Customer Reviews for

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Guilty Pleasures, Volume 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    Found this one like the first book in the series, to be okay. So

    Found this one like the first book in the series, to be okay. Somewhat good but okay. And the art was weird at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it...

    A friend introduced me to Laurell K. Hamilton, and I'm glad she did. I've read some of the novels, but had never picked up one of the graphic novels...until now. I plan on picking up more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    If you love vampires, zombies and werewolves, you should read all the Anita Blake books and comics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    I love Anita Blake!!!!

    I'm not much of a comic book kind of person, But I have read all of the Anita Blake books, so I said "why not?" I totally recommend this graphic novel. If you love Anita Blake, you will love this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great adaptation of the novel

    I thoroughly enjoyed Volume 1 and 2 but I was a little surprised to find that it took two volumes to get the story in. I shouldn't be, Hamilton packs a lot into her books. Still, I felt like what I saw in my head while I read was playing out on the page. Anita's personality was captured in the graphic novel and the story line was accurate. I am looking forward to future installments. Keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Brings the book to life. I love Anita Blake. She's my hero. I love all of Laurell K. Hamilton's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    I can't say enough about this series

    I love all the books and all the comics, yes i have the original issues (paperback standard comic issue), and it really put a face to some of the characters that i love. I think i've turned all my friends onto this series and can't wait for the next batch to come out later this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Wonderful

    I love all of the Anita Blake books. The writing is fantastic and inventive, the imagination behind it grand enough to pull me along into the fantasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A-Less-Than-Thrilled Fangirl

    Compared to all the rest of these fab reviews, mine is going to seem like the suicudal stepchild. I have been a fan of LKH/Anita since the 7th grade, so I've probably re-read the series a few times over. I've recruited who knows how many of my friends,and written a few fanfics for my local online community. However, I would not say that I am thrilled about this comic book adaption. Granted, this is supposed to be a more Gothic-style interpretation of St. Louis (hence Anita's pasty white, vampire-like appearance) but to me, they've reduced Anita from her gun-toting, foul-mouthed, 'little body with a big attitude' ways into Lara Croft with some scars. That is saying nothing for the plot, which is good, and the characterization, which sticks to the novels well. I guess I just am disappointed that Ms. Hamilton would reduce my literary hero to a size zero heroine with big boobs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Better than the rest!

    So, to say I started out with a tv series based Vampire killer heroine, is nothing compared to Anita Blake. She is grown up, and everything, I wanted my last heroine to grow up into. Just the right amount of self secured, level headedness, a woman of this generation wants, love life & all. I have given several of my friends & family my copy to start their own journey, and I know just like me... We do not want this journey to stop! Just wish they came in a audio set up, so I could listen when my eyes had to stop reading, but the rest of me wasn't ready to put it down. Thank you for NOT listening to your old & outdated college teacher, the readers you have like me, need you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book about two years ago. Yet, it stuck with me so well I still can tell someone about it as if I read it yesterday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Fantastic series, huge fan

    this is an excellent series and I'm glad they found someone to draw it and bring it to life. Its one thing to read it and play it out in your mind but another to have someone put that thought to paper and bring a new life to. I'm anxiously awaiting her new title 'a lick of frost' for the meridith gentry series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    Everyone Needs a Taste of Anita Blake!

    ¿The addiction begins here¿ would have been an accurate sub-title for Laurell K. Hamilton¿s, GUILTY PLEASURES, Volume 1. In Anita Blake's freaky world, humans, vampires, and were-creatures live together freely. This fascinating arrangement is ripe for power struggles, chronic tension, and violence. And the hero, Anita, is in a very special position. The vamps, were-creatures, and humans all need her help! As a zombie raiser, vampire executioner, and federal marshal, she is uniquely qualified to solve murder mysteries by working with the cops who the freaks don¿t trust and working with the freaks who the cops don¿t trust. Anita also questions who she can trust. Anita is likeable, because she¿s funny, tough, loyal, and tends to be attracted to the bad boys. In Volume 1, which includes the first 6 comic book issues and an 8-page bonus story, readers are still getting to know Anita, but the combination of mystery, vampires, were-creatures, and a powerhouse of a main character are going to cause people to need their Anitaverse fix. Buy the graphic novel, no matter what kind of creature you happen to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    First time reader and future forever fan

    I cannot wait to get volumes 2-6 of the newly published graphic novel of Guilty Pleasures. It was truly exciting and sinfully enjoyable. The artists are super amazing, LOVE the graphics and posters in the book! Your stories rock, Ms. Hamiton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Great Author and Series

    I love the entire series of her books. I think that if you like Anne Rice you will definately like Ms. Hamilton. Both of them have great stories and you really feel as though you can understand the characters and what they are going through. If you like her stuff you should also check out another really great author L. A. Banks. She too has a killer vamp series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    Simply Beyond

    I've been hooked on Ms. Hamilton's Anita Blake series for about 10 years now. I have even gotta my wife and many of our friends hooked as well. Ms. Hamilton has done an incredible job of adding in a little of everything into the series. From rib tickling comedy to shear nightmarish horror. One can not help but enjoy the rollercoaster ride she takes us on, so if you need a truly great read with a bit of everything, the Anita Blake series is where to start. Now with the addition of comic books, all that's missing is a TV series or even a (dare i type it?) a Movie...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Best Thing to happen to Anita Blake

    I instantly became addicted to the Anita Blake serise from book one. The diversity of the characters mixed with horror and romance is amazing. Bringing Anita out into comic form, it can only get better. I always wondered how Hamilton say Anita and Jean-Claude. Now I can see for myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    So convenient!

    I first became addicted to Laurell Hamilton books in the summer of my junior year in high school with Narcissus in Chains. The vibrancy of the characters and scenes immediately pulled me into an intoxicating alternate reality. I've been an avid reader of her books ever since. When I learned of the Anita Blake series having a comic for it I was immediately excited. I had never been a big fan of comic books only having only read assorted, random titles friends had lying around their rooms, but I knew if it was about Anita Blake I would love it. I love both the artwork and story content of the Guilty Pleasures. Brett Booth's rendition of Anita is exactly what I had in mind of what she looked like. My only mild dislike about comic books is the delicacy of the book and paper- I can be a bit rough with my books. I was excited to learn that in July they will be putting all six comic issues put together in one hard back volume! This will be great- and convenient for both reading purposes and for safe keeping. Along the way I have also missed getting a couple of the issues. With all the issues and cover art in one volume I won't have to track those previous issues down. I can't wait for July

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3