Customer Reviews for

Animal Farm

Average Rating 4
( 2512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1057)

4 Star

(1015)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with...
Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with it. The characters are all believable and quite a few are even highly likable. My favorite is the horse Boxer who is renowned for his strength, both of body and character. You have to kind of suspend your disbelief when reading Animal Farm because of some of the things that happen, but it is well worth it. The animals decide that the humans get all of the benefit for their hard work and they are tired of it. Led by two pigs, Napoleon and Snowball, they overthrow the humans. I won't give a bunch of spoilers, but the story unfolds in such a way as to show how a dictatorship comes to be and how the animals went from one form of slavery to another. I also think the character Squealer was done extremely well as far a propaganda man(pig). By the end of the tale, you can see and understand everything that has transpired and the moral stands on its own without you needing to be bashed over the head with it. For a great fairy-tale about the dangers of socialism or any other kind of bad government ending with "ism", look no further than Animal Farm, where "All animals are created equal, but some are more equal than others."

posted by Maria_of_amor on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Horrible book and very depressng

Horrible book. the beggining was pretty good but towards the middle of the book everything started going downwards. From that point on it kept going downwards to the very end which then was a awful ending. The worst book that i have every read

posted by 7892810 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Looking for a book? Look somewhere else!

    I had to read this book at school and i can honestly say it was the most confusing and boring book i had ever read in my life. Unless you like George Orwell and know anything about the Russian Revolution, don't read this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Highly recommended for young adults - check it out !

    This is a really interesting novel about talking animals . its GREAT !

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Kinda like when you run with a blindfold on....

    Well, let me start off by saying i was very excited to get assigned to read Orwell's book. I had heard glowing reviews from my peers and really had quite a lust for reading it. So much so, that I began it on the bus to school and finished it an hour or so later. I found the beginning to be very exciting, setting up the scene and all. However, I was soon lost in the symbolism and choppy plotline. They began talking of battles between man and beast that I personally didnt remember reading about. It was kind of like when you run with a blindfold on, you dont really knwo what it is you're getting into. Most of the times you'll get hit by a moving vehicle, just in my experience. That moving vehicle could be a symbol of a sudden severe lack of intrest! Huh, I suppose the book's frequent symbolic references rubbed off....anyways, I personally don't think it's worth my time or the time of anyone my age. But that's just me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Ashkit to all

    " please help me" she studders. There is blood spilling out of her and she is very thin and small. Ashkit falls to the ground and her eyes close. She is unconcious and she needs help asap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Well,

    I didn't enjoy this book. It was a smart book, I'll give it that, but it never made me laugh or cry for the characters. It didn't make me want to keep turning the pages. I kept waiting for something exciting to happen, but 90% of the time, I was disappointed. The few action-y parts ended up pretty mild and short. I felt that the symbolism was set in stone by the author, leaving no room for new ideas from the reader. Coming from a major bookworm who believes that books are magical, beautiful things like gifts from God, I felt that this book was just a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I gave this book two stars because it was okay, but I didn't rea

    I gave this book two stars because it was okay, but I didn't really like it all that much. It was kind of confusing at some points and boring.
    This book was all about leadership and over powering the humans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    To Question;

    I had to read this for language arts as well, and i did not like it at all. I thought the plot and storyline was weird and didnt make sense, plus our teacher made the whole experience kind of icky. Who knows, maybe youll like it more than i did, but i know that the majority of my class did not like it. I hope that answers your question okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    Recommended-its a classic!

