Customer Reviews for

Animal Farm

Average Rating 4
( 2570 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1078)

4 Star

(1036)

3 Star

(324)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Must read

Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with...
Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with it. The characters are all believable and quite a few are even highly likable. My favorite is the horse Boxer who is renowned for his strength, both of body and character. You have to kind of suspend your disbelief when reading Animal Farm because of some of the things that happen, but it is well worth it. The animals decide that the humans get all of the benefit for their hard work and they are tired of it. Led by two pigs, Napoleon and Snowball, they overthrow the humans. I won't give a bunch of spoilers, but the story unfolds in such a way as to show how a dictatorship comes to be and how the animals went from one form of slavery to another. I also think the character Squealer was done extremely well as far a propaganda man(pig). By the end of the tale, you can see and understand everything that has transpired and the moral stands on its own without you needing to be bashed over the head with it. For a great fairy-tale about the dangers of socialism or any other kind of bad government ending with "ism", look no further than Animal Farm, where "All animals are created equal, but some are more equal than others."

posted by Maria_of_amor on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Super dreadful absolutely boring

Super dreadful absolutely boring

posted by Helen-of-Troy1 on May 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1054 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 53
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read

    Animal Farm is about the animals on a farm uprising and throwing out their unjust owner in order to run the place themselves. It is a thinly-veiled jab at tyrannical regimes and succeeds tremendously. I breezed through this one and honestly could find nothing wrong with it. The characters are all believable and quite a few are even highly likable. My favorite is the horse Boxer who is renowned for his strength, both of body and character. You have to kind of suspend your disbelief when reading Animal Farm because of some of the things that happen, but it is well worth it. The animals decide that the humans get all of the benefit for their hard work and they are tired of it. Led by two pigs, Napoleon and Snowball, they overthrow the humans. I won't give a bunch of spoilers, but the story unfolds in such a way as to show how a dictatorship comes to be and how the animals went from one form of slavery to another. I also think the character Squealer was done extremely well as far a propaganda man(pig). By the end of the tale, you can see and understand everything that has transpired and the moral stands on its own without you needing to be bashed over the head with it. For a great fairy-tale about the dangers of socialism or any other kind of bad government ending with "ism", look no further than Animal Farm, where "All animals are created equal, but some are more equal than others."

    42 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Today's parallels are astounding

    Classic, he was way ahead of his time. Of course evil and lies lurk in our everyday lives. You can see the parallels in today's politics, a must read for everyone and keep your eyes open, freedom is not free-nothing is given to you without consequences read between the lines.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    The perfect political fantasy.

    Change can sometimes be good, but not in this case. At first glance, George Orwell's book "Animal Farm" might seem like a book for children but as I read the story, I began to realize it was based on the Russian Communist Revolution. It's purely political as well as fantasy, considering the characters are animals. George Orwell says "it is the history of a revolution that went wrong" and he was absolutely right. Leaders have a tendancy to get too comfortable with their authority and begin to take advantage of it. The novel explains the many things that can go wrong when someone decides it's time for a change.<BR/> "Animal Farm" is the story of a group of animals living in a farm under human authority. Once manipulated into believing Mr. Jones is evil, as well as all the human race, the animals decide to rebel. They come up with seven commandments that they are expected to live by:<BR/>1. Whatever goes upon two legs is an enemy; <BR/>2. Whatever goes upon four legs, or has wings, is a friend; <BR/>3. No animal shall wear clothes; <BR/>4. No animal shall sleep in a bed; <BR/>5. No animal shall drink alcohol; <BR/>6. No animal shall kill any other animal; <BR/>7. All animals are equal.<BR/>The rules were set and they were final. They drive out the farmer and start to feel as if all authority is gone. Just as fast, the pigs decide they are the ones most fit to be in charge. Sure enough, authority begins to be abused and misused. The pigs treated the animals as if they were above and better than them. They started living in the farmers home, sleeping in the beds and there were even rumors of murder! The other animals were forced to work harder while the pigs sat around and did absolutely nothing. Everything was all too familiar but if you decided to speak up or go against the pigs, you were gone.<BR/> I could definitely recommend this book to others because it's very interesting and easy to comprehend. It illustrates manipulation at its worst. Before reading this book, I didn't care much for politics but after I realized everything that could go wrong, it motivated me to be aware of any leader's words and actions. It brought me to the realization that just because it sounds good doesn't always mean go with it because it's easy to be manipulated when the words they're speaking sound right. Change isn't always for the better, even if that's what they're telling you.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Great Story Line And Interesting Till the Very End.

