Customer Reviews for

Anna Dressed in Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Best. Ghost. Book. EVER.

1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at lea...
1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at least). The dress is gorgeous and stained blood! How awesome! The creepy Victorian in the background... the cover is just too amazing. I love it. I need a poster of it.
3) In my opinion, this book is perfect in almost every way. It's a terrifying ride that taunts you with the cover, pulls you in with the first page, and keeps you entertained all the way to the final words. I couldn't have asked for a better book.

We start off with Theseus Cassio, or Cas as we know him. Cas is a ghost hunter, just like his father until he was brutally murdered. Now Cas, his mother, and his cat travel to wherever they need to be so that Cas, with his father's athame, can continue to kill ghosts. After a friend tips him off, Cas and his family go in search of a ghost named Anna Dressed In Blood, who as her name says wears a dress covered in her blood and kills anyone who comes into her home. Cas feels strangely drawn to this particular hunt, and will quickly find out that she is the most powerful ghost he has ever come in contact with... so far.

Anna Dressed In Blood is the ultimate, perfect ghost story. Well, there was one part that I was very distraught about because it made me super sad... but, I guess that's just another reason why this book is so perfect to me. Because, it was able to pull at every one of my emotions. If you know me, you know I love creepy, eeries, intense books and normally, I even read them at night and they don't freak me out what so ever. At one part during Anna, my stomach actually dropped. At the end of the chapter I was like 'GTFO, no way, RUN!'. So thank you Kendare for that! :)

When I say every emotion, I mean it. There were parts where I was some-what frightened, sad, laughing, wanted to punch someone in the face, surprised, sighing from happiness, I was just hanging onto every word. Believe me when I say Kendare has wrote one phenomenal story, one that has 100% ended up on my favorites list in my top three.

I loved all the characters, as well. Actually... I disliked a few... BUT with very good reason. Read the book and you'll see exactly what I mean! Anna, Cas, Thomas, and Carmel though take my character love prize. They are all so smart, so strong, so different from one another yet all coming together, and they have everything you could ask for in characters. PS. Super sexy alert on Cas!!! ;)

This story doesn't just have amazing characters though. It has lessons, witty lines, romance, suspense, murder, family, sacrifice, laughs, which all wraps up into one perfect ghost adventure that will have you turning page after page until the very end. And, when it's all over you'll be begging for more. I know, I did. The end is absolutely mind-blowing awesomeness. And I was jumping for joy when I found out there is a sequel that will be released in 2012!

I cannot rave about this book enough. So as I've done before I'm going to cut myself off. A few final words though. Kendare Blake, you are a genius. I adored your writing and this story. I believe it would an amazing movie and I am SO, so (beyond words) excited to read the sequel! To everyone reading this, go pre-order/buy this book! You will not be disappointed. Best. Ghost. Book. Story. EV

posted by jenababy13 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.

First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did ha...
First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did have a few other hang ups.


So Cas is a teenage ghost buster (he hates that term), he kills ghost for a living and people email him from all over with their ghost stories. He only kills those ghost who kill people and he gets a note with a name on it: Anna. After researching he finds out about Anna dressed in blood a teenager ghost who rips people apart. (Sounds scary, but she really isn't) Cas and his mother move to Thunder Bay so that he can put Anna down, but when she doesn't kill him, he starts to become fascinated with her. A little more than he should since she is a ghost, ewww. Cas is likable but a bit conceited, so it knocked some points off.


Anna, had her life taken from her in a tragic way and now something controls her and makes her kill anyone who enters her house. When some boys from Thunder Bay decide to play a prank on Cas, it goes horrible wrong. Anna kills one, but doesn't harm Cas. She is not really sure why she did it, but maybe it was because he was different and she could sense it. After getting to know him she becomes a bit attached to him even though she knows he is there to kill her.


The mystery, find out what really happened to Anna and why she is stuck in the house killing people. The only way to help Anna is to find out who killed her and why. Also to find out what strange thing is following Cas. I do have to say that I was a little surprised at who actually killed Anna. I mean I guessed most of it, but in the end I was still like, how horrible.


So, what I didn't really like about the book. The book starts off great and then somewhere in the middle just sort of drags and I found myself pulling back from it. Then it took off towards the end and got through the book. That was a bit disappointing to me as I had seen all these great reviews about it.


Then, the whole Cas and Anna thing was just a little two gross for my taste. I mean he falls for a ghost who kills people!! I know it's not exactly her fault but still she is DEAD. Not even a vampire type dead, she is a ghost! I just found it a little to icky for me. (I don't know I just kept picturing Beetlejuice..lol) That is also why I don't do zombie romances either. Ick.


