BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ani's Raw Food Kitchen: Easy, Delectable Living Foods Recipes

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am relatively new to the Raw Food diet, but I have been boning up on everything Raw I kind find. This is one of the best books I have found. She gives easy recipes that don't take too long to make, as I am busy and don't always have time to dehydrate. And the recip...
I am relatively new to the Raw Food diet, but I have been boning up on everything Raw I kind find. This is one of the best books I have found. She gives easy recipes that don't take too long to make, as I am busy and don't always have time to dehydrate. And the recipes are some of the best I've tried. Plus she throws in all sorts of little tips on living Raw as well as going green.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous "cook"book, not so fabulous e-book

As a beginner in raw food I have found Ani's books to be so easy to use and inspiring. I decided I wanted to get this book for my Nook so it's easy to take with me everywhere. However after reading over the recipes I realized that quite a few of the ingredients have que...
As a beginner in raw food I have found Ani's books to be so easy to use and inspiring. I decided I wanted to get this book for my Nook so it's easy to take with me everywhere. However after reading over the recipes I realized that quite a few of the ingredients have question marks in place of numbers!! Not so good when you're cooking and need quantities. I think I will be purchasing bound cookbooks from now on, most definitely this one.

posted by lustrousowl on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    Great Everyday (Un)cookbook

    I quickly flipped through this book at Whole Foods and I immediately decided to buy it. What interested me most were Ani's recipes' short ingredient lists. We have several raw foods cookbooks where the finished products are exquisite--great for special occasions--but are so preparation intensive that they are impractical for everyday use. I really wanted to find a book with recipes that my family could use on a daily basis. As an additional surprise, we discovered that we only needed a food processor, a blender (we already had a Vita-Mix and couldn't live without it), and a knife. Awesome!

    For two weeks straight, we easily and quickly made the recipes from this book. I love how her recipes are for four people only, which is perfect for raw foods because you really need to to prepare raw foods fresh everyday. Recipes we love are the Sun Burgers with Sun-Dried Tomato Catsup, the cheezes, the mylks, the Polenta with Mushroom Ragout, and Sweet Corn Chowder among others. The only reason that I gave the book four stars instead of five is that while the various recipes taste great individually, the flavors repeat (at least in my taste perception) and the recipes start to taste like each other. I suppose this repetition should be expected with a short ingredient list.

    For people who are new to raw foods, veganism, organic foods, and environmental issues Ani has included a lot of nice educational information. Eating raw, eating organic, being vegan is a lifestyle. We are used to spending a lot of time and money on our food. Food as medicine is one of our family's passions and our lives practically revolve around it. Those who are just trying out the lifestyle for the first time might naturally encounter resistance to the cost of raw organic foods, the prep time, not to mention physical, mental, and emotional resistance. I advise you to proceed slowly, to accept and work through the challenges, and know that feeding your body well is one of the most greatest gifts you can give yourself.

    Thanks Ani!

    Mira
    www.philippejacquin.com

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Good for some recipes

    Be careful with using a lot of her recipes, or any recipes that use a lot of nuts. If you are not extremely physically active, you may gain weight. So use these recipes with other recipes that do not include nuts.

    "The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth" is very informative. Good information. We highly recommend "Rainbow Green"; "The Green Foods"; "The Raw Food Revolution Diet"; and "Raw 50" are very informative books. "Complete Idiot's Guide To Eating Raw" is a good book to start with for learning about raw food. It has good recipes and a simple layout.
    We also recommend "The Sprouting Book" by Ann Wigmore; "Ani's Raw" by Ani Phyo (but be careful with using all recipes with nuts - you'll gain weight); all Moosewood books (they are not all raw, but have good raw and not raw recipes) "Moosewood Restaurant Cooks At Home" (best simple starter); "Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special"; "Simple Suppers"; "Moosewood Restaurant Celebrates"; "Sundays At Moosewood Restaurant"; and "Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites" (although I don't recommend "low-fat" - just use healthy fat - you can see the difference "The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth" by Jonny Bowden)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Very Good for New Raw Foodies

    I enjoyed this book. I purchased it after seeing some of Ani Phyo's videos on another site. Her recipes are so simple to make. I actually made the Spanish Scramble and was very impressed with the simple recipe. it tasted great. I can't wait to make alot of the other recipes illustrated in her book. I also have bought Raw Cacao Powder and Raw Maca Powder and these have helped with my depression and anxiety immensely. I believe that proper nutrition can help any ailment people are dealing with. Since incorporating Raw Foods into my diet I have noticed less depression and anxiety, and I have increased energy. Ani Phyo's book also gives you her background story as to why she started eating Raw and she has a checklist for new Raw Foodist on what to stock in the pantry. The desserts look delightful. In a nutshell I think anyone, young or old cand benefit from this wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Easy to read information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1