BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Animalia

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    This is one of those children's books that I bought long before

    This is one of those children's books that I bought long before I had a child. Pretty much as soon as I spied it in the library I knew I had to have it. It's a great book that works on so many levels. For one thing, it's gorgeous. It is hard not to admire the splendid illustrations, and it's even harder to put the book down. Then there is the wonderful, witty alliteration (yeah, I did that on purpose). But it is so clever and unexpected. This is not your standard alphabet book. 
    This book is a great read-aloud for story time with toddlers and preschoolers. School-age children to adults will enjoy hunting for objects beginning with the featured letter on each illustrated page -- kind of like an early I Spy book, only you have to identify the objects, not just find them.
    Graeme Base spend three years working on this book and was a very young man when he did it. Not a second of his time was wasted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    A Lifelong Book

    I fell in love with this book when my nieces and nephews received it as a gift some 25 years ago. I bought a copy for myself and used it as a coffee table book. It was the hit of many gatherings as adults worked to identify the more subtle 'hidden' illustrations. For children, it grows with them, learning the basic reading and finding the small boy hidden on each page. As they grow older there are ever challenging items to find on each page, each starting with the letter for that page. For example the page for the letter 'P' has illustrations of the Parthenon, Pythons, and Pterodactyls. Today I am buying copies for the younger children in my life to share the wonder of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    ABC book

    Great ABC book for kids who are already somewhat familiar with the ABC's (otherwise I think the book might be confusing or over stimulating). The book is fully illustrated (every square centimeter!) with bright colors, each page representing a different letter of the alphabet. Each page is a hunt to see how many things you can find that start with that letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enduring

    I remember my young daughter recieving a copy of Animalia when she was 6 years old. We loved the illustrations. This is what I would consider an art book more than a storybook. A great way to start a youngster on the path of art appreciation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Amazing Illustrations

    I purchased this book for my daughter when she was young and she absolutely loved it. Now I have nephews whom I've purchased it for and I know they'll love it as well. The graphics are amazing and the illiterations are catchy for the kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Glowing success with every child

    Every child to whom I've given this book or with whom I've shared my copy has loved it. The artistry is amazing and gorgeous, and the words are fun as well. Can't recommend it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Beautiful Book

    This book is wonderful. It uses great words and has beautiful pictures. I reccommend this book to kids of all ages!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    Outstanding for home or school!

    I bought this book while teaching a poetry unit to my 8th grade students. It's a perfect exmple of alliteration. I brought it home to read to my 2 year old and he loved it too! Not only are the main illustrations beautiful, but the background of each page is full of pictures that begin with that letter as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Detailed Alphabet Book

    Animalia is an extremely detailed alphabet book. There are twenty six illustrations, one for each letter of the alphabet. Some are two pages and some are only one. Each illustration includes an animal that corresponds with the letter the name starts with: like A is for Alligator, B is for Butterfly, C is for Cat and so on. Graeme¿s word choice includes alliteration for each letter: like ¿An Armoured Armadillo Avoiding An Angry Alligator,¿ ¿Beautiful Blue Butterflies Basking By a Babbling Brook,¿ ¿Crafty Crimson Cats Carefully Catching Crusty Crayfish,¿ and so on. It sounds very poetic. A child might not know what the words mean but might like the sounds of them. Each illustration also includes many small objects that start with the corresponding letter. Although the text doesn¿t include the names of these objects, the reader can try to identify them. It¿s interesting the author has a hidden picture of himself as a child in every illustration, it¿s another challenge the reader can search for. I think this book is appropriate for all ages. Adults have just as much fun and just as much curiosity when identifying the hidden objects as children do. There is a coloring book version of Animalia and a television series to be released in 2007 called Animalia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    A Great Book To Help Your Childrens Vocabulary To Grow

    Animalia is a great book for parents to read to their kids because with this books fun and challenging words it helps the readers vocabulary to grow! With great pictures and funny words, this book will surely make you want to read it again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    This is a great and amazing book

    I have read this book when my teacher in Hillcrest Scool brought this book. It is a reaaly amazing, funny and good book. You should read it Ashley because you like animals and I reccomend this book to animal fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1