I also felt that the ending was just to easy, and wasn't left feeling as satisfied as I was hoping.


Over all, I thought it was a lot different than the books I have been reading and I did enjoy it, so if you like these types of novels, I would recommend you give it a try.

posted by Ladystorm on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best. Ghost. Book. EVER.

    1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
    2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at least). The dress is gorgeous and stained blood! How awesome! The creepy Victorian in the background... the cover is just too amazing. I love it. I need a poster of it.
    3) In my opinion, this book is perfect in almost every way. It's a terrifying ride that taunts you with the cover, pulls you in with the first page, and keeps you entertained all the way to the final words. I couldn't have asked for a better book.

    We start off with Theseus Cassio, or Cas as we know him. Cas is a ghost hunter, just like his father until he was brutally murdered. Now Cas, his mother, and his cat travel to wherever they need to be so that Cas, with his father's athame, can continue to kill ghosts. After a friend tips him off, Cas and his family go in search of a ghost named Anna Dressed In Blood, who as her name says wears a dress covered in her blood and kills anyone who comes into her home. Cas feels strangely drawn to this particular hunt, and will quickly find out that she is the most powerful ghost he has ever come in contact with... so far.

    Anna Dressed In Blood is the ultimate, perfect ghost story. Well, there was one part that I was very distraught about because it made me super sad... but, I guess that's just another reason why this book is so perfect to me. Because, it was able to pull at every one of my emotions. If you know me, you know I love creepy, eeries, intense books and normally, I even read them at night and they don't freak me out what so ever. At one part during Anna, my stomach actually dropped. At the end of the chapter I was like 'GTFO, no way, RUN!'. So thank you Kendare for that! :)

    When I say every emotion, I mean it. There were parts where I was some-what frightened, sad, laughing, wanted to punch someone in the face, surprised, sighing from happiness, I was just hanging onto every word. Believe me when I say Kendare has wrote one phenomenal story, one that has 100% ended up on my favorites list in my top three.

    I loved all the characters, as well. Actually... I disliked a few... BUT with very good reason. Read the book and you'll see exactly what I mean! Anna, Cas, Thomas, and Carmel though take my character love prize. They are all so smart, so strong, so different from one another yet all coming together, and they have everything you could ask for in characters. PS. Super sexy alert on Cas!!! ;)

    This story doesn't just have amazing characters though. It has lessons, witty lines, romance, suspense, murder, family, sacrifice, laughs, which all wraps up into one perfect ghost adventure that will have you turning page after page until the very end. And, when it's all over you'll be begging for more. I know, I did. The end is absolutely mind-blowing awesomeness. And I was jumping for joy when I found out there is a sequel that will be released in 2012!

    I cannot rave about this book enough. So as I've done before I'm going to cut myself off. A few final words though. Kendare Blake, you are a genius. I adored your writing and this story. I believe it would an amazing movie and I am SO, so (beyond words) excited to read the sequel! To everyone reading this, go pre-order/buy this book! You will not be disappointed. Best. Ghost. Book. Story. EV

    48 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good suspense, great ghost story with likeable characters. worth

    Good suspense, great ghost story with likeable characters. worth the time

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Amazing!

    This book sounded promising even from just the back cover alone, <which is rare> but it was even better than expected. It was also a bit gorier and scarier than expected as well, could even be considered a horror novel for the 1st half but still amazing! It's always refreshing to have books turn out better and even a little different<in the good way> from what you anticipated. Definitely read this one!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Don't let the title scare you!

    Against my better judgment, I am going to attempt a review of this book. I say against my better judgment, because I don't know if I can do it justice. I don't know if I can adequately convey how I felt while reading and immediately afterwards. I'll borrow a bit from Brigid Kemmerer, who commented on my Goodreads posting about this book. You'll know when it's her talking and not me.

    First of all, I was a little intimidated by the title. I'm the first to admit that I'm not a huge fan of horror and someone being dressed in blood sounded like it would probably not be a good bet for me. Don't let the title (and that absolutely eerie cover design) scare you off though.

    See, Anna Dressed in Blood is one of the most brilliant debuts I've EVER read. It's actually a book near perfection, writing-wise. I know that the horror genre is not for everyone, but I wouldn't discount it just because of that. You would be missing the point, really. This book isn't ONLY about the horror of murderous ghosts. It's another book that shows how you can rise above what you are and become what you WANT to be. It's about pushing aside differences to work towards a common good. It's about trusting yourself and your instincts. I think if you can get past the scare factor, you'll find an insanely good book waiting inside.