    I would recommend Animal Farm if you like reading classic books about equality and rights. In many occasions the animals do anything they can for their right to be treated like any living creature should, which is with respect. An important part of the book when the animals try to win their right for equality is when they drive out Mr. Jones, the owner of the farm, and get to run the farm all by themselves. Throughout the book you will read about the struggles that the animals go through, not because they can't manage the farm, but because some can't get along. I personally thought the book was interesting because the animals had traits that no normal animal has. For example, the animals could read and write, talk, and could even build a windmill with no human help. After they drove out Mr. Jones from the farm, they set up Seven Commandments, and mainly they said that the animals could not do certain things that humans did, like sleeping on a bed and walking on their hind legs. Further in the book you will see if these animals can keep respecting these Seven Commandments. The pigs on the farm thought that they were superior to others and got special treatment, which I thought was not fair at all because they were all supposed to be on the same level. At times the book would be hard to understand because of the words they used. This book was written in the 1900s, so the words they used are not words that we usually use now in days. By the time that I finished reading the book I did not expect the ending. Of course I will not give it away! Also throughout the book many of the loyal animals are put to death because of the pigs that think they are the bosses of the farm. The hate that these animals have towards humans is understood because of their previous owner. If I had someone like Mr. Jones that is responsible for my life, I would rebel just like the animals did. These animals were suffering and starving because of this man. I am completely against animal cruelty and I have a grand love for animals. I would never abuse an animal and I don't think any human should because they will build up hate and can hurt the humans in the end, and then people will start saying that animals are attacking for no reason when the reason is because they are being abused. Any human that has an animal should have them because they want to care for them not because they want to put them to suffer. Overall, this book was good because it is a classic, but it isn't the best book because it can be boring at times and is hard to understand sometimes because of the dialect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Animal Farm Review

    Animal Farm was a very cheesy version of the cartoon network show "Barnyard". Talking animals, chores, and doing many things humans would be doing in their daily lives from dusk to dawn. It was really hard to enjoy the book, and I love reading! Towards the end, when I read that Napoleon was slaughtering fellow farmyard friends I was shocked and I honestly started disliking the book more than at first. It was really hard to understand with is was based on and which animal was which. I truly had a hard time liking it, but judging a book by its cover, literally, isn't nice. When I read how, at the very end, Napoleon was just like man, I started understanding the book itself. Even though it wasn't enjoyable, it was something different than the many genres, and topics I've read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Okay Read

    Animal Farm


    Do you enjoy stories that tall tales of Democracies? Are constantly pushed towards the edge of rebellion? If so, then I urge you venture of between the pages of Animal Farm. Awaken your senses with suspense that will keep you on the edge. Emotions so strong, you would find yourself in tears at the mere thought of what these poor animals have to go throw. Pain and suffering, love ones lost. And the pain of seeing your most beloved friends who you grew up with being saluted right before your very eyes! The horror is unimaginable!
    The story takes place in England on the country side. Amongst many farms, there is one particular farm that has the whole country on edge: Animal Farm. Or Manor Farm as the animals prefers to call it. Along with its neighboring farms: Foxwood and Pinchfeild. Who don't get along very well, and doesn't fancy the idea that the owner of there neighboring farm is ruled by a fat pig named Napoleon.
    Animal Farm takes its turn when one night the owner, Mr. Jones, forgets to feed the animals and milk cows for just about two whole days! Out of rage the animals brake free of the stales; Causing damage and cacaos to stir within the air. Quigley the farmer and his workers rush outside, weapons ready at hand. They slash their whips and the rebellion starts. Animals declare war upon man kind and fight with al their might! They eventually drive Jones and his man out of.
    The farm and the joy of sweet victory fill the air. Little did they know that life was about to get worse. With their previous leader (Old Major) dead, it is up to the two young pigs to help bring the farm to peace. Snowball and Napoleon, along with the help of Squealer, try to successfully run the farm. But with lies and devious, elfish thoughts filling the air, the farm begins to fall apart.
    In my opinion I believe that throw this story the author was trying to teach us as readers, that we should be careful and be cautious of who we put our trust into. Always be aware, and never expect anyone to just take of you. You must learn to be independent. You must be able to chose your paths wisely, and be sure of the decisions you make in life. Don't be foolish, because you never know if there will be a tomorrow or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Animal Farm