    Animal Farm Review
    "Man is the only creature that consumes without producing. He does not give milk, he does not lay eggs, he is too weak to pull the plough, he cannot run fast enough to catch rabbits. Yet he is lord of all the animals." ~George Orwell, Animal Farm. In the beginning of this book George Orwell shows how the humans are in control of the Manor Farm, then as the story progresses we see the animals take over and thus Animal farm is born. The book then goes on to show how the animals work together at first and then the pigs start to take control and from there the reader is taken on a rollercoaster of deception, betrayal, war, and much more.
    The writer gets his point across beautifully; he shows how a utopian society was impossible. An example of how he did this would be, that even once the animals got rid of the humans, the pigs stepped in and took control and started dictating, slowly and unnoticed by the other animals. As the story progresses there is a point where an overthrow is tried and succeeded. Then the commandments which were set when Animal Farm was first started were slowly altered ever so slightly that the animals were convinced that they just imagined the real commandments.

    The writer also shows how war was inevitable in order for the animals to keep their farm, also proving a world without war impossible. Like in the battle of the cow shed which was a big turning point in the story. Up till that point Mr. Jones had been planning to strike the animals on the farm and by doing so recover his farm back. But the animals had expected this and therefore readied themselves for it, so when Mr. Jones tried to win his farm back the animals had plans to run him off yet again thus the Battle of the Cow Shed. When the animals won this battle they proved to the humans and themselves that they were independent and would be able to fight to keep their freedom.

    It is my opinion that George Orwell stated fact well and made it interesting for the reader to read and also to interpret. He showed dictatorship at its beginning unthreatening, helpful, and hopeful and then the lust for ultimate power comes through and dictator! He shows suffering, hard work and unawareness. He showed what was wrong with society in that day and much of it still applies today, and did it all in a way that it could not be directly tied to the government. His words were beautiful, a book of great meaning and interest.

    So it is my opinion that George Orwell was a talented person of thought. The book at times made you feel as if you were there, it was fiction but yet comparable to real life, it showed many types of behavior, thoughts, and what one will do in a given situation and more. All in all the point of the book came across loud and clear.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Orwell stands beside Swift, Voltire, and Thackery.

    A great satire on conumissiom. I am 10 years old and I enjoied it. It is about a group of hard working farm animals, how they rebell, and how things do not go so well after it. Better than the t.v. movie!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Animal Farm

    In language arts class this year, we read Animal Farm. I would reccomend this book to anyone who is interested in Communism or is a WWII geek. This was a really good book and I enjoyed it a lot. I'm glad that Orwell wrote this book because America could be a completely different place without the insight that he had.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Animal Farm - a highly interesting read

    The novel Animal Farm is a very interesting book. It speaks of rebellion and dictatorship, freedom and oppression. In this book, George Orwell writes of a farm on which animals are oppressed and worked mercilessly without enough food. One of the pigs decides that the animals should revolt against their owners to create the perfect society ruled by those who stand on four feet.
    When the rebellion succeeds, a government is established with a pig called Napoleon as the head of the so called ¿Animal Farm,¿ the name the animals give Manor Farm after taking over. However, power tends to corrupt, and the utopian society doesn¿t stay perfect for long.
    One interesting part in Animal Farm was when the humans return to the farm and try and reclaim it, but fail. I think this symbolizes that when the old form of government tries to return, it finds that the new system is too strong to replace.
    Another notable scene is when Napoleon changes the seven commandments written on the barn wall to suit his own purposes, instead of for the good of the whole farm. The animals, most of who cannot read, ask the old goat to remind them what the laws say, and when they have been altered, blame themselves for having a bad memory and simply forgetting a few words here and there, though they alter the meaning of the rule considerably.
    I think the most important part in Animal Farm is located at the very end, when the pigs walk on two legs, carry whips, and play cards with humans. It was said that they looked almost the same. I think this signifies that although the animals had created a new government, it had turned out to greatly resemble the old one that they had so despised.
    I think the author of Animal Farm was trying to depict the Communist government and rule in a way that is somewhat satirical, and he did a very good job on this through renaming historical figures and representing them as animals to add to the effect of the governments being different, at least in the beginning. Animal Farm is an interesting book, full of meaningful situations and characters, and well worth reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Animal Farm Review

