall okay book

    To start things off, The book I will be giving you a review on is Animal Farm written by George Orwell this book takes place in a time period which is unknown it does not take place during any historical events making it hard for the reader to figure out the time period. The setting is an imaginary farm in England. Thought this book you will see a lot of conflict, conflict associated with all characters. Old Manor a well-known boar on the farm gathers all the animals one evening telling them how great life would be if Mr. Jones and his men did not rule them forcing them to do hard work giving them little or no food. The animals were all tried of this so they listened to Old Manor and decided they would form a rebellion against him. Sadly three days later Old Manor died, with this tragic event behind the animals someone had to take charge so three pigs named Snowball, Napoleon, and Squealer decided to step up and make this rebellion happen and stop Mr. Jones and his men once and for all! The rebellion was a success and the animals had the farm all to themselves just like they wanted, one day Napoleon and Snowball got in an argument over building a windmill so Snowball got expelled from the farm. After Napoleon reflected he realized that maybe he should build a windmill, Shortly after production started the animals find that the windmill had been destroyed by a storm. Napoleon begins to expand his powers changing history, making snowball the villain. Time passes and the animals of the farm start to act like humans more and more making the seven commandments once written on the wall a total blur.

    To continue, My personal opinion is that the book should have had more sparkle, and better attention grabbers I sometimes found myself getting a little bored. In the first few chapters it was a little boring but once the book got some action it was better, I think when Snowball got expelled from the farm the book really took off from there. This book overall was very good. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone younger then 9th grade do to the fact it may be hard to understand, a younger crowd may not understand the moral or lesson of the book. I enjoyed how in the book we learned animalism. I thought it was a cool way to introduce a topic that a lot of readers haven't seen before.



    In conclusion, I thought this book was pretty good I would give is a 3.5 out of 5 starts at points I think it could have been more interesting for the reader. Even with my feelings I would still recommend this book I think it taught a good life lesson. I think the author George Orwell is very educated even though this is the first novel I have read of his. I would definitely be interested in reading one of his other novels.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    BEASSSSSSTTTTTT

    The Animal Farm was a very interesting book that kept me reading right until the very end. This book was about a farm called the Manor Farm. The farmer Mr. Jones was neglecting his animals because he was to drunk to care about his animals. Then one night one of the oldest animals on the farm shared his dream that he had the night before, his name was old Major. His dream was about when all animals roamed free and animals could have as much food as they wanted. Also he was saying that no animal should ever kill other animals because all animals are equal. Later that night old Major passed away. Then many months later the animals had enough of being treated badly so they started a rebellion against Mr. Jones and ran him off the farm along with his wife. The Manor farm was theirs. The rest of the story is about how the pigs take over and run the farm, and the struggles that the animals run into. Last the battles they fight with the farmers. A major event that happened in the story is when the farm built a windmill to run the farm and give the farm electrical power. The animals had worked countless hours dragging rocks form the rock quarry. Almost a year of work had gone by building this windmill. Then the Mr. jones and a group of farms attacked and placed a dynamite in the windmill and blow it to pieces. This was a major setback. I believe that is book was wrote at a fast pace and that the languages in the book was very different form many other books I have read. This book does this in many ways starting behind the meaning of the book. From the research I have done on animal farm it is exposed to mock the Russian government. The book does this in many ways as to make Russian officials into pigs which we all know are very dirty not very smart creatures. Also the symbolism in the story is an extreme factor in the reading. Some of the symbolism is that of the animals, such as boxer the horse he represents the Russian working class he works extremely hard and for what communists to tell him good job and keep working? Some of the other animals are snowball and napoleon the represent Russian communist leaders at the time the story takes place. All of these features mold together to create in my opinion one of the best allegories of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2593 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 130