Customer Reviews for

Anna Dressed in Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Best. Ghost. Book. EVER.

1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at lea...
1) "And she, for whatever reason, spares his life." - How much does that last line pull you in? It seriously grabs me, and yanked me right into the story before I even started reading it.
2) The cover is too perfect for words. The model is beautiful (from behind at least). The dress is gorgeous and stained blood! How awesome! The creepy Victorian in the background... the cover is just too amazing. I love it. I need a poster of it.
3) In my opinion, this book is perfect in almost every way. It's a terrifying ride that taunts you with the cover, pulls you in with the first page, and keeps you entertained all the way to the final words. I couldn't have asked for a better book.

We start off with Theseus Cassio, or Cas as we know him. Cas is a ghost hunter, just like his father until he was brutally murdered. Now Cas, his mother, and his cat travel to wherever they need to be so that Cas, with his father's athame, can continue to kill ghosts. After a friend tips him off, Cas and his family go in search of a ghost named Anna Dressed In Blood, who as her name says wears a dress covered in her blood and kills anyone who comes into her home. Cas feels strangely drawn to this particular hunt, and will quickly find out that she is the most powerful ghost he has ever come in contact with... so far.

Anna Dressed In Blood is the ultimate, perfect ghost story. Well, there was one part that I was very distraught about because it made me super sad... but, I guess that's just another reason why this book is so perfect to me. Because, it was able to pull at every one of my emotions. If you know me, you know I love creepy, eeries, intense books and normally, I even read them at night and they don't freak me out what so ever. At one part during Anna, my stomach actually dropped. At the end of the chapter I was like 'GTFO, no way, RUN!'. So thank you Kendare for that! :)

When I say every emotion, I mean it. There were parts where I was some-what frightened, sad, laughing, wanted to punch someone in the face, surprised, sighing from happiness, I was just hanging onto every word. Believe me when I say Kendare has wrote one phenomenal story, one that has 100% ended up on my favorites list in my top three.

I loved all the characters, as well. Actually... I disliked a few... BUT with very good reason. Read the book and you'll see exactly what I mean! Anna, Cas, Thomas, and Carmel though take my character love prize. They are all so smart, so strong, so different from one another yet all coming together, and they have everything you could ask for in characters. PS. Super sexy alert on Cas!!! ;)

This story doesn't just have amazing characters though. It has lessons, witty lines, romance, suspense, murder, family, sacrifice, laughs, which all wraps up into one perfect ghost adventure that will have you turning page after page until the very end. And, when it's all over you'll be begging for more. I know, I did. The end is absolutely mind-blowing awesomeness. And I was jumping for joy when I found out there is a sequel that will be released in 2012!

I cannot rave about this book enough. So as I've done before I'm going to cut myself off. A few final words though. Kendare Blake, you are a genius. I adored your writing and this story. I believe it would an amazing movie and I am SO, so (beyond words) excited to read the sequel! To everyone reading this, go pre-order/buy this book! You will not be disappointed. Best. Ghost. Book. Story. EV

posted by jenababy13 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.

First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did ha...
First thoughts: Wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be.


I love the cover of this book and you would think that it might be a bit more scary than it actually was and I think that is one thing that kept me from giving it a higher rating. Not only that as I did have a few other hang ups.


So Cas is a teenage ghost buster (he hates that term), he kills ghost for a living and people email him from all over with their ghost stories. He only kills those ghost who kill people and he gets a note with a name on it: Anna. After researching he finds out about Anna dressed in blood a teenager ghost who rips people apart. (Sounds scary, but she really isn't) Cas and his mother move to Thunder Bay so that he can put Anna down, but when she doesn't kill him, he starts to become fascinated with her. A little more than he should since she is a ghost, ewww. Cas is likable but a bit conceited, so it knocked some points off.


Anna, had her life taken from her in a tragic way and now something controls her and makes her kill anyone who enters her house. When some boys from Thunder Bay decide to play a prank on Cas, it goes horrible wrong. Anna kills one, but doesn't harm Cas. She is not really sure why she did it, but maybe it was because he was different and she could sense it. After getting to know him she becomes a bit attached to him even though she knows he is there to kill her.