    The novel that I chose to do my assignment on was Animal Farm. It was a really great book and I absolutely loved it. If you would like to read a book that describes the struggles that we have to go through everyday with authority you will love this book. The story is written from the views of the animals, but it still identifies problems that people have to go through in their everyday lives.
    This novel is about animals on a farm that want to be their own leaders, and don't want to be ruled over by man. It starts off that they rebel and eventually they succeed in driving the farmer off. Then to summarize the middle the pigs who were the smartest of the animals decided that they would be the leaders of the animals. The animals did not understand what they were really agreeing to. All the animals made up rules that they were suppose to follow to stay organized. They also had a motto, "Four legs good two legs bad". Instead these rules would only be discarded like the dead animals that the head pig Napoleon killed with his savage dogs that he raised. (Isn't this interesting?)
    Eventually the pigs exacted exactly like humans. They wore clothes, drank beer, and ordered the other animals around. So no matter what you try to do there is always authority over you. Even if you think that you are free in truth you are not.
    I loved the way that the author organized the order of events in this novel. I think that George Orwell is very intelligent. I would also like to comment on the language and dialogue in this book. George wrote it in a way that was easy to understand. Also the dialogue was great because I felt like I was in the barn with the animals listening to them talk. Even though I know that this story is fictional because I know that animals can't talk it could be based on true events.
    I would definitely recommend this novel to any of my friends I would even recommend it to my friend that do not even like to read. I think that even they would love it. If I could rate this book on a scale of zero to ten I would give it a twenty. I would even like to meet George Orwell and discuss Animal Farm. To anyone who has not read the Animal Farm novel I suggest that you do. I will be reading more of George Orwell's books! Also I would just like to say that if I was going to be a writer I would pick George Orwell as my writing coach. He is just amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    A magnificent parody to a dictatorship

    In Animal Farm, an old boar known as Major gathers every animal on Manor Farm one night and tells them that he had a dream of a changed society where humans have been driven out and everything is run by animals, working hours on farms are shorter, and everything is right and just and animals are all treated equally. Mr. Jones and his family (the owners of Manor Farm) are run out by the animals and they are free. However, the pigs happen to seize the only positions as leaders of Manor Farm (now Animal Farm). But the rest of the animals don't complain because the yearly harvest was completed much quicker and produced more and they get increased rations. However, a pig named Napoleon chases Snowball (the only other pig trying to lead Animal Farm) out of the farm and slowly establishes a dictator-like regime on the farm that gives pigs and dogs a higher social status than the rest of the animals there. He slowly changes the original commandments of Animalism (the belief that all animals are equal that was established on Animal Farm originally) so that conditions on the farm were no better than before. This classic is a great read and I reccomend that you read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    An amazing book for most ages - fantastic read!

    Many authors strive to make their books wanted, read and most importantly, passed on for others to read. Animal Farm has done every one of those, and more! Animal Farm is a clever mix of comedy, adventure, action, tragedy and many other genres. What starts out as a calm regular old farm ends up being taken over, while all of the animals face the challenges of their own, but is it too much to put in the hooves of these farm animals?

