Customer Reviews for

Animal Farm

Average Rating 4
( 2512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1057)

4 Star

(1015)

3 Star

(316)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with...
Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with it. The characters are all believable and quite a few are even highly likable. My favorite is the horse Boxer who is renowned for his strength, both of body and character. You have to kind of suspend your disbelief when reading Animal Farm because of some of the things that happen, but it is well worth it. The animals decide that the humans get all of the benefit for their hard work and they are tired of it. Led by two pigs, Napoleon and Snowball, they overthrow the humans. I won't give a bunch of spoilers, but the story unfolds in such a way as to show how a dictatorship comes to be and how the animals went from one form of slavery to another. I also think the character Squealer was done extremely well as far a propaganda man(pig). By the end of the tale, you can see and understand everything that has transpired and the moral stands on its own without you needing to be bashed over the head with it. For a great fairy-tale about the dangers of socialism or any other kind of bad government ending with "ism", look no further than Animal Farm, where "All animals are created equal, but some are more equal than others."

posted by Maria_of_amor on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Horrible book and very depressng

Horrible book. the beggining was pretty good but towards the middle of the book everything started going downwards. From that point on it kept going downwards to the very end which then was a awful ending. The worst book that i have every read

posted by 7892810 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    recomended

    Animal farm is the story of a group of animals that live on a farm. The farm is run by James, a heartless human that abuses the animals. Old Major, a pig, who is the leader of the animals, gives a speech and tells the other animals that he is getting week and that he is close to death. Dying shortly after, the animals gain the confidence to take over. The animals run James out and start to run the farm by themselves.
    The remaining pigs on the farm become the leaders. The first thing that they do is make 7 commandments that Old Major had mentioned in his speech before he died. The pigs end up abusing the power once they are the leaders and end up breaking all 7 commandments by the end of the story. After each time another animal would find out about them not following the commandments, they would make slight changes so it would look as if they had done nothing wrong. Understand that there are talking animals but this is no cute story. I would recommend this book to any middle school, or high school student who has an interest in animals and stories of betrayal.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Overall okay book

    To start things off, The book I will be giving you a review on is Animal Farm written by George Orwell this book takes place in a time period which is unknown it does not take place during any historical events making it hard for the reader to figure out the time period. The setting is an imaginary farm in England. Thought this book you will see a lot of conflict, conflict associated with all characters. Old Manor a well-known boar on the farm gathers all the animals one evening telling them how great life would be if Mr. Jones and his men did not rule them forcing them to do hard work giving them little or no food. The animals were all tried of this so they listened to Old Manor and decided they would form a rebellion against him. Sadly three days later Old Manor died, with this tragic event behind the animals someone had to take charge so three pigs named Snowball, Napoleon, and Squealer decided to step up and make this rebellion happen and stop Mr. Jones and his men once and for all! The rebellion was a success and the animals had the farm all to themselves just like they wanted, one day Napoleon and Snowball got in an argument over building a windmill so Snowball got expelled from the farm. After Napoleon reflected he realized that maybe he should build a windmill, Shortly after production started the animals find that the windmill had been destroyed by a storm. Napoleon begins to expand his powers changing history, making snowball the villain. Time passes and the animals of the farm start to act like humans more and more making the seven commandments once written on the wall a total blur.

    To continue, My personal opinion is that the book should have had more sparkle, and better attention grabbers I sometimes found myself getting a little bored. In the first few chapters it was a little boring but once the book got some action it was better, I think when Snowball got expelled from the farm the book really took off from there. This book overall was very good. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone younger then 9th grade do to the fact it may be hard to understand, a younger crowd may not understand the moral or lesson of the book. I enjoyed how in the book we learned animalism. I thought it was a cool way to introduce a topic that a lot of readers haven't seen before.