    Which is an interesting thing...here's what Brigid had to say about Anna: "I almost felt like it read like it was two books. You had Anna's story, which was terrifying and brutal and amazing, but then it got resolved. Then you had the separate but equally powerful resolution to Cas's story. I almost feel like the latter half paled in comparison to the first half, but then again, when that ... that THING was coming after him in his bedroom, I almost couldn't sit still."

    I think she's got a very valid point. It really DID read like two books. The first half is beyond horrifying and then you get a nice warm blanket about 2/3 of the way through. And then we're back to horrifying. It was very much two stories going on at the same time.

    Here's what I think about Kendare's writing: if she can make me believe in a human-ghost relationship, she's brilliant. She DID make me believe it. I'd heard bits & pieces around about this aspect, and I thought it was the weirdest thing I'd ever heard. Who would try to sell a relationship between a human and the ghost he's trying to kill? Well, Kendare Blake would, and sell it, she does. I cheered for them. I WANTED them to be able to be together. Guys, when it comes to relationships, I'm something of a cynic and she convinced me.

    I know that this review hasn't begun to do the book justice. I hope you can look beyond my shortcomings and give it a shot. If not, maybe this will help: ureylknts, quarioutslju, irutouslcs, wernity, plashiroesu. If real words won't work, maybe some made up ones will.

    Anna Dressed in Blood is definitely a 'Pick Me'.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Haunting...

    I am overwhelmed at how good Anna Dressed in Blood is. There wasn't a part where I found it dragging to the point where I was screaming "GET ON WITH IT!". It was going at a perfect pace. Authors who are able to write a book in a perfect pace needs to be worshipped for their awesomeness at it. If I ever get the chance to write a book, I don't think I'll ever get a perfect pace like how Blake wrote this book.

    I'm guilty. I didn't actually read the synposis before I decided to get this or read this. And because of that I didn't know the lead character, Cas was a boy until like the 2nd Chapter. Thats a major fail on my part. Anyways, I adore Young Adult books with male leads. It breaks the chain of endless female protagonists. Its rare but each time there is one "male" lead. I know for sure, the book will be good.

    And I was not disappointed. Like the title, my copy of Anna Dressed in Blood was also dressed and filled with its own blood. The text was crimson. Which adds in a more haunting effect to the book.

    Cas, our lead, is awesomely written and acts like he should as a teenager. He's a ghost hunter, like his father before him. He's dad is dead and he moves around with his mom killing ghosts with his dads knife. Cas is fascinated by the mysterious story of Anna, Anna Dressed in Blood and so he moves to Thunder Bay to kill it/her. Cas is a perfect protagonist for this role and for sure, a reader will love him.

    Along the way, Cas, who is a lone ranger per se. Meets two teenagers his age, who he accidentally drags into his plan to kill Anna and with their help they try a spell to weaken Anna. At some point, the book got scary. Like Look-behind-your-shoulder-scary. To be exact, Chapter 20 scared the begezuz out of me!

    Anna Dressed in Blood is haunting, dark, gorey, extremely unique, original and by far the best book I've read in 2011. The world Blake creates is utterly vivid and captivating. Its that definite read everyone is longing to read. The book that'll haunt you after reading. A definite unputdownable book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Scared the crap out of me at first but its a great read and well written. However, you may want to refrain from reading at night. Unless you wanna sleep with the lights on!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A lot of fun

    Life is anything but ordinary for Cass Lowood. Most teen boys are worried about passing their classes, playing sports and getting into a good college. Cass is too busy killing murderous ghosts to worry about any of that. Armed with a knife that possesses the power to send the dead back to their graves, Cass and his mother are constantly on the move, ridding various towns of the evil that haunts them. Every ghost that Cass kills gets him one step closer to taking out the ghost that murdered his father.

    When Cass receives a tip about a ghost named Anna, he and his mother pack up and leave for Canada to take care of her. Anna is so named because she still wears the white dress, drenched in blood from when she was murdered. When Cass finally meets Anna, he realizes that she is a force to be reckoned with. She is stronger than any ghost he has ever come across, and much more violent. As Cass and his motley crew of new friends try to uncover the secrets behind Anna's immense strength and what they can do to send her back to the other side, Cass finds himself strangely drawn to Anna, which, in the case of a ghost hunter, is an occupational hazard.