    Now, I feel that the two best parts of this book are The Battle of Cowshed, and when Napoleon chases Snowball away. Those two parts really affected the story by a great amount, and are both mentioned many times further in the book. In The Battle of Cowshed, the humans invaded the Animal Farm with intent to retake it. Though the animals did end up chasing the humans back off, the hard-working horse named Boxer had knocked out one of the younger humans, and he had an iron hoof on. Luckily just a little later, the human came to and ran off. The animals do refer back to The Battle of Cowshed many times in the book, some good memories, some not so good memories.

    When Napoleon chases Snowball away from the Animal Farm, it almost sent the plot of the book spiraling in the opposite direction, because at that very moment, the bad guy who wanted everything for himself was standing there before them as leader of the Animal Farm. Yes, I am talking about Napoleon, the ruthless leader who defies all Animal Farm rules. Now that Napoleon is in charge and Snowball is nowhere to be seen, things are supposed to be getting better, right? Because Napoleon has great ideas, and just wants what's best for the farm. Nope, that's not the case for this rascally little animal. He takes over the farm and, well you'll have to read the book to find out.

    I would recommend this book to everyone 10 and up, because it does have one or two gory partswhere the dogs rip out the throats of multiple animals, but overall it is an amazing read which would be perfect for the family to read together. After this essay, I would still say that my favorite parts of this book would definitely be The Battle of Cowshed and the part where Napoleon chases Snowball away. This book is an amazing creation, and I would definitely recommend this read for families of almost all sorts of ages, young or old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Goodness gracious...

    I may not have a long, descriptive review like many others before me, but i can say that this is a really god book. Very interesting and unlike many books I have ever read. For portraying communism in such a way, Mr. Orwell is a genius.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, is has a lot of historical meaning i

    I really enjoyed this book, is has a lot of historical meaning in it showed by symbolism through the animals/characters. The book is based off of the Russian's idea of communism/ socialism. This is a good book if you want to learn about the idea of communism in a fun more interesting way then researching the straight facts. This is a must read if your a history buff or just looking for a good book.
    -William Medlock

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic tale of how the system works when everyone is "eq

    Fantastic tale of how the system works when everyone is &quot;equal&quot;. This classic is a true eye opener and the fastest book I have ever read, in my life. Less than 24 hours and I am done, because it is impossible to put this one down.

    There are many people who do not appreciate the society that they live in. Sure it is easier to blame Tsarists' Russia or some dictatorship to be changed into another system, but as they always say, be careful what you wish for. In this wonderful portrayal of the George Orwell example, we can see that the system is the problem and the greed doesn't disappear, when the &quot;equal for all&quot; society is installed. Actually it becomes easier for a few to instill the &quot;honorable notion of equality&quot; while ripping the benefits and preaching that it is for the better good.

    What do we see here, without giving too much away, but to make sure that we touch up on what is the point behind this example, of social justice and equality. Pigs will take control and even fight one another to ensure that the main hog is at the top of the food chain and I do mean food chain. They will surround themselves by guard dogs and preach to the sheep, poultry and others who will listen, blindly follow them, to gain control and make sure that their opinion is not challenged, that their rule is not questioned. Of course you have bunch of work horses and asses who will work without questioning the system, since the system of &quot;everyone being equal&quot; cannot possibly be wrong. &quot;I must work harder&quot; and &quot;comrade Napoleon is always right&quot;. Oh yes, in all &quot;equal society&quot;, you end up with work horses and pigs. You can surely see where the &quot;equality&quot; becomes a bit of a blur, but lets continue. We see an example of ever changing rules, modified policies, overworked and unpaid, or in this case, underfed, lower class of &quot;comrades in equality&quot;. The final point of this that it is hard to distinguish at the end between greed of men and greed of pigs, because greed exists in all &quot;equal&quot; society, but the problem is, only a few are able to rip the benefits of everyone else's hard labor and not to mention by force, not by choice.