    The story's plot is soley based on the communist rule rising up in a poor place that needs the help. The story starts off with explaining the life the have with their owner, who doesnt seem to care much for them, as the animals leader passes away, the animals have to fend for themselves. Two young pigs come up to take the place of being leader. The animals lead a revolt against the humans the take care of the farm. The animals then live a life thats full, no worries, no people mistreating them, but then one of the leaders turn against the other in charge, the animlas don't realize that everything is going to change. As their lives go from bad to worse, the animals soon find out that the life that they turned too was not the life equal enough for them. The author implies many real world situation through a series of metaphors and similes, also personification. The authors stratagy of writing shows his opinion against a life that many people have liveed through and still go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    A great concept, but the writing style doesn't work well.

    I found Gorges Oswell's Animal Farm to be a novel which is fascinating in concept but quickly falls flat due to simplistic storytelling. The premise starts out well enough when the creatures of Mister Jones' Manor Farm encounter circumstances which allow them to overthrow the their human leader. They had dreamed of living freeing for soon time at at that point and when the revolution comes they feel they are ready to take control. This is interesting for a time as the animals are forced to deal with the pressures of operating a human designed farm as beasts. Still they flourish and there is even the start of education amount them. The twist comes when The benevolent leader Snowball is overtaken by his co-leader Napoleon. This character is a pig and is symbolic of the arch typical tyrannical ruler. This is where, in my opinion the writing begins to suffer. One by one Napoleon discredits the teachings of his fairer counterpart and twists the truth in the minds of the animals until they believe that Snowball himself is to blame for every ill incurred on the farm.
    This subject is. yet again, fascinating in theory. However the manner in which Orwell presents his readers with only the brash reality of events and manipulation on the farm quickly losses it's edge. Some of the fault also lies in the fact that the plot centers around the animals passive realization of their situation. Because of this serves as the book's central conflict it can keep the story predicament feeling too unlikely to change to really keep the reader actively engaged in the outcome. I would have looked to see more of a sympathetic angle to the malevolence of the animals' new dictator. It would have also been favorable if Napoleon's leadership was at any point met with outside opposition. At the very least a visual example hinting at Napoleon's progressive state of of megalomania would have made the concept more entertaining. As it is Animal Farm comes of as a satirical work which sever, through plain and simple example, a warning of what can happen if people do not have the courage to think for themselves. For the it's time it was doubtlessly a politely potent masterpieces, that much it assured however the lack of advancement in characterization leaves this story feeling too black and white for me. I strongly suggest that anyone who feels the same look into Orwell's other work 1984.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    Animal Farm

    The novel animal farm was about an old pig named Major who gives a speech about a dream he had about one day about taking over animal farm. The animals set up a plan to take over the farm and put that plan into action. After taking over the farm they establish their own rules, their own beliefs, and they each had jobs. Then, they choose one person to lead the farm and the animals, and a while after that happened the whole farm started to go out of control. When I first started reading this story, I thought that the novel was pretty interesting. After a while into reading the story I lost interest in it. The reason why I started losing interest in the story was because everytime I would read a page I just felt like I was reading the same thing over and over again. For example, the story repeated most of the characters names in mostly every page, so I felt like I just read that page a thousand times. Also, towards the middle of the book it got a little boring because not a lot was going on and everything that did happen did not surprise me. Most of the events did not surprise me because through out the whole story I saw everything coming. Now, I am not saying that the story was the worst I have ever read but it really was not the best. There were also parts of the story that I did enjoy. For example, when Old Major gave his speech on one day the animals running the farm and how they then took over. Besides the parts that I enjoyed most in the story, I am just not interested in the book. While reading the book I do not know why but it felt like I was listening to a broken record. One thing I liked about the story is that the theme was very clear and well implied. My opinion mostly is that the book was sort of boring because it is not something that I would normally read, so in other words it is not my type of book. Over all, the story Animal Farm was not the best book I have ever read but I know that someone else will most likely enjoy reading it. In conclusion, my opinion about the novel is that it was an okay book and even though I personally do not like it, I would recommend it to other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Average

