Customer Reviews for

Anna Dressed in Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Best. Ghost. Book. EVER.

1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at lea...
1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at least). The dress is gorgeous and stained blood! How awesome! The creepy Victorian in the background... the cover is just too amazing. I love it. I need a poster of it.
3) In my opinion, this book is perfect in almost every way. It's a terrifying ride that taunts you with the cover, pulls you in with the first page, and keeps you entertained all the way to the final words. I couldn't have asked for a better book.

We start off with Theseus Cassio, or Cas as we know him. Cas is a ghost hunter, just like his father until he was brutally murdered. Now Cas, his mother, and his cat travel to wherever they need to be so that Cas, with his father's athame, can continue to kill ghosts. After a friend tips him off, Cas and his family go in search of a ghost named Anna Dressed In Blood, who as her name says wears a dress covered in her blood and kills anyone who comes into her home. Cas feels strangely drawn to this particular hunt, and will quickly find out that she is the most powerful ghost he has ever come in contact with... so far.

Anna Dressed In Blood is the ultimate, perfect ghost story. Well, there was one part that I was very distraught about because it made me super sad... but, I guess that's just another reason why this book is so perfect to me. Because, it was able to pull at every one of my emotions. If you know me, you know I love creepy, eeries, intense books and normally, I even read them at night and they don't freak me out what so ever. At one part during Anna, my stomach actually dropped. At the end of the chapter I was like 'GTFO, no way, RUN!'. So thank you Kendare for that! :)

When I say every emotion, I mean it. There were parts where I was some-what frightened, sad, laughing, wanted to punch someone in the face, surprised, sighing from happiness, I was just hanging onto every word. Believe me when I say Kendare has wrote one phenomenal story, one that has 100% ended up on my favorites list in my top three.

I loved all the characters, as well. Actually... I disliked a few... BUT with very good reason. Read the book and you'll see exactly what I mean! Anna, Cas, Thomas, and Carmel though take my character love prize. They are all so smart, so strong, so different from one another yet all coming together, and they have everything you could ask for in characters. PS. Super sexy alert on Cas!!! ;)

This story doesn't just have amazing characters though. It has lessons, witty lines, romance, suspense, murder, family, sacrifice, laughs, which all wraps up into one perfect ghost adventure that will have you turning page after page until the very end. And, when it's all over you'll be begging for more. I know, I did. The end is absolutely mind-blowing awesomeness. And I was jumping for joy when I found out there is a sequel that will be released in 2012!

I cannot rave about this book enough. So as I've done before I'm going to cut myself off. A few final words though. Kendare Blake, you are a genius. I adored your writing and this story. I believe it would an amazing movie and I am SO, so (beyond words) excited to read the sequel! To everyone reading this, go pre-order/buy this book! You will not be disappointed. Best. Ghost. Book. Story. EV

posted by jenababy13 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.

First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did ha...
First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did have a few other hang ups.


So Cas is a teenage ghost buster (he hates that term), he kills ghost for a living and people email him from all over with their ghost stories. He only kills those ghost who kill people and he gets a note with a name on it: Anna. After researching he finds out about Anna dressed in blood a teenager ghost who rips people apart. (Sounds scary, but she really isn't) Cas and his mother move to Thunder Bay so that he can put Anna down, but when she doesn't kill him, he starts to become fascinated with her. A little more than he should since she is a ghost, ewww. Cas is likable but a bit conceited, so it knocked some points off.


Anna, had her life taken from her in a tragic way and now something controls her and makes her kill anyone who enters her house. When some boys from Thunder Bay decide to play a prank on Cas, it goes horrible wrong. Anna kills one, but doesn't harm Cas. She is not really sure why she did it, but maybe it was because he was different and she could sense it. After getting to know him she becomes a bit attached to him even though she knows he is there to kill her.


The mystery, find out what really happened to Anna and why she is stuck in the house killing people. The only way to help Anna is to find out who killed her and why. Also to find out what strange thing is following Cas. I do have to say that I was a little surprised at who actually killed Anna. I mean I guessed most of it, but in the end I was still like, how horrible.