    My favorite quote is the 7, constantly modifying commandments, turning into one: &quot;ALL ANIMALS ARE EQUAL, BUT SOME ANIMALS ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS&quot;. The point of this book, reminds me of the old Russian saying, since the end result was, is and always will be the same in the social justice system or better known as socialism. The saying is &quot;Doesn't matter which way you turn, you butt is behind you&quot;. For those who do not understand the point of this Russian saying, the easier way to say this &quot;Be careful what you wish for&quot;, since the change doesn't necessarily mean it will benefit or be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    The only thing I knew going into George Orwell¿s Animal Farm was

    The only thing I knew going into George Orwell’s Animal Farm was that it was a short read. I assumed it would be a difficult one, but to be honest it wasn’t that difficult. The plot is straightforward, but with enough nuances to be interesting. The characters were believable even if they were animals. The situation itself was one as old as civilization, not a new thought to be sure. The why is it, I ask myself, that it resonated with me so much? I’m a book lover and an avid reader, but never can I remember a story making me think as much as this one did.
    I think the answer lays not in what is written, but how it is written. There is a certain edge to the tale that is very hard to place, but it is so sharp that it cuts you very close to home. Orwell gives you the underdogs to root for-the overworked and mistreated animals-and a cause that appeals to all of us. After all, who wouldn’t want to live in a utopian society?
    As the story progress, the flaws of humanity, and more specifically, self-governing communities, become painfully apparent. You want to cry out against the lies and corruption as you watch dreams crumble into dust. It’s not real of course, just a work of fiction, but Orwell’s message is clear all the same. He does a very good job of roping you into it as well.  
    Being on the outside and looking in, you get a very good sense of what’s going on. You can put all the puzzle pieces together, but it seems as though the characters can’t. They are animals, they’re not very smart as Orwell even states. The few that can figure it out are either the driving force behind the plight, or simply won’t share their wisdom. You find yourself hoping that some of the smarter ones will pick up on it, but as things get worse and worse you realize that it’s just not going to happen.
    I read this story was based on the events of Stalinist Russia, so I did some research. The parallels are terrifyingly accurate. If you exchanged some words here and there, you would have an account of the rule of Stalin, rather than a satiric fable for adults. But the rule of Stalin is over. These terrible events are passed tense, never to happen again. Or are they?
    That brings Orwell to his second point, one more subtly stated than the others. As he shows the progression through the regimes over the farm, you begin to see a pattern. Not the pattern you want to see either, the pattern that you have been most aware of through every history class you’ve ever taken. The pattern that, in time, history is bound to repeat itself. He dangles the tantalizing bait of almost breaking free of this perpetual cycle, before bringing down the crushing weight that it simply isn’t so. So with his point made, he leaves you with the ending you both expected and hoped not to see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Awesome

    Love thisbook! Best ever... jedi mind trick "you will buy it." "I will buy it"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful book!

    ¿It¿s a bird! It¿s a plane! No, it¿s an animal rebellion!¿ Animal Farm is an incredibly interesting book that focuses on highly intelligent, easily persuadable farm animals taking charge and seeking freedom and higher animal rights. By hearing the final words of a dying pig and former animal leader of the farm, the farm animals decide to rebel against the human who runs the farm and physically kick the farmer out of his own farm! And thus, the animals declare war against the humans, and the revolution has begun. Can the farm animals succeed with their quest to overthrow the humans of the world and take their place as leaders of the world? Or will the rebels be destroyed from the inside?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Barnes & Noble Animal Farm Book Review - 5 Star Reading