The mystery, find out what really happened to Anna and why she is stuck in the house killing people. The only way to help Anna is to find out who killed her and why. Also to find out what strange thing is following Cas. I do have to say that I was a little surprised at who actually killed Anna. I mean I guessed most of it, but in the end I was still like, how horrible.


So, what I didn't really like about the book. The book starts off great and then somewhere in the middle just sort of drags and I found myself pulling back from it. Then it took off towards the end and got through the book. That was a bit disappointing to me as I had seen all these great reviews about it.


Then, the whole Cas and Anna thing was just a little two gross for my taste. I mean he falls for a ghost who kills people!! I know it's not exactly her fault but still she is DEAD. Not even a vampire type dead, she is a ghost! I just found it a little to icky for me. (I don't know I just kept picturing Beetlejuice..lol) That is also why I don't do zombie romances either. Ick.


I also felt that the ending was just to easy, and wasn't left feeling as satisfied as I was hoping.


Over all, I thought it was a lot different than the books I have been reading and I did enjoy it, so if you like these types of novels, I would recommend you give it a try.

posted by Ladystorm on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Amazing!

    This book sounded promising even from just the back cover alone, <which is rare> but it was even better than expected. It was also a bit gorier and scarier than expected as well, could even be considered a horror novel for the 1st half but still amazing! It's always refreshing to have books turn out better and even a little different<in the good way> from what you anticipated. Definitely read this one!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Haunting...

    I am overwhelmed at how good Anna Dressed in Blood is. There wasn't a part where I found it dragging to the point where I was screaming "GET ON WITH IT!". It was going at a perfect pace. Authors who are able to write a book in a perfect pace needs to be worshipped for their awesomeness at it. If I ever get the chance to write a book, I don't think I'll ever get a perfect pace like how Blake wrote this book.

    I'm guilty. I didn't actually read the synposis before I decided to get this or read this. And because of that I didn't know the lead character, Cas was a boy until like the 2nd Chapter. Thats a major fail on my part. Anyways, I adore Young Adult books with male leads. It breaks the chain of endless female protagonists. Its rare but each time there is one "male" lead. I know for sure, the book will be good.

    And I was not disappointed. Like the title, my copy of Anna Dressed in Blood was also dressed and filled with its own blood. The text was crimson. Which adds in a more haunting effect to the book.

    Cas, our lead, is awesomely written and acts like he should as a teenager. He's a ghost hunter, like his father before him. He's dad is dead and he moves around with his mom killing ghosts with his dads knife. Cas is fascinated by the mysterious story of Anna, Anna Dressed in Blood and so he moves to Thunder Bay to kill it/her. Cas is a perfect protagonist for this role and for sure, a reader will love him.

    Along the way, Cas, who is a lone ranger per se. Meets two teenagers his age, who he accidentally drags into his plan to kill Anna and with their help they try a spell to weaken Anna. At some point, the book got scary. Like Look-behind-your-shoulder-scary. To be exact, Chapter 20 scared the begezuz out of me!

    Anna Dressed in Blood is haunting, dark, gorey, extremely unique, original and by far the best book I've read in 2011. The world Blake creates is utterly vivid and captivating. Its that definite read everyone is longing to read. The book that'll haunt you after reading. A definite unputdownable book.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Scared the crap out of me at first but its a great read and well written. However, you may want to refrain from reading at night. Unless you wanna sleep with the lights on!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A lot of fun

    Life is anything but ordinary for Cass Lowood. Most teen boys are worried about passing their classes, playing sports and getting into a good college. Cass is too busy killing murderous ghosts to worry about any of that. Armed with a knife that possesses the power to send the dead back to their graves, Cass and his mother are constantly on the move, ridding various towns of the evil that haunts them. Every ghost that Cass kills gets him one step closer to taking out the ghost that murdered his father.

    When Cass receives a tip about a ghost named Anna, he and his mother pack up and leave for Canada to take care of her. Anna is so named because she still wears the white dress, drenched in blood from when she was murdered. When Cass finally meets Anna, he realizes that she is a force to be reckoned with. She is stronger than any ghost he has ever come across, and much more violent. As Cass and his motley crew of new friends try to uncover the secrets behind Anna's immense strength and what they can do to send her back to the other side, Cass finds himself strangely drawn to Anna, which, in the case of a ghost hunter, is an occupational hazard.