    This would be about the 3rd time I've read Animal Farm By George Orwell. To me, The Book Is about Government, and how if your not careful, even the best of intentions can be tainted by Greed And the want of power. At first the animals Over-throw their Master, for freedom, and the stop of mistreatment, the create the "rules" of the farm, which would be like our rights, and say that all animals are equal, yet then they run of snowball out of fear and manipulation by Napoleon and at the end the find that they are just as bad as the humans whom they themselves hated. i like the message the book sends, but the book is overall boring and uninteresting to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    Animal Farm- I wasn't impressed.

    "Animal Farm" takes place in England on Manor Farm. It is about a group of farm animals that are tired of the way humans treat them, so they rebel. However, problems are also coming from within the newly-named "Animal Farm:" deception, lies, and betrayal. <BR/>Now, this may sound interesting, but I assure you, it isn't. The idea "Hey, what if we were to compare the hardships of Russia to a farm" is clever, but is not enough to make a book out of. The end result is unimpressive, unimaginative for the given situation, and rather dull. This would have been better as a short story, or an anecdote.<BR/> The plot is good, just like the characters. Both are shown well, and the characters represent what they are symbolizing well. The thought of animals having their own small nation as the "Beasts of England" is thought-provoking and imaginative. The biggest problem I have with this book is the writing. There are no major grammatical errors in this situation, it's just that the book lacks a certain... Well, it lacks emotion. Actually, it is completely devoid of it! It makes me wonder if Orwell even noticed how his attempts at touching moments failed miserably. Even his exciting scenes are ruined by poor, emotionless writing:<BR/>"Jones saw him coming, raised his gun and fired. The pellets scored bloody streaks along Snowball's back, and a sheep dropped dead."<BR/>Less than riveting, to say the least.<BR/> Well, what about betrayal? Certainly, betrayal in a book that symbolizes strife in Russia would be the highlight of this book and be done dramatically, and powerfully! Like when the horse Mollie decides she wishes to be pampered by a human again, instead of supporting the cause to freedom for animals.<BR/>"She appeared to be enjoying herself, so the pigeons said. None of the animals ever mentioned Mollie again."<BR/>This is yet another moment where I should have a feeling of shock or at least slight surprise, but this unemotional moment ruins the story yet again. Yes, we weren't very attached to this character, but it WAS one of the more developed characters. The Sheep that "dropped dead" made a more fantastic exit than that.<BR/> Another serious problem with the writing in this story is that it lingers for far too long on certain subjects, while at the same time will push the unwilling readers past moments that need clarification or pique our interest. A good example of this would be speeches made by the Pigs. Often, these amazing speeches are touching, powerful, or moving... At least, that's what we're told. We don't actually get to read much when it comes to the speeches, yet so long are they described in detail to us as amazing works of art. Once again it's boring, and makes me feel like I'm reading a list of events rather than a story.<BR/> All together, I wouldn't say the book is too terribly bad. It's certainly not good though, it doesn't deserve all the attention it gets. It is a great idea that was taken too far and became a dull book. I say wait until you have a homework assignment on it, or wait until someone throws it at you. It isn't worth the effort of checking out of a library or buying when there are plenty of amazing books out there waiting to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    Not a book for every one