So, what I didn't really like about the book. The book starts off great and then somewhere in the middle just sort of drags and I found myself pulling back from it. Then it took off towards the end and got through the book. That was a bit disappointing to me as I had seen all these great reviews about it.


Then, the whole Cas and Anna thing was just a little two gross for my taste. I mean he falls for a ghost who kills people!! I know it's not exactly her fault but still she is DEAD. Not even a vampire type dead, she is a ghost! I just found it a little to icky for me. (I don't know I just kept picturing Beetlejuice..lol) That is also why I don't do zombie romances either. Ick.


I also felt that the ending was just to easy, and wasn't left feeling as satisfied as I was hoping.


Over all, I thought it was a lot different than the books I have been reading and I did enjoy it, so if you like these types of novels, I would recommend you give it a try.

posted by Ladystorm on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Pretty neat

    I liked the originality of thid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Nookreader

    At first i didnt know what to expect cause ive never read a book bout ghost n it never really caught my eye but once i started reading i couldnt put book down, cant wait for next book 2 come out n see how it all ends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Not scary, but still enjoyable

    I haven't read something that's scared me in a while.

    That was the main reason I picked up Anna Dressed in Blood. I wanted to read something that would make me terrified to go to sleep at night. So terrified that I wouldn't be able to go to sleep without a night light and a teddy bear. Oh, and those pillow things that light up could help.

    A quarter of the way through this book, I was pretty scared. Anna rips a person in half. In half! And she doesn't do it the normal way. She plunges her hands deep inside the victims chest and then separated then, tearing the poor soul clean in two.

    That's some pretty scary stuff.

    But then the scariness subsides. Cas (the protagonist) starts to get to know Ana better and engages in heartfelt conversation with her. To me, this was a little random. If you were going to kill someone/something, would you go to their house and spill your guts to them about how hard you life is? That part of the story wasn't the greatest.

    All of the characters in Anna are well-rounded and likable. From Cas to Carmel (popularity queen) to Thomas, (socially awkward magic guy) all of the characters are worthy of your time. Even the cat is cool. He can smell ghosts, which is pretty much as awesome as cats can get.

    As the story progresses, we get less and less scary, killer Anna and more and more sympathetic, innocent Anna. In fact, the real baddie ghost person that we're supposed to cower in fear over is introduced about 80% into the book. We shouldn't have to wait that long in a good horror story.

    Towards the end, I had to accept that Anna was going to be more of a protagonist than a psycho murder demon, and once I did, I could enjoy the book more. It became clear that horror is not the main genre here, but more of a sub-genre. But the climax was great, and the ending was nice and fulfilling.

    It won't scare most readers, but Anna Dressed in Blood is still enjoyable in itself.

    Grade: B-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable teen ghost tale

    A chip off the old paternal block, seventeen-year-old Theseus Cassio Lowood uses his late dad's athame knife to hunt down and "kill" ghosts who have harmed humans. Cas and his mom the witch are wanderers never staying in any town for long as mean spirits abound everywhere, which means the teen has no friends.

    Currently, Cas is asked to dispatch sixteen years old Anna who was murdered in 1958 in Thunder Bay, Ontario. Over the years since she died Anna has killed many people who entered her home. Cas realizes Anna will prove a much more difficult ghost to move off this plane; yet she never tried to kill him. He obtains allies including Thomas the psychic and Carmel a local teen as they start to learn more about Anna's curse. Meanwhile Cas asks Anna to help him find the spirit who devoured his father.