    I recently read Animal Farm for a school assignment and in the beginning was not really expecting very much from an "old book about animals". After reading the first few pages, I realized that this is not just any old book about animals; it's a complex weaving of underlying meanings that pertain to everyday life, in a format that people actually want to read, and in doing so become aware of the issues described. I am actually also interested in communist countries because the people there must have such a different view of life than we do in America. Needless to say, I proceeded to ravenously inhale the remainder of the book, enjoying and sharing the lavish history lesson I received as a result.
    Animal Farm is a story about the oppressed farm animals that inhabit Manor Farm. They slave away, their struggles and effort left unrewarded each day, and they are beginning to become restless in their stalls, awaiting the day when they will be free. This opportunity arises one day and results in a bloody battle with Farmer Jones, driving the humans out of the renamed "Animal" Farm. The animals successfully create a republic in which the song "Beasts of England" and phrase "Four Legs Good, Two Legs Bad" dominate and replace their once painful bleating and gasps of overexertion. But the trouble begins when the animals are to elect a leader, and two pigs with opposing values, Napoleon and Snowball, are at constant conflict with one another, striving for the position of power. The conflict ends when Napoleon's vicious dogs (and later bodyguards) chase Snowball away. This is the beginning of the end of true animalism, with Napoleon beginning to overwork the animals again for a windmill that never gets built (to keep them busy), and he bullies the na&#239;ve "sheep" into following him with false propaganda, praise from Minimus and promises from Squealer. He disobeys his own rules and behaves more and more like a human, going against the original ideal of the animals that elected him. Many casualties follow, and the situation hardly improves.
    This book has both subtle and obvious mirrors of life, as it was written after the Russian Revolution. It portrays a group of citizens yearning for a better life. They get another life, but it is one that is controlled and led by a sly dictator with cunning orators, ferocious dogs, and a young poet to support him in every way. This mimics the situation in various communist countries in today's world, like North Korea. It is full of the events that lead up to these governments and how the people feel, often lost, confused and na&#239;ve. I often felt like crying when the animals were conned into thinking Napoleons slippery ideas were good ones and every twist and turn enthralled me.
    These underlying messages provide the value of the book, and now more than ever. It is a relevant issue in today's world, one that is shown to be getting rather old. The book was written in the 1940's for goodness sake! It is important for many to read this book and realize the dangers of their actions and the changes in technology that may empower the wrong people with many unwitting "sheep" below them.
    This book is a must read for any modern person who is active in their daily choices. It is now my favorite book because I am enjoying something without feeling guilty of reading trash. The cover does not even start to describe the exhilarating trip that awaits you, if you dare to open to the first page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Animal Farm Book Review: An Astonishing Anecdote

    When I first came across the book Animal Farm, my first thought was that it did not look like a very exciting book to read. However, I was seriously mistaken. The book turned out to be an incredible story with vivid scenes and well-formed characters.

    The whole tale starts out when an aged boar named Old Major calls the animal of the Manor Farm together for a meeting. During the meeting, Old Major plants an idea into everyone's head that one day all the animals of England will be free and that all animals will be equal, no one shall rule over another. Three days after this meeting, Old Major died in his sleep.

    After the death of Old Major, the animals started planning for the day that they would be free. They had no idea when The Rebellion that Old Major predicted would happen, but they still got ready. Suddenly, the day had come when treatment for the animals had gotten so bad that the animals revolted. And before they knew it, they had chased every human off the farm and it was now all their own.

    The first order of business upon seizing the farm was to lay down rules for the new republic and changing the farm's name from "Manor Farm" to "Animal Farm." After that business had been concluded, all the animals pitched in to help harvest the grain from the field better than the previous owner had ever done. All the animals worked together and they had conducted the best harvest that had ever been done on that field.

    After some time, it was found out the pigs had been taken special things that the other animals were not getting, such as having milk put into their mash or getting to eat the apples that fell. When the animals started to question this, since they believed that all animals were equal, the two leader pig, named "Snowball" and "Napoleon", set another pig named "Squealer" to straighten things out. Squealer was a very persuasive pig who could turn black into white. But sometimes the animals would still not understand and press on for more answers. When the animals did this, Squealer simply said that if the pigs did not do what they did the former owner would come back and all the horrible treatment would begin again. So they believed him.

    About a year after the animals had procured the Animal Farm. One of the leader pigs, Napoleon, expulsed Snowball out of the farm, saying to the other animals that he was a traitor and that he had been working for the previous owner all the time. After that things started to change drastically around the Animal Farm. The pigs started sleeping in the farmhouse beds; they started drinking; and doing many more horrible things. To justify their actions, Napoleon secretly sent Squealer out during the night and had him change the rules of the Animal Farm. When everyone saw the new rules, they believed that they had somehow forgotten that one part.