    Anna Dressed in Blood is a great mix of horror, comedy, action and romance. Kendare Blake doesn't waste any time, or words, in this novel. Each scene has a purpose and drives the novel forward at a satisfying pace. I loved Cass and his friends, and I was especially fond of Anna. The only thing that felt a little off in the story was the romantic connection between Cass and Anna. I couldn't completely buy into it. Other than that, this is a thrilling read, and I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    I loved this book

    I absolutly loved this book it definetly had an unexpected twist near the end

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT

    Theseus Cassio Lowood or Cas inherited a special job. He kils the dead with his dead father's athame and sends the souls to a better- or worse- place. Why does he kill them? He doesn't kill al ghosts just the murderous ones. Cas's dad was killed by a ghost he sought to kill. It was a ghost that practiced voodoo in life. His victims were eaten (big chunks taken out) and that's what happened to Cas's father when Cas was only seven years old. When Cas turned fourteen he continued what his ancestors did before him, kill the dead. He travels with his mother (a white witch), and their cat Tybalt all over the world to save innocent souls from unearthly destruction. Soon, Cas gets te chance he was waiting for. If he was able to kill Anna Dressed in Blood, he would be able to go back to kill the ghost that murdered his father. He becomes friends with a girl named Carmel and a boy named Thomas, with whom he forms a ghostbusting team in which he was leader. Along the way, Cas learns Anna's story and finds out that she was cursed and that's why she killed everyone who entered her house but strangely enough, not him. Cassio finds himself falling in love with the tormented spirit and she returns his feelings. But the Voodoo spirit followed Cas. And Cas has to kill it to avenge his father. But Theseus isn't strong enough yet to take out this spirit. Anna creates a portal to Hell and sh pushes herself and the Voodoo ghost inside to save Cas. Cas is torn inside and hope that her effort would pay off. DO NOT READ THIS BOOK IF YOU GET SCARED EASILY, GET OFFENDED BY CURSE WORDS OR DISLIKE BLOOD AND GORE BECAUSE IT'S FULL OF IT! THIS IS A GREAT HORROR READ AND I'M HOLDING MY BREATH FOR THE NEXT BOOK Girl Of Nightmares. Read it if you dare.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Extremely creative and refreshing!

    Initially, what caught my eye was the title of this book. "Anna Dressed In Blood." I was intrigued right then and there. Who is Anna? Why is she dressed in blood??

    This isn't another "Twilightish" overdone teen angst love story.

    This is a ghost story, pure and simple, and it gave me goosebumps--not something I normally experience when reading a novel.

    The story is unique. The author's descriptions kept me engaged and intrigued from the first page through the last.

    My only "complaint" is that I think the characters could have been a little more developed. Especially the character of Anna. We saw hints of who she is, but by the novel's end, I still felt like she was a stranger. And I don't think the author revealed enough of her character to convince me as to just WHY the hero falls in love with her.

    Maybe these questions will be answered in the sequel??

    Ovberall, this is a great read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    SPREAD THE GOOD WORD

    THIS BOOK IS A FAST READ BECAUSE IT IS A PAGE TURNES. THE CHARACTERS ARE ALL VERY COOL AND ANNA IS JUST CUTE. I CANT WAIT TILL I GET THE SEQUEL. FIRST BOOK I READ BY THIS AUTHOR AND ILL BE CHECKINGOUT MORE NOW. IT IS A BOOK I WILL RECOMMEND.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Amazing

    I couldnt stop reading this for a second

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Anna Dressed in Blood

    One of my favorite ghost books! I can't wait for the next one! Kinda bloody at times but not so bad that it will keep you up at night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good quick easy read which I liked, but it seemed to lack some

    A good quick easy read which I liked, but it seemed to lack something. The chemistry between Cas and Anna was a bit dull and over-rated. Anna was ruthless, scary and intimidating but things just fell flat halfway through. I will def read the 2nd book just to see what develops between Cas and Anna's journey in the land of the dead...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    "The grease-slicked hair is a dead giveaway-no pun intende

    &quot;The grease-slicked hair is a dead giveaway-no pun intended&quot;

    This is just as good as, if not better than The Hunger Games. This is instantly one of my favorite books of all time. The character of Cas is what really makes this book. The author's writing is extremely original and whip smart. I loved Cas, his relationship with his mother, and I really did end up liking Carmel and Thomas. And Anna, of course. This book was not boring for a split second, I didn't tune out while reading one time. This book is just flawless. This is all I could think about while reading and I'll be thinking about it all week. Instant classic, I'll re-read it a dozen times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.

    First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


    I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did have a few other hang ups.