    Anna Dressed in Blood is a great mix of horror, comedy, action and romance. Kendare Blake doesn't waste any time, or words, in this novel. Each scene has a purpose and drives the novel forward at a satisfying pace. I loved Cass and his friends, and I was especially fond of Anna. The only thing that felt a little off in the story was the romantic connection between Cass and Anna. I couldn't completely buy into it. Other than that, this is a thrilling read, and I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Extremely creative and refreshing!

    Initially, what caught my eye was the title of this book. "Anna Dressed In Blood." I was intrigued right then and there. Who is Anna? Why is she dressed in blood??

    This isn't another "Twilightish" overdone teen angst love story.

    This is a ghost story, pure and simple, and it gave me goosebumps--not something I normally experience when reading a novel.

    The story is unique. The author's descriptions kept me engaged and intrigued from the first page through the last.

    My only "complaint" is that I think the characters could have been a little more developed. Especially the character of Anna. We saw hints of who she is, but by the novel's end, I still felt like she was a stranger. And I don't think the author revealed enough of her character to convince me as to just WHY the hero falls in love with her.

    Maybe these questions will be answered in the sequel??

    Ovberall, this is a great read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable YA Horror

    I will start by saying that I think Anna Dressed in Blood is a spine-tingling debut with an awesome male protagonist. Then I will say if you've watch the series Supernatural on the CW, its likely to feel a bit too familiar.

    The book is definitely scary...I couldn't read it late at night and it totally freaked me out. The writing is stellar, keeping a nice balance between the action, suspense and intimate moments. Cas & Anna are both well defined, multi-layered characters and I really believed their fascination towards each other. However, I didn't buy the romance AT ALL. But then again I'm not even sure I would call it that...it never seemed all that romantic to me.

    The cast of supporting characters are all pretty awesome, especially Carmel and Thomas. They are certainly not the kind of characters that are thrown into the novel to stand around saying witty things or needing to be rescued. I really loved that we spent almost as much time with them as we did with Cas & Anna. Plus their developing feeling felt much more authentic to me, even if they weren't as focused on.

    My only wish for the novel is that it hadn't shared so many similarities with the show Supernatural, from Cas's name to his father's death while hunting. I found those things to be very distracting, but if you are unfamiliar with the show and love horror/ghost stories then you'll likely love it. I am curious about how the author is going to keep the series going. The ending felt like a stand alone novel to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Pretty neat

    I liked the originality of thid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    4/5 stars

    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Love, suspense, and graphic into the world of horror.

    I purchases this on a whim for light reading and it sounded like a little something from thw show Supernatural(haha) and i read it within a day- that should tell you that is was pretty good (hardly finish boring books). The plot kicked on right away. Very interesting and unlike any supernatural spooky book ive read. Love, suspense, and graphic into the world of horror. Emotional, but no Augustus Waters tear jerker. Read it if you want something to read over,the weekend or during the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Great Book!

    Its so amazing. Kept me wanting to read more. ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Great book! Theres something i noticed...

    Is it just me. Or is this book remind anyone of the cw show Supernatural? The main characters name is Cas, and also a ghost hunter, then dont forget one of the characters at the beginning, Mr. Dean aaaand Mr deans car. Just sayinnn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I did this as an audiobook because I had heard really great thin

    I did this as an audiobook because I had heard really great things about it and Audiobook Sync had selected this book to be part of their program. I probably wouldn't have started this book so soon, had it not been voted on by you guys, but I'm so glad that due to the popular consensus of two of you, I went ahead with this book.

    At first I was a little wary of this book, I didn't like the narrators raspy voice, and when he tried to do Carmel's voice or Anna's accent, it was downright annoying and bad. The accents were attrocious, but manageable. At some points it was hard to hear him, but I was able to get past that. I also got really frustrated when halfway through the book I realized he was trying to say athame, but was pronouncing it &quot;uh-thah-may&quot; when years of watching charmed taught me it should be pronounced &quot;ah-thuh-may&quot;. I know its the whole tomato tomato debate, but all the same. (Wow, that just doesn't make nearly as much sense written out.)

    I really liked Cas's narration, he was really funny and real. I liked to listen to his thoughts as he went through his emotions when dealing with Anna and the events surrounding her. I found it a little weird that he formed this connection with her, but at the same time it was understandable, she did save his life a few times.