    Throughout the book, the plot gets better and better. And pretty soon, you start to see how the events in the story are related to real life. Mostly, all the events are centered on the rise of Communism in Russia during the early-1900s. I say that this book is truly a piece of great literature that George Orwell has done and that everyone should read this story for its entertainment, its lessons, and simply because it is a grand piece of writing for all ages, young or old.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I recommend Animal Farm for every one

    In the book Animal Farm there were a lot of important parts. I found that the most important part to me was at the end after everything happened they said they could not tell if the humans were pigs or humans or if the pigs were humans or pigs. I think that is so important because it is true when we let power take over us even though we may not be affected by it everyone else is and that¿s not right you would not want that to be you. I think that snowball is a good pig he knows what needs to be done in a government and how to make thing fare for all even if it¿s hard. He wants the best for his fellow animals. I think Napoleon is totally opposite he lies and is lazy he does not care about any of the animals he only wants to make sure he is sleeping well at night. I think he is a coward and it shows when he ran off snowball so he would win. I think the animals at the farm don¿t want to live like this but all they know is life with the farmer so I think that they think this is how it is supposed to be. I think the author is trying to say that when we let power and pride get to the best of us we lose control and become selfish and we end up not caring about anyone but our self and hard work pays off even if you have to keep working for ever. I think the author did a great job on explaining what he wanted to say. He did very well writing this book when he used Napoleon to be the way he explained his point he hit it right on the spot.<BR/> My opinion on this book is: I would recommend this book for all ages eventually it could become like ¿The Little Boy Who Cried Wolf.¿ It is one of those books that have an everyday lesson to it for everyone. I think that this book is a book you would want to read over and over again because every time you do you find something new. It has great moral values and a good story line, it is easy to comprehend and figure out what is going on. I recommend this book for everyone who can read and understand the morals.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Novel Review

    The novel I have chose to read is ¿Animal Farm¿. Animal Farm is an interesting book about a farm full of animals and a owner that mistreats them until they come together against their owner to teach him a lesson. However, everything doesn¿t go exactly as planed. Some of the animals are killed or die during that time and a couple of the animals decide to take matters into their own hands and take over their selves but they wind up becoming just like their original owner and the rest of the animals have fight back to receive their control back and teach their enemies a lesson. This novel reminds me a lot of the holocaust. The animals are just like the Jews battling against Hitler only the animals were battling against their owner Mr. Jones. Mr. Jones only gave those animals enough food to stay standing long enough to get their jobs done. They worked from the time they got up in the mornings to the time Mr. Jones got ready to go to bed. He was always drunk and always mistreated the animals. Finally, they realized that they didn¿t have to take the abuse anymore and they began their plan to fight back. It¿s amazing how well spoken the animals were. This book had quite a bit of violence in it and I don¿t recommend that anyone ignorant read it because there is no telling how they might react. Believe it or not, this book teaches you a lot about life. There will always be someone around like Mr. Jones and there will always be people around like those animals. I really enjoyed reading this novel. I recommend that anyone who is looking for a good book to read or if you just enjoy reading that you read ¿Animal Farm¿. I enjoyed it and I think you will too. Important Events: *Old Major telling the rest of the animals about his dream. *When Snowball was killed. *When Old Major Died. *When they created the 7 commandments. *They blamed snowball for everything and that is how he died. *The hens were kicked out of the farm and Napoleon said that any animal who gave the hens so much as a grain of corn would be punished to death. This book has been described in many different ways. It has been described as a masterpiece, a fairy story, a brilliant satire, and a frightening view of the future. A devastating attack on the pig-headed, gluttonous and avaricious rulers in an imaginary totalitarian state, it illuminates the range of human experience from love to hate, from comedy to tragedy. ¿A wise, compassionate and illuminating fable for our time. The steadiness and lucidity of Orwell¿s wit are reminiscent of Anatole France and even of swift.' *473 words*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1054 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 53