    In conclusion, I thought this book was pretty good I would give is a 3.5 out of 5 starts at points I think it could have been more interesting for the reader. Even with my feelings I would still recommend this book I think it taught a good life lesson. I think the author George Orwell is very educated even though this is the first novel I have read of his. I would definitely be interested in reading one of his other novels.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Animal Farm

    When I first began reading this book, it was slow, and hard to get into. As I read the book the plot thickened, and it began to be very interesting. It has a lot of political undertones to it, and it is nice that they are there, but it isn't an obvious comparison. This is a book that can be compared to the majority of wars, and political problems. It is a book that could be understood worldwide, and it teaches very good lessons. It isn't near what I had expected, and I am glad I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    great book

    The animal Farm is a wonderful book. The idea about animals plotting agaisnt humans and taking over is great. When conspiracy in the goverment happens it shows the relationship between real world governments and this story's fictional government. The way the pigs treat the other animals and act like they are better than everyone else and try to change the rules to protect them and think they are right. After a while the decisions of the animals come to bite them in the back because of their poor choices in government, though they are being tricked and decieved they know no better because of the pigs wanting to be in control. This story makes me think about voting and how important it is to know background information on the candidates running for office because this can very well happen to us humans in real life. This story makes you think about governemtn and that you need to watch out for your elected leaders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Brittney

    From my point of view seens i read animal farm i dont think its realy good book. The book i be.ive is realy good so ar is the yearlings its about family finding a fon which is a deer and ttey keep it. I think the yearling is beeter book then anima farm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Looking at the cover, I did not think that this ┬┐fairy story┬┐ wo

    Looking at the cover, I did not think that this “fairy story” would be about rebellion, a dictator, and violence. This book takes place on “Manor Farm”. The animals gather together one night and one of the older pigs tells them about rebellion. The animals rebel several weeks later. Now that they have rebelled, it is up to the animals to care for the farm and protect it, otherwise the humans could take over the farm again. The animals appoint a leader. Through the book, the animals face challenges that they must overcome.
    The most important part in the book Animal Farm by George Orwell, was the rebellion. This event leads to most of the events occurring in the rest of the book. The entire book’s focus branches off this single event that occurs in the beginning of the book. After the rebellion, the writer was able to teach the readers that having to depend on the more powerful person (or animal) in charge is dangerous. George Orwell did this very well. In a section of the book, the pigs continuously changed the rules to fit their convenience. I felt that this really showed how dangerous it is to blindly follow the more powerful person. The other animals could not read, so they had to depend on the pigs for having things read. The common animals could not tell if the rules changed. If they mentioned that rule sounding different than they remembered, the pigs would say, “You do not remember correctly”. Depending on the more powerful people in the world can be dangerous because it means being vulnerable. They can lead you astray at any time. It was very frustrating to read about the animals depending on the pigs because I can see the big picture (because I am the reader). I can see both sides of the story and I can tell when the pigs are leading the others astray. The animals will believe everything the pigs tell them. It was irritating to see the animals so gullible. They were not self-reliant. It was also frustrating that the animals were lead away by a persuasive pig. One of the pigs (Squealer) could tell the animals anything and they would believe it. He was able to convince the animals that the pigs deserved more apples than anyone else because they were working hard trying to make the farm a better place. The animals believed everything Squealer (the persuasive pig) said. 
    This book is symbolic of the government. The people in the government (the pigs) can change the rules at their convenience and are able to persuade the common people of just about anything. It is dangerous to be solely dependent on the government because you could be lead astray and you would not be self-reliant.
    The book was a worthy addition to the collection of literature for today’s people. It teaches people simple themes and shows common situations of the government through an interesting story line. I like that the story is told on a farm setting. I usually find that when books are written about politics or government with people characters, I am not interested. With this book, I was interested and was able to follow the drama that occurred on the farm. It is a book of great worth. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Sooo good ilk

    The book was very interesting it had all the aspects a reader is looking for but i didnt like the rebellion against their owner that wasnt cool but woohoo for george oh well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Different

    Read this for school and saw the movie. Never heard this one before and wasn't sure what to expect. Different kind of read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No me gusta

    It was an interesting book, but it was messed up, and tge ending sucked

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    All animal are equal, but some are more equal than others. (One