    This enjoyable teen ghost tale stars an intriguing Ghostbuster, his mom, his two new friends and title character still dressed on blood after all these years. The story line is fast-paced and deftly merges humorous asides with tense paranormal combat. Readers will enjoy Cas and crew as they face malevolence in a fabulous haunted house thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    4/5 stars

    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    I give this book five stars all the way!  It was even better tha

    I give this book five stars all the way!  It was even better than I expected it to be, which made me giddy since I was already positive that it would rock before picking it up!  The entire book was just fabulous!  The plot, characters, imagery, descriptiveness, Anna’s mystery, the spookiness; everything about Anna Dressed in Blood was marvelous!  For a more complete review and an interview with the author, check out my review site, The Book Fairie, at bookfairie (dot) weebly (dot) com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Love, suspense, and graphic into the world of horror.

    I purchases this on a whim for light reading and it sounded like a little something from thw show Supernatural(haha) and i read it within a day- that should tell you that is was pretty good (hardly finish boring books). The plot kicked on right away. Very interesting and unlike any supernatural spooky book ive read. Love, suspense, and graphic into the world of horror. Emotional, but no Augustus Waters tear jerker. Read it if you want something to read over,the weekend or during the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    I love this book

    I love this book so much!! I read this book 8 times. I want to tell the author i love them and the book thank you for writing this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Great Book!

    Its so amazing. Kept me wanting to read more. ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Great book! Theres something i noticed...

    Is it just me. Or is this book remind anyone of the cw show Supernatural? The main characters name is Cas, and also a ghost hunter, then dont forget one of the characters at the beginning, Mr. Dean aaaand Mr deans car. Just sayinnn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Stunning and detailed

    This book was perfection. I had been looking for a book like this for a long time. Thankyou, kendare blake, fir your impeccable writing. This book is officially my new favorite, beating my old fav "after the fear" by rosanne rivers. I hight reccommend anna dressed in blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I did this as an audiobook because I had heard really great thin

    I did this as an audiobook because I had heard really great things about it and Audiobook Sync had selected this book to be part of their program. I probably wouldn't have started this book so soon, had it not been voted on by you guys, but I'm so glad that due to the popular consensus of two of you, I went ahead with this book.

    At first I was a little wary of this book, I didn't like the narrators raspy voice, and when he tried to do Carmel's voice or Anna's accent, it was downright annoying and bad. The accents were attrocious, but manageable. At some points it was hard to hear him, but I was able to get past that. I also got really frustrated when halfway through the book I realized he was trying to say athame, but was pronouncing it "uh-thah-may" when years of watching charmed taught me it should be pronounced "ah-thuh-may". I know its the whole tomato tomato debate, but all the same. (Wow, that just doesn't make nearly as much sense written out.)

    I really liked Cas's narration, he was really funny and real. I liked to listen to his thoughts as he went through his emotions when dealing with Anna and the events surrounding her. I found it a little weird that he formed this connection with her, but at the same time it was understandable, she did save his life a few times.

    I loved how different all the characters were, especially that Thomas read minds, and that Carmel wasn't afraid of doing anything. Had I been in her shoes, I sure as hell would have ran screaming. The story that had to deal with Anna and what happened to her was so great and sad, that you couldn't not feel for her and what was happening.

    I can't wait to read the next books because this sort of reminded me of how the Winchester Brothers were spurned to become hunters, the loss of a family member that hunted and then their attempt to regain normalcy. Even though the ending went in a different direction then I expected, it didn't feel like the story was dragging on, it almost felt like it was part of the natural progression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Brillant

    I read this book at school and it was a great book my teacher had to take it from me so i could do my work class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    The main character is arrogant and annoying. I suppose it would

    The main character is arrogant and annoying. I suppose it would be a good story if I believed in ghosts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Fell in love with it whe <3

    Fell in live with it back in Oct 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Loved it....

    I loved this book, it was better than I thought it would be and had a hard time putting it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bits: I think this book had the perfect combination of horr

    Best Bits: I think this book had the perfect combination of horror, suspense, and mystery without the violence getting out of hand. To explain myself, since I added violence into the review...I don't think that there was a lot of gore in this book, but what showed up was necessary to the story. The reader sees Anna kill others, and it emphasizes the difference between that Anna, and the girl who was able to stop herself from killing Cas. There are also a number of scenes where Cas is attempting to kill ghosts, so take that as you will violence-wise. Anna could have very easily been an unsympathetic character (hello, she's killed a bazillion people), but I was interested in why she killed them, and what had happened to her. As for Cas, he's definitely an interesting character...but he really should pay more attention to his cat.