    So Cas is a teenage ghost buster (he hates that term), he kills ghost for a living and people email him from all over with their ghost stories. He only kills those ghost who kill people and he gets a note with a name on it: Anna. After researching he finds out about Anna dressed in blood a teenager ghost who rips people apart. (Sounds scary, but she really isn't) Cas and his mother move to Thunder Bay so that he can put Anna down, but when she doesn't kill him, he starts to become fascinated with her. A little more than he should since she is a ghost, ewww. Cas is likable but a bit conceited, so it knocked some points off.


    Anna, had her life taken from her in a tragic way and now something controls her and makes her kill anyone who enters her house. When some boys from Thunder Bay decide to play a prank on Cas, it goes horrible wrong. Anna kills one, but doesn't harm Cas. She is not really sure why she did it, but maybe it was because he was different and she could sense it. After getting to know him she becomes a bit attached to him even though she knows he is there to kill her.


    The mystery, find out what really happened to Anna and why she is stuck in the house killing people. The only way to help Anna is to find out who killed her and why. Also to find out what strange thing is following Cas. I do have to say that I was a little surprised at who actually killed Anna. I mean I guessed most of it, but in the end I was still like, how horrible.


    So, what I didn't really like about the book. The book starts off great and then somewhere in the middle just sort of drags and I found myself pulling back from it. Then it took off towards the end and got through the book. That was a bit disappointing to me as I had seen all these great reviews about it.


    Then, the whole Cas and Anna thing was just a little two gross for my taste. I mean he falls for a ghost who kills people!! I know it's not exactly her fault but still she is DEAD. Not even a vampire type dead, she is a ghost! I just found it a little to icky for me. (I don't know I just kept picturing Beetlejuice..lol) That is also why I don't do zombie romances either. Ick.


    I also felt that the ending was just to easy, and wasn't left feeling as satisfied as I was hoping.


    Over all, I thought it was a lot different than the books I have been reading and I did enjoy it, so if you like these types of novels, I would recommend you give it a try.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    My favorite of all time!

    Perfect pace, perfect romance, perfect story line, perfect scares. This book is the best I've read in a longgg time. I've never been into scary horror stories, but after reading this, I was proved wrong! Don't get cold feet due to the title, there is much much more to the book than scares.
    The story never drags (which I love), the characters were well developed, there's parts that'll make you laugh and cry...
    THIS IS A PERFECT BOOK, PEOPLE! buybuybuy!
    I can't wait for the sequel to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This book was an amazing read! I loved reading about Cas's troub

    This book was an amazing read! I loved reading about Cas's trouble and love. This book was definitely worth the time! Anna was my favorite character by far, she was just so amazing. How she spared Cas's life was just awesome! And her story was just sad, it gripped me. I felt bad for her, which caused me to love her! She, honestly, was an awesome ghost. She made this book more understandable, if he killed a few other ghosts along with her, it would have been confusing. And how Cas just became a little bit softer at the end was just awesome. I loved how there was so much mystical stuff happening through out the book. I just loved this book! I even love the cover! IT just adds to the awesomeness of the entire book! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Overall

    I am looking forward to reading this book but from the reviews ive read was that this is a scary book so the star rate should be 5 stars its too scary too be 5 stars is what people are trying to tell u but its still5 stsrs um if im confusing u then whar i meant to say was that people rated it 4 stars beacause it was too scary for them but its suppose to be scary soit should bbe 5 stars .
    , )

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable YA Horror

    I will start by saying that I think Anna Dressed in Blood is a spine-tingling debut with an awesome male protagonist. Then I will say if you've watch the series Supernatural on the CW, its likely to feel a bit too familiar.

    The book is definitely scary...I couldn't read it late at night and it totally freaked me out. The writing is stellar, keeping a nice balance between the action, suspense and intimate moments. Cas & Anna are both well defined, multi-layered characters and I really believed their fascination towards each other. However, I didn't buy the romance AT ALL. But then again I'm not even sure I would call it that...it never seemed all that romantic to me.

    The cast of supporting characters are all pretty awesome, especially Carmel and Thomas. They are certainly not the kind of characters that are thrown into the novel to stand around saying witty things or needing to be rescued. I really loved that we spent almost as much time with them as we did with Cas & Anna. Plus their developing feeling felt much more authentic to me, even if they weren't as focused on.

    My only wish for the novel is that it hadn't shared so many similarities with the show Supernatural, from Cas's name to his father's death while hunting. I found those things to be very distracting, but if you are unfamiliar with the show and love horror/ghost stories then you'll likely love it. I am curious about how the author is going to keep the series going. The ending felt like a stand alone novel to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14