    Animal Farm is an okay book in my opinion. In this book there is a lot of drama that goes on. It starts off with Manor Farm; a normal every day farm, then it is suddenly transformed into animal farm with a big dramatic event. This does not come out of a where though it¿s a huge out rage that is built up for a while. The animals on Manor Farm are sick of the way they are treated so they do something about it. There are good symbols and morals in this book. Two main characters napoleon and snowball have a have a few negative encounters. All the animals are trying to survive, by doing the farm work, managing food and sticking together. This book is definitely a lot like a roller coaster, there are many ups and downs in the animal¿s moods. There are also a lot of different kinds of conflict, between two characters, man and character, character and self and even character and nature. This book is not exactly a good book for some one that loses interest easily. It is also not an easy book to follow in my opinion. This book is an influential book. Prior to reading it you may have one opinion on something but by the time you are finished with it at least one of your views will have changed. This book is very opinionative; it has got lots of debates and arguments in it. Animal Farm is basically turned in to a hidden government that the people of the city don¿t know about. There are some animals that stay loyal to Animal Farm and some that become traitors. The traitors are punished and most of them are murdered. It starts off as a democracy where every one has an option and every ones views matter then it turns in to different types of government such as a dictatorship where every one is fighting to be the head of the Farm and in charge of every thing. Although I do not think this is the best book I have ever read it does have its moments of greatness. The drama filled parts are what I would have to say are the best. Towards the end the book gets very difficult to follow but if you can follow it, it is a good ending. I might recommend this book to others depending on the person and circumstance. On the other hand I would not recommend this on a normal basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    animal farm

    Animal Farm is a politically inspired novel with a serious tone about the hardships and betrayal of the animals surviving on there own with no help for the humans. It was written in 1946 by George Orwell. The theme of the novel is based on the Russian Revolution and the author uses the animals to convey the different personalities of the leaders of that time. The two major points that struck me in the novel, where the events that took place before the rules were made and after the animals changed the rules.<BR/>Before the rules were made, Animal Farm was about a community of animals that were being neglected by their mostly drunken owner, Mr. Jones, who I think didn't really care about anything, not even himself. Once the animals got to a breaking point and they were tired of the human's abuse and neglect, one of the animals had a plan. The animal was Old Major, the boar, who I think represented Lenin in the Russian Revolution because he is like the original leader in the farm just like Lenin was the leader of the Russian Revolution before he passed it on to another because he was dying. The plan that Old Major had was to rebel against the humans and to drop all human nature and behavior that they had. That idea led to another to make rules about what not to do so that they would not end up falling into the same patterns the humans that they hated so much did. <BR/>Soon after the rules were made, they had trouble not breaking them. So they decided to change the rules from the original, "Do not drink alcohol," to "Do not drink alcohol to excess." This is when all the animals started going back into the bad habits that the humans had. Those who were once allies became foes; Napoleon, who I think represents Stalin in the Russian Revolution because he was doing things for the wrong reasons, like Stalin, became power-hungry and he was all for the changing of the rules. Snowball, who I think represents Trotsky in the Russian Revolution because he is competing for leadership for the good reasons against Napoleon, just like Trotsky went against Stalin, seen Napoleon's want for power and began to fight for what he thought was right. I believe that Napoleon started to become what they all hated and all wanted to avoid, and that Snowball was the one to trying keep to the foundation of the rebellion in check. <BR/>All in all, even though this was not my type of book I like to read, I found it very informational and entertaining. You find out in the end whether they can keep their Utopia or if that is an impossible task, and they just end up where they started, or maybe even more like then humans than they think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Animal Farm

    Animal Farm is good for the intellectual reader but not for the casual reader. This book is a good metaphor for Russia starting with the Russian Revolution. The animals revolt, and decide to run the farm themselves, and set up a set of commandments:<BR/>1. Whatever goes upon two legs is an enemy; <BR/>2. Whatever goes upon four legs, or has wings, is a friend; <BR/>3. No animal shall wear clothes; <BR/>4. No animal shall sleep in a bed; <BR/>5. No animal shall drink alcohol; <BR/>6. No animal shall kill any other animal; <BR/>7. All animals are equal...<BR/>These commandments are set up to equalize the animals and work well at first. Then as the book progresses the pigs, leaders of the animal society, start to slowly change the rules to benefit themselves. As they are the smartest, they easily explain away the changes as few animals other than the pigs can read. This book is very interesting in that it explores the corruption that comes with power. The pigs, at the beginning, are just leaders of the rebellion but after they rebel, they gain more and more power and can¿t get enough. There is a schism in the pigs government that makes it more like the Russian government.<BR/> This book was also very slow and works hard to keep your attention. Even though it is very short, it seems to go on for a long time because of the wording and slow plot development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Animal Farm