    Nit Picks: So the one major issue I had was that the font was red. Now, I understand how it fit symbolically within the story...I'm just really averse to non-black font. I think it might be the purist in me, the person who has trouble reading ebooks and needs serif font. I have had this issue with previous YA books, and I find it's harder for me to get into them. I also think that the supporting characters could have been explored a bit more, although I suspect that will happen in the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    To start with, I love the title of this book. That is what made

    To start with, I love the title of this book. That is what made me interested in it to begin with. Secondly, I loved the cover. I know you aren’t supposed to judge a book by its cover, but in this case, I did.
    Cas Lowood is a high school ghost hunter. He moves around a lot and goes to where the ghosts are. He finds the ghosts, and then releases them from being ghosts so they can go to wherever it is ghosts go when they “die.” He receives tips from all over the country about urban legends that he knows are real. Everyone has heard a story similar to the ghost hitchhiker. It is that type of story that he investigates.
    When Cas receives a tip about a ghost named Anna that has been actually KILLING people, he knows he must do something about it fast. He is inexplicably drawn to her and to her story and quickly realized there is more to her than he first realizes. Every ghost has a story. Most are tragic in some way. Anna’s story is no different, but why is it that her interactions with humans so much more violent than the usual ghost encounter? She’s pissed, that’s why!! She really got screwed with life. I felt so sorry for her and wanted to defend her myself. It was so sad to read her story, I almost cried (don’t tell anyone, I don’t want to ruin my reputation of being a badass).
    For the first time in his life, Cas has friends. It’s a good thing too, because he’s going to need their help to deal with Anna. I really like the dynamic between him, Carmel, and Thomas. They work well together. Carmel is your typical pretty girl, while Thomas is the stereotypical dork. The paranormal is nothing new to him, thanks to his sometimes being psychic. He apparently hasn’t quite developed it yet.
    I feel kind of bad for his mom too. She’s a bit of a “kitchen witch.” She has to deal with her son going out night after night with the possibility of him not making it home safely. Just because she was ok with his dad doing it, doesn’t mean she should be ok with her son doing it. Especially since she knows he’s trying to avenge his dad and find whatever it was that killed him. As a parent she should probably have handled that differently. But this is fiction, not real life, so I guess if it works for her, that’s what counts.
    This story really reminded me a lot of a house in one of the towns I used to live in. There was this big old house with a reputation of being haunted. The story was that some guy went crazy and killed his whole family. Supposedly he painted the walls with their blood or some such nonsense. If you drove past the house at night, when you turned around at the end of the road, as you drove back past it, the windows would glow red from the blood supposedly all over the walls. I swear if you drove by it really looked red at night, but when you went back during the day, there was no glass in the windows to reflect light to explain why it looked like that. During the day, the scariest part of “Red Room,” as it was called was the scary old man that lived next door with his shot gun waiting for teenagers to drive by and cause trouble. This is the house I pictured the ENTIRE time I was reading this book. I could totally see that house being the house that Anna was trapped in. It made me feel more connected to the story in ways I can’t even explain.
    For me, Anna’s story was very emotional. The whole book was emotional for me and I felt every connection with the characters. I really wanted Cas to pay more attention to his cat. I wish my cat was more like that.
    I really think this was a great book. It’s appropriate for adults and teenagers, and I’m actually trying to get my daughter to read it. It’s got all of the elements I look for in a good ghost story. I look forward to reading the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I love this book! I couldn't put it down! I wish there were more

    I love this book! I couldn't put it down! I wish there were more books about Cas! He's awesome. The book is great the characters are wonderful to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Marsh (back)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14