    All animal are equal, but some are more equal than others. (One of the commandments twisted in italics by the end of the story.) Animal Farm takes place on a small farm in England. The owner was Mr. Jones, but the animals soon took over forcing him out. Hoping for a better life, the animals get the exact opposite when inequality arises and some animals become more equal than others. Soon the pigs of the farm start hoarding food, and other goods, leaving the common animals with less rations of everything. Soon whatever animal goes against Napoleon’s (the “leader”) wishes are executed right on the spot. 
    Napoleon gets cheated on a wood sale from humans and then gets attacked by the same group of them, blowing up a windmill that had been rebuilt before! Injuries to one of the hardest workers caused by the blast caused Napoleon to sell him for money. Years pass on Animal Farm, and the pigs become more and more like human beings—walking upright, carrying whips, and wearing clothes. Eventually, the seven principles of Animalism, known as the Seven Commandments and inscribed on the side of the barn, become reduced to a single principle reading “all animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.” 
    Napoleon declares his intent to ally himself with the human farmers against the laboring classes of both the human and animal communities. Looking in at the party of elites through the farmhouse window, the common animals can no longer tell which are the pigs and which are the human beings. 
    There were many aspects of the book I enjoyed and many I did not enjoy. I enjoyed how the author compared the book to real life events, and made it a different-better way to possibly learn using the form of animals. He did not make the text and descriptions boring with his use of figurative language, so it was simple to create a mental picture. The setting is very easily told as well. It is a farm in between two other farms with big pastures. The author really did a nice job of giving of the theme and language clearly, making it much easier to understand what is going on.

    Although for me, understanding and visualizing the book was not a problem, there were aspects of the book I did not enjoy. To be honest, I do not like the plot of the story. It is pretty cruel and I did not find myself wanting to continue because it almost seemed predictable. The book symbolizes what happened in the Russian Revolution, and the people who took part in the revolution. I do not understand who wants to read about many people, or in this case animals, dying, and a huge problem of inequality. Its common sense that not all stories have a happy endings, but this plot had no good outcome and got worse. I do not find these types of books compelling to me, unless I am trying to learn something.




    My conclusion is that I would not read this book again. I did enjoy the language, scenery, and how easy the author made picturing the setting and story in my mind. As for the plot, it did not keep me pulled in, even with a bit of mystery. The cruelty to the animals made this hard to read, and did not make me wanting to keep reading. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Question

    I have to read this for language arts class... is it good?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I actually thought this book was very well written and thought o

    I actually thought this book was very well written and thought out. I even enjoyed it although I wasn't sure at first. I cannot recommend it to anyone though, unless you really know what you're getting yourself into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    I can honestly say I've never read a book like Animal Farm befor

    I can honestly say I've never read a book like Animal Farm before. It's not necessarily the first book I would choose if I had more options, but it seemed like a good book based on the description that I read. In short, Animal Farm is about animals rebelling. The book shows triumphs, tragedies, and everything in between. Between the characters, the situations, the conflict, and the outcome, Animal Farm is one of the most complex books I know of and yet, it's one of the simplest books I know of.




    Despite all the animals from the farm, the human masters, and the human enemies, Animal Farm doesn't have that many characters. Although I would have liked to learn more about the hens and the sheep, the lack of primary characters helps the plot move along and makes the other characters more understandable. The book has a few changes of the protagonist. As the novel goes on, different characters become the protagonist. The novel only has two or three protagonists, but different chapters focus on different characters, making some chapters have their own protagonists. Unlike most novels, some of the protagonists are actually antagonists. Most books have a certain formula for the main character, with the main component being that the character is 'good'. In Animal Farm, with the exception of the one or two chapter protagonist, most of the protagonists are not actually 'good'. The fact that protagonists and antagonists get intermingled makes Animal Farm different from most books.




    The characters of Animal Farm are a major part of the story themselves, perhaps bigger than anything in the plot. However, the plot does have several important events. Most of the events give away significant information from the book, but one does not. The Animal Rebellion. Despite all the events and changes, the Animal Rebellion is really what the novel is all about. Symbolizing oppression and war, the animals rebel against the humans, ruling themselves and vowing to never become like the abomination known as man. Throughout all the plot twists, revelations, and character development, it is all about and started with the Animal Rebellion. 