    Animal Farm by George Orwell Animal Farm seems like a fantasy because the setting is a farm in England that has talking animals. Although as you read on, you find out that it is far from a fantasy. I enjoyed the plot of the book, although I thought it was a bit childish. In parts, it reminded me of kindergarten, when we acted selfish and did not share our toys. In the story however, the pigs became greedy and didn¿t share much food. The book was not the greatest, because it did not have any suspense building events that gave the reader hints of what happens. A major part of the book was the ¿Rebellion.¿ The main character, Mr. Jones, the farmer was run off of the farm along with his hired help. The animals, after the ¿Rebellion¿ started controlling and operating the farm on their own. They all thought they would live better without Mr. .Jones. Everyone believed that the farm would run much smoother since the humans were gone. Soon, some of the animals became greedy and made life on the farm worse, but no animal dare complain. The animals didn¿t know, but soon life on the farm would just keep getting more difficult. Another section in the book was all of the rule breaking caused by the greedy animals. At, first, the animals agreed upon 7 commandments that they would live by. The few animals that became greedy over time, also changed the rules to benefit themselves only. The statement ¿Rules are created to benefit all¿, should apply to how the animals should live, but some chose not to live equally among others. The book clearly disagrees with the statement. And although the animals wished to create a utopia, there were some animals that though other wise so their plans of a utopia came crashing down. I would like to conclude that Animal Farm by George Orwell is not the greatest book that I have ever read. It reminded me of kindergarten when we didn¿t share our toys. However, in the story some of the animals refused to share the food. The setting was almost like a fantasy with the talking animals on the English farm which only made the book that much worse for me. The plot should have been better, with less violence among the animals, and more mature problems for the animals to overcome. It had absolutely no suspense building parts, which, to me is like a deal breaker in a novel. Think overall Animal Farm was not the greatest and could have been much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Animal Farm

    Hey you know there are all kinds of books out there for you read no matter what you like. You know what though if you like books that have do with things in the past. Like books that deal with Stalinist Russia and totalitarianism then you will love Animal Farm by George Orwell. Animal Farm is about a farm called Manor Farm and a man by the name of Mr. Jones. Mr. Jones runs Animal Farm and one day one of the pigs tells the other animals about a dream he had. Not to long after that the animals of Manor Farm run Mr. Jones off the farm and take over. Two of the pigs take over the farm. Mr. Jones ran the farm until the animals in the book get tried of the way they were being treated by him. One of the pigs named Old Major told he other animals about the dream he had were humans were no more and the animals ran the world. The animals felt as if they were being treated unfair and they had enough of being treated the way they were. So they toke matters into there own hands and run Mr. Jones and his man off the farm. So it begin the farm was no more called Manor Farm but Animal Farm instead because they ran the farm now not Mr. Jones. After Mr. Jones was gone things where good for the animals and they were happy. When Mr. Jones was gone Snowball and Napoleon toke over the farm. Snowball created The Seven Commandments and animalism. Snowball was a good leader for the animals of Animal Farm. They worked and worked hard but it was not like when Mr. Jones was running the farm. The animals were happy and they had food. The happy times were not to last though soon Napoleon ran Snowball off and said he was a trader. So Napoleon tokes over, now they worked all the time when they were not sleeping. Napoleon was telling them lies and slowly the Seven Commandments were being changed on them. None off the other animals every known but one animal know something was not right and that was Clover who know it. She would ask the other animals to read her one of the Commandments and when there was something she did not remember. They would say we just forget it. So slowly but slowly Napoleon was changing things on them. Until they were working all the time accept when they were sleeping. This book is one I did not care for but someone else may like it. So do not hesitate to, go see if it is one book you will like. Just because I did not does not mean you will not. Who knows you may love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3