    I loved how different all the characters were, especially that Thomas read minds, and that Carmel wasn't afraid of doing anything. Had I been in her shoes, I sure as hell would have ran screaming. The story that had to deal with Anna and what happened to her was so great and sad, that you couldn't not feel for her and what was happening.

    I can't wait to read the next books because this sort of reminded me of how the Winchester Brothers were spurned to become hunters, the loss of a family member that hunted and then their attempt to regain normalcy. Even though the ending went in a different direction then I expected, it didn't feel like the story was dragging on, it almost felt like it was part of the natural progression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Bits: I think this book had the perfect combination of horr

    Best Bits: I think this book had the perfect combination of horror, suspense, and mystery without the violence getting out of hand. To explain myself, since I added violence into the review...I don't think that there was a lot of gore in this book, but what showed up was necessary to the story. The reader sees Anna kill others, and it emphasizes the difference between that Anna, and the girl who was able to stop herself from killing Cas. There are also a number of scenes where Cas is attempting to kill ghosts, so take that as you will violence-wise. Anna could have very easily been an unsympathetic character (hello, she's killed a bazillion people), but I was interested in why she killed them, and what had happened to her. As for Cas, he's definitely an interesting character...but he really should pay more attention to his cat.

    Nit Picks: So the one major issue I had was that the font was red. Now, I understand how it fit symbolically within the story...I'm just really averse to non-black font. I think it might be the purist in me, the person who has trouble reading ebooks and needs serif font. I have had this issue with previous YA books, and I find it's harder for me to get into them. I also think that the supporting characters could have been explored a bit more, although I suspect that will happen in the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    To start with, I love the title of this book. That is what made

    To start with, I love the title of this book. That is what made me interested in it to begin with. Secondly, I loved the cover. I know you aren’t supposed to judge a book by its cover, but in this case, I did.
    Cas Lowood is a high school ghost hunter. He moves around a lot and goes to where the ghosts are. He finds the ghosts, and then releases them from being ghosts so they can go to wherever it is ghosts go when they “die.” He receives tips from all over the country about urban legends that he knows are real. Everyone has heard a story similar to the ghost hitchhiker. It is that type of story that he investigates.
    When Cas receives a tip about a ghost named Anna that has been actually KILLING people, he knows he must do something about it fast. He is inexplicably drawn to her and to her story and quickly realized there is more to her than he first realizes. Every ghost has a story. Most are tragic in some way. Anna’s story is no different, but why is it that her interactions with humans so much more violent than the usual ghost encounter? She’s pissed, that’s why!! She really got screwed with life. I felt so sorry for her and wanted to defend her myself. It was so sad to read her story, I almost cried (don’t tell anyone, I don’t want to ruin my reputation of being a badass).
    For the first time in his life, Cas has friends. It’s a good thing too, because he’s going to need their help to deal with Anna. I really like the dynamic between him, Carmel, and Thomas. They work well together. Carmel is your typical pretty girl, while Thomas is the stereotypical dork. The paranormal is nothing new to him, thanks to his sometimes being psychic. He apparently hasn’t quite developed it yet.
    I feel kind of bad for his mom too. She’s a bit of a “kitchen witch.” She has to deal with her son going out night after night with the possibility of him not making it home safely. Just because she was ok with his dad doing it, doesn’t mean she should be ok with her son doing it. Especially since she knows he’s trying to avenge his dad and find whatever it was that killed him. As a parent she should probably have handled that differently. But this is fiction, not real life, so I guess if it works for her, that’s what counts.
    This story really reminded me a lot of a house in one of the towns I used to live in. There was this big old house with a reputation of being haunted. The story was that some guy went crazy and killed his whole family. Supposedly he painted the walls with their blood or some such nonsense. If you drove past the house at night, when you turned around at the end of the road, as you drove back past it, the windows would glow red from the blood supposedly all over the walls. I swear if you drove by it really looked red at night, but when you went back during the day, there was no glass in the windows to reflect light to explain why it looked like that. During the day, the scariest part of “Red Room,” as it was called was the scary old man that lived next door with his shot gun waiting for teenagers to drive by and cause trouble. This is the house I pictured the ENTIRE time I was reading this book. I could totally see that house being the house that Anna was trapped in. It made me feel more connected to the story in ways I can’t even explain.
    For me, Anna’s story was very emotional. The whole book was emotional for me and I felt every connection with the characters. I really wanted Cas to pay more attention to his cat. I wish my cat was more like that.
    I really think this was a great book. It’s appropriate for adults and teenagers, and I’m actually trying to get my daughter to read it. It’s got all of the elements I look for in a good ghost story. I look forward to reading the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why, oh why, did I wait so long to read this book? It was so go

    Why, oh why, did I wait so long to read this book? It was so good. I can't believe I kept myself from it's awesomeness for so long. It was not at all what I had been expecting and I loved it so much. I generally try to stay away from ghost stories because the ones I've read are normally just tragic love stories where the biggest problem is that the main character can't touch their dead love interest. This was not like that! There was other things going on besides the romance that develops.

    First of all, I absolutely adore Cas. He is one of my all time favorite book guys now. His snark and confidence hooked me from the very beginning and I totally fell for him. He was such a badass but he also had a softer, more vulnerable side that tugged on my heart strings. I also really liked the side characters like Carmel and Thomas. At first I wasn't sure how I would like either of them but they grew on me after a few chapters! I liked the contrast between all of the characters together. They complimented each other well. Anna was awesome, too! She never really scared me like I think she was intended to at first but I liked her persona and the descriptions we were presented. It painted an alive and well developed picture in my head.

    The plot moved relatively quickly, however, there were a few times that I just wanted to skip over to get to some more action. It kept my attention for the most part though!

    The scare factor was okay for me. I know it was supposed to be really scary and it probably is for a lot of people. But most of the scaring was supposed to come from the descriptions I think and that didn't really freak me out. What did up the creep factor for me was the things we didn't necessarily &quot;see&quot;. The little clues that were dropped and the subtle creepiness totally had my heart pounding.

    I love the character in this story and the plot had me anxious to find out what would happen next. While it wasn't as terrifying as I originally thought it would be, there were sometimes while reading that I was checking under my bed for monsters and glancing around my room for ghosts. If you're hesitating on picking up this book, don't! It was completely worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely spine-chilling, suspenseful and pleasantly horrific.

    Absolutely spine-chilling, suspenseful and pleasantly horrific.  Add to that a touch of romance and you have a great book in Anna Dressed In Blood.

    This book captured me from page one.  Who wouldn't be interested in a ghost hunter that hunted down his spectral prey to keep them from killing the innocent?  Hmm, or sometimes the not so innocent. There was an originality to in this plot that made it different from other ghost novels I've read.  I think it was because it was in a male's voice whereas the similar books I had read had been in a female's voice.  This book held mystery, gruesomeness and even a touch of humor as well as some really creepy dudes that made Anna an angel.

    The mix of characters in this book was something I really enjoyed.  I must admit that I did adore Anna.  She was such a tortured soul who had never asked for what happened to her.  She was really easy to connect with, but I think that had a lot to do with how Cas saw her.  And I loved Cas as well, even though there were some things that he did that I really didn't like.

    Some of the secondary characters were unique and funny and others were realistic and awful.  I think that's what made this book good for me.  Every time I read something unrealistic, there was always that character showing up that gave me a touch of realism.  I think if you're an author that's an awesome writing ability to have when writing a paranormal novel.

    As I mentioned earlier, there were scenes in the book that were plenty gruesome and some that were surprisingly sweet.  It was that blend that made this book pretty magical for me.  I really enjoyed the writing style and the prose of this book.  It was fast-paced, which is just how I like my books, and well-written as well.  And, the printed ink of my book was different from the usual black, which made it unique for me. 

    And it ended on a cliff-hanger - which as much as it annoys me, also excites me, because it makes me want to read the sequel.

    All in all, I thought this was a really enjoyable read and I would recommend it to anyone who likes ghost novels with a touch of violence and a thimble of weird and out there romance.  Book Review from Sandy from Magical Manuscripts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Cas Lowood has always worked alone on his quest to dispatch murd

    Cas Lowood has always worked alone on his quest to dispatch murderous ghosts and discover the demon who killed his father. But when he moves to Thunder Bay everything changes - first, he has an explainable fascination with Anna, the ghost he's come to kill; second, he accidentally picks up a team of teenagers who insist on tagging along as he rids the world of Anna's horror. And Cas isn't quite sure he wants to kill Anna anymore...




    I picked this book up because of the fascinating cover art. (Yup! I'm one of those people.) I'm glad the cover was so awesome, because I enjoyed the book. Yes, it was sort of a copy of the TV show Supernatural, but that's ok. Every story has its origins in another story, right? This book was fun and quick - I enjoyed the mystery and characters. If you like teen ghost stories, this would be a good book to pick up. But I recommend you pick up the physical book and not the audio book. Ross annoyed me with his too-clear annunciations, his pauses, and his slow reading. It ruined the rhythm of the narrative, and made the dialog fall flat. There were several times I wanted to give up on the book just because the narration was annoying me - and I generally am pretty laid back about audio books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good book

    Very well written, nice twist on the paranormal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Anna Dressed in Blood is a combination of two of my favorite gen

    Anna Dressed in Blood is a combination of two of my favorite genres: YA and horror. I couldn’t wait to get around to reading it, though I’ll admit that I was a little skeptical at first, fearing it might be just your average YA love story. But after reading only a few chapters I discovered that Kendare Blake is not your average, YA love story writer. 

    One of the many reasons I enjoyed this book so much is because it breaks out of every typical, overused YA mould imaginable. It’s also one of the few YA books I’ve ever read from a male protagonist’s point of view. And the author nails it! The ending is unpredictable and it’s not a happy ending, but not an unhappy one either. It doesn’t leave you hanging, but leaves you satisfied and curious enough to want to read the next book, Girl of Nightmares. I would’ve happily given it five stars, but the pacing is not consistent and from time to time it slows down a lot - especially after Cas discovered how Anna died – before picking up again and throwing the reader head first back into the action. Another thing I loved about this story was all the different characters. Even the bullies weren’t your usual cartoon cut-out bullies. All the characters complemented each other in different ways to further the plot. Of course, my favorite character was the cat, Tybalt. Nothing average about this feline, I tell you. And Anna…wow! What a surprise this goddess of death turned out to be.

    As a fan of horror, I can’t really classify this as a true blue horror, because I didn’t find anything scary about it. It does have lots of gore though and for readers who don’t usually read horror, there are definitely a lot of terrifying scenes in this book. The only scene that had me freaked out was when Cas and his mom were standing in his room and they could hear something coming down the attic stairs and they had absolutely no clue what it was. That sure had the hairs on my neck rising. This is something the author is really good at. She knows how to build up the suspense to that point where you have to put down the book for a minute, take a few deep breaths to bring your heart rate back to normal before you continue reading.  

    Fans of the tv series, Supernatural, will love this book. Yes, I’m also a fan of the Winchester brothers and although Anna Dressed in Blood is not a carbon copy of this tv series, you can’t help being reminded thereof while reading this fantastic book. I can easily see why this is a bestseller and I’m happy to add my voice to the thousands who loved this book. Kendare Blake, you rock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great ghost story

    This book has everything you want in the paranormal genre. This book was slightly different as it has a male protagonist instead of a female one (that makes up the majority of YA paranormal books) so that was a nice change. Plus, Cas is everything you want in a protagonist. He’s got the personality, he’s got the wit and the humor. He’s like the high school version of the Winchester brothers from Supernatural (except there’s only one of him, and two sidekicks). The plot of this book is quite dark and has its moments of creepiness but it lightens up whenever Cas puts in a thought or two (his humor really is quite good). The description of Anna’s house and Anna herself are well done, other beings are also included and they’re just as creepy. The paranormal aspect of the novel was also well done. Anna is a ghost with personality, and as you get to know her through Cas, you start to like her as well. I really liked how she was written, despite her being a ghost, she was ‘fleshed out’ and didn’t have a cardboard personality. The other characters in the book are also fun to read, and all are likable. (Of the secondary characters, I liked Cas’ mom.) I loved the ending of the book and it did catch me by surprise. Which is why I can’t wait to get my hands on the second one. This book was a great read, and nice to see a male protagonist lead, with a well written ghost story to accompany it. Most definitely recommended for YA readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5