    People can react to Animal Farm in tons of different ways. They can like it, they can hate it, they can not have an opinion at all. No matter the reaction that the person has to Animal Farm, there is no doubt that it is a classic and will be remembered for generations to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Animal Farm is an attention-grabbing novel that captures the min

    Animal Farm is an attention-grabbing novel that captures the mind of teenagers and adults. Animal Farm is great example to Christians that shows how being in control can be dangerous. When having a position of authority it is important to not take advantage of being in charge and to do the Christ like-thing. The novel Animal Farm is a fable that mocks the people and their actions that affected the Russian Revolution. The story takes place on a farm located somewhere in England. Mr. Jones, a farmer who has a terrible habit of drinking, letting his workers slack off and mistreating his animals is the person in charge of Manor Farm. When Old Major, the oldest pig, spoke of a dream that he had, where the animals ruled the farm, the thought of starting a revolution began. Old Major was not sure of when the revolution would begin or if it ever would, but it was sooner than any one thought. Soon after Old Major’s speech, the revolution began. The animals had decided that they were finished with being mistreated by Mr. Jones and his men. One night when Mr. Jones was drunk and forgot to feed all of the animals, the animals broke out of the barn and went to where the food was being stored. Mr. Jones heard all of the noise and ran outside. The animals attacked Mr. Jones and chased him out of the farm. The revolution had officially begun, and the animals were now in charge of Manor Farm.
    The smartest of the animals were the pigs, especially Snowball and Napoleon. Snowball and Napoleon placed themselves in charge of the farm and the work that needed to be done. They created seven commandments and wrote them on the barn. The commandments stated that the animals were not supposed to do anything that the humans did. These were the rules that the animals were supposed to abide by, but by the end of the novel the animals had adjusted the rules to a lifestyle that they enjoyed. Snowball had many wonderful ideas of how to improve the run down farm, but Napoleon did not support these ideas. After Snowball was chased out of the farm, all of the animals believed and did what Napoleon said was right. Napoleon had come up with a new rule that stated, “all animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others”. I believe that this was very selfish of Napoleon to say. Napoleon wanted things to work in a way that would benefit him. He thought that he was more important than the other animals because he was smarter than they were, and because he was in charge. Napoleon broke the rules and manipulated the other animals. They did not know that Napoleon was breaking the rules, simply because they could not actually read them.
    I believe that the novel Animal Farm is a great example to many Christians, when it comes to being in a position of authority. I would encourage reading this book to all teenagers and adults because of its applicable lessons taught throughout the novel.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This book is about animals taking over the farm they live on, an

    This book is about animals taking over the farm they live on, and parallels the Russian Revolution. The pigs take over the other animals and use them to benefit their selves. They take food from the hard working middle class and cause the rich upper class to lower their standards. This book has an interesting allegory and kept me captivated. I will never forget the events of the Russian Revolution, and the animals actions. It was creative and very well written. The book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    i thought is was a book i was able to read without getting bored

    i thought is was a book i was able to read without getting bored even though we read it in class. i think i liked it better becuase it was based off a real event and they just put a twist on it with the talking animals. i would recommend it if you find other long books boring or hard to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I think that this book's allegorical connections were very inter

    I think that this book's allegorical connections were very interesting! The different statuses of the animals show how life during the Russian Revolution was. They all represent different classes, or leaders and all the events are symbolic to events in history. I think that this book is well thought out and written and a great book to read to show allegorical connections and events in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Animal farm was very different from any books I have ever read.

    Animal farm was very different from any books I have ever read. It showed me Communist Russia in a way I would never have though of. Overall, I really enjoyed reading it.
    Animal farm is about a group of animals that come together and take down their previous owner. They then establish a government and a leader. The pigs, the highest of all the other animals, soon start to become human like and the animals start to recognize that the pigs are running the farm like the previous owner. Killing animals, dressing like humans, and not doing anything to help the animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This book is about animals who are tired of the poor treatment t

    This book is about animals who are tired of the poor treatment they receive from the farmer, so they take over the farm. Along the way they come to some issues like who will lead, lack of food, and so on. When Napoleon become leader he eventually changes the rules so the pigs can live like human and he will have anyone killed who disagree with him and his choices. At the end of the book the farm and the way the animals are treated is the same or worse than when the farmer was there, except the animals are now ruled by the pigs. I thought this book was a little strange but interesting at the same time. I liked how it was a story about animals but it tell a story about history about the Russian Revolution. I like how there was a connection in the book with every historical event for example; the windmill represented the Five